15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

What Is PlanSource?

PlanSource is a technology company on a mission to create the best benefits experience possible.

Our end-to-end platform automates and streamlines every aspect of employee benefits management, maximizing the efficiency and overall value of your benefits program. More than 5,000 HR teams, 500 brokers and 7.5 million consumers trust PlanSource for benefits communications, shopping, enrollment, billing, compliance and ongoing administration every day.

Who Uses PlanSource?

500-10,000 lives

PlanSource Software - 1
PlanSource Software - 2
PlanSource Software - 3
PlanSource Software - 4
PlanSource Software - 5

Not sure about PlanSource? Compare with a popular alternative

PlanSource

PlanSource

3.9 (15)
US$2.00
month
Free version
Free trial
41
4
3.7 (15)
3.5 (15)
3.4 (15)
VS.
Starting Price
Pricing Options
Features
Integrations
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Customer Service
$8.00
month
Free version
Free trial
196
191
4.9 (3,046)
4.8 (3,046)
4.8 (3,046)
Green rating bars show the winning product based on the average rating and number of reviews.

Other great alternatives to PlanSource

Rippling
Top rated features
Direct Deposit
Online Benefits Enrollment
Payroll Management
Maxwell Health
Top rated features
Deduction Management
Disability Insurance Administration
Reporting/Analytics
Paycor
Top rated features
Attendance Tracking Software
Employee Portal
Schedule Distribution
Namely
Top rated features
Employee Database
Payroll Management
Reporting/Analytics
Dayforce HCM
Top rated features
Direct Deposit
Payroll Management
W-2 Preparation
Workzoom
Top rated features
Direct Deposit
Talent Acquisition
Timesheet Management
isolved
Top rated features
Direct Deposit
Payroll Management
W-2 Preparation
Gusto
Top rated features
Direct Deposit
Payroll Management
W-2 Preparation
Vista
Top rated features
Applicant Tracking Software
Self Service Portal
Vacation/Leave Tracking

Reviews of PlanSource

Average score

Overall
3.9
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.4
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.5

Reviews by company size (employees)

  • <50
  • 51-200
  • 201-1,000
  • >1,001
Scott
Scott
Director of Human Resources in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Plansource has helped us comply with the ACA and move our benefits enrollment from paper to online.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: ACA compliance, online experience for employees (instead of paper), and improved billing reconciliation with our vendors.

Pros:

Continuing to improve the software with frequent releases/updates. Has helped us better manage our benefits and took us from paper benefits enrollment to online. Also has simplified our billing process with our insurance vendors.

Cons:

Initial integration was a little bumpy. When we first started using Plansource it was a little behind a few other solutions from a feature standpoint, but I believe they have caught up!

PlanSource Response

6 years ago

Scott, we are happy to help on the ACA front! Staying compliant is more important than ever.

Melinda
US
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product, not enough knowledgeable support or client education

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have used this software for almost 7 years -- it is vast and expansive in its capabilities. Its reporting system alone seems to be able to manipulate your data in any way possible you could ever need. The payroll interface is simple as is the benefits. The problem I face most with this is the support by the company. The training on how to use their reporting system and its vast capabilities are lacking. If I have problems and contact their customer service team, I often find myself explaining to them the finer details of how a simple interface, such as PTO setup, works in regards to the detail or assistance I need. I don't know if they are growing too fast and don't have the staff support to keep up or their staff just isn't up to speed on their product as they need to be. I find myself leaning on the team for support less and less. Additionally, there are many things in the system that occur (bugs, known issues etc) that just don't make sense. Plansource recommends vendors for you to use for other pieces of your business that are 'built to flow' to their systems. However, we find that they don't actually capture all of the information that's needed and take all parts into consideration. We are using this recommended vendor and yet still have to do our own workarounds to make their 'flow of information' between systems complete. That being said when there is an issue that they have erred on - they do go above and beyond to correct it.

Leah
HR Generalist in US
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Lots of promises that fell through

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: -7 months later and my initial implementation is not finalized. I am in open enrollment and fixing way too much stuff.
-The benefit codes that were set up in UltiPro take a PhD to understand.
-The reporting feature which was sold as this amazing feature, actually is terrible. Want to move your column arrangement? Get ready to remove all the fields and add the again in the order. What happened to dragging the column to the order you need it in?
I could go on for days, but I think you get the point. I did a lot of research and asked a lot of questions before getting this system. I felt so confident that this was going to make my administrative tasks with benefits an ease, that unfortunately is not the case.

Pros:

Pros: - integrates with UltiPro - You can make custom benefit pages, but those go away after enrollment, so get ready to make handouts with the same information for your employees. I love doing the same work twice.

Cons:

Cons: Implementation: - Implementation went past schedule by 3 months because of errors setting up our benefits. - EDI took 4 months to set up, some of which were abandoned, multiple times. - implementation ran in to open enrollment period. The implementation team stopped working on benefits for initial implementation and said that they were changing during open enrollment so they would only focus on those benefits. So manual processes for admin for 3 months. - implementation team does your uploads, get ready to redo those. Data was uploaded in to "user defined" (aka custom fields) with wrong data, but uploaded correctly in the benefit field. This made it a joy to audit and correct, which fell on the benefit admin. Implementation team did not offer to correct. System: - doesn't allow benefit information on each product to be accessible after enrollment. Meaning your employees can not access this information - doesn't allow for benefits that rate have to be manually managed. Have a vendor that doesn't a rate table or is custom, they can't support that. - Doesn't really allow custom benefits, i.e. different classes of life insurance with different rules, so get ready to change your benefits - system is slow, my assumption is because of the integration in UltiPro - for $20,000, I have a broken system and am still doing manual work that I was told could be automated - way too many clicks per benefit selection. Get ready to click 4 times for each benefit

PlanSource Response

4 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that our platform didn't meet your expectations and that you had a negative experience with our Professional Services team. I can understand how frustrating it'd be to feel like you weren't getting the help you needed to be successful with the software. Clearly, we fell short, and I apologize. I'd appreciate the chance to follow up with you directly to learn more about your concerns, do what we can to make them right, and talk through some of the things we've put in place over the last 3-6 months to proactively address these moving forward. We want all of our customers to be wildly successful, and I hate to hear this wasn't your experience with PlanSource. Feel free to reach out to me personally at [email protected] or 689-205-5698. We look forward to hearing from and helping your team soon. All the Best, Lisa Van Ever SVP, Professional Services PlanSource [email protected]

Tammi
Vice President, Human Resources in US
Insurance Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been utilizing the PlanSource platform for over 4 years now.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

We utilize the system to manage our robust benefit package. It easily maintains each person's elections, sends a data feed to each of the carriers, and does this all without paper! Open enrollment is so much simpler, and there are fewer errors. While the customer support has had some growing pains, I believe we are over that hurdle. Response time is great and the relationships formed with key administrators has helped us work through our complicated program.

Cons:

I am looking forward to the new user interface that will make the site more responsive to the device the employees are using. There are times that people just do not "page down" and then they miss important information.

PlanSource Response

7 years ago

Tammi, We are so glad that we are able to add value to Murray Securus and help you and your employees during Open Enrollment and beyond! We really appreciate our partnership!

Maci
Director of Human Resources in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

PlanSource review for HR Directors or Benefit Coordinators

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Onboarding and offboarding through the changing turnovers that we currently experience in healthcare right now is made easier by PlanSource. We currently have 171 employees and that number fluctuates every day. PlanSource is the reason I can keep up with on and offboarding.

Pros:

Starting in this position as a new graduate, I was unfamiliar with the benefit enrollment function. My trainer showed me how our company utilizes PlanSource and I was all game from the first day. I can easily search any employee I have and very quickly see their current benefits, eligibility and premiums.

Cons:

My least liked feature was the document library. I could never find what I was looking for. Turns out... our benefits broker just hadn't uploaded our company specific documents. Everything is uploaded now and I reference that library frequently.