Canada Local product

Absorb LMS Reviews

4.5 (220) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Absorb LMS

Absorb is a cloud-based LMS engineered to drive business productivity and deliver a top-tier learner and admin experience.

Learn more about Absorb LMS

Pros:

Ease of use as both a learner and administrator. ADP integration and automation.

Cons:

When assigning courses you can only assign to a whole or sub-department, you can exclude.

Absorb LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Absorb LMS has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 220 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Absorb LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (220)

Nicolas
Nicolas
Financial Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Flexible and very complete LMS

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

It stands out for its simplicity of use and its pleasant user interface. It offers great flexibility in the design of learning experiences, adapting them to the characteristics of each training process. It has an electronic signature so that participants can demonstrate that they met the requirements of their training process. Integrates seamlessly with any eLearning content library.

Cons:

I consider that this is a platform with a lot of potential, the only thing that I think can be improved is to simplify some processes to make the configuration easier.

Yashovardhan
Researcher in India
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

All-in-one learning platform for Everyone

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I have been using the Absorb LMS for a few years, and have been very pleased with their platform. It is user-friendly, offers a great range of features, is well-supported and highly customisable. The training program setup and course creation process has been easy to learn and manage. I especially appreciate the reporting features which are very user-friendly and provide meaningful data. I also think Absorb has done a great job of creating an online community of customers which is a great resource for ideas and best practices.

Pros:

The features most impactful in Absorb LMS are customizability, scalability, analytics, and reporting. Users can easily customize the look and feel of the platform to best suit their organization's needs. Additionally, it can be scaled up or down depending on the size of the organization and their training needs. The analytics and reporting tools provided by Absorb LMS make it easy to track learner engagement and course effectiveness. Additionally, Absorb's API also allows organizations to easily integrate Absorb into existing business processes. Finally, Absorb LMS is incredibly easy to use and provides a straightforward user interface for authors and learners.

Cons:

One of the areas of least satisfaction with Absorb LMS is the amount of setup required to configure the system. This can be particularly challenging for non-technical users and requires a fair amount of time and energy to get the system settings just right. Additionally, the interface of the interface and navigation could be more intuitive.

Alternatives Considered: WizIQ LMS, eFront and Docebo

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Absorb LMS stood out to us as a comprehensive, cost-effective, and intuitive platform that addressed all of our training needs. It provides a comprehensive range of features and customization options, making it easy to customize and configure the system to our specific needs. The customization flexibility also allows us to create automated rules and automate much of the training process. It offers scalability for growth, flexibility for changes, and has robust security measures in place to protect our data. Finally, the Absorb LMS is one of the most cost-effective options on the market. That combination of features makes it an easy choice for a reliable and successful implementation of our online training.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Software, Suffers terribly from its customer service.

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I rushed into this purchase a little and didnt investigate the level of support that would be offered. In hindsight this would have been a game changer for me as I would have went elsewhere.
The software is good, though it doesnt manage blended learning easily which is frustrating.
Customer Support is absolutely non existent.

Pros:

Good User Interface, Good Course Management. Good sync with BambooHR on most things. Good Learner interface. Good Customisation options.

Cons:

Difficult to manage blended learning. Some factors in course management could use improvements. (Managing assessments) Cannot see how many absences from courses that users have. Some issues with how it syncs with Bamboo(overwriting course information) Customer Support is non existent. 10+ days to resolve any issues. Most issues I have to try and resolve myself by resetting and that causes me other issue. Can sometimes be 'buggy' and will introduce random bugs which can be time consuming to fix and result in me resetting the system sync.

Alex
Content and Student Experience Manager in Australia
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intuitive, Adaptable System

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We have not had the option to easily view student logins, update courses, create courses and manage our student experience to date, and Absorb has solved all of these problems immediately. The system has been very easy to set-up, easy to navigate within - from a student and admin experience - and the Absorb Create function is invaluable.

Pros:

The simplicity of the system - back end and front end - have made the implementation and launch of our Absorb LMS very straightforward. My company has some unique use cases and my implementation manager, [sensitive content hidden], workshopped a number of issues with me and together we came up with effective solutions. The ease of uploading content has meant that I have had the opportunity to test various course set-ups very quickly.

Cons:

Our courses require individualised feedback for assessments and currently Absorb is not set-up to allow for this in a comprehensive manner.

Alternatives Considered: Simplify LMS and Docebo

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: Our previous LMS did not have any of the functionality we needed. It was set-up without planning or assessment of our requirements.

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: The features available in Absorb LMS were similar to these other products, but Absorb Create and the pricepoint were what set Absorb apart.

Mark
Training Program Manager in US
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Making My Life Easier

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great. The LMS has allowed me to build an entire corporate training program while simultaneously building the LMS to support it. The time-based credential reporting and compliance tracking has allowed to avoid those possible awkward moments with clients' specific training requirements. With this tracking and reporting, we're also able to respond to a client's immediate need by knowing who is qualified and current on a given access or occupational training requirement.

Pros:

The Absorb LMS is easily customizable and Admin/Learner user-friendly. This allowed me to expand my Training effort and capabilities with not only scope but greater efficiencies in that I can customize the LMS to meet the varying needs of my different stakeholders.

Cons:

If there is a negative, it is in the format of the Training Transcript when printed, or exported as an electronic file. The courses appear in alphabetical order without the ability to filter for a time period, or sort chronologically. This frustrates Supervisors who then have to review the entire transcript to find what training an employee has completed in the last year. I understand the Transcript are being reworked by Absorb for 2022, so this may become a non-issue.

Alternatives Considered: Accord LMS, Totara Learn, Adobe Learning Manager, Cornerstone LMS and Litmos

Reasons for Choosing Absorb LMS: I was seeking a fully supported proprietary platform with the enhanced features and functionality my training program had grown to demand.

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: Absorb met the overlapping sweet spot between cost, features, supported company size, and alignment with the structure of our training program.

Stefan
Manager, Knowledge Management in Canada
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use LMS platform with the right amount of features for our needs

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: We were looking for an LMS platform for internal training that could be expanded to customer training afterwards. The sales engagement with Absorb LMS has been a great experience, providing us with the tools and knowledge to properly evaluate the platform (including a trial portal which we could test with our own content). Onboarding was well structured, with a clear plan of tasks to accomplish both on our side and on the vendor side. Absorb provides a series of well-made self-training modules to go through, which complemented the training provided by the implementation project manager. Compared to other LMS, the platform itself is easy to use while providing a good breadth of features for our use. It's a mature product, with a solid backend. We did not experience any performance issues or security concerns. Look and feel customization is relatively basic. The interface is also quite rigid: for example, thumbnails or banners must have precise dimensions, otherwise images are stretched. Because of that it requires a lot of efforts, trials and errors, if you want to have a visual experience distinct from the Absorb default. The main shortcoming we experienced is that some common workflows could be streamlined. They can involve a lot of clicks, which is irritating when you're repeating the same workflow several times in a row. Keyboard shortcuts could be introduced to facilitate some operations, which would alleviate this.

Pros:

Easy to use Solid onboarding training for admins Provides content hosting Supports SCORM and xAPI (Tin Can) Supports Instructor Led Classes Zoom integration BambooHR integration Salesforce integration Overall mature platform Great customer support

Cons:

Look and feel customization lacks flexibility Some workflows could be streamlined, especially for course management No actual course authoring functionality: users need to import learning objects created with external tools, such as 3rd party eLearning authoring tools. This is fine for our needs, but it would add flexibility if there was at least some content authoring functionalities.

Alternatives Considered: Skillsoft, Cornerstone LMS and Litmos

Reasons for Switching to Absorb LMS: The intersection of ease of use, features, customer service and costs of Absorb was superior to all other alternatives we considered. Some were superior in terms features but were too expensive for our needs. Some were less expensive but the customer service was a concern. Some were not as user-friendly. It all came down to that equation: ease of use + features + services + costs. Absorb LMS hit the sweet spot for us.

Bill
H.R. Director in US
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best training and onboarding

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

The main thing for me was the onboarding process with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was fantastic. She was patient and understanding of my crazy schedule. She hit all the key points that were important to me with a new program. Also, the ability for the employees to choose their own ongoing trainings was very important.

Cons:

Cost is quite high in my opinion. I will not be using the entire program but have to pay for modules that I will not use.

Danielle
Senior Corporate Trainer in US
Insurance Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No Regrets

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Absorb has allowed us to provide customized learning experiences for our employees, and we were also able to incorporate additional professional development course libraries to expand learning opportunities.

Pros:

We chose Absorb as our first Learning Management System. The design isn’t too complex, which made it easier to transition previously manual instruction to online learning. It is intuitive enough that we can allow non-trainers to create content without needing to be system experts. While we were not initially satisfied with Absorb’s customer service, within the last year (2022), they have become extremely responsive to all requests for assistance and also invite feedback and recommendations for improvement.

Cons:

Sometimes the system design has what seems like obvious gaps or things that don’t work as smoothly as we would prefer for learning management. We would also like to see much more effort in the user experience to allow better filtering and course organization.

Buddy
Training & Development Specialist in US
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Absorb LMS Review

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Our experience with Absorb has been very positive.

Pros:

Absorb was very easy to install and is easy to use. This product meets most of our needs and the product support has been top notch.

Cons:

I do wish Absorb had an easy way to provide training content to the users who did not have accounts.

Maxine
Trainer in Canada
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

So far so good

5.0 last month New

Comments: it's good they are responsive when needed and our onboarding agent [sensitive content hidden] was amazing

Pros:

the learner interface is super easy to use

Cons:

the calendar function, the inability to track compliance certifications and licenses, checklist function

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Farming, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Absorb, the flexible, powerful yet easy to use LMS!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use the LMS for the management of both internal and external training. It has been uneventful in the setup and management for both organizations. We have observed a few lacking capabilities in out of the box reporting to be able to report on these programs in a holistic way. However, with their APIs and direct database connections we have succeeded. While system availability and performance has been stellar, we have experienced some delays in customer support addressing our needs. They do respond, at the moment it is just taking a little longer than expected. While migrating to their system can be quite busy and a little laboring, the process was easy to follow and not too problematic for us. Our users have commented upon their migration as quite refreshing with the newer interface, layout and feel. Our overall experience has been good and we are looking forward to the new capabilities and features Absorb is continually to invest in. Happy & Productive Learning!

Pros:

Ease of use, no matter a user or administrator. Quick and responsive page loading, and simply ability to export data reports. Advance API and direct database access capability for growth and in-depth training program management and reporting. Customizable interface and deployment options with integration to other content provider libraries. Simple enrollment & curriculum rule writing and deployment.

Cons:

Some difficulties in the management and deployment of blended learning within these challenging COVID times. Would like to see more out of the box higher level training program reports for a department, group, or training center. Could use some more options for defining departments, roles and user privilege's within the system.

Chris
I run all technical training in US
Computer Networking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The easiest and most attractive LMS I have used in the last ten years!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have saved a very significant amount of time and money switching from Cornerstone to Absorb. And we have gained features, ease of use, faster time to market. As a company that puts customer service above all else, Absorb is our learning engine helping us deliver on that promise to our customers. We have grown our eLearning use by 300% since switching to Absorb mainly because it is very easy for our customers and we can get more content to market faster.

Pros:

In no particular order, but all equally important: - Social media and marketing integration is easy to setup and use - Dashboards and reports are the fastest and easiest I have seen; reporting highly customizable with just a few mouse clicks - Rapid deployment and migration; thousands of users, tens of thousands of records were migrated off of Cornerstone and fully functional in less than 60 days - a record! - Customized look and feel matching our corporate site was ready in one week! - Super easy for end users to get to training quickly - Saved over 50% in costs from Cornerstone and saving more everyday in reduced administration costs - Sales and support friendly and quick to help - Wide range of content support and did not have to rebuild a single training report - Flexible API offering unmatched integrations - SSO and Shopping cart easy to implement and works right the first time AbsorbLMS does one thing only, and does it right - manage my training. It's not bloated with features and functions I don't need. The administration is easy to learn and quite intuitive/flexible. It just works...and works great.

Cons:

After six months of use, I have not come across a "least" like for Absorb. I would like to see more customization options for lower layer pages, but I cannot say this is an "issue" as I am still exploring the many possibilities offered by Absorb. For once, I have an LMS that I have not outgrown, I am still playing catch-up!

Leonard
Leonard
Business Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and highly customizable LMS

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: In an organization where the employee training process is very significant, it is necessary to have a robust tool that facilitates the planning and execution of staff professional improvement courses. This platform offers a very versatile set of tools.

Pros:

I really like that navigating through its functions is very easy. It allows you to design a personalized, interactive and very flexible learning experience. The tracking of participants' progress is very effective and offers very complete reports that provide detailed information for the improvement of the following courses. The electronic signature helps to confirm the fulfillment of the different training stages that are planned.

Cons:

I would like to see more integration options to strengthen corporate learning paths.

hazlon
Learning and Development Consultant in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Team Absorb provides the perfect mix of Yoda and Obi-Wan for anyone new to the LMS universe!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We introduced Absorb ten months ago and have been able to centralize/track a lot of internal and external learning for staff. These are exciting times and there is so much more to learn!

Pros:

My favourite feature is the people behind the software and their willingness to provide meaningful/practical answers for each question I ask. There really are no silly questions and that is most reassuring for novel LMS users! I had no prior experience with this type of technology so it's been quite the learning curve for me and my organization. Thanks to Team Absorb's reliable customer service, I'm still learning something new each day! I also appreciate how many ways there are to customize the software for organizations of any size. We're relatively small (under 1,000 learners) but we have some unique features in our reporting structure. I was able to work with Team Absorb to build some behaviours/rules into our LMS that reflect our set-up and match the information coming in the nightly imports from our HRIS.

Cons:

Right now, about 98% of supervisor approval requests make it to the supervisor but it would be awesome if 100% of the requests made it through.

Kelly
Sales Enablement in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great LMS & Great Account Manager

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: We had to combine 3 LMS's into 1 and choose Absorb and it's going really well. We are adding new business units within our organization all the time and the admins are finding the system easy to use and are really pleased with Absorb.

Pros:

Integrating to Absorb was pretty straightforward. The software is easy to use and the on-boarding we received was exceptional. We have been using the platform for about 2 years now and we are adding new administrators and courses on a daily basis. Our account manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is outstanding!

Cons:

There are obviously features that are not offered in Absorb that frustrate our admins and we have just signed up for Absorb Analyze to make reporting easier and more robust. It's hard to make enhancements or changes for our organization only on the platform as changes usually go across their entire platform and are system wide.

Steve
Director of Training in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absorb has provided us with a unique mix of feature and quality support helping us obtain our goals.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Speed of delivery of content to customers and users and with the ease of user mgmt, the amount of time I am spent managing the system is kept to a minimum.

Pros:

The ease of adding courses, content and attaching relevant material to this cannot be overlooked and for me is easily just one of the items most enjoyed. The built in workflow allows me to take my video production and related documents and attach them to a course that can be distributed to my users in a matter of minutes.

Cons:

Nothing really stands out as a negative. One area for improvement would be exporting reports - It would be nice to be able to customize the look and feel of reports in the tool before exporting, and it is a minor issue as a lot of this can be done via the Excel export anyway.

James
CEO in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Not the ideal LMS, but pretty darn close.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We love Absorb. It works well and does exactly what we hoped it would. Even with the issues with reports and the test view, it’s still very much worth the money, if not just for the mobile app. We highly recommend Absorb if you’re looking for an easy-to-use LMS software that isn’t absurdly expensive.

Pros:

Love the interface. It’s very easy to use, especially once you get the hang of it. There are so many features packed into the system, even in the mobile versions. Having a mobile version is a big plus due to many of our learners using iPads and the like.

Cons:

Reporting and exporting reports seem to not work quite as well as we would hope, though it isn’t a deal-breaker. It would be nice to have a way to have a test view of what your learners see. Either by toggling or just a link to preview before everything’s finished.

Josette
LMS Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customer Love Quote!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With Covid19, Absorb LMS has been invaluable! We were able to continue training our staff remotely while keeping them safe at home.

Pros:

Introducing an LMS to PPT employees was seamless with Absorb. The platform is very intuitive for the first time user.

Cons:

Integration to our business processes is an on-going project. We are always discovering new tools and ways to use Absorb to improve procedure and increase productivity. The only add-on that would be helpful at this point is the ability to track competencies earned outside of the platform.

Bruno
Coordonnateur apprentissage en ligne in Canada
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Absorb LMS is very flexible

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Flexibility to adapt the solution to our specific needs and it's reliability. Our "rep" is very accessible and very helpful to bring solutions to our concerns.

Cons:

the fact that we lost the file manager in the new admin interface and the search engine (not very efficient)

Jon
Training Manager in US
Government Relations, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Absorb

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been excellent. Absorb is there to answer all of my questions in a timely manner and assist me with setting up my courses in the way in which

Pros:

The ease of use. From the administration side to the Learner Experience, the system is very user friendly and easy to follow. The creation side provides the agility to create course and materials for a variety of needs

Cons:

Missing some way to capture attendance digitally. For instance, on Instructor Led Courses a user could access the course and mark their own attendance rather than having an administrator have to complete it manually for each class.

J L
Performance Center Manager in US
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the better ones

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: All-in-all, I have enjoyed using Absorb. It has a pretty robust feature set and a very easy to use interface. When we run into bugs, Absorb sometimes takes quite a long time to resolve the issues. They will not give you an ETA for fixes either. It has some issues with playing video on iOS10 devices. I like how it handles most content and I really like how it modularizes courses.

Pros:

Ease of use. Everything is easy to find and the options make sense.

Cons:

When bugs are introduced, they don't always get fixed very quickly.

Sthefany
Sthefany
Financial Advisor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

High Potential LMS

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

It has the ability to encourage learning on the go and remotely, with extensive and versatile training options for staff. It is a very versatile and flexible platform that has everything you need to ensure that corporate learning takes place at an excellent level. It provides high-quality third-party integrations to use content created in another application.

Cons:

It has excellent customization options, although for new users it can be a challenge to use them.

Ryan
Clinical Educator in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Help Desk Excellence

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: As always the help desk staff at absorb are great at answering and mitigating questions that I have. Keep up the good work.

Pros:

Both the front end and back end are easy to use and navigate.

Cons:

How a person can only be attached to one department with one email address.

Craig
US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Absorb LMS - Flexible and User-Friendly

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

We have been using Absorb LMS for 4+ years. The product is excellent and the Absorb team is very cooperative in working with us to customize the LMS for our unique needs. It has evolved into a collaborative partnership, rather than a typical vendor-client relationship. We have users around the world, and the user-side LMS has proven to be stable and easy to use. The admin-side has a wide range of features, and it is relatively easy for people to learn the basics. We use the LMS to deliver classroom courses, e-learning and bundles. We have established special access roles for instructors which has streamlined operations. Absorb is releasing a major upgrade which we are testing. The upgrade adds great features, and we are eager to migrate to the new version.

Cons:

We provide our clients with very specific project tracking and reporting functions that have become part of our competitive advantage. These functions go beyond the capabilities of the Absorb LMS and the needs of typical LMS users. We have had to develop customized modules that import data from the LMS.

Alicia
Chief Learning Officer in US
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for the Cost!

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Great!

Pros:

Support from the company is great and always willing to improve features and design. They really listen to their customers.

Cons:

You can't pull reports for instructor-led classes and online classes at the same time for a total picture.