15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About ChartHop

ChartHop is a dynamic People Operations Platform that connects and visualizes all your people data.

Learn more about ChartHop

Pros:

It integrates with Slack which helps us to complete surveys and forms. We can track the entire timeline of our activities in the company.

Cons:

My only issue is the org chart navigation. It could be user error, but the chart zooms in and out quickly which makes it difficult to use.

ChartHop ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

ChartHop has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 65 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ChartHop before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (65)

Zachary
Zachary
Sales Development Representative in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I love ChartHop

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I use ChartHop almost every day to check the organization charts of our company, as it's ever growing and ChartHop always makes it easy to see who reports to who and who is in what department. It's also fun to see people's birthdays and work anniversaries :)

Cons:

Sometimes the search function can be hiccup-y, but it often rights itself after a second try.

annie
Senior Accounting Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Everything is fine

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I recommend ChartHop because it's a very good HR tool for my company. It is super easy to use and has a very intuitive interface. The software is very easy to use and in a few minutes I was able to import all my existing employees and they were available for hire. I found the chart feature very great.

Pros:

My company is a small, privately owned, and growing company. We are in the HR software space. We have been using a homegrown system for a number of years now. We are looking for a more comprehensive and robust system to use in HR for our company. ChartHop was recommended as the system I should look at. I downloaded the system to my laptop and, after some initial testing, I am very impressed with the system. The interface is very straightforward.

Cons:

Importing was quite easy compared to other software and I did not encounter a negative situation. Everything is fine.

Kate
Analyst, People Systems in US
Biotechnology, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User-friendly & Customizable

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This product is very user-friendly and customizable. The custom field mapper and custom field capabilities make Charthop a great place to store all types of employee data, and the search & filter features make it easy to find what you're looking for within these data sets.

Cons:

Sometimes the ease of configuring data in the system can lead to a lack of clarity about what changes were made when. However, this can be avoided with good SOPs and documentation, and by limiting administrator access to only a few key team members.

Janet
Compliance Manager in US
Insurance Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ChartHop Does Great Org Charts

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like that I can download org charts into a PowerPoint or pdf.

Cons:

As the org has gotten larger, I'd like to be able to only download org charts for FTE's but don't see the option without selecting every applicable department.

Ilya
Financial Operations Analyst in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ChartHop offers a lot of information and is easy to use

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

That it was easy to use and provides a lot of information.

Cons:

UI used to be clunky but with the latest update definitely got better

Sarah
Technical Recruiter in US
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great and intuitive first time user

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Pretty intuitive to use as someone who is logging in for the first time. I also appreciate that you can look up your compensation adjustments over time and that it shares the % variation.

Pros:

I like that I can go in and see past reviews. It would be great if we could get a 360 review that was viewable by the employee. (That might already be a feature and my company has not opted into that part). I also really like the vesting chart displayed.

Cons:

The new additions to the company ("People Moves") should not be on the main dashboard. It would be helpful if the dashboard is employee specific and then we toggle over to a company page that includes starts and anniversaries, etc.

Michael
Medicare Sales Agent in US
Insurance Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far its been a pretty useful tool!

Pros:

I like the fact I can look up anyone in our company and see how to contact them. Our company is so large with agents across the US. This program allows me to figure out quickly who they are and who they report to and how to get ahold of all of them. It also allows me to see the hierarchy of different departments within my company and how rapidly we are growing. The program is very user friendly!

Cons:

Sometimes its not always up to date but it does take a few days, but that might be a delay on our end of reporting it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for hiring planning

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, Charthop has been positive for our org.

Pros:

It allows us to create a process for hire approval and management changes.

Cons:

Changes are not the easiest if you don't know how to code.

Wei Chun
Data Engineer in Malaysia
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Big Yes as an Org Chart tool

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The org charts are one of the best I had seen. I like that it's downloadable and the navigation is seamless.

Cons:

Not much. On rare occurrence, search could be a bit funky and I cannot find a specific person unless I drill down manually

Harter
Harter
Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Charthop helps AMs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Allows me to quickly and easily get responses to customers and solve their problems.

Pros:

Being able to search for internal employees based on their department and responsibilities allows me as an AM to loop the proper internal asset into a conversation with a customer and/or get the answer I need to a rare questions.

Cons:

Nothing, it is great. Has always done what I need from it.

Rachael
Research Analyst in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty Good

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall pretty good, the pros definitely outweigh the cons and I think the ease of use is pretty good.

Pros:

We use this for setting our MBOs and it does make is fairly easy to see what is being done. It breaks it down by month and has you label each goal which is very helpful.

Cons:

I think the only issue I have is I wish the interface of editing a goal was a little easier after it has been submitted instead of someone else having to do it.

Andrew
Program Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good tool for tracking quarterly goals & visualizing org charts

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I think Charthop is a great tool, but I wish they would address the issue I called out above!

Pros:

I primarily use ChartHop for two things: tracking quarterly goals, and visualizing org charts. For goal-tracking, the interface is simple and intuitive and I couldn't ask for much more. My thoughts on the visual org charts feature are similar. The tool we used to use for this was very clunky, but ChartHop does a great job of making it easy to navigate and move around.

Cons:

When you are writing up your quarterly goals, ChartHop does not save your progress as you go. One time I accidentally hit the back button in my browser and lost all of my progress. Now I write everything in a google doc and paste it into ChartHop when I'm done.

Albert
Support Escalation Manager in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, fluid UI

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Pleasant, as a User I just use it to see org changes in my organization as they happen

Pros:

Org Chart, Job openings. I am fan of the new 'map' feature which has been great as the company moved to remote.

Cons:

Jumping around the org unit (going to different depts, going one level up) used to be more difficult, but it has been made easier overtime.

Cherie
Researcher in US
Market Research Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

NEW Charthop

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: good

Pros:

Easy to update and edit, lots of options

Cons:

Lots of options some harder to find then others

Alex
Administrative Assistant in US
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for New Employees and Admins!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall ChartHop is a great tool that I use daily. I'm so glad that our company has this resource available to employees, especially as an administrative assistant working with multiple calendars.

Pros:

I love that I can easily look up employees and org charts!

Cons:

User experience within the org chart. It zooms in and moves around too easily making it feel almost disorienting. I love the idea of being able to move around the org chart easily, but I think I would prefer it to be a bit more static.

Noreen
IT Manager in Philippines
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Using ChartHop

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Charthop provides as an opportunity for employees for become aware of each other. In this new normal, we are able to know each other even when we do not see them in person.

Pros:

I like seeing birthdays and anniversaries. This allows me to be personal and get in touch with co-employees. The organizational chart shows the whole company and is easy to manage.

Cons:

At the moment, I could not find anything I do not like with ChartHop. I have not encountered any glitches yet.

Melissa
Senior Operations Manager in US
Computer Games, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The ChartHop Org chart feature has been fantastic for our company. With such a rapidly growing and organic company sometimes it is difficult to keep track of who falls where in the structure, now it is never an issue.

Cons:

So far, we have not really experienced any cons. Sometimes we thought there was something missing, but usually upon further examination, the feature was actually there we just didn't know it!

Matthew
Senior Product Designer in US
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful tool for finding help via org structure, or learning more about your coworkers

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I love how quickly I can learn about my coworkers and their place in the company. I use ChartHop all the time to view coworkers profiles or look at org structure to find a point of contact. It is also awesome that you can view the org structure in past years to see what has changed.

Cons:

I think the visual hierarchy and typography could use some improvement.

Julie
Senior People Operations Analyst in US
Design, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ChartHop review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Using the org chart, seeing where everyone is located in a remote organization

Cons:

All of the open reqs from Greenhouse showing up in the org chart, not necessary

Daniel
Senior Software Engineer in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Employee's Guide To The Company that I wish I had had throughout my career

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It makes it easy to navigate through the company, find the people you need, find out what are the responsibilities of the people you interact with, and figure out who's where and what's what after the latest company re-organization.

Cons:

The navigation on the organization chart uses gestures in a way that is not intuitive to me.

Rajiv
Automation Developer in Canada
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ease of use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Easy to identify employee trends through surveys. Team hierarchy and information tracking.

Pros:

It is very easy to use. It integrates with Slack which helps us to complete surveys and forms. We can track the entire timeline of our activities in the company.

Cons:

Everything looks great from what I use. I don't see any limitations at the moment.

William
Solutions Consultant in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

ChartHop Review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like how easy it is to navigate around Charthop and how the different tiers of the organization appear as you "zoom in" on different department leaders. It has a very modern feel and functionality, very intuitive as a user. Our organization has been growing a lot and so this tool helps me learn new key players on the team and also stay up to date on birthdays and anniversaries of my colleagues.

Cons:

I think sometimes the zooming/ scrolling with the mouse function can be hard to control but that is really the only negative I can think of.

Stephanie
Research Analyst in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Platform

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Enjoy using this platform, being provided ways to set goals for myself, and keep me accountable is great!

Cons:

I haven't come across anything that I have not enjoyed using. Everything is very user friendly!

Kevin
Director of Product Design in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for seeing org updates

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to see the org structure and pull up details about people. Great to see personnel changes posted right to the dashboard as well.

Cons:

For what charthop does I feel it is sufficient in keeping me updated about the org.

sai
software engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My charthop review

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Org chart is cool and interesting easy to navigate and get company overview.

Cons:

Goal settings can be improved and also its not that intuitive.