SkillSurvey Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.7 /5

About SkillSurvey

SkillSurvey is an innovative Talent Intelligence SaaS solution built on I/O data science, to source, hire and retain top talent.

Learn more about SkillSurvey

Showing 91 reviews

Krista M.
Practice Manager
Veterinary Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"Easy to use, great results"

Comments: SkillSurvey helps us to hire people that are a great fit with our culture.

Pros: This software is easy to use and provides you with results that are a snap to analyze.

Cons: The new verification piece, logging in from different computers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Verified Reviewer
Talent Acquisition Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-18

"Great Product, Huge Impact"

Pros: SkillSurvey has replaced the tedious process of playing phone tag, leaving voicemails and trying to contact references. This process used to waste our HR team's time and delayed the offer process. Since implementing SkillSurvey, our references are completed in less time (average of 8 hours versus our previous time frame of 3-5 business days). The feedback reports that are generated through this process are much more detailed and provide candid feedback that presents an accurate representation of the candidate. This process has transformed our hiring process, increased our retention by hiring the right candidate for the job, and created huge process efficiencies.

Cons: There are no negatives that I can speak to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-18
Pamela Z.
Director, Recruitment
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"Reference Tool for Candidates"

Comments: Very positive and definitely recommend. When system goes down their is very good customer service and it now integrates with our ATS Greenhouse

Pros: Its easy, reliable, offers leads and saves an enormous amount of time while capturing in depth detail about candidate while verifying that the reference is legit.

Cons: I cant say that I have any that come to mind. I used it in my last 2 companies and brought it over to this one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30
Melissa B.
Human Resources Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"User Friendly Software"

Pros: I love that the software is user friendly and doesn't require much from the employer side to initiate a reference check.

Cons: My least favorite thing about the Skill Survery software is that there aren't enough specified categories that are specific to our organization for us to initiate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30
Verified Reviewer
Talent Acquisition Associate
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-11

"Easiest and most consistent way to check references"

Pros: On the HR side, SkillSurvey simplifies the reference check process our candidates. First, there are a ton of surveys to choose from. This means that I'm able to easily send surveys that make sense to candidates from a wide range of fields and experience levels. SkillSurvey also allows references to answer anonymously - in my experience, references are more honest with this system compared to phone calls or letters of recommendation. This allows my team to make the more informed decisions based on this information. Finally, the responses are compiled in easy-to-understand graphs. This feature saves my hiring managers and me plenty of time.

Cons: SkillSurvey sends an email notification when the reference check process is initiated. I would like a similar notification at two other stages of the process: when the candidates has entered all of their references' information and when each reference has completed the survey. Also, I'd like if candidates could notify me through the system if they need me to waive one or two of the references.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-11
Kiana L.
Staffing Specialist
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-16

"Great Product"

Comments: SkillSurvey has greatly helped to streamline the reference checking process and ensures that it is actually completed for all searches. We have gotten way more honest feedback from references with the online system over phone calls.

Pros: The SkillSurvey system is very intuitive and easy to use. The reminder emails to candidates and references are fantastic, as well as the emails to the Admins on when action needs to be taken on a candidate in the system.

Cons: I wish there were more options for higher education specific surveys, maybe broken down by faculty discipline.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-16
Verified Reviewer
Recreation Specialist
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-05

"Is it the program or the user?"

Comments: I took a survey on behalf of a candidate for a position. Responses were a 7-step never / always scale. Any candidate will offer favorable referrences, so what is the point of asking me if my former coworker is "Always" responsible? The person I was describing is a wonderful and highly competent person, an asset to any organization, but I don't feel the survey I took would give any hiring manager an accurate view of her skills.

Pros: Very easy for the survey-taker to respond.

Cons: Would not give an accurate or useful view of the candidate being considered.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-05
Jay D.
HR Generalist
Chemicals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"Great Software!"

Comments: Great!!

Pros: Easy to use, saves time tracking down references and nice reporting

Cons: Some difficulty for international hiring with Translations

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Spring F.
HR Tech
Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-13

"HR Tech"

Pros: Easy to use, and it saves a lot of time for employers and employees.

Cons: I can't read comments for reference when only 2 people respond.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-13
Mackenzie D.
Recruiter
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"SkillSurvey for Recruiters"

Comments: Overall I am very happy with the service provided.

Pros: I like that it can go to their phones or emails, it helps to provide a user friendly experience.

Cons: For some references it is too long to fill out .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30
Esperanza S.
ACADEMIC PERSONNEL/HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"Skill Survey"

Pros: I like the ease and convenience of an electronic "reference". Also, I like that the questions are focused around the type of position and that there is an area to free write.

Cons: I wish there were more position templates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Sterling B.
VP HR & Administrative Services
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-22

"Priceless Candidate Reference Tool"

Comments: Huge believer - we've hired several key people, and SkillSurvey Reference has facilitated that.

Pros: Very high percentage of responses, the speed at which the responses come, and the honest, relevant information

Cons: Sometimes the system-generated messages are intercepted by spam filters

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-22
Brenna K.
Employment Coordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"Time and Money Saving Software"

Pros: This software saves us a lot of time and hassle. I love that the candidate has control over when the references get back to us, instead of me having to continue to call and email references all week. I have seen a huge drop in our response time ever since we started using SkillSurvey.

Cons: I don't really have any complaints. Sometimes I can get frustrated with the fact that we can't generate a report with less than two responses but I understand why.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Sonja S.
Curator
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"SkillsSurvey Review"

Comments: Very good. Makes my day and the entire process of hiring easier.

Pros: Ease of use. I'm not sure it can get easier.

Cons: Job type templates are too limited. I can't get at what I really need to know; too many question that are irrelevant. This should be customizable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Audra B.
Talent Acquisition Specialist
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-08

"Excellent application! User friendly and quality results."

Pros: Very user friendly. The application was easy to learn when I started here.

Cons: We cannot review the references answers until we submit/finish the report. We wish there was a 'preview'.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-08
Hannah W.
Admin Assistant
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-05

"Free trial; quite a few restrictions but cool results."

Comments: More confidence in hiring decisions

Pros: I like that you can learn information about potential hires that you otherwise wouldn't be able to. I liked that emails were sent from SkillSurvey so I didn't have to bug these contacts over and over; they'd automatically send. I like the different questions it asks employers in order to find out about potential hires. The free trial was long and did not require credit card information, which we appreciated.

Cons: I didn't like that you can't review the results unless you have a certain number of references respond. That was frustrating to me (maybe that's just a trial functionality?). Additionally, with the free trial you can't use the full range of surveys, just a general one. But that worked pretty well for us, still.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-05
Alan K.
Vice President
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"Inquirehire Review of Skill Survey"

Comments: We re-sell the product to our background screening clients, and it provides an effective "glue" for our business.

Pros: The breadth of questionnaires available.

Cons: I would like more flexibility when the applicant has trouble providing references that will respond.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Mildred G.
Human Resources Generalist
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"Skill Survey"

Pros: It is so easy and freed up so much time for the hiring managers.

Cons: Sometimes it is difficult to find the appropriate survey for the position we are filling.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30
Karen S.
HR Program Manager
Architecture & Planning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-20

"SkillSurvey Feedback"

Comments: SkillSurvey provides us with a very effective pre-employment professional reference check. The behavioral questions are an important piece in the reference check process.

Pros: The product is very easy to use and provides critical feedback as part of our recruiting process for our hiring managers.

Cons: It would be great if SkillSurvey could integrate their process with our HRIS UKG Pro. We are waiting for this integration to occur soon.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-20
Madison T.
Talent Acquisition Coordinator
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"SkillSurvey Reference"

Comments: We mainly use SkillSurvey to receive reference reports for candidates, but we also use SkillSurvey Source for our recruiting needs.

Pros: This tool is allows my organization to receive candid and thoughtful reviews of a candidate while also maintaining the privacy of the reference. The reporting gives valuable insight into a candidate and we have made many of our selections based on the candidate's SkillSurvey reference report.

Cons: I honestly cannot think of anything. I am a very satisfied customer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30
Margo S.
Director, Talent Acquisition & Development
Museums & Institutions, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-22

"Museum of Science Review"

Comments: I highly recommend SkillSurvey to anyone I meet. It makes the reference checking process painless and provides honest feedback in a very easy to read/understand format.

Pros: It is very user friendly for both administrators and references. The turn around time is so quick and the reports are easy to ready and decipher.

Cons: We have very unique positions and sometimes we aren't able to find a survey that covers everything we're looking for. But this is rare.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-22
Mark O.
Director, Interim Leadership
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21

"Outstanding product!"

Comments: Excellent benefits have been realized in our firm since implementation - this is the third organization that has utilized SkillSurvey that I have worked at and I am a huge fan!

Pros: The ease of use and the amount of feedback collected is what I like the most about this software.

Cons: There is nothing that I would change at this time about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-21
Millie W.
CHRO/CAO
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"A great time-saver and a nice interface for our company to look tech-saavy."

Comments: Teachers, social workers, bus drivers.

Pros: Ease of use to both the applicant, reference provider, and the employer's report configuration.

Cons: Not sure that it has great predictive ability in identifying who will be the best employee, but it certainly does beat calling people on the phone and trying to chase down a reference.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30
Kellee W.
VP, CHRO
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-08

"Time saving for my talent acquisition team and great value for the price!"

Pros: The amount of data received not only helps us make hiring decisions, it also helps us focus specific areas for onboarding and training, impacting our ability to better engage and retain team members. Absolutely love the opt-in feature for those individuals completing the reference, building a pool of potential candidates interested in knowing more about our company and open positions.

Cons: Would love to have the final report integrated with our applicant tracking system instead of having to upload the final report.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-08
Nicholas H.
Recruiter
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30

"SkillSurvey Review"

Comments: I love this tool and use it for every hire

Pros: The ease of use and detailed feedback. The tool saves me SO MUCH time and the feedback I receive is very detailed.

Cons: The ratings can sometimes be confusing to a new user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-01-30