15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Track-It!

Fully integrated Help Desk system for small to medium sized companies that is affordable to own and easy to install, configure and use.

Learn more about Track-It!

Pros:

The software had a nice interface. It's layout is sectioned off so you look at each integration module separately.

Cons:

Some features are inflexible and can be difficult to manage.

Track-It! ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
3.8
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Track-It! has an overall rating of 4.0 out 5 stars based on 75 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Track-It! before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (75)

Miguel
Information Technology Project Manager & Quality Assurance in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Solid option for companies seeking a home grown solution !

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Control of all my IT department, Assets, ticketing, workload, licences, puchases and knowledge base!

Pros:

This is a product that will satisfy your needs, but you have to configure it to do so, all the modules are based and linked among them so this will be a easy to use tool!

Cons:

there's no service Catalog, but you can cuastomize one in the categorization and schedule module!, I also think that the module regarding to Training could be a bit more rich in terms of having the course materials in there.

Joseph
Technology Support Specialist in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Track-IT by Numara

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: For the most part, it's a good experience. Their support portal is a little confusing at first but once you're in, their support is very good. I've had to call them a couple times and had my issues resolved quickly.

Pros:

The stability of the product. The customization aspect...adding fields. The options seem limitless.

Cons:

The user interface for the on prem version is dated. It needs to be updated to look more modern. That's more on me then them. I just don't like the view(s).

BMC Software Response

6 years ago

Hi Joseph, thanks for the feedback. You should take a look at our new Track-It! 2018 version. It has some great new features, a new modern web interface and is a free upgrade to customers on support. I think it may be exactly what you are looking for.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Track-It is Simple and Not for Everyone

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It is simple to use, and fairly easy to manage and is well suited for small business needing to track and escalate changes, support and documentation for resolutions that happen often.

Cons:

It is not as scalable as some other solutions. It works well for what it is, but it also has limited options for integrations, and also in the self-service portal area it is very basic.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good asset management software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We manage several hundred computers, users, software licenses and a solutions database in our IT department. We use track-it to automatically audit all devices that connect to our network and keep track of where the item is and who it is assigned to. We also keep track of software licensing and help desk requests and tickets.

Pros:

Track-It automates tracking your assets, and help desk tickets easily. It is nice to be able to see what computers we have and what software is installed on them and who is using them.

Cons:

The Track-it audit function is sometimes a little buggy with older operating systems.

Italo
Italo
Supervisor in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have worked for more than 4 years with the application and it is very useful to classify incidents

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Good control of the Helpdesk department management and reporting

Pros:

The knowledge database is very broad, it is very good to classify types of incidents and to measure the productivity of the work team. Its cost is not very high

Cons:

Apparently there is no version for Android or IOS, sometimes I think the application is a bit slow and the design is a little outdated.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software for inventory control at a great price

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Ability to manage inventory on large scale

Pros:

The ease of use in setting up and allowing me to run audits on all IT equipment. Support was always excellent.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Track-it customizable

3.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Track-It! is highly customizable from ticketing to asset management, to reports.

Cons:

Integration Hiccups. Occasionally, integrating Track-It! with other systems can be a bit finicky, requiring extra troubleshooting.

Sarvesh
Sarvesh
Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GUI

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great

Pros:

interface is overall good and user friendly

Cons:

performance is poor over the time need so optimization techniques for DB

Migdelia Meriyela
Migdelia Meriyela
Acount Specialist in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It has been nice, the self-service and audit modules I like and the support is excellent

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

what I like the most is support attention, they are always available to attend cases, really excellent

Cons:

what I like the least is the complexity to issue reports is difficult to use, it would be nice if they improve this part easier, much more management

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Ticket tool your incident management process

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our customer is using Track-It tool to record all their incident in their manufacturing process and we are able to work with Track-It because of them. It is a low-maintenance help desk ticketing tool and very useful for middle sized companies.Solid reporting functionalities to see what is the some main areas that looks more buggy. Good help desk product in my opinion.

Pros:

User Interface is pretty straight forward. It allows you to easily manage your tickets. Provides a comprehensive reporting module which i like most.

Cons:

When you want to add new audit steps or configure your current flow, it takes some time to completed.

Jim
Jr Sys Admin in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not the best ticketing system

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is a decent software for just a ticketing system. Can easily escalate/pass off tickets as needed. You can make some decent reports to get a deeper understanding of what types of tickets are coming in and who is closing them.

Cons:

Doesn't have enough simple customization. The inventory aspect is not great. You will come across a lot of little features missing that leave you questioning the software.

Rudy
Systems Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good ticketing software for small businesses

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: while it worked well it just didn't have the customization options that we required for our needs

Pros:

It is a reliable ticketing software that works well for businesses that don't need a bunch of advanced functionality

Cons:

It doesn't have the same amount of options as other helpdesk ticketing software

BMC Software Response

6 years ago

Hey Rudy, I would invite you to check out the Track-It! 2018 release which is free to all customers on current support contracts. It has new features for form customization and business rules that greatly enhance the customization capability of the product.

Renford joseph
Senior technical support analyst in Canada
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An itsm tool with limitations

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Not that complicated. It is pretty straightforward to use.

Cons:

It is not all efficient and unreliable due to its latency .

Geraldine
Geraldine
Gerente general de proyectos in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good Product Needs More Custumer Support

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

* Trackit allows to create task inside work orders wich its nice * It manages several types of notifications regarding SLA´s

Cons:

* Doesn't have an app for android or ios * Configuration can be sometimes difficult and not easy to understand

Sherry
IT Purchasing and License Compliance Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Track-It Meets our Needs

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We have been using Track-It for 8 years now and the application is constantly evolving into a better product. I really like the Help Desk, Self-Service and Auditing modules. It is very easy to use and is a great value for the cost. The one thing that I truly like about the product is the support. They are always there to work through whatever scenario you might have and see it through to the end.

Pros:

As stated above, the best part of this product is the support and ease of use.

Cons:

Reporting is very cumbersome and not easy to use. I wish there was a more drag and drop feature for reporting instead of using Crystal Reports.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product concept, not easiest to use.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Better organized support team.

Pros:

The features include details on the support ticket, inventory and all the analytics that go with it make this a very powerful program.

Cons:

It is very difficult to navigate around the software. The features are present but they are very difficult to maneuver.

Lance
Service Desk Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Product!

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: I have used Track-It for almost ten years now and have been pleased with how well the product has developed (and improved) over time. I have always found. the support team to be knowledgeable and easy to work with. Additionally, enhancements to the product have been the result of feedback from actual users (and not just the idea of a developer sitting in a dark room). As far as ease of use is concerned, it does not take very long for my new techs to learn how to use the system (and I am able to lock down permissions as needed to ensure the appropriate level of access for each Tier). Overall, I am happy with my experience with the product, as I am able to accurately track the metrics required by my leadership.

Zachary
IT Tech in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Love Track-it!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The software is low maintenance but high powered. It it console managed and can hold info for many pieces of equipment. Mass deployment also a plus

Cons:

The software doesn't always pick up the simple things like a mac address or an IP address leading to some leg work or manual inputs.

Sherry
IT Purchasing and Asset Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

We have been using TrackIt for about 10 years and we like how the products works for us.

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We have several departments using TrackIt for their helpdesk ticketing, the IT department, Maintenance, Building Services, Communications and our Clinical Evaluation Center. Everyone is very please with the helpdesk part of TrackIt. I also use the inventory module, remote access, library and the purchasing modules. For the most part we have been very satisfied with the product and the customer support is excellent. I never have to wait more than a day to get my issues addressed and that means a lot. We are tracking around 1,000 assets and have an average of 600 helpdesk tickets a month for the IT Department.

brian
IT manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

mediocre at best

2.0 9 years ago

Comments: Have used this software for a number of years. The company has been bought by BMC (Remedy). Was hoping for better things but that has not come to fruition. The interface somewhat usable. Have issues with audits failing or not working. Database issues from time to time. And don't get me started about version upgrades are a nightmare (at least the past 3 versions). Licensing for the product is also pain. The email generations for help desk are a joke. Also appears their 1st tier support group is no longer US based. The cost of the software is probably the only reason we have stayed with them this long.

Bruce
Owner in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

looking good

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

many options with notifications for sla's. this is also a very inexspensive product as well. no complaints

Cons:

i really do wish that this product had a application for phones. I would be able to accomplish more.

Adam
Customer Service Coordinator
Medical Practice, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Product!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Track-It! is a great product with great features! It helps keep our IT department organized and running effectively and efficiently.

Kerri
Technology Assistant in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very Powerful

3.0 8 years ago

Pros:

I have been using TrackIt! for more than 13 years. It has so many features. At times there are even a few too many. I only use a portion of all that is available and it is great. They will be going to a web-based service. That should be helpful.

Cons:

Once BMC bought the program they changed and outsourced the Tech Support. Before BMC the Tech Support was 11 out of 10 Stars. Support now is why I only ranked this a 7.

David
IT Support Team Leader in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Track - IT Review

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: briefly used, interface easy to navigate and use.

Jay
Systems Analyst in US
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Just Say NO! to BMC

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: We had also used Track-it around 10years ago and had warm fuzzy feelings towards it then. The reviews here made it sound like it was still a winner, yet sadly we found our experience this time was completely negative. From the beginning their sales and licensing team couldn't get our license emailed out and claimed it was blocked yet our firewall never supported their claim. Response times were not great and it takes more than a few days to even get simple responses. The sales team has made lots of excuses, told us how since BMC took over that things have steadily gone down hill and when we finally said enough is enough, we got endless run around about a refund. From this experience we felt like they picked up a once great software to fill out their line- card and didn't do a great job folding it into the their existing package. I would cation everyone from going with Track-it unless your already more than familiar with BMC and their ways and only if it's not to late to move yourself into a better suite, DO IT! We researched more and after much testing picked Tool & Asset Manager 2.0 which was half the cost and worked right out of the box with no problems. We rolled out and within a month had the organization audited and tagged. We can't comment on the rest of the BMC suite so as with all reviews take this one with a grain of salt, but our warm fuzzy feelings from using it before couldn't help the fundamental failures of its present state. JUST SAY NO TO BMC!

Pros:

The software had a nice interface. It's layout is sectioned off so you look at each integration module separately.

Cons:

Track-IT has fallen from it's once glory days now that BMC owns it and pushed to have it integrate with their "Free" help-desk. We went looking for Asset management not help-desk and were left with nothing but frustration and disappointment. The BMC client service installs as part of the network discovery but it will not uninstall. You have to manually remove it. The 995 package comes with 50 licenses and because it hinges on the help-desk module it can only go out and find 50 endpoints which handicaps you into purchasing more licensing. It runs over SQL of course like more asset software, however when the software was installed over a fresh copy of 2016 Server it took several sessions with their engineer/helpdesk to get things running which should never have been needed. The sql services fault and have to be restarted manually which also should never happen repeatedly and their engineer/helpdesk could not correct this. Last on the list but slightly more important is that they are build on older coding so you can't use special characters in your passwords and there is no two factor authentication. In this day and security critical age, that is the straw that will break your back and find your system possibly for ransom~

BMC Software Response

4 years ago

I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience. I am not sure what you mean by Free help desk as we do not offer a free version. That said, it sounds like you were focused mainly on the client management feature and the things you mentioned should have been resolvable. Sounds like it is too late now but I hope the solution you picked does what you need.