Camtasia Reviews

4.6 (267) Write a Review!

About Camtasia

Camtasia lets you easily record and create professional quality videos. Great for tutorials, demos, webinars, and more!

Learn more about Camtasia

Pros:

It provides many functionality to users to edit videos immediately and add effects and filters on it. I believe Camtasia studio is well worth the cost software due to its many options and simplicity.

Cons:

At times I found it to be a little bit clunky and difficult to get it to do exactly what I needed. I do have experience with professional video editing software, and this is MUCH more simplistic.

Camtasia ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Camtasia has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 267 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Camtasia before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (267)

Roldan
Roldan
Senior Graphic Desinger in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple to mid-tier video editing. Pros can try this one too.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Great! I've used Camtasia in few of my straightforward video editing projects with a client. It's pretty sleek and clean to use. Highly recommended for video learning and vloggers.

Pros:

- Camtasia is more cleaner and more seamless than any other simple video editing software. Though, again, this is not for pro and die-hard video editor.- Simple to use with dedicated learning modules. So, easy to learn.- Capture audio/video and add up voice-over - all-in-one with Camtasia.- Highly recommended for UX Designer during usability testing. This can record screen and audio output/input from test subjects.- YouTube upload is seamless as well.

Cons:

- More often video output are large. And if you lower the size, the quality suffers. I hope Camtasia has fixed or improve on this one.- If you buy this. Though you can have a perpetual ownership of the software - the update maybe not. Currently, it's like $50 per year for the support and updates.- Not for Pro users who are fond of exceptional effects and motion graphics.- You need separate audio mixer and editor for this one. No inbound audio editor and filter.

Anouar
Marketing Online in YouTube Alm Social Media in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camtasia is an excellent program that is suitable for all computers

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: My experience is excellent, but it is not enough when you reach a stage in which you must develop in your work, editing videos and marketing, and the program, as I said, does not contain all of it featuresI recommend it to people who have a small budget at the beginning stage, content creators on YouTube and work in general on the Internet

Pros:

basicValid for all computers, it does not require high specifications to be in a computerSupports all video quality formatsIt has the advantage of publishing a video from Camtasia directly to your YouTube channelLicense paid once per year, not every monthEvery time it evolves

Cons:

It does not have all the featuresAnything that is not in a download program must be downloaded from sourcesIts disadvantage is that it is not possible, for example, for one license to occupy more than one user, only for one user in one licenseThere are no big discounts

Elena
Consultant in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Video editing tool

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

It is an easy-to-use tool for doing not-too-articulate video editing. I used an older version and certainly the tool has improved over time.

Cons:

Sometimes it is not very easy to understand how to use some functions.

Evan J
Consultant in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best for instructive videos and short creative projects

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Camtasia is very easy and intuitive to use. The timeline editor works similar to timeline editors in digital audio workstations (DAWs) which also makes basic audio editing easy to achieve. Callout features such as arrows, shapes, cursor effects and overlays make it easy to call attention to parts of the screen or do news style reporting. Template and elements libraries bring more professional options for presentations.

Cons:

It's hard to say what I like least as I really enjoy using Camtasia and depend on it for many projects.

Cs
Cs
Holiday Expert in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Business Saver

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Camtasia is a versatile and powerful video editing and screen recording software that offers a wide range of features and tools for creating professional-quality videos. As someone who has used Camtasia extensively, I can confidently say that it is one of the best screen recording and video editing software available on the market today. One of the standout features of Camtasia is its user-friendly interface. Even if you have no prior experience with video editing, the software is intuitive and easy to use. The drag-and-drop interface allows you to quickly add elements to your videos, while the extensive library of templates and assets makes it easy to create professional-looking videos in no time. Another great feature of Camtasia is its screen recording capabilities. With Camtasia, you can easily record your computer screen, webcam, or both simultaneously. This is especially useful for creating tutorial videos or product demos, where you need to show users how to use a particular software or application. In conclusion, Camtasia is an excellent video editing and screen recording software that offers a wide range of features and tools for creating professional-looking videos. While it may be on the expensive side, its user-friendly interface, screen recording capabilities, and editing tools make it a worthwhile investment for anyone looking to create high-quality video content.

Cons:

One downside of Camtasia is its price. Compared to other video editing software, Camtasia is on the more expensive side. However, if you're looking for a powerful and feature-rich tool that will help you create high-quality videos, Camtasia is definitely worth the investment.

rachid
RIB Art in Morocco
Arts & Crafts, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

camtasia its good for editing and screen recording

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: it was a good experience i use it for editing and screen recording

Pros:

i did like the screen recording and the easily way to edit videos.

Cons:

i did like lest that theresn't much effects in this software

Priscilla
Entrepreneur in Brazil
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Perfect and Simple Screen Recording Program

4.0 last month New

Comments: I use Camtasia every week to edit the video lessons I make.

Pros:

In my opinion, the best qualities of Camtasia are its simplicity in use and its price, which makes it a very affordable program.

Cons:

I believe that Camtasia could offer more features in both audio and video editing. I miss, for example, an adjustment of exposure, saturation and white balance.

Kyle
Technical Support Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cam-tastic!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Camtasia is not only a video creation and screen recording tool, but it is a PROFESSIONAL video creation and video editing team, living inside your device after you install the program. All jokes aside, Camtasia does everything you could ask for and more.

Cons:

Small differences in the macOS and windows versions of the software, but nothing to write home about.

Jeff
Pastor in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Camtasia is the best video editing software

5.0 last month New

Comments: I haves used this for several years and every update gets better and better. Would highly recommend Camtasia to everyone.

Pros:

As a small organization the cost of Camtasia makes it very affordable for our nonprofit. But more important is how easy it is to use and how creative it allows us to be

Cons:

There is not much of a con other than having time to explore all the features in Camtasia

Alexa
Alexa
freelance in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Animation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

A good student friend

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Its a software that is now beging used in communication studies, so far I like it

Cons:

It can be a litle spensive for students

Douglas
Business Development Strategies Advisor in Canada
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Video Editing Software for Windows

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: I've had a great experience with Camtasia so far. It has been a great resource to have when editing all my videos and creating new videos. It has great features, and is really to use from an user point of view. It also is very easy to train on and learn. Definitely a great alternative to IMovie.

Pros:

I like the ease of use and drag and drop features the most on Camtasia. When I am editing or creating a video I usually add multiple clips together, and the drag and drop feature allows my video clip to fall into place right where I need it. The drag and drop feature is also great for text overlays or transitions and makes it much easier to edit videos and place your video/picture clips at the exact place it needs to be. Furthermore, the video editing features are great, and can definitely be a good windows alternative of IMovie.

Cons:

There is a limited selection of transitions, text overlays to choose from compared with other video editing softwares. Although I use the same text overlay feature every time, it would be good if there was more/more unique options when editing your video. Also when editing your video, sometimes it is hard to cut the few seconds and sometimes milliseconds out to create a perfect video.

Daniel
Daniel
Software Developer and IT Trainer in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camtasia Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use Camtasia to record and create professional training video for my courses, webinars, and for post-production recorded Zoom live session. It’s very easy to create another similar video, using templates, video placeholders or simply copy-paste an existing project and replace existing media with a new one. It is less feature-rich than Adobe Premiere, but you can’t beat its simplicity. Also, TechSmith delivers amazing support tutorials to help you learn how to use the platform.

Pros:

Camtasia is very easy to use and has enough features to make your video looks professional. Has templates and video placeholders that are very useful when you create similar videos. It has quite a few video effects. It has auto sound normalizer and noise reduction (is not perfect, but it helps). Camtasia comes with a Screen Recorder that is integrated with the editor. After recording, you have the option to auto create a Camtasia project and add the recorded video to it. Can capture mouse and you can edit it later (like size or hide it). Camtasia also smooth the mouse movements. You can explain better some topics using text overlay (very easy to create, extend, or add effects). Supports green screen. It’s easy to import video and photos created in other application. You can post videos directly to YouTube from within the application.

Cons:

Sometimes I need to be exact when cutting and splicing a video or audio and I miss one or two steps of zooming-out the media. The software was freezing on a laptop without a graphics card (rarely). Camtasia doesn’t have the possibility to change the editing speed. But I managed to do it using a workaround: changing the media speed and before exporting don’t forget to change it back to normal. For a long video, rendering takes a lot. Audio processing is a bit limited (for more control you should use another tool like Audacity) If you hear that Camtasia can import PowerPoint slides, don’t be too enthusiast about that, it will import them as photos only. Doesn’t import/replicate any effect or text.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The first step towards video editing.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I have used it for a long time, I have been using it for more than 3 years, and after gaining experience with the video editing method and taking the basics, I began to dig deeper into more professional software.

Pros:

Camtasia is the first program I have used in my life to edit my videos, had it not been for the use of this program in the beginning, I would not have been able to use more professional programs such as Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects. I've used it for a long time and through it I've moved on and digging into other programs, and I admit it's an excellent program and a lot of people have gotten started with it. I used it for two things, the first is to edit my videos, and the second is to record my screen It is a very easy-to-use feature, the user interface is very simple, it has a lot of ready-made transitions between videos, as well as special transitions for texts, and also photo animations, you can put video subtitles, add graphic shapes and arrows, there are some sound effects that you can use very quickly In processing files and exporting videos. Camtasia targets the novice user in this field, because you can create simple videos of very high quality.

Cons:

Camtasia lacks the most important feature, which is automatic saving, when the power is cut off, all the project I was working on disappeared, and I had to go back to build the entire work Also, it does not have professional transitions like in other programs, it is light, simple and limited in use.

Mirza
Research Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

More than just a screen recording software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Camtasia has made it easy to screen record, edit and upload videos all in one place. The ease of is really great. This is a one stop do it all type of software. You can add your own videos in addition to you screen recording too. The end quality of the product delivered by Camtasia is worth investing in it. If you're on the fence about it and need a push to get it, I definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Camtasia is really easy to use even for beginners. There are lot of tutorials available on the Camtasia website to get started on the software. There are inbuilt video editing features or drop downs that make video editing a breeze. The screen capture feature is amazing and trouble free. All you need is a microphone and a screen to get started. Various pre-built animations can be added into your video to quicken the editing process. Video export options are also available to save videos in the desired format.

Cons:

There is a very small learning curve that new users might find annoying at first but its ease of use becomes natural after a while. There are so many features available that you might get lost in it.

Benn
Benn
Senior Information Technology Business Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camtasia - A very complete video editing software

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Camtasia is excellent for recording your screen and adding interactive features to your videos, it is easy to add elements, just with drag and drop, an image, audio or video, at the end of each project it allows me to save it or share it with a single click to YouTube or to Drive, this software is ideal for content creators and casual users who need to edit videos casually. The best of camtasia are all the effects that can be added to the videos, blur effect, transitions, and many others.

Pros:

Camtasia was one of the first software that I use to edit videos, it is one of the best in its category, since it has many tools to edit a video, from transitions, cut at some point, add or remove audio, it can also be done zooming and putting annotations at some point in the video, as for the interface I could say that it only takes a couple of days to get completely familiar with it, in my opinion it is intuitive when it has already been used a couple of times, another thing that I like about camtasia is that I can add effects to the cursor and make a more attractive video.

Cons:

What I don't like about camtasia is that with each update it gets heavier and requires better specs on your devices, in my opinion camtasia should create a lite version for casual creators.

Sunjida
Sunjida
Motion Graphics Designer & Video Editor in Bangladesh
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It's a complete screen recording and video editing package for beginner.

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: If you need some basic or medium levels editing works, it will be great. Edit a video that isn't complex like Adobe After Effects or Premiere Pro. I will recommend it to the beginner.

Pros:

It's really easy to operate for any kind of user. The user experience is really cool. Only 1 or 2 tutorials are quite enough to master it. You can use it for many purposes like Screen recording, and video editing. The library is quite good for beginners not for advanced users. The screen recording feature is really cool.

Cons:

If you want to create an advanced lower third or some advanced effect and transition you find the limitation. The render time is very lengthy to me compared to other software.

Michael
Michael
Owner in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All I need for screen recording and simple videos

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Camtasia is very handy for me. It allows me to work fast. For complex video editing, I do use editing software like Premiere Pro in conjunction with Camtasia. For simpler projects, the functionality of Camtasia is all I need.

Pros:

Camtasia allows me to capture screen actions in a very reliable way. I am using it on the Windows and MacOS platform. For simpler videos, it is very handy that Camtasia has video editing functionality built in. Its collection of lower thirds, intros and outros is helpful, too.

Cons:

One of the most important functionalities in video editing is Ripple Delete. Camtasia's implementation of this function does not work well. If you have any track that does not have material directly at your point of cut, then this track will not be processed by ripple delete. The result is that your tracks are out of sync.

Vanessa
Vanessa
Graphic designer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It is a great software and very intuitive to learn

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It helps me out a lot with working with social media reels and ads. I manage several accounts for different clients and Camtasia is a time saver app. Very easy to use, doesn't really have a learning curve if you have a minimum knowledge of design and editing, all of my questions have been answered in the faq or tutorials you find everywhere online.

Pros:

It allows me to edit videos for my social media accounts and I didn't need to make a video editing course, it was quite intuitive. It is much easier to work on my pc than on a small screen for this too so even though the video editing apps for mobile are good I always prefer the freedom that a pc allows me. Also, most of my assets are created on the pc so I don't have to be moving files to the phone.

Cons:

The transitions and effects are quite limited. Some free phone apps have plenty of effects and in many cases, I end up exporting little clips and putting them together in a different app because I want a specific effect (i.e. small jump) that I cannot manage to create on Camtasia. There might be tricks to do them I am not aware of but I couldn't find anything useful so I always go back to one of the phone apps.

Seth
Instructional Designer in US
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The gold standard of video screen capturing.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I create online trainings for a large company. I needed a powerful video screen recording software for walkthroughs and demonstrations. It's so easy to create video recordings of my desktop and import them into whatever format I need (youtube, storyline, LMS, etc.)

Pros:

Camtasia was my first choice when purchasing video screen capturing software when I first arrived at my job. It's so easy to get up and running. From easily sizing the capture size to drag and drop editing. It's the best around. I love the extensive export options as well.

Cons:

My least favorite part of this software is the split between Camtasia and Camtasia Recorder. I don't love toggling between the two apps.

Stefanos
Cloud consultant in Greece
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Camtasia review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been using Camtasia on a daily basis to perform screencasts, record my videos and edit them afterwards in order to produce high quality training materials for technical audiences. I am very happy with the overall performance and feature set of the software and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It covers my requirements as a beginner video producer and trainer.

Pros:

Camtasia offers a boost in the process of video recording and editing. It features very high quality screen casting and high resolution .mp4 video output. Also Techsmith's training academy allows new video editors to obtain useful knowledge in the field of video production by offering courses to every new paid Camtasia subscription. Last but not least, Techsmith offers a rich library of assets and templates to use in your professionally looking video project.

Cons:

Unfortunately Camtasia is not officially supported on Windows Server systems. I had a Windows Server 2019 box on which I would like to install it but this is not officially supported.

César
César
Computer engineer in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best editor to start in the world of editing

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: My experience with Camtasia has been satisfactory, it was the first video editor I used and it never let me down. Many other programs are better for video editing, but none will be as easy as Camtasia, plus it doesn't take much time to learn and you don't need to have high specs on your PC to use it. It is a highly recommended video editor.

Pros:

Camtasia is a good video editor and a great screen and audio capturer, it does what you ask and what you need, and the tools it gives you to work on a video are just and necessary, but very well worked. The screenshot is good, it doesn't need a lot of space and you have different qualities to choose from. It is a very easy-to-use program, with a fairly simple interface; is the video editor that I would recommend if you want to start editing videos.

Cons:

It doesn't have many professional tools like animation handling, also the image and audio tools are very limited. The Mac version does not work well as many tools are not compatible or adapted differently from the Windows version.

Pieter
Tech Manager in South Africa
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camtasia is fantastic

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use this software literally on a weekly basis for screen recordings. Making videos and producing it for youtube and my e-learning website is super easy. I love this software and I don't use anything else to do this kind of work.

Pros:

This software is super easy to work with. I love the integration with PowerPoint and it makes my work creating videos for my e-learning site so much easier. Screen recording is great as well as recording from PowerPoint slide shows.

Cons:

As I also work with pinnacle software I sometimes find that video format compatibility becomes an issue but that is just about the only real issue I have ever experienced with the software. But this may just be small variances in codex.

Roy
Roy
Adjunct Professor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camtasia is the best screen recording available

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I use Camtasia to create tutorial videos for my classes at a local university and a local technical college as well as creating tutorials for my YouTube channel.

Pros:

Camtasia does such a great job with screen recording, video editing and video creation. If you need a great screen recording software then this is it. The easy video editing built in makes it useful for videos recorded in other platforms and being able to export in formats supported by YouTube and most elearning platforms makes it easy.

Cons:

While Camtasia does come with some stock images, it would be nice if more were included in a Camtasia subscription as opposed to having to subscribe to images as a separate service.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easily create professional-looking videos

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: You are not going to create a blockbuster movie on Camtasia - that's not what it is designed for, but you will find it an easy to use video recorder and editor for tutorials, lessons, etc., with tools geared towards that.

Pros:

For us, it is mainly used to create video tutorials. Sometimes text and images are not enough, and that is when Camtasia comes in. With easy to use recording and editing tools, you can easily create professional-looking videos. Even though it is a basic video recorder and editor, their are lots of features included, such as annotations, effects, cursor effects and transitions. With Camtasia, you can spend less time on post production.

Cons:

Not really a con, but you may find yourself wanting to get onto a maintenance subscription to keep the software always up-to-date. It is not that expensive to do so.

KN
Designer in US
Graphic Design Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Camtasia Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Camtasia is a joy to use to develop eLearning content. You can make it as interactive as you want with quizzes or other elements or keep it simple and use it to publish PowerPoint presentations.

Pros:

Camtasia is a great software for creating eLearning presentations and videos. It's also an ways software to use for those who are not tech savvy. The software is easy to learn and allows you to quickly get started creating eLearning projects. I like that you can add and format callouts as well as add animations and control timing and execution of the animation.

Cons:

It's not as feature rich as Adobe Captivate, but still allows you to create good content. Sometimes Camtasia does not work well, when the project file gets too large or when your working on a project file on a network drive, instead of your local computer hard drive.