15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Reviews

About Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Build customer relationships for life with data-first digital marketing

Learn more about Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Pros:

It’s capabilities once it’s configured which takes a significant amount of time and money by hiring outsourced vendors to help set it up.

Cons:

Their reporting is limited on Journey's and you'll need to extract all the data to do any deep dives.

Salesforce Marketing Cloud ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Salesforce Marketing Cloud has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 491 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Salesforce Marketing Cloud before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (491)

Jana
Jana
Senior Director Of Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Incredibly Powerful Cloud-Based Marketing Automation Platform

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Using Marketing Cloud, we can simply keep tabs on all of our social media profiles, Facebook updates, and email automation tools. Even if this platform is already a part of our website, it integrates with the services of other companies and applications with relative ease. Despite the fact that Marketing Cloud has an email solution, we continue to rely on Mailchimp to assist with channel management.

Pros:

It is an extremely adaptable and comprehensive application that provides everything you need to efficiently manage your connections with customers. I liked that I could find out a lot of stuff, like what they were doing online, about the people I was trying to sell to. It gave me a comprehensive understanding of their habits, tastes, and contacts with my company, allowing me to make smarter choices and give superior service. In conclusion, if you're wanting to simplify your sales and marketing operations in a strong and user-friendly method, this CRM system is what you need.

Cons:

It is always frustrating how long it takes for an email activity to load in Journey Builder. Sometimes the platform will indicate that you have been idle even if you have been working on it continuously.

Manuel
Manuel
Marketing Publicity Manager S in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

For sales and marketing operations, this is a highly valuable tool.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very powerful MA software with a large variety of features However, to master it, you'll need employees who possess the essential technical skills. As a result of CRM measures, it will be able to target specific consumers, which is impossible with mass advertising. A connection to other databases made it possible to use the data internally. Each customer category's LTV has increased. Additionally, we were able to boost email open rates as a result of this and conduct successful marketing.

Pros:

Since it allows you to manage all sales data and customer data, and it is compatible with other collaborative tools, it gets a five for its ease of use. Responsibilities and data in sales and marketing have become easier to handle. In other words, productivity has increased while work procedures have decreased. In the future, I'd like to continue using it. Appropriate for CRM software. Other utilities can be accessed via links. The interface that is easy to utilize. A little forethought will save you from many headaches.

Cons:

Needs a good deal of technical expertise. Has a long learning curve Aspects of operation, a little foresight will save you a lot of headaches.

Kayla
CRM Marketing Specialist in US
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Marketing Cloud is Superior

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I love using SFMC! It's actually the biggest reason I have kept my current job as long as I have, because we use this software. I write journeys to send content and use those journeys in complex ways to add folks to a campaign after they have gotten an email or to direct them down a path for a specific plan or program they may have for a more targeted email. Or I used dynamic content in content builder when building emails so folks can get more customized emails. I also can write the ampscript into the emails in content builder. I frequently write data extensions in email studio and put them on automations! I use salesforce marketing cloud hourly at my job and love it! So many capabilities!

Cons:

Not one con, I love using it and train others how to use it!

Lisa
Email Specialist in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SFMC is the WORSE

1.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Terrible experience. Need to know basic SQL and AMP scripting.

Pros:

Nothing! Absolute worse platform there is

Cons:

Everything! It's terrible platform, not intuitive, requires marketer to act like IT, clunky, minimal support, all in all feels like a sales tactic scam

Karthik
AVP Digital Marketing in India
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Integrated Marketing Solution

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

CRM and MAP are fully integrated. Ease of integration with ABM platform

Cons:

CMS and In-built Email functionalities are not great

Hollie
Communications Coordinator in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Needs work, but very helpful!

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I really like the data and analytics features. The customizable feedback was very helpful for my team.

Cons:

I felt that some features were not user-friendly and not necessarily conducive to the purpose of the product. Training staff was a bit of a hassle.

Marco
IT Expert in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Has Quality Features

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Salesforce Marketing Cloud has brilliant features and a friendly customer support team. Salesforce Marketing Cloud has been so amazing.

Cons:

I do not dislike Salesforce Marketing Cloud at all.

Angela
Angela
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sales force has changed everything for the better!

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: My over experience was way more than I expected! I plan to stay with SalesForce Marketing Cloud for a long time!

Pros:

With salesforce I’m able to understand my customers unique needs.

Cons:

It was a bit hard to understand it first, but at once I got into it everything just flowed freely. I honestly had no idea how I had a business without it.

Ipek Nil
Ipek Nil
Sales Marketing Specialits in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Tool Though Costly

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Single most amazing CRM system available for email campaigns.

Cons:

This tool unfortunately comes with a huge cost, not only to buy but also to maintain.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Help make your company grow

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I like the the platform is available to every day people

Cons:

Price sometimes it can hard to pay those fees

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Terrible product, terrible support

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The personalization options are pretty cool. But when you use them (with AMPscript) the Journey Builder is pretty much useless as Engagement Splits don't work with them.

Cons:

Where to start. - Extremely buggy system. We had multiple issues with the Journey Builder that resulted in a number of our subscribers receiving thousands of emails which put us on the spam list for Gmail. - The Journey Builder is extremely rigid. You have to create new versions if you want to make even the smallest edit. Then you'll likely need to double check every single step because things break super easily. When you update emails that are used in Journeys in Content Builder, you need to go into these Journeys and manually update these emails again to make sure the changes take effect. You can try to solve this with Reference Content but then Engagement Splits don't work because it cannot see the URLs. Same goes for using Dynamic Content. Also, current subscribers in the existing version of a journey cannot be placed into the new version of the journey. Lastly, you can only add subscribers to retargeting audiences but NOT REMOVE them from these retargeting audiences. You'll have to create ANOTHER retargeting audience (for which you have to pay extra) to exclude these in e.g. Facebook. Compare that with a cheap tool like ActiveCampaign and you're just amazed how bad Marketing Cloud is. Especially Journey Builder is the worst app I've ever come across. - The platform is basically not usable without Salesforce CRM. This creates a number of problems, e.g. not being able to simply send a realtime response email when someone fills a form on your website. Also, even though it's the same company, the integration between Salesforce and Marketing Cloud is complex and just basically terrible. - Cloud Pages Smart Capture forms are useless. It doesn't accept people that are already in the data extension that is connected to a particular Smart Capture form but it does not warn you about this in any way. Also, if you use Salesforce as your DoR you can't use Smart Capture forms but are forced to build custom AMPscript code due the ContactID being created in Salesforce (not possible in Marketing Cloud). - As I mentioned above, functions don't work well with each other. This because they just bought a bunch of different companies and tried to tie it together. This also makes it very difficult to navigate as some functions overlap while others are completely incompatible. The system is also very slow. Loading times are not rarely over 10 seconds. This makes working with it daily a true torture. There are numerous other smaller bugs and annoying things that I don't have time for to write down but if I can summerize, if you want your marketing team to be lean, flexible and successful then do yourself a favor and pick any other system.

Jacob
Jacob
CRM Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Industry leader... So you pay for that.

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: I've been in SFMC since it was ExactTarget and you can see the changes and progressions in the past 15 years, but some of them are just not needed. They are just adding things in because they are running out of ideas to do so they need a shiny new toy for users to pay for.

Pros:

If your company has the resources to implement SFMC, it has the ability to do everything you need it to do with email, marketing automation and analytics... The flexibility in emails and templates is the most appealing part.

Cons:

If you have decent developers, there are cheaper options than SFMC. You are basically paying for the name. A lot of the features are overdeveloped and to implement, you have to pay staff a bunch of money to set it up or an implementation partner a bunch of money to set up the system.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worked for SFMC and used the platform daily for 2 years (Agency side, in Services)

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: After moving off of SFMC, I was definitely hurting for the robust nature of personalization and segmentation that was offered through the proprietary Ampscript language, and the full SQL editor to run queries on data extensions. Although I think that it could have been built in a smarter way to execute processing of queries faster, and have a better UX/UI, the power that's available to a slightly more tech savvy marketer is unmatched.

Pros:

The first email platform I worked on was SFMC. Definitely the strongest features of the platform were the ability to customize so much through the use of Ampscript functions, content areas, and data extensions, as well as the ability to segment and cohort large amounts of user data with the power of having a full on SQL editor to do so.

Cons:

The platform was hacked together on the backend, and whoever headed up product did not do a good job of making the UX/UI cohesive. Extremely slow to execute queries on large data sets, and until they moved it into Automation Studio, there was no way to know when your query finished running, or what the error was if it ran into one. On the UX/UI side, who the heck made the decision that Emails and Data Extensions could be shared across Business Units, but User-Initiated Sends/Queries/Scripts, etc can't? It's not consistent, random items can be shared, while others can't and must be manually copied over to the other Business Unit.

Jamie
Sr. Assoc. Director, Digital Marketing in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A heavy hitter, but work to be done in UX

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Despite being somewhat clumsy in real-world use, Marketing Cloud is a powerful, high quality suite for those looking to pursue robust, personalized digital campaigns.

Pros:

This is an outstanding product for 1:1 engagement with an existing audience. We're still somewhat new to it, but are quickly coming up to speed. Best modules are open APIs, Journey Builder (basically pulls the entire suite together to build repeatable workflows), Audience builder (works hand/glove with Journey Builder), and Mobile Studio. It will take time for us to gather enough behavior and other attribute values to really put this to work. But it has plenty of horsepower and data tools and really get us to advanced personalization and performance analysis.

Cons:

The suite is a set of modules cobbled together via the original product (ExactTarget) and new apps purchased by SFDC (e.g., Social Studio, which as Radian 6). This makes it cumbersome to assemble an entire campaign because you're constantly pinging back and forth through different modules (via a tabbed interface) to get things done. It's probably too late now for a truly unified, campaign-based UI, so it will have to do.

Madhusudan
Software Engineer in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best marketing tool for integrating Salesforce CRM

5.0 last year

Comments: With the help of the powerful CRM SalesForce, corporate firms can use account and customer information to enhance customer relationships, boost marketing and sales, and extract business data. The integration with SF is seamless and fluid. Automations that are both clever and unique are possible.

Pros:

Awestruck by the platform. My marketing campaigns were set up and customised without much difficulty because to the user interface's excellent usability and intuitiveness. Particularly helpful has been my ability to divide up my audience into several groups and tailor the content for each one. The Salesforce CRM connectivity is one of my favourite features. It enables smooth data analysis and transmission, which has improved my ability to target customers and develop a deeper understanding of them.

Cons:

As it is among the most effective in this sort of industry for the functions it provides and is also fairly simple to comprehend and include into business equipment, I have nothing unfavourable to say about it.

Katie
Office and Communications Manager in US
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Lots of options, hard to find the one you need

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Salesforce is a powerful CRM tool that is widely used in a variety of industries. It has a lot of features and integrates with many other types of software.

Cons:

Data entry can be cumbersome. The system is not intuitive and neither is the layout of screens, though some of that can be customized. When it comes to running reports, there are a lot of pre-built ones, but most of those aren't useful. I usually find myself having to build my own, and that process is cumbersome and not at all intuitive. There are many different types of reports and it's hard to find the one needed to get the data that I seek. Also, it does not do a great job of tracking contacts who are associated with multiple accounts (such as a representative of multiple companies), and there is not a way to show affiliations between multiple accounts (such as divisions of a large company).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Expensive but not worth it

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Disappointing. Don't waste your money, there are better tools out there.

Pros:

This product poses itself as top of class, but that's only in pricing. It is complicated and not marketing friendly. The interface is not userfriendly and the tool does not support multiple brands without a heavy pricetag.

Cons:

The price, the user experience, the lack of multibrand use. When I threatened to take my business elsewhere we had one call with the VP but then he stopped responding to calls and emails.

Ahmed
Freelancer in Egypt
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best CRM ever

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Salesforce helped us a lot in our work tasks, you can say that he can do all your work tasks, especially if you work in a team in the field of marketing, customer follow-up, advertising campaigns, customer targeting, data collection, real estate and others
In summary, this program can accomplish large and heavy tasks for your company with many advantages that will make it easier for you to use the program

Pros:

Salesforce offers a tons of flexibility. Salesforce allows you to build anything you can imagine. The CRM can perform some serious heavy lifting and integrates with practically all programs on the market. Tasks let you keep track of ongoing discussions or tasks with clients and prospects, whilst reporting lets you monitor how your team is performing.

Cons:

Sometimes it is slow to use However, that is just how CRMs are, I've looked at many different CRMs available, and Salesforce has so far proven to be the finest.

Dick
Carpet Cleaner in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Buggy Buggy Buggy!

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: All in all this solution has a long way to go before it's a good product. There are much better alternatives in the marketing automation space. I have faith in this solution long term because it is owned by Salesforce.com.

Pros:

Features are good in concept. Support takes at most a day to get back to you on cases. Support can usually help you, but not always.

Cons:

Documentation is poor and almost always not descriptive enough and outdated. The system itself is very buggy. The typical response from support is "Just start fresh" in regard to whatever you're working on. We have a Sales cloud integration which does not work well with Marketing cloud. The connector is antiquated and it's impossible to leverage synchronized data extensions in journeys and other marketing content.

Quinn
Sales and Marketing Specialist in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy-to-Use Email Software

5.0 last year

Pros:

The drag-and-drop interface of Salesforce Marketing Cloud makes it simple to create emails. This simplifies the process of adding new designs to my email. Furthermore, the ability to change individual content blocks is useful because it means that if I make a mistake, it will not affect the entire email.

Cons:

Although the platform is quite expensive, I do not believe my company is adequately compensated for it. Customer service has been at best mediocre. We've had a number of issues that have taken a long time to resolve, leaving me and my coworkers frustrated and unable to assist.

Margareth
Margareth
Capital Market Specialist in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficiently manages inetracciones with clients

5.0 last year

Comments: Management of intractions and control of services to clients, a good marketing tool

Pros:

What I like most about this tool is its ease of implementation, this being a good tool to get to know the specific customer we are referring to, it is a system that stores and compiles information to better reach customers and maintain more direct with them

Cons:

I have no criticism or anything negative to contribute because for the functions it has it is one of the most efficient in this type of industry, it is also quite easy to understand and add to business tools

Mark
Resource Development Director
Philanthropy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SalesForce for Nonprofits

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: SalesForce has a long learning curve. A rudimentary knowledge of it can take you a long way, but you will not be making full use of it -- especially as a nonprofit, that normally would have limited resources.

Pros:

There are many great features about SalesForce, including the AppExchange. It gives us a lot of flexibility with regards to events, volunteer management and donation recordings. The feature of recording contacts is easy and prominent, unlike other systems where it is hidden.

Cons:

Although it advertises itself with a feature to compose and create newsletters, the feature is not user-friendly and it is awkward to use. It is easy to create text but tough to format. Several apps in the product are repetitive when creating a contact, especially in the Auctions for SalesForce feature.

Emma
Junior Web Developer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Marketing Cloud

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The best feature about Marketing Cloud is Journey Builder - this allows us to automatically schedule sends, conduct A/B testing and it provides overall metrics for your email sends. There is also an immense amount of documentation on the product which makes troubleshooting eassy.

Cons:

Certifications aren't very easy to get and how they conduct the tests aren't the best. You're monitored through your webcam for the duration of the exam and the questions seem like they're intentionally trying to trip you up.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Really helps us keep our drip campaigns running smooth.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Pick a good vendor, that is the crucial aspect of the roll out. With a bad vendor, the turnover is dangerous to your projects completion date and it's bottom line.

Pros:

The whole baked out process is easy to understand and roll out, using the tool to manage email campaigns and other selling tools is a real revenue generator!

Cons:

As with anything Salesforce, it looks good until you sign the contract, then you see all the hidden add-ons and expenses you need to get the tool actually doing what you want. Be prepared to spend more than they tell you!

Craig
Web Developer
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SalessForce Craig

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I work in SalesForce and rely on it's object and workflow rules to manage our data that we are using. SalesForce is powerful but not the most intuitive software to use on day to day basis. I have gained appreciation for the workflow rules, process builder and approval rules that allow for custom made SalesForce functions to help manage our data structures and data that we pass between our visual pages.

Pros:

Ability to manipulate and change data structures on the fly to account for different processes. Also the plug-ins and ability to tie in things such a docusign, conga workflow are among some of the reasons SalesForce will continue to attract so much business.

Cons:

Not intuitive and can be a bit of a pain to navigate through the various ways to get through anything.