15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Marketo Engage

Powerful, easy to use marketing automation software that helps generate qualified leads and translate marketing spending into revenue.

Learn more about Marketo Engage

Pros:

This task is accomplished through their easy to use user interface and dashboard which can report the necessity to upgrade target key search words and title tags.

Cons:

Some of the systems can be quite hard to understand at first.

Marketo Engage ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Marketo Engage has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 706 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Marketo Engage before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (706)

Jana
Jana
Senior Director Of Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A top-tier marketing automation service.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: With Adobe Marketo Engage, we can now automate our lead marketing cycle and zero in on the most likely customers. As a result, we were able to do more and see better outcomes. The quality of reports must increase. Email layout and scripting are two areas that might use a lot more work. Even though solutions like Integration LaunchPoint are great for processing campaigns and automating other tasks, they may benefit from being more easily integrated with other apps.

Pros:

Unlike with competitors like Hubspot and Pardot, users are not limited in the ways they may approach program and campaign administration. Adobe continues to put resources into improving its add-ons and compatibilities. Marketo serves as our central center for all of our marketing efforts, and we're working to integrate Adobe and other natively linked products in the near future.

Cons:

Marketo is harder to compete with because of all the moving parts it has. There is also a learning curve associated with making the most of Marketo. Marketo requires a dedicated staff member in order to function properly.

Emma
Emma
Senior Director Product Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Definitely one of the top Marketing automation tools out there.

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Marketo Engage is our primary email management solution; we process a high amount of messages daily, and the software helps us stay on top of everything while also automating our responses to clients and providing them with a faster turnaround time and more focus. It is also used to handle promotional emails and social media platforms, where we provide all of our products and services in a dynamic and effective manner. In addition, it serves us well in the billing department since it allows us to fully automate the sending of electronic bills to our clients.

Pros:

Marketo has some of the greatest email marketing tools I've used, including an intuitive email editor and the option to try out dynamic content. It also provides thorough information on your email's deliverability. In fact, consumers may be graded and scored so that they can be researched and analyzed by different departments, making it a great choice for customer management. The software has a straightforward layout and is comfortable to use. In particular, I'd like to call attention to the reports, as we are able to provide individualized information on the job that is being carried out, and how they may be supplemented by social networks for the purpose of running marketing campaigns with a calendar option and webinars.

Cons:

Though I believe Marketo Engage to be the most comprehensive and best-suited solution for businesses today, I believe there is always potential for growth in features like connectivity with Salesforce, and I also believe that we need tutorials. The present learning curve is steep due to the complexity of the interface, which makes it difficult for those with less knowledge to use the program. The in-built reports are highly comprehensive, but they are difficult to analyze, thus we need more tools within the program.

Nzole
Junior researcher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Pros and cons of Marketo Engage

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

i like that the tool is scalable and has a load set of comprehensive features which helps us deal with email marketing and customer engagement.

Cons:

The user interface is relatively not friendly and might be challenging for new users.

Julia
Marketing CRM Coordinator in US
Law Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Marketo Mayhem

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our marketing team had a horrible experience after using Marketo for a year and switched to HubSpot. It was the best decision we have made and we are not using Marketo again.

Pros:

Marketo had a lot of potential in terms of its lead tracking, automated workflows and contact management capabilities. We were thrilled to be on board with using the application, but soon realized we would never get to use the extra bells and whistles it offered since the core components were a constant frustration. It's also a very expensive platform.

Cons:

Marketo provides templates for emails and landing pages that are difficult to customize, especially with our company logo and branding. We constantly were hitting road blocks and their support always very slow to respond days later after a technical issue was reported.

Alternatives Considered: Send and Act-On

Reasons for Choosing Marketo Engage: We needed a new marketing platform for creating and sending emails, creating event registrations and tracking leads.

Reasons for Switching to Marketo Engage: Marketo had a lot to offer and it was expensive, but at the time we were evaluating other applications, we believed it had everything we needed.

Ogarekpe
Implementation Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Superb tool to transform your marketing efforts

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: This tool is a game changer in elevating your marketing efforts and driving engagement.

Pros:

It has robust personalization features that are instrumental in enabling us to produce content that is relevant to our customers leading to effective marketing campaigns. Thanks to this tool we are able to save important resources and valuable time through its marketing automation features of tasks.

Cons:

Its advanced customisation features have a high learning curve and require ample training and vendor support to use them appropriately.

Whitney
Director of DG in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Marketo powers our entire marketing team

4.0 last year

Comments: Marketo is the platform that powers our entire marketing campaigns and performance. It allows us to understand the impact marketing is having on overall bottom line.

Pros:

It's incredibly robust, so you're able to manage the entiretly of your marketing campaigns within Marketo: audience creation, lead scoring, emails, landing pages, content management, automation and sync to salesforce. Bizible ensures everything a prospect or customer does is tracked in Salesforce so we understand the impact marketing has on revenue.

Cons:

It's clunky because it's legacy. It's not an easy tool to navigate or manage. It requires coding to build landing pages and their templates aren't great (pro-tip: use Unbounce and connect to Marketo). Because Marketo is so robust, when you build automation and audiences and campaigns, you can get overwhelmed and lost.

Alternatives Considered: HubSpot Marketing Hub, ActiveCampaign and Springboard

Reasons for Choosing Marketo Engage: I hate to admit that we switched from HubSpot to Marketo because i LOVE Hubspot. But Marketo is a better tool for enterprise companies - it was able to mold to how we operated as a business.

Switched From: HubSpot Marketing Hub

Reasons for Switching to Marketo Engage: Marketo is better suited for larger enterprises

Winnie
Research assistant in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best marketing solution-Marketo Engage

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I I like the flexibility that comes with the tool which helps us to scale our marketing activities

Cons:

The tool works perfectly and we have not encountered any technicalities

Ephantus
Project Manager in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Experience With Marketo Engage

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

It makes content management easy Has amazing content delivery features

Cons:

No issues as Marketo Engage has been amazing.

Smita
Developer in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great email marketing tool with best in class functionalities and analytics

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall its a great tool with powerful AI and analytics features.

Pros:

Market engage makes is very easy to send personalized emails targeting precision groups and with a specific time using AI. It has a variety of analytics tools available to generate meaningful reports and dashboards.

Cons:

Non technical people will find it difficult to setup and manage the system as it's a little complex for people with no IT background. The cost is a little bit on the higher side as well.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A fair platform for CRM engagement

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: A fair tool overall for all CRM needs
This helps multitasking with other tools.

Pros:

1. Easy to use and deploy 2. AI command is good 3. Mobile friendly 4. Safe to use keeping GDPR in mind

Cons:

1. UX is average 2. Hard to integrate 3. Frequent updates required

Ruth
Marketing Automation and Website Manager in US
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customizable to Your Business

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Marketo is robust and can be configured to meet most business cases. It integrates well with many systems/services. For example, Marketo integrates better with Salesforce than Salesforce Marketing Cloud. There is a solid user group/community. Things like Content AI and Web Personalization take personalization across your digital marketing to the next level. Training is required to use a lot of features.

Cons:

You have to build your own preference center. This doesn't come out-of-the-box. UI is bad, and Marketo Sky will help fix this, but it's taking forever for Marketo Sky to get to a point where I can actually use it. Many features do cost extra but you can pick and choose. Landing page templating is lacking without a dedicated devloper.

Alternatives Considered: HubSpot Marketing Hub, Salesforce Marketing Cloud and Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Switched From: Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Marketo Engage: Robust enterprise solution that can be customized

amrit
salesforce administrator in Canada
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

marketo user and admin review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: works extremely well for the business case we have. integration with salesforce helps us immensely in tracking key business clients and their purchase journey.

Pros:

best email marketing software in the market. easy to setup lead scoring. integration with salesforce works really well.

Cons:

some of the functionality is still old school. needs to upgrade the drag and drop interface to reflect modern software design principals.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Reasons for Switching to Marketo Engage: marketo is expensive but very robust and has a lot of relevant features which made us buy it.

Alexandra
Alexandra
Chief Financial Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Marketo a Total Integration Tool.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Marketo primarily to stop form submission automation as well as data cleansing, and of course we owe Marketo an important part of our automation. We also pay additional money to be able to use their templates and thus create a landing page and of course have the templates within the emails. All this was done at the expense of a long time, which is the main factor to invest in Marketo, but after learning how to use and take advantage of the software in a good way, the results were magnificent.

Pros:

Among the many impressive features that Marketo has, its integrations stand out, which are an important factor in obtaining a complete service that fully satisfies the requirements of the company, has integrations with many different software and also has the ability to integrate with third parties to through Zapier making it a full integration tool. The user interface is very flexible and can be configured according to the data flow of the company or the portfolio of clients and potential clients. Through Marketo, much of the information that reaches the company can be automated, thus bringing the data to Salesforce in a clean way.

Cons:

It has a somewhat long learning curve that makes it essential to have some help before being able to use the program to its full potential, so technical support plays a preponderant role in the software. In addition, the system must be configured through an API connection, which makes it quite a cumbersome process. Although the interface has great flexibility, it can be confusing when starting out due to its main focus, which is undoubtedly the database for the software, but once learned it is a fast path to success.

Jasmine
Marketing Programs Manager in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Impressive and efficient

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Marketo gives me the opportunity to seamlessly deliver information to the sales users in my organization through the Marketo Sales Insights tool in Salesforce as well as triggered alerts/emails. I really enjoy the speed of the Salesforce sync as we are able to create/monitor campaigns and attribute revenue almost instantly.

Pros:

Marketo is consistently ranked by analysts as a top automation solution, and I can finally see why! As a marketer, it’s simple to use but also robust for program management from creation to reporting. On a day-to-day basis, I use Marketo within a B2B environment and we wouldn’t be able to function without it. It’s a key tool for my marketing strategy, one of our most used functionalities is cloning programs, tactics, and campaigns. This allows us to make fewer mistakes and maintain continuity from user-to-user, an efficiency for my nimble, growing team. What I’d like to see is continued product improvement driven by customer voices. I’m excited for the new Mercury UI to debut in 2018!

Cons:

As an admin within a small team, the uptime to full functionality can be like climbing a steep hill on a cold day. Simply put, learning this tool can feel cumbersome if it’s not your only responsibility. Luckily, the Marketing Nation Community combined with the product docs and Marketo University prove to be helpful resources for growing your knowledge. Within a year I was able to confidently learn the tool, contribute new ideas, and become a Marketo Certified Expert (MCE). Service/support - Compared to other automation platforms, there seems to be limited support and desire for accounts to have a 1:1 communication on a regular basis with an account rep. We’ve recently been assigned a new rep and we're making progress.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Marketo Engage - best automation tool to date

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent overall, can be the engine of the marketing department and best support for sales if used properly

Pros:

best automation/database management tool to date. Create comms, forms, landing pages, a structured database, rules - an entire functioning ecosystem.

Cons:

No batching of operations, editor of emails can be improved

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Reasons for Choosing Marketo Engage: prior had limited functionalities

Switched From: SmartFocus

Reasons for Switching to Marketo Engage: Best product on the market

Devendra Kumar
Manager in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

"Powerfully Engage Your Customers with Marketo Engage: A Comprehensive Review"

4.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with Marketo Engage Software has been positive. Marketo Engage has enabled us to create personalized customer journeys, allowing us to build relationships with our customers and increase engagement. We have been able to track our customer journey, understand their behavior and tailor our campaigns accordingly. This has resulted in improved customer retention and improved customer loyalty. Additionally, Marketo Engage has allowed us to automate processes, saving us time and money, and enabling us to focus more on customer-facing activities. Finally, Marketo Engage has given us a better understanding of our customers, allowing us to better target our campaigns and improve our ROI. All in all, Marketo Engage has been a great asset for our business.

Pros:

1. Easy-to-use interface: Marketo Engage has an intuitive user interface that makes it easy to quickly build complex marketing programs and campaigns.2. Advanced segmentation capabilities: Marketo Engage provides a powerful segmentation engine to target the right audiences and ensure maximum engagement.3. Automation and integration: Marketo Engage provides a wide range of automation capabilities, enabling users to save time and improve efficiency. It also allows for easy integration with other systems, such as Salesforce and Google Analytics.4. Flexible and customizable: Marketo Engage allows for easy customization of all marketing programs and campaigns, enabling users to tailor their activities to their specific needs.5. Comprehensive reporting: Marketo Engage provides comprehensive, real-time reporting on all activities, enabling users to track and measure their results.

Cons:

One of the cons of Marketo Engage software is that its user interface is not always intuitive. It can be difficult to navigate or find the features or settings you’re looking for. Additionally, the integration with existing business processes can be tricky and may require additional time and resources to ensure a successful integration. Additionally, the software can be quite expensive, which might be cost-prohibitive for some businesses. Finally, some features are missing from the software that could be useful, such as an AI-powered analytics engine or a more comprehensive CRM system.

Cynthia
Operations associate officer in US
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Marketo's Automation Mastery and Lead Management Excellence

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: We can develop focused and interesting campaigns thanks to its personalisation features, which greatly raises customer engagement.

Pros:

The comprehensive lead tracking and scoring solution provided by Marketo's lead management capabilities is exceptional. Our campaigns can be customised based on the unique behaviours and preferences of each customer thanks to Marketo's personalisation features, which produce more relevant and engaging relationships.

Cons:

Its campaign cloning options are not very flexible, particularly when duplicating more complex campaigns with different assets and setups.

Louis
Project Manager in US
Computer Hardware, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our team has found Marketo an essential tool to organize and to optimize new customer relationships

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our review focused on the process of discovery relative to our website and front line presentations to the market prospect visitors. However , Marketo Software covers the complete spectrum of marketing and prospect lead generation. Its almost intelligent interaction with prospects allows our team great confidence in engaging and in capturing quality leads.

Pros:

We loved the Marketo's ability to rate and analyze our web pages and in addition to recommend tactics to boost our site's search ability. This is a vital feature specification on the marketing side. This task is accomplished through their easy to use user interface and dashboard which can report the necessity to upgrade target key search words and title tags. We also employ Marketo's ability to collect information from prospective visitors to our site and with its tools which customize the visitors experience based the application's unique reaction to visitor company size and industry sector as well as inquiry behavior while interacting.

Cons:

We hoped the customer service hours to be more robust and available as we work late hours and over seas times. This is a small complaint in the over all scheme and we rate Marketo as a fine product . The online support resources are helpful.

Caroline
Marketing Associate in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Features aren't worth the difficulty

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I had a negative experience working daily in Marketo for 6 months. I'm sure it's useful for some companies, but the average business can't possibly make it work for them.

Pros:

Marketo has a huge amount of features, like very specific reporting, integration with various platforms, robust list building, and more. I managed a very large volume of interconnected campaigns on Marketo, and it was pretty effective at doing whatever we needed to, once we figured it out.

Cons:

There is a higher learning curve with Marketo than any other of the many email marketing platforms I've used in my experience. Clients were never, ever able to handle it on their own. It sucked up a lot of my time, which would not be the case for a platform like MailChimp. Marketo has more capabilities, but it's not practical for the average business to manage. There are many, many things it cannot do that are pretty standard on other platforms: adding emojis to emails, not crashing constantly, effective merge fields, having flexible templates, communicating what errors are when something doesn't work, etc. It caused much, much more trouble than it was worth. I don't even have confidence that the data we pulled from it was accurate either.

Rachel
Content Marketing Manager in US
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Makes Small Teams Seem Big

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The Marketo community is great and one of the highlights of working with this software. The support is robust and effective. While the aesthetic aspects of the forms, landing pages, and emails leaves something to be desired, it is more than made up for in overall functionality.

Pros:

We have a really small marketing team, but we are able to create quality, complex nurture streams easily with Marketo. It also gives us valuable insight into who is engaging with our website and our emails. We couldn't imagine running our marketing with anything else.

Cons:

While the functional aspects of Marketo are great, they are lacking in some areas like form design and ease of use for designing emails and landing pages. They have tried to improve all three but continue to fall short compared to other tools. You will have to have someone who knows how to do some basic coding if you want to go beyond their most basic templates.

Renee
Sales Associate in US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Solution for Salesforce users.

4.5 9 years ago

Pros:

I used Marketo in my last role for about three years and was always impressed. Marketo does a great job of integrating very seamlessly with Salesforce and in a sales role, this is imperative to your success. You are able to track not only your emails, but develop sophisticated campaigns to drive engagement in a particular market or across a broad spectrum. Above all, Marketo gave you the flexibility to develop an idea and execute on it successfully. Additionally, the system was great in providing the engagement reports key prospects had with our organization. As a sales professional, quality leads some times make or break a quota. Marketo feeds you quality leads that you're able to rank based on many algorithms. Having an understanding of what your prospect is most interested in, creates a much more effective first conversation, rather than attempting to connect cold. Overall, Marketo was a crucial part of our sales processes and truly assisted in your achievements as an organization. I would highly recommend.

Cons:

We only encountered some occasional problems when uploading smart lists. This would sometimes take quite a long time when Marketo was running updates or changes, that would slow the system.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient tool for marketing automation!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've found so much success since implementing Marketo. We are able to track and report on our sales campaigns, which allows us to continually improve our content and marketing strategies.

Pros:

Once you set campaigns and functionality up in the platform, it's extremely easy to clone programs and logic. Managing lists and contacts is very easy to do and the platform offers pretty helpful reporting tools. The Marketo community is full of great resources and you are always connected to helpful tools to help you better use the platform.

Cons:

Email creation can be difficult. How the email looks when you build it can differ greatly from what you see in the preview test send. I've spent a long time tweaking emails in the platform trying to get them to look good, and without templates, it's extremely difficult at times.

Crystal
Customer Community Manager in US
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Want to see proven ROI with a marketing automation system?

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

- UI Usability & design. - Tracking of programs from creation to execution, including success and engagement across programs like webinars, events, web pages and multi-step or channel campaigns. - Complex criteria for building out nurture programs based on targeted parameters and real-time interactions. - Global partitions and platform internationalization. - Real-time personalization

Cons:

- Search functionality could be a lot easier with keywords, or created date. I know the platform just updated to search based on URL, but it could use a bit more work to make it easier for newer employees who have tons of legacy items to sift through. - Speed of platform is sometimes frustrating - it can be great at times...other times it lags beyond belief, when pulling lists, approving emails and landing pages, and just jumping from campaign to campaign. Sometimes I have to even restart or refresh the platform just to get it moving again. - Campaign calendar layout is not intuitive and leaves marketing teams resorting to a Google Calendar or similar feature to track campaign sequencing and deliverables. It's usable if you spend some time in it, but it definitely could be better.

Steve
Marketing Automation Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best MA Tool On The Market -- By FAR

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Marketo is by far the best MA tool on the market. I have used many. If you are looking at bringing an MA platform in house, do yourself a favor and go with Marketo.

Pros:

I have been in the MA space for over 5 years. This is the BEST tool on the market. The best thing about is its relative ease of use. Yes, mastering it and making the most of it takes time. But the bottom line is anyone can learn Marketo, and all it takes is time. Other tools require technical knowledge outside of the platform (such as coding, scripting, SQL). But to use Marketo, you don't need any outside technical skill -- just a commitment to learning Marketo. It has an incredible user-friendly interface, integrates easily with other tools, and really adds to internal marketing's tool set.

Shahid
Business Developer- Sales Ops in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Marketo beats every platform in the peer space.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We just love this platform, it has improved our Sales-Marketing initiatives and we are able to achieve best results.

Pros:

Lead Management- Marekto has helped us improve our lead management with better lead scoring parameters and tracking the movement of each lead help us drive sales. Marketing campaigns- We are able to successfully deliver our email marketing campaigns and achieve high results, With Marketo we justify the ROI on marketing spend. The email templates, the email scheduler, analytics, different dashboards are great feature and can boost your productivity.

Cons:

This is the best platform, having said that it needs training to use more efficiently. So a training is required for new user to make optimal use of it.