15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About AlternativeSoft

We simplify how institutions investing in funds, select hedge funds / mutual funds, perform due diligence, manage portfolios.

Learn more about AlternativeSoft

Pros:

Great feature set, very responsive support team, and excellent APIs enable us to build highly customized solutions.

Cons:

So it makes me often check my weights (model 2) over the time line to see if there is no data missing.

AlternativeSoft ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

AlternativeSoft has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 14 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used AlternativeSoft before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14)

Chris
Managing Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Management Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hedge Fund Analytics Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: While we only use a small portion of the tools AltSoft has (Database, Portfolio Management, Peer Groups), each have been helpful to our reporting processes and portfolio modeling.

Pros:

Breadth, ease of use (for those familiar with investment stats), customer service/technical help, and customization.

Cons:

Export times take a little bit long on some reports, but it's seconds, not minutes, and it can run in the background while I do something else. Also, would like them to introduce an "undo" feature during performance entry.

Joe
Analyst in US
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alt Soft Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has helped tremendously with automating or semi-automating a number of reports. The excel plug in was a fantastic idea and more importantly, works very well. As a comparison tool for screening funds, it's second to none

Pros:

Very intuitive, thoughtful UI, powerful backend, great datafeed plug ins, constant evolution

Cons:

Too difficult to filter funds you do not want when importing from ODU, leading to reimport of previously deleted assets. I understand the impetus for charging for the cloud option, but with a larger provider it would likely be provided at no additional cost. Morningstar Direct made this available at no extra cost and, given the comparability in cost between the two softwares, it is difficult to justify spending more on a cloud option.

eugenia
Associate Director, Capital Markets in Switzerland
Capital Markets, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AS Review

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: portfolio monitoring, peer group and watch lists, monthly portfolio reporting to clients

Pros:

ease of use, in-depth analyses available

Cons:

Many analysis, charts, etc. not available/easily exportable in excel.

Daniel
Senior Hedge Fund Portfolio Manager in Switzerland
Investment Management Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use AlternativeSoft for analysing hedge funds and hedge fund portfolios and are quite happy with the flexibility and functionalities.

Pros:

Easy to use and easy to customise Good functions for analysing hedge funds as well as automize reports Good Excel add-in

Cons:

In our version 5.0.3.41311: Portfolio Management Tool could have more analytics like contributions of assets and strategies In Database, there should be a good possibility to save user entered fund specific data like in the old "Holdings" tab. In the Asset Analysis Form it should be easier to compare two Funds agains each user with regards to performance, risk, etc.

Matthew
Sr. Portfolio Manager in Canada
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extensive Feature Set and Strong Support

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use AlternativeSoft to manage a complex hedge fund portfolio, as well as a centralized source of performance and market data.

Pros:

Great feature set, very responsive support team, and excellent APIs enable us to build highly customized solutions.

Cons:

We've experienced a bit more instability and issues with new version releases. Hope that the quality control of updates will be improved in the future.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Management Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fund Manager Analytics Software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I have had a great experience with AlternativeSoft. It has made my job much easier because return data is automatically pulled from our prime broker and I can run reports that give me key insights into our fund performance.

Pros:

I enjoy how easy the software is to use. I can easily pull up fund level return data and find key data points, such as correlations and volatility. Also, I can compare easily against key benchmarks and peer groups.

Cons:

Sometimes, when using the software it can get a bit laggy when typing in fund information, causing a delay.

Lorenzo
Partner in Greece
Investment Management Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Logical, intuitive and a sound quantitative tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Good tool for comparing managers’ performances, creating synthetic benchmarks and building portfolios within specified risk boundaries. Help desk team always helpful and knowledgeable. Good value for money.

Pros:

Easy to learn. Great support team. Very solid quantitative models behind the tools.

Cons:

Not sure. It offers a solid and intuitive portfolio construction method. There is little to fault.

Farès
Hedge Fund Analyst in Switzerland
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very satisfied overall. Some features still need to be implemented in our view.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very dedicated and helpful customer support. The software is quite complete but would need small enhancement to make it fully efficient.

Cons:

Some features are missing to reflect our true portfolio. I'm confident that this will be implemented soon by the team.

Stefana
SM Manager in Serbia
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good experience, very happy with this - I think it was a good investment for the company!

Pros:

Really good feature set, always available support team and excellent APIs with highly customized solutions.

Cons:

Some minor issues with new versions but the support team has sorted that our quickly!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Management Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ease of running reports and updating analyses.

Cons:

Wish there were more excel templates that cover a larger spectrum of the software.

Bari
Equity Analyst
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Gonet Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were still working with Excel to compute performances... So for us it is a big step and a much higher level of analysis. Even though I know this software is mainly used by fund managers, I am sure it will be fine for our portfolio management.

Pros:

Link any sources of data with the program Flexibility of the programming team Analysis of the portfolio is very impressive and the live update with time window's adjustments is very important and useful.

Cons:

It looks a bit outdated in terms of design but it doesn't matter. I already used the program so I was familiar with it, but for a beginner, it is not so user-friendly. In portfolio construction, time-window often is often re-based and adapted to the initial date when reopening a portfolio, and do not save the last time window used. So it makes me often check my weights (model 2) over the time line to see if there is no data missing...

alex
fundmanager in Austria
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

good software fo my purposes

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: portfolio construction / time series analysis

Pros:

ease of usage overall- time series management

Cons:

stability of system overall- but seems to get better

Caitlin
Team leader in UK
Broadcast Media, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great for performance review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Super easy to use and great IT support . We will definitely be continuing to use their performance review software following our free trial.

Cons:

No issues have arisen yet, any confusion was cleared up by their support team .

Soon Kit
VP risk & digital in Singapore
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good software for buy side

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Good layout and feature. Good product base for futher extension

Cons:

nothing so far. need more GTM positioning and you can increase market share easily