About SpiraPlan

SpiraPlan is a turn-key Enterprise Agile Program Management system that helps plan, manage and track your programs, risks, & resources.

Learn more about SpiraPlan

Pros:

Ability to customize to my company's needs. Ability to link with other programs for automated testing.

Cons:

Support for reviews is a bit rudimentary - this is, IMO, the weakest part of the tool.

SpiraPlan ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.6
Features
3.9
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

SpiraPlan has an overall rating of 4 out 5 stars based on 19 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SpiraPlan before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (19)

Jim
Jim
Principal Consultant in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very satisfied with SpiraTeam's requirements management features and functions.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I can easily manage software requirements for any size software development project.

Pros:

The value for the money. I primarily use SpiraTeam for requirements management. From that perspective alone, SpiraTeam's functionality is as good or better than IBM/Rational, HP, or ReqTool. To have all the other functionality (test management, task management, Kanban, reporting, etc.) include in the package is a true value-add.

Cons:

It's a minor inconvenience: response time when first logging-in to the system is somewhat slow. But once the system responds to my login attempt, response time is acceptable - at least as good as other cloud-based systems I use.

Zuhairah
Zuhairah
Senior Executive in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Team project planning with SpiraPlan

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Collaborating project with our technical department is smoother with SpiraPlan. Both department has fully understand this software capabilities which make us know where the limit and can properly planning for project without problem and miscommunication.

Pros:

Every feature and tools that are much needed to planning a project either for small project and larger project is available to be use within this software. Selection for type of service and tools that can be integrated is quite huge and cover all the tools that we use. Planning board can be drag, drop and duplicate across the project list.

Cons:

The report generated is not as extensive is it should, some details are not readily included and no customization to the report seem can be done. Manual testing is slow to load all the resource and i had to restart the whole process again to properly load all the related resource. Other than that, everything is working as it supposed.

bernardo
Senior Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We've used SpiraTeam in my company for over 5 years and it is great tool for Test Management.

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I'd like to have versioning for requirements and others, Faster UI and Navigation. Dashboards with all the needed reports and graphs

Cons:

When lots of test cases are created the app gets sloppy and confused Missing dashboards and better reports

Dieter
Dieter
Software Engineer in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Industrial Automation, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Use of SPIRA

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I´m tracking our development processes for a waterfall/V-Modell process

Pros:

Easy to administrate. Ready to go after installation. Web access. Easy to handle.

Cons:

Editable workflows not for all items. Baselining comes this year.

Alternatives Considered: Jira, ALM/Quality Center and Polarion ALM

Reasons for Choosing SpiraPlan: Not so easy to administartate, Cost - Use realation

Switched From: ALM/Quality Center

Reasons for Switching to SpiraPlan: costs, easy to use

Dennis
Functional Analyst in Netherlands
Medical Devices, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Our R&D - managed, at last!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used a maintenance release for one of our medical devices as a trial. Spira allowed very easy control of Requirements and Test artifacts and especially traceability and traceability reporting, which is vital for e.g. the FDA submissions.

Pros:

* Easy to set up (meaning the project templates, users, customizable fields, etc.) * Very good integration possibilities with other tools * Attractive GUI * Great customization possibilities for reports * REST API available and well documented

Cons:

* Support for reviews is a bit rudimentary - this is, IMO, the weakest part of the tool. We'd prefer to have the possibility to submit sets of artifacts for review, defined review groups, and allow adding Approvals and Discussion threads (similar to e.g. Gitlab)

Alternatives Considered: Polarion ALM, Visure Requirements and codebeamer

Reasons for Switching to SpiraPlan: Value for money Simple setup Provides everything we need and no redundant features

Brian
Quality Assurance Specialist in Canada
Paper & Forest Products, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for managing your software development projects at a reasonable price

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: A full ALM for our company to support a major multi year ERP implementation. Minimal setup and training was required and the tool has proved reliable for us.

Pros:

When evaluating solutions for an Application Lifecycle Management tool it became clear to me that the choice would be SpiraTeam (including SpiraPlan). For the price to feature ratio, it could do everything and more than we would need. With the ability to just add additionally licenses as our team grew it provided the flexibility we needed. The support team at Inflectra is also top notch. Any time I had a question/issue, they were there to help in a quick and friendly manner.

Cons:

Some areas of the application UI can be a little clunky and unintuitive at times. Inflectra does take user feedback seriously though and I have been able to work with them to resolve most issues we faced.

Nurul Aishah
Nurul Aishah
Personal Banker in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SpiraPlan review

4.0 last year

Pros:

I love SpiraPlan because the task section is easy to create and can drag it to combine it with existing task parent.

Cons:

The daily report should have more details on it and more customization which details that we want to be included on the report.

Peter
Managing Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

So Easy to Implement

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent! I've used other ALMs in the past and this is, by far, the easiest and most flexible of them. It just makes sense!

Pros:

The software is highly intuitive and incredibly easy to implement within either a new or structured environment. Set-up and configuration to meet my business needs was simple and the online manuals and YouTube guides were a real asset. The product is easy to customise and use and you can have a relatively non-technical team using it in no time, even business people!

Cons:

The Reporting suite could be better. It's a little clunky to customise but the out-of-the-box reports are more than adequate to get started and will, in most instances, meet all of a Project's needs.

Rian
Software Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spiraplan

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: overall, very positive.

Pros:

Ability to customize to my company's needs. Ability to link with other programs for automated testing

Cons:

some basic features: unable to link an incident to at test case; can only link an incident to an individual test step. When using the main search feature, you have to use caps to search for an incident, task, test case by the IN:XXXX

Charles
CEO in Canada
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The tech support was very responsive to help me to set the environment. So impressed.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Effective work process

Pros:

It is a worry free software for software development projects for me. Packed features allow the team to grow.

Cons:

Better integrated source code management features for code review. Online development environment could be great as well to further simplify the development operations

Stephanie
QA Manager in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Quick review of Spira-Test

3.0 11 years ago

Comments: Well let's face it. You don't charge a lot of money.
However, for an extra grand + change I can get MS Test Manager.
Both yours and that product are under evaluation.
I think you have the start of a good program.
I'll keep evaluating and if the check comes in the mail: you win.

Pros:

I like the ability to connect the requirements to bugs to tests. It's reasonably priced. Your support team is very responsive The logo if pretty good too

Cons:

We won't use the bug tracker. Not feature rich enough. The description field is just too small to be useful. See Bugzilla which is free. That is what we are going to continue using. For Requirements, we won't use that either except maybe at a very high level. My Product manager is looking for a better description page. We use MS Word and that allows up to view the requirement in full. Our requirements are multiple pages. What you offer is too limiting.

Faisal
Principal QA Engineer in US
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good ALM for startups

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was a great option at a time the company hadn't selected a requirements management agile tool. Ever since we moved to JIRA, it was best to move to the much simpler, speedier, easy to integrate, TestRail tool.

Pros:

A much improved interface UI for testing and positively best option for requirements management in a testing tool

Cons:

very slow access on shared hosting - windows server only - very difficult to integrate with 3rd party APIs

maina
Protection officer in Nigeria
Alternative Dispute Resolution, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Siraplan on strategic plan

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: very interesting and educating

Pros:

very important and has develop me skills and understanding what a strategic plan is all about

Cons:

not at all . all are interesting and educative

Alan
Director in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great product - especially good for remote project management

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have used SpiraPlan for several years to help manage projects. It is a very stable and reliable piece of software. I find it great for managing tasks for staff working remote from the office. It took a bit of getting used to at first as there are several ways of setting up projects. However once you get the hang of it and find the way it works for you it is great. I really like the import / export functions to Microsoft Excel and MS Project - very useful. Also the ability to set up you own custom fields gives it a lot of flexibility. I have used several other software products over the years so have used both good and not so good ones, and I would thoroughly recommend SpiraPlan.

Jan
Director in Greece
Automotive
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overviee

Pros:

Dashboard is so simple and complex. Reports export is usefull and usable. We are happy to use this sw.

Cons:

Individual setup seems to me as complicated. Many features is not used due hide somewhere. Need to be more user friendly and intuative.

Inflectra Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, we are working to simplify the user experience for new users and hide certain advanced features until users are ready for them.

Neil
President in Canada
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very comprehensive

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Reporting and controlling testing workflow.

Pros:

Flexibility on configuration plus control features useful for regulated clients.

Cons:

Workflow slightly difficult to configure.

Sriramasundararajan
Vice President in Vietnam
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great overall.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: One stop experience for the entire ALM.

Pros:

Like the one stop at a software for entire application lifecycle. The licensing fee model was also good.

Cons:

User interface could be improved similar to Version in agile user stories or even Trello.

Bhawna
Spira in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

New Tool - central repository

3.0 11 years ago

Comments: Good and Useful

Pros:

New tool , 1 tool for multi functions

Cons:

I am new to thistool so need to learn alot

Chris
Manager RD Projects in India
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent customer support

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Full featured

Cons:

A little complex