Canada Local product

Descartes Denied Party Screening Reviews

5.0 (25) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Descartes Denied Party Screening

Third-party risk management solutions, including denied party screening, that strengthen compliance and enable growth

Learn more about Descartes Denied Party Screening

Pros:

What I like most is the instant confirmation of the party screened and how easy it is to navigate the software. The training modules have a new employee up to speed in less than 15 minutes.

Cons:

Not easy to find sanctions contents, difficult to understand limitation on export.

Descartes Denied Party Screening ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.9
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.7/10

Descartes Denied Party Screening has an overall rating of 5 out 5 stars based on 25 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Descartes Denied Party Screening before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (25)

Verified Reviewer
Export Compliance Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Restricted Party Screening

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Product is easy to use. Reliable and timely customer service.

Cons:

Being able to pull data (metrics) on internal users and to manage accounts, i.e., record when someone has left so I can keep track of licenses.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. We have recently improved the reporting functionality of Visual Compliance to address the issue your describe. Please feel free to connect with our Support Team for more information.

David
Vendor Manager in US
Import & Export, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

vc3 - rps screening tool

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: We need to review daily shipments with their VC3 screening tool. It was easily integrated with our current internal systems which make the ease of use a great tool. If we ever have any questions or concerns, their customer service team is quick to respond and resolve any concerns we may have.

Pros:

We use this software daily and have been a customer for over 6 years. We have never had an issue with the software. It is easy to use and understand. Training new users in our company is very easy. A good reliable product.

Cons:

We really do not have anything negative to say about this software product.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

James
Commercial Corporate Counsel in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Critical Tool Enabling Cost Effective Compliance

5.0 last month New

Comments: Helps the company comply and across the entire organization.

Pros:

The easy-to-use and fulsome database means I can do all the compliance screening I need to get done and with one tool.

Cons:

If search preference settings aren't configured just right, you can get false-positives.

Julie
Contracts Director in US
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

BioMADE Feedback

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Very user-friendly tool.

Pros:

Easy to use and archive for audit purposes.

Cons:

I think the tool is fairly straightforward from a user perspective.

Alexander
VP in UK
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SAAS Provider

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Positive and easy to use.

Pros:

Ease of use compared to other providers - the search results are clear an easy to understand.

Cons:

Grey lists - I do not like the fact that users have the ability to use their Judgment on the search results.

Stacey
Director, Global Trade Compliance in US
Chemicals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Automated Sanctioned Party List Screening - A Requirement for a Global Company

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Excellent experience by providing an automated ability through our ERP system as well as a portal for manual searches to ensure compliance each step of the way.

Pros:

Ease of use, timeliness and support team

Cons:

Cost of Kharon lists (especially replacement for MK50 list)

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. We appreciate your thoughts on the commercial terms of our Enhanced Content - this specialized compliance material requires extensive research and development in conjunction with our partners. It is not published by government sources and thus has significantly higher costs associated with it's curation and addition to the Visual Compliance Data library.

Gerald
Export Control Specialist in Canada
Aviation & Aerospace, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mk Denial

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

The ease of use and how fast we obtain the result. The DSL is a very nice function als.

Cons:

We use a corporate account for all our employees and although our version is modified to include the employees badge number it is still difficult to audit who is using the tool and at what frequency.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. We have recently released enhanced reporting functionality that should help alleviate the issue you describe. Please reach out to your Customer Success Manager for further assistance.

federico
Sr. Business Director Transportation After Market in Italy
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experience with Descartes Screening

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Using Decsartes to support our export activities in Europe, daily screening of potential customers

Pros:

Easy to use, flexible and intuitive. Very good the upload functionality

Cons:

not easy to find sanctions contents, difficult to understand limitation on export

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. There are extensive training resources available in Visual Compliance - including Videos and FAQs - that should help you with the navigation issue you describe. Please feel free to connect with our Support team for further information.

Pam
Compliance Coordinator in US
Defense & Space, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Denied Party Screening - Descartes

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: As a business that has 3 offshore subsidiaries it is crucial to our business to have immediate access to Denied Parties around the world - Descartes gives us that.

Pros:

What I like most is the instant confirmation of the party screened and how easy it is to navigate the software. The training modules have a new employee up to speed in less than 15 minutes.

Cons:

There is really nothing I don't like about this software!

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Linda
Director of Compliance in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Visual Compliance exceeds your trade compliance needs!

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

The functionality of this software is what most appeals to me as a user and administrator. The ability to export reports into Excel format is another great feature. This makes conducting audits from each department easier to do.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike about Visual Compliance.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Todd
Sr. Dir. ITAC in US
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best and most efficient global screening tool available.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: This tool is a key part of our semi-automated home grown export management system and has provided timely, accurate, and useful results to ensure we avoid dealing with restricted parties. In over 20 years, I have not found a better more user friendly product to accomplish this function.

Pros:

As a user for over 20 years, the daily updates let me know I am always looking a current restricted party data. The audit feature helps me know how others are using it, and that they are using it, and the fuzzy logic helps me fine tune the level of screening breadth we can perform.

Cons:

As an admin, I and each user get copied on each potential change to a previously reviewed party. Still I would rather have this feature than not, because it helps me track what is cycling through the screening contents.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. The issue you mention with respect to possible changes regarding previously screened parties can be optimized and configured within the User Interface. Please reach out to our Support Team if you would like to explore further.

Thomas
Export Control Officer in US
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Compliance Tool

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Super positive experience with DVC. Our customer support rep is very responsive to our needs whether it is for a question or to run a batch screen. We have used it for 10 years.

Pros:

The software is very easy to use and takes little time to screen parties. It is, by far, the most used compliance tool in our office. The commodity classification tool helps us classify unique items used and built on campus. We have batch screens that we run daily and annually; these are run and the results reported back to us quickly.

Cons:

The searches tend to include too many items that are false positives (especially when using fuzzy screening), such as The Bruce Company will match to any person named Bruce.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. The issue you raise with respect to 'false positives' can be addressed by conducting our Search Tuning exercise with our Support team. Please feel free to connect with them at your convenience and they will be happy to help!

Gia
Compliance Manager in US
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: the quick result of No matches found/matches found is critical to our business. i also like the Schedule B/ECCN searches; very helpful.

Pros:

Ease of use; Customer Service/[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is very responsive; the website is updated quickly as the regs change.

Cons:

before, i had to always type my username and password. that takes time when i'm logging in and i have an urgent shipment, and when things are in a rush, you tend to mistype more! :( I think you guys fixed it now, where my username is now remembered, and i just type the password. that saves users time during login, so please keep that feature on.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. The issue you raise with respect to passwords has in fact been addressed by our technical team. Thank you again for your feedback!

Erick
Corporate Export Compliance Manager in US
Warehousing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of use for screening and regulatory research

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

All modules we have in place are easy to use regarding screening, classification and license determination. Having access to regulations and search functions allow us to stay in compliance.

Cons:

Increase the availability of other countries regulations.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. Our Data Engineering Team is always working to expand the available content within Visual Compliance, and we would welcome your specific input on which lists you'd like to see. Please reach out to your Customer Success Manager with any suggestions!

Starlett
Sr. Trade Compliance Specialist in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sr. Trade Compliance Specialist

5.0 last year

Comments: We have solved screening for our several sites.

Pros:

The easy of using the system and the training sessions that are available.

Cons:

Some of the reporting functions we have to go our Rep to complete. I wish we can have the reporting based on each site instead of all together.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. We have recently updated our reporting suite that includes granularity at the 'site' level. Please feel free to reach out to our Training and Support team and they will be happy to help!

Lusako
Director of Administration and Finance in Malawi
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Visual Compliance Review_Lusako

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Outstanding, remarkable and excellent.

Pros:

1. It is very convenient, you just need a web browser to access. 2. Simplifies what can be a very cumbersome and rigorous process of screening entities. 3. The interface is very user friendly and easy to understand

Cons:

1. The unlikelihood to access a visual compliance results sheet if you didn't either e-mail or save it during the time of checking.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. The issue you raise with respect to screening results saving and routing can be addressed quickly with our Support team. Please feel free to connect with them at your convenience and they will be happy to help!

Vinod
Asst Manager Trade Compliance in India
Aviation & Aerospace, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

VC is a great tool to comply for export regulations/vendor/supplier screening.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Based on VC screening result, it is easy to decision on next steps on business proposal/transactions.

Pros:

Quick and Precise result, which helps in taking decisions.

Cons:

I did not find any issues in the software.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Nicole
Associate General Counsel in US
Defense & Space, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Screening Tool

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

The systems is easy to use and helps to mitigate any compliance risks.

Cons:

There is really nothing negative about this software.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Beth
Regulatory Compliance Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Visual Compliance Review BH Nov 19 2021

5.0 last year

Comments: Pleased with the service overall and response time to our inquiries.

Pros:

Audit trail and being able to demonstrate trade compliance in the event of a USG audit.

Cons:

It is not entirely intuitive, but fairly easy to learn.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. We provide an extensive library of training videos and support resources to help accelerate familiarity with the system. Please check them out if you have any questions on the User Interface!

Joseph
Senior Project Engineer in US
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Descartes Denied Party Screening is Easy to Use!

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I have been doing searches on Descartes Denied Party Screening software for almost 25 years, using the software 6-8 times per year. It is always reliable, and I have never had any technical issues. =The software is extremely easy to use, and provides a strong feeling of satisfaction knowing that I am working with a Vendor who is not on a governmental list.

Pros:

By far, the Descartes Denied Party Screening's ease of use is its best feature. I insert all the required fields, and it rapidly performs the search, and provides results that I can print out for future audits.

Cons:

Have no dislikes about the software. The software meets all my needs at this time.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Katie
Logistics Coordinator in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Straight-forward, fast, and thorough screening

5.0 last year

Pros:

The website pages are easy to follow and allows you to get the information you need quickly so you can continue on with your day. The ability to screen parties with exact, fuzzy, and phonetic matches is also reassuring when confronted with language barriers.

Cons:

No cons. Integration was very simple and there have been no issues!

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Lee
Research Integrity Office Director in US
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Support

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to use and easy to access regulatory sources, but the best part is the customer support. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is extremely friendly, responsive and helpful. He offers periodic webinars so we can learn more about the functionality of the system and I always learn new tricks in them, even though we've used this software for years.

Cons:

I really can't think of anything I dislike.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Rachel
Buyer in US
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very Helpful tool for buyers

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Very satisfied

Pros:

Descartes helps buyers check a debarment for companies they do business with. This screening is necessary and important for defense & aerospace industry. Descartes is a friendly and every easy to use.

Cons:

Not applicable. As a buyer, I like using Descartes website everyday for my work.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Renee
Business Relations Manager in US
Environmental Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy of use and comprehensive

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: The staff is very knowledgeable and responsive to questions.

Pros:

The software is very easy to use and it is very comprehensive. It searches over 200 specific lists and the dynamic screening ensures that you will always stay on top of any changes.

Cons:

There really was nothing that I didn't like about this software.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review!

Chelsea
Import/Export Specialist in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Descartes is incredibly user friendly

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

The fillable fields make it easy to learn how to use this product, the ease of it means that it takes next to no time to screen each necessary party, and the email updates should the party you screened have any change to their status make continued monitoring a breeze.

Cons:

It would be nice if the software remembered information already put in so that when having to screen a reoccurring party, you could have the option to auto-populate based on past entries.

Descartes Systems Group Response

3 months ago

Thank you so much for the review, and for sharing your feedback on opportunities to improve. We are always working to improve the search functionality of Visual Compliance, and greatly appreciate your suggestion!