Canada Local product

Avanti Reviews

4.7 (21) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Avanti

Run payroll your way. Avanti’s HCM software simplifies your work with advanced payroll and reporting, integrated scheduling, and more.

Learn more about Avanti

Pros:

Payroll is easy, I can report on pretty much everything I need, and year end is so much easier.

Cons:

Sometimes labor intensive, when making system wide changes. We have 5 separate Data Bases, so it is repetitive.

Avanti ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Avanti has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 21 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (21)

Sort by

Have you used Avanti before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (21)

Verified Reviewer
Personnel Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Costumer Service is the best

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is a very robust system user friendly everything is in one platform, continuous updates, payroll is accurate, but most important is their customer support

Pros:

Time management communicates with payroll, easy to use, very flexible, all kinds of reports can be extracted, analytics are awesome, but most important is their support team, when you have an issue, they are super friendly, professional and knowledgeable, reply or call in a timely manner and they are always there for you going the extra mile. The company is always looking for ways to improve .

Cons:

It does not communicate with benefits, and a little bit limited when it comes to performance management

Nicole
Payroll & Benefits Manager in Canada
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great system

5.0 last year

Comments: fabulous system, so easy to use

Pros:

ability to customize and customer service is awesome

Cons:

there isn't anything i can think of that i do not like

Alternatives Considered: Dayforce HCM

Reasons for Choosing Avanti: cost and customization

Switched From: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Avanti: cost, ability to customize and customer service

Aaron
Finance Manager in Canada
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Avanti Review

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: We have been involved with Avanti for more than 15 years. Original set up went well, and we amalgamated with two other agencies approx. ten years ago and had to onboard two additional payrolls. Support was very helpful with big jobs like that, as well as little questions.

Pros:

Report writer allows us to customize reports and access information quickly for analysis.The payroll module is very user friendly and maintains all applicable employee information.Time & Attendance module allows for easy tracking and balancing of employee entitlements.

Cons:

None. (I would have left at "none", but since you require a longer answer)Monthly maintenance fee once increased because we had a large retro to process, so they charged for every employee; yet other months were based on an average (high estimate) and when inquired, I was told it would change month to month. It does not. It appears as though they are fine to charge additional support (even though we didn't require any support), but will not adjust to real numbers if it falls below the estimate.

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your kind review, Aaron! We love to hear that Report Designer makes analyzing info easier for you. We also appreciate your feedback on fees. I will pass this along to our Billing Team.

Colette
HR Coordinator in Canada
Publishing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Avanti Review

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall I find the software complicated and slow. I think that it still has a long way until it is user friendly for hr employees who use the platform.

Pros:

This software has a lot of reporting capabilities and the onboarding set up and process is fairly simple and effective.

Cons:

I often find the platform to be overly complicated, especially with regards to the access levels and role assignments. In the report designer feature and other capabilities within the platform there is often overly complicated coding needed which is something that as an HR employee I don't have much knowledge on.

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your review, Colette! We love to hear that our Onboarding process is effective. Thank you for your feedback on the product. I'll pass that along to our Product team. - Emma

Maija
Finance Coordinator in Canada
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Functional

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I enjoy working in Avanti compared to other systems. It is easy for employees to use as well.

Pros:

I like that it is an integrated system. The ease of processing payroll with the amount of reports that are generated while processing to ensure that all accounts are being charged correctly in your GL. The way you can customize your reports is also a plus.

Cons:

The fact that it is sometimes frustrating when making changes in a profile and you have to change it in multiple spots instead of the system updating on its own. Also when adding new codes to profile and getting it to link with the web is confusing and not well documented

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your kind review, Maija! We love to hear that Avanti helps you process payroll in a smooth and accurate manner. Thank you for your feedback on profile changes. I'll pass that along to our Product team. - Emma

Christine
HR Generalist in Canada
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It works

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Better in previous years. It seems like the business model has changed and expert, timely advise is not always available anymore.

Pros:

The product is easy to use once you know how it works. Its not hard to learn the program.

Cons:

When something goes wrong, it can take a long time for support to have a solution. It has happened on more then one occasion where we had to limp by while the team at Avanti was figuring out coding issues of their end.

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your review, Christine! That's great to hear that you find Avanti easy to use. We appreciate your feedback on our support. I will pass that on to our Client Care and Development teams. - Emma

Jake
Business Intelligence Team Lead in Canada
Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product.

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Great. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] did a great job with our Cloud upgrade.

Pros:

Ease of use. Price. You can get into most functions without too much effort.

Cons:

Less HRIS functions than competition. Would be good to see more modules come out.

Alternatives Considered: Dayforce HCM, ADP Workforce Now, SAP SuccessFactors HXM Suite, BambooHR and Workday HCM

Reasons for Switching to Avanti: Price. Convenience.

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your kind review, Jake! We love to hear that Avanti is easy to use. Thank you for your feedback on the product. I'll pass that along to our Product team. - Emma

Wanda
Payroll Administrator in Canada
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Product

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Payroll is a straightforward process with entries.

Cons:

Really miss the Manuals to learn and use the program. Reporting features could be really useful if a user could learn them, Is there "how to" manual or process to learn?

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your feedback, Wanda! That's great to hear Avanti makes payroll straightforward for you. A great way to learn more about our reporting features is through our Skill-Up with Avanti webinar episode "Report Designer". You can find the recording on the help center. - Emma

Lingli
Accounting and Payroll Manager in Canada
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good payroll system for manufactory

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Great experience from Implementation to daily use.

Pros:

Customer Services, Labour Cost Allocation. OT Calculation including the late submitted timecard, Entitlement Calculation

Cons:

Complicated Setup and a lot of lines to watch for the setup. It gets easier with the onboarding

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your review, Lingli! That's great to hear our Client Care team is providing you with great support. Thank you for you feedback on setup. I'll pass this along to our Implementation team. - Emma

Aashna
Human Resources Coordinator in Canada
Oil & Energy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

User friendly and able to get help new required.

Cons:

Some features like putting in schedules. We have MWW schedules that can't be embedded

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your kind review, Aashna! That's great to hear that our Client Care team is there to help when you're in a jam. Thank you for your feedback on the product. I'll pass that along to our Product team. - Emma

Dovid
Controller in Canada
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Avanti has been a gamechanger

5.0 last year

Comments: Avanti has completed changed our payroll experience. The data entry time has been slashed, the accuracy of the time and allocation have increased exponentially.
I personally have gone from spending a few days each month on payroll to a few hours.
The reports have given us invaluable insight into th erunnings of the school.

Pros:

Their customer service is amazing. Everyone helps with a smile. Never need to break my head on anything, because I can always call or email and get a quick response. The multi dimensional reporting has been critical to understanding our schools costs.

Cons:

The report designer is a bit complicated. The reports work amazingly, but I struggle to create new ones. I have seen other programs with drag and drop reporting, which Avanti does not have. But help is a short phone call away.

Avanti Software Response

last year

Thank you for the kind review, Dovid! We love to hear that our Client Care team is always there to help when you're in a jam. We also appreciate the feedback on the report designer and will be sure to pass this along to our Product team. - Jenna

natalie
Payroll & Benefits Administrator in Canada
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Avanti is a fantastic software!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience with Avanti has been excellent - from software training, to using it and the after implementation client support.

Pros:

Payroll is easy, I can report on pretty much everything I need, and year end is so much easier

Cons:

It can be a bit overwhelming for one person because it can do so much but I still love it.

Alancy
Payroll & Benefits Admin in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Avanti - Administrator Review

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I think Avanti is easy to use for beginners and it's even better once you start understanding the nuances. I started using it without any payroll experience and it did all of the thinking for me. I just had to follow the steps on the instruction sheets.

Pros:

I like that Avanti is highly customizable and effortless to use. The Avanti customer service team is wonderful and is there for us at any time we need them. I like how they are constantly improving their software and they make us part of this advancement. We get to have a say in what improvements need to be made.

Cons:

Because it is highly customizable, I'm responsible for any changes that are made to Avanti subsequently.

Avanti Software Response

11 months ago

Thank you for sharing your experience, Alancy! We love to hear that Avanti is easy to use and customizable to meet your needs. And we have to agree, our Client Care team is pretty wonderful. - Jenna

Karen
Director, Human Resources in Canada
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Went Live with Avanti April 2019

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Everyone at Avanti is knowledgeable and helpful. If the customer service person is unable to assist with your issue, they will conference someone in that can or get back to you ASAP. They are quick and efficient and always want you to be satisfied with the results.

Pros:

Avanti is very customizable to add and remove areas that are not of interest to your organization. The reports are exceptional.

Cons:

It is so much work to get this up and running. If you have a team on this project you will be fine. I am the only payroll administrator so I was switching us over and running the old payroll system all at once. But take your time and enter everything as you may one day want to access that data.

Brian
Vice President People and Culture in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent Product & Customer Service

5.0 last year

Pros:

The product does everything we need it to do for our organization and is easy to use. Its the customer service that is the big differentiator and responsiveness of the team. We've been with Avanti for 15+ years. Its affordable, reliable and excellent for midsized or small organizations.

Cons:

Speed can be slow for users but I believe that is being addressed

Avanti Software Response

last year

Thank you for the review and being such a long-time Avanti client, Brian! We're happy to hear that our solution continues to meet your needs and our Client Care team is quick to respond to your questions. - Jenna

Traci
Payroll Manager in Canada
Consumer Goods, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Long Time User

5.0 last year

Comments: I really enjoy working with Avanti, it is user friendly and capable of handling a lot of GL detail for our manufacturing facilities.

Pros:

In-house system gives you flexibility to control and tailor your software as needed.

Cons:

Sometimes labor intensive, when making system wide changes. We have 5 separate Data Bases, so it is repetitive.

Avanti Software Response

last year

Thank you for the kind review, Traci! We love to hear that Avanti provides the flexibility and control you need to for in-house payroll. Thank you for the feedback on the product. I'll pass that along to our Product team. - Jenna

Pam
Coordinator, Payroll & Benefits in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Support Team

5.0 last year

Pros:

This is the first payroll system that I have used, I found it fairly easy to learn. The support team is super amazing and has definitely helped me understand the system better!

Cons:

The biggest area of improvement, for my use at least, is the speed of saving documents from Avanti to our files. It used to be very efficient but after the update at the beginning of 2021 it has become painfully slow.

Avanti Software Response

last year

Thank you for your review, Pam! We're thrilled that Avanti is meeting your payroll needs. I appreciate your feedback on our system speed and will share this with our Product team. They are always working on ways to improve our system performance. - Jenna

Lyne
Benefits Administrative Officer in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Payroll Features

5.0 last year

Comments: Very positive. The Avanti team is always eager to help meet the organizations needs.

Pros:

Payroll ease of use for a unionized environment.

Cons:

Understanding pay groups. Difficult to grasp the concept at first.

Avanti Software Response

last year

Thanks for your feedback, Lyne! Happy to hear that Avanti is making payroll easier when it comes to unions. We appreciate your input on understanding pay groups as well and will share with our Training team. - Jenna

Jeff
CHRO in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Avanti does the job!

5.0 last year

Comments: The product works for our needs.

Pros:

Avanti has all the capabilities to do what our organization needs.

Cons:

Many features, navigating can be difficult

Avanti Software Response

last year

Thank you for the review, Jeff! We're happy to hear that Avanti is meeting your team's needs. I appreciate the feedback on our navigation and will share that with our Product team. - Jenna

Paula
Payroll Manager in Canada
Financial Services Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Payroll Manager

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Like using Avanti

Pros:

Easy to use. The support has been very good.

Cons:

Overall, there is not anything that I don't like.

Avanti Software Response

5 days ago

Thank you for your kind review, Paula! We love to hear that Avanti is easy to use and that you feel supported. - Emma

Heather
Recruiter in Canada
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Haven't started yet

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Havent started using the software yet but get a ton of emails from them.

Cons:

Hopefully this is a feature that can be turned off once i get started!

Avanti Software Response

last week

Thank you for your review, Heather! Yes, you may edit your email subscription preferences to customize which emails you'd like to receive.