15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Alfresco Digital Business Platform Reviews

About Alfresco Digital Business Platform

Open source out-of-the-box portal integration and full content control with integrated document management and workflow.

Learn more about Alfresco Digital Business Platform

Pros:

It can make your life easier as it does not demand special software to be installed on your terminal, just a web browser is enough.

Cons:

Limiting the deployment model to just docker made initial deployment difficult.

Alfresco Digital Business Platform ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Service
3.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Alfresco Digital Business Platform has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 23 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Alfresco Digital Business Platform before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (23)

vikram
vikram
Associate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

best Content Management solution

5.0 last year

Comments: Alfresco is best end to end document management solution. All data for document can we accessed using noderef and service registry method. Upgrading version ,applying patch all we can do very easily . Alfreso provide solr as search engine which is very fast. Alfresco all expose all it's feature as rest end point and anyone can use it. we can easily provide to folder level permission in it

Pros:

Alfresco is best content management solution. It allows us to define own metadata for document ,versioning, retention policy and workflow management . It provide end to end solution for documents. Alfresco provide full text search ,noderef search and lucene query search. alfresco provide user and role management feature also.

Cons:

No issue found yet , working as expected.

Armando
Armando
Network Manager in Paraguay
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Document Management Tool and Collaboration Enterprise Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My Documentary Management Processes were satisfied. Creation of PDF, Digital signature, Sending of documents to users of the system. Viewing the PDF online. Ensure the regulatory compliance of my company by classifying the documents.

Pros:

The most remarkable thing about Alfresco ECM is the unification of tools, the design and structure of tools that allow the design and fulfillment of the rules of documentary processes and business collaboration. Alfresco is a complex and wide-ranging tool in the Document Management and Collaboration segments.

Cons:

What could improve is the ease of use in the overall communication tool. Currently a mediun user is required to operate the system and thus achieve a correct document flow. Sometimes Cmis interaction could be a problem, most cmis programs have some dificult to connect like cmisSync.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Rigid, outdated document management and content sharing platform

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: We used Alfresco as the company's main document management and sharing tool for several years. It was adequate but constraining, and over time the feature differential with more advanced tools became increasingly evident.

Pros:

Good flexibility in adding coworkers alongside external guests to document repositories. Good security measures on stored files. Not many redeeming features beyond this.

Cons:

Poor interface, with no OS integrations (only web interface), no drag & drop, counter-intuitive control placement, key features nestled deep into menus.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great CMS for SMBs

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like the customization features, the work flow options, and it's compatibility with many file types. It makes searching for documents a breeze and keeping your content well organised in varying Projects/Sites. I particularly like the Dashboard setting on each site, that allows you to customize your overview of that project, giving visual to members, who is working on what files, and a live browser frame to keep you in the loop if your project is website based.

Cons:

The interface could use some work, I find the usability takes some time to get into in order to unlock all the features and functionality available to you. The documentation is a useful assistant in getting around the software.

David
Computer systems administor in Canada
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Works great for lots of users

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: great group site

Pros:

easy to build work flows and group projects. Can build custom sites for groups. Has a good admin section. can easily add users and make groups. Lots of features.

Cons:

Can take a while to setup, hard to customize when out a lot of work and searching forums. with the api was a bit better

Carlos J.
IT Operations in Honduras
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A stable file management tool

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The customization you can give to all your file management structure, the user different levels of security access you can define, and the stability of its platform

Cons:

Performance is affected when managing large size files, you may want to make periodical back ups to prevent this problem

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy for sharing files securely

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Generally good for storing, organizing and securing files. It's just a little tricky when you want to actually work in files.

Pros:

It's a great system for organizing files in a secure way - access control is excellent. It's easy for version control too.

Cons:

What I don't like is that you can't have two people editing a document at the same time. We have some sensitive reporting stored there, but it makes it hard if two of us want to work in it at the same time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alfresco is a strong ECM platform

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall experience for the users has been exceptional. The system performs well and is a very reliable platform for our ECM.

Pros:

The team collaboration and shared file features.

Cons:

Limiting the deployment model to just docker made initial deployment difficult.

Ravikiran
Architect in India
Research, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good CMS and supports extensible.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Good Content and document management.

Pros:

We can add our own work flows. It support good search on the documents. Good versioning capabilities. Support many document types

Cons:

It is browser compatibility issues There are some problem when uploading large files. It would be good if they add more APIs to integrate

Carlos
Carlos
Head of Industrial Metrology Lab in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

If you need a repository of document for you company, this sotfware will be useful for you.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Have free version, work fine for large number of users. Is a good way for centralize documents manage (for exemple, quality system)

Cons:

Free version only permit associate an user for administrator, if this person abandon your user, you lost yours documents. will present compatibility problems on depend of Java version an browsers.

Chris
CTO in US
Computer Networking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Industrial strength document management system with records , workflow, and custom modules

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Alfresco One is probably the biggest and best document management applications available. Records management is a huge plus. This app can and does replace entire warehouses of file cabinets and does it better than any paper solution could because you are able to have Alfresco search at the speed of light through the documents in your system to find what you're looking for, imagine being able to google a room full of file cabinets. The workflows are another thing, and the tagging. You can build your own modules which carry out actions on incoming and outgoing documents. Some really seriously successful companies and organizations are using Alfresco One as a key piece of their winning formula.

Pros:

Alfresco One can handle pretty much any job you throw at it. Built on java, it's industrial strength, and there's no end to the number of programmers available to develop custom modules for your specific needs. Government departments use Alfresco One. NASA uses Alfresco One. Some of the biggest names and most successful people in the world use Alfresco One at their company or organization. Soundly beats Microsoft Sharepoint, another document system, in terms of all technical achievement, openness, transparency, auditing, and overall quality.

Cons:

The license fee can be costly if you're an upstart new small business with no or low funding. For this reason there's the free version, Alfresco Community Edition. Built on java means you might pay a bit more for helpers to build for it, however, if Alfresco fits your needs, you probably won't mind. The Alfresco Community Edition forums are not maybe as active as other software's forums, probably because the number of people actually reaching the point of greatness in their lives and their careers where they are actually able to go paperless either on their own or with their organization's documents, is relatively fewer, than the billions of people whose documents are still on paper, and still impossible to search through, and still disorganized.

JOSE
Systems Administrator in Mexico
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Serious platform to manage the documents lifecycle

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great option for document management, all web based and with the confidence of have your info safe.

Pros:

In the first place for being Open Source, The information security and integrity, the access control to access each document and the way it keeps track of every changes.

Cons:

Still requires programming to implement specific functions and the learning curve that is not as short as one could desire.

Chris
Aeronautical Information Services Officer in Nigeria
Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very nice software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Help me store my documents in one place and also helped me to attach documents and pictures to Openmaint property management solution.

Pros:

The software displays Good picture quality and it is easy to use and it connects to my favorite database software Postgresql. More over it is open source, that give everyone opportunity to test it and see what stoof it is made of. I really appreciate Alfresco for developing such a good thing.

Cons:

I really like this software but the only thing I found a bit difficult was the installation especially to install it to work with an existing Postgresql. There is no much information on how to do that but I found one after much search in the internet

Juan J.
Juan J.
CEO in Uruguay
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very powerful document manager, extremely difficult to customize for real-life workflows.

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: We started using Alfresco as a document manager. And in that sense, we liked it a lot. But when we wanted to also use its workflow and BPM capabilities we encountered tremendous difficulties, so we finally abandoned the project.

Pros:

The document manager is really powerful, flexible, scalable, and robust. It supports different use cases and meets most of the static document management needs (documents that do not flow through the organization).

Cons:

Workflow and business process management functionalities are really complex to configure for complex real-life processes. This makes it very costly to build a complete solution (in time and money). But more importantly, it is very difficult to maintain the application, every change is complex, time-consuming, and generates instability in the configured workflow.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

really restrictive software for external collaborators

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am a user logged into another business with the goal of delivering files to them and I've found it to be really not end user friendly.

Pros:

It can make your life easier as it does not demand special software to be installed on your terminal, just a web browser is enough.

Cons:

Depending on your permissions the software won't let you do simple things, like delete or move or copy files you uploaded by mistake in an incorrect folder. It won't let you know of the progress of your uploads or let you know when they are done, a really big problem for big files.

Ravikiran
Architect in India
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best Enterprise Content Management systems in the market

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Best ECM for SMB enterprises with very less investment

Pros:

Easy to install and configure by just following the documentation Good search support for full text. Architecture supports cloud for deployment.

Cons:

Plugin development is easy as it is explained in the document. Resource availability for developing plugins not available in the market

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Perfect for content management

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is a great tool for content management, you have metadata approval flows and anything related to this subject

Cons:

The integration with other platforms is not that easy and could definitely be improved, other than that is fine

Christine
Web Content Editor and Analyst
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
1.0 8 years ago
Dana
Research Assistant in US
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alfresco

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like that is used as an online source document library. Everything is in one place and you can upload new versions of documents.

Cons:

It's harder to assign users and also a little more challenging to upload new versions, although it is doable.

Marco
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Alfresco test

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: We use previous version of alfresco and we have a good performance iin our product, now i am reviewing Alfresco One and there are many good features that can be used in new projects.

Jorge Andres
Jefe de documentación in Colombia
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Software de gestión de archivos eficaz

5.0 last year

Comments: Es muy exequible y util, al momento de controlar y generar tareas documentales

Pros:

Su manera de organizar y controlar la documentación

Cons:

Sus limitaciones en acceso, todo lo demás es excelente

Pablo
Gerente Comercial in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alfresco Revie

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Um ótimo gerenciador de conteúdo empresarial e que agrega muito no nosso dia a dia

Cons:

Creio que apenas é um pouco complicado para implementar novas funções

Saymon
Analista de Software in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Utilização do Alfresco

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Sua versão gratuita é uma solução muito incrível e que atende muito bem as empresas

Cons:

Existe uma leve dificuldade em implementar a solução gratuita