15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Criterion HCM

Criterion is a global provider of Human Capital Management software. For midmarket business users and HR professionals.

Learn more about Criterion HCM

Pros:

It is very faster to look for employees information. Great utility tools for minimum data input.

Cons:

Flexible report writing features, or lack thereof. Getting data back out of the system in the form of reports is not user friendly.

Criterion HCM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Criterion HCM has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 13 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Criterion HCM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (13)

Joel Neil
Joel Neil
Specialist Recruiter in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good For Talent Engagement Solutions

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Integrated with other HCM software, worked on the talent engagement, outcome was satisfying.

Pros:

Interface looks good and appealing when you adapt to it. Shows history of anything you need and creates quick graphs in real-time.

Cons:

Not very easy to use at the beginning, lots of features that we do not use regularly. Need to keep simple.

Mac
Sales Operations in Canada
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software for HR and employees

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall, it is a great platform for managing our time-off and payroll. I love that I can see how much of my pay is going towards taxes, and all the different breakouts. I would recommend it to companies looking for HR platforms.

Pros:

I really like the functionality for signing up for courses/lessons that we have to do as a company. It's super easy for me to register for classes on Criterion, and it syncs to my calendar. I also really like the time management aspect of it, where I can see how many PTO day's I have left in a year.

Cons:

I feel as though the UI is a bit dated - it looks a bit old, but that could be something we can change on our end.

Linda
Secretary/Assistant Treasurer in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Buyer Beware!

2.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is easy to see an employee's history. The time clock functionality is definitely a plus. Processing payrolls are streamlined with minimal data input. The re-hiring feature is very beneficial.

Cons:

There is a rounding issue with reports. The actual amount paid to employees' do not match reports. Very difficult to get issues resolved timely, if ever resolved. The system does not have the capability to create files to upload for state W-2 reporting (even though we were told that would not be a problem before purchasing). Many times it has taken up to 45 minutes to log into the system. It is difficult to get reports that meet certain needs for reporting benefits. End up using several reports to consolidate into one for the required reporting information. Issues with employees that live is one state and work in another state.

Chelsey
HR Director in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Criterion for nation-wide construction company

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We eliminated double entry, have saved money and storage on saving personnel files and are able to customize access to many people to use the system as it works best for them while maintaining security.

Pros:

Easy to use and to be trained on. Everything filters into the appropriate to eliminate double entry

Cons:

Employee history could include more information for companies who have employees who come and go multiple times.

Susan
Mgr of HR & OD in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is truly an HR software built with HR end users in mind. The fact that positions are separate and allow you to track FTEs is logical versus some that I previewed that make simple things like EEO codes driven by the employee record versus the position record.

Cons:

Flexible report writing features, or lack thereof. Getting data back out of the system in the form of reports is not user friendly.

Megan
Client Processing Service Specialist in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

System is great, data upload is iffy, customer service is acceptable

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I think the amount of things you can do with the service is amazing. Reports are easy to customize and pull

Cons:

The customer service has been slow to respond and has not had some of the answers needed. The difficulty of doing a large upload

Peggy
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

ESS Review

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I really appreciate the support that is provided. They are very quick to respond to any problem that I have and also to communicate where they are in the process. What I like best about the product is the ease of looking up information on an employee. Being able to see their history at my fingertips is awesome.

Cons:

It runs a little slow sometimes, but there is really nothing I don't like.

Alekhya
Alekhya
Clinical investigator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My experience with criterion

4.0 last year

Pros:

Minimum data input with faster payroll processing.It is very faster to look for employees information. Great utility tools for minimum data input. The double entry problem is also eliminated

Cons:

There is a slight lag due to heavy load and thereby performs slow

Laura
US
Legal Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Criterion HCM - Perfect Software

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I always get fast and great help from the customer service department. The system is easy to use.

Cons:

I wish I could add fields on my own. It seems that I can re-label fields but not add them on my own.

Jimie
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

FFVA uses HR, Payroll, & ESS

5.0 10 years ago

Pros:

I like the ease of use and the efficiency of the support staff.

Cons:

The products we use don't really have any downsides.

Angie
Ing Software in Colombia
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excelente sistema.

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Me encanta la facilidad en la que se pueden personalizar y extraer informes.

Cons:

Se podria mejorar su sistema de atencion al cliente ya que es muy demorado en dar respuesta.

laura
agente de ventas in Spain
Insurance Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

software rrhh bastante resolutivo

4.0 last year

Pros:

Lo que mas me ha gustado de este software es el poder buscar información de los empleados y tan sumamente rápido junto con el proceso de las nominas, la verdad es que evita muchísimo trabajo siendo gratamente eficaz.

Cons:

No tengo nada malo que decir porque de momento las veces que lo he utilizado me ha resultado muy eficaz, tal vez lo único que podría decir es que es bastante lento a la hora de iniciar.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Buen software de RRHH

4.0 last year

Pros:

Buenas funcionalidades, con procesamiento de nóminas rápido, lo cual se agradace bastante.

Cons:

Lo que menos me ha gustado es la lentitud que muestra a veces.