15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

What Is Resource Guru?

Resource Guru is the fast, flexible way to schedule teams and projects. Manage people, equipment, and meeting rooms in one place. Assign work, book time off, and edit schedules in seconds. Track availability in real-time and avoid unrealistic workloads. Keep your team up-to-date with personal dashboards and daily schedule emails. Analyze utilization rates, clients, and projects for more accurate forecasts and budgets. Trusted by companies including NASA and L’Oreal. Try it free for 30 days!

Who Uses Resource Guru?

Project managers, resource managers, team leads and executives with a passion for productivity. Used by everyone from creative agencies to construction companies to schedule resources and projects.

Where can Resource Guru be deployed?

Cloud-based
On-premise

About the vendor

  • Resource Guru
  • Founded in 2011

Resource Guru support

  • Phone Support
  • Chat

Countries available

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czechia and 18 others

Languages

English

Resource Guru pricing

Starting Price:

US$5.00/month
  • Yes, has free trial
  • No free version

Resource Guru does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. Resource Guru paid version starts at US$5.00/month.

About the vendor

  • Resource Guru
  • Founded in 2011

Resource Guru support

  • Phone Support
  • Chat

Countries available

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czechia and 18 others

Languages

English

Resource Guru videos and images

Resource Guru Software - Master your team’s time
Resource Guru Software - Assign work and avoid overallocation
Resource Guru Software - Find the right person for every job
Resource Guru Software - Monitor the metrics that matter
Resource Guru Software - Find your focus
View 6 more
Resource Guru video
Resource Guru Software - Master your team’s time
Resource Guru Software - Assign work and avoid overallocation
Resource Guru Software - Find the right person for every job
Resource Guru Software - Monitor the metrics that matter
Resource Guru Software - Find your focus

Features of Resource Guru

  • Absence Management
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Attendance Management
  • Attendance Tracking Software
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Availability Management
  • Booking Management
  • Budgeting/Forecasting
  • Calendar Management
  • Calendar Sync
  • Campaign Management Software
  • Capacity Management
  • Client Management
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Dashboard Software
  • Drag & Drop
  • Employee Database
  • Employee Management
  • Employee Scheduling Software
  • Forecasting
  • Gantt/Timeline View
  • Labor Forecasting
  • Leave Tracking
  • Meeting Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Multiple Projects
  • Online Booking
  • Overtime Calculation
  • Prioritization
  • Progress Tracking
  • Project Management Software
  • Project Planning Software
  • Project Planning/Scheduling
  • Project Tracking Software
  • Real-time Scheduling
  • Remote Access/Control
  • Remote Support Software
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Resource Management Software
  • Resource Scheduling
  • Scheduling Software
  • Self Service Portal
  • Sick Leave Tracking
  • Skills Tracking
  • Task Management Software
  • Task Progress Tracking
  • Task Scheduling
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Time & Attendance
  • Time & Expense Tracking
  • Time Off Management
  • Time Off Requests
  • Time Tracking Software
  • Timesheet Management
  • Utilization Reporting
  • Vacation/Leave Tracking
  • Visualization
  • Workflow Management Software

Alternatives to Resource Guru

Communication platform that allows users to schedule video/audio calls with their teams around the world
Slack is your productivity platform. Welcome to the command center of your workday. Learn more about Slack
Resource management for agencies, studios, & firms across industries to plan projects, schedule resources, and manage their team’s time Learn more about Float
Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together. Learn more about JIRA Service Management
HubSpot CRM has everything you need to organize, track, and build better relationships with leads and customers. Learn more about HubSpot CRM
Combined email and calendar solution that lets users send, receive, and manage email plus track appointments and events.
Smartsheet is an online work execution platform empowering organizations of all sizes to plan, manage, automate, and report on work.
Online Booking System with reminders for all service companies! Let your clients book themselves online - Includes free version. Learn more about SimplyBook.me

Reviews of Resource Guru

Average score

Overall
4.7
Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Reviews by company size (employees)

  • <50
  • 51-200
  • 201-1,000
  • >1,001

Find reviews by score

5
69%
4
28%
3
3%
1
0%
Myroslav
Myroslav
Integration Services Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and very easy to use resource scheduling\tracking app.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Resource Guru is a great resource scheduling application for a simple use cases. It does what it promises perfectly. The UI is very friendly and pleasant - make for a great user experience. I used it to track the tasks for my team for almost a year. I would have kept using it but the company mandated a different tracking system and I had to abandon it. I like that Resource Guru'a focus on their product and customer service. I also appreciated the slow introduction of new features. Overall, very pleasant and satisfactory experience with a great application.

Pros:

- Ease of use - Very pleasant UI - Flexibility

Cons:

- Lack of features. The application does the simple scheduling\tracking perfectly though. - Copy\paste of resource tasks was not available at the time

Alternatives Considered: Hub Planner and Float

Reasons for Switching to Resource Guru: The balance of features, ease-of-use, UI and the price.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Some thoughts

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: ok

Pros:

Relatively easy to use

Cons:

Can't do everything I want to, or if it can I can't find it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Glorified spreadsheet

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Causes more problems than it solves. We used to use a spreadsheet, it was much better than this.

Pros:

Nothing at all. It has no redeeming qualities.

Cons:

Allows you to book time without tasks. When asked to change this was told couldn't because some companies want that function, ie it isn't an option as it should be. The drop downs are fiddle and make it easy to select a blank, but doesn't warn you. Can't toggle between scrolling list and typing to search without cl king out of area. You have a set number of hours per day you need to book but it doesn't highlight those that are short- you have to hover to see remaining time but that function doesn't work properly, resulting in multiple clicks to get it to trigger. Colour by project doesn't actually do it, I'm on 6 projects yet only see 2 colours. Can push to calendar but not pull- useless function as meetings are booked in calendar to allow invites, you want guru to pull that data in to autofill. Though it is web based it is impossible to use on a mobile. The popups are always off screen, making it impossible to use - mobile friendly websites have been around for a very long time, lazy to not have it here, particularly as would allow people who are on the road to log their time on he go. Not worth the hassle even if free.

Damien
Studio manager in Belgium
Graphic Design Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

review resource guru

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Great tool and handy to make scheduling

Pros:

It's a great tool Great tool and handy to make scheduling

Cons:

Missing to indicate the jobs that are ready are ready.

Resource Guru Response

2 months ago

Hi Damien Thanks for sharing your review of Resource Guru! You mentioned that there's no way to indicate when a job is ready, so I wondered if you were familiar with the difference between confirmed/unconfirmed bookings? If a booking is not yet ready to be confirmed, it can be added as a tentative booking, or added to the waiting list, or it could be pending approval. When bookings are ready to be confirmed, just change the tentative status, approve/decline it, or move it off the waiting list. These workflows help you and your team to differentiate between confirmed and unconfirmed bookings. You can learn more over in our Help Centre: https://help.resourceguruapp.com/ I hope this helps! If there's anything else we can do for you please don't hesitate to reach out :) Happy scheduling! Kat

Lisa
Senior Account Manager in Germany
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Happy User

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall, I am very happy. We used the tool for planning at my last employer. I recommended the tool to my new employer and introduced it.

Pros:

Easy to use, everyone has access, good overview

Cons:

Limited options for handling (for example no return button)