15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Botpress Reviews

4.5 (36) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Botpress

Botpress is a platform for creating AI-powered chatbots that leverage the latest in large language models.

Learn more about Botpress

Pros:

Most i like is free and opensource, has web interface for configuration and most a very helpfull support even for free edition.

Cons:

Dependency on heroku, slow, limited features and apis.

Botpress ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Botpress has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 36 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Botpress before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (36)

Jon David
Jon David
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Beginner Friendly Chatbot Platform

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

We loved the low cost and east of deployment. We were looking at about a half a dozen different chatbot platforms. We had narrowed the choices down to two open source chatbot platforms because we did not want to be locked in to anyone companies technology. We did not expect much support but Botpress was a nice surprise. They have a very active and supportive community along with weekly office hours and Discord server which was a great resource.

Cons:

There wasn't really anything not to love about Botpress. The initial startup was a bit confusing because we had been using other open source platforms and weren't expecting an already setup cloud platform but that was a wonderful surprise.

Boris
Software Developer in Venezuela
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

...And Botpress For All

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Everyone should start with Botpress, its learning curve is excellent, and its community makes it a pleasant experience, I have always received attention from Botpress. You can create a functional product very quickly with botpress and it provides many options, it is super flexible, I hope they continue to expand since it is a company with a great future

Pros:

Botpress is very friendly, it is a mix of simple and complex at the same time, the level of flexibility is great. What I like most are the tools to contextualize the AI ​​and place prompts in a very optimized way with various resources such as documents, web pages and tables. The use of agents, such as the Knowledge agent, is incredibly useful, you load a database and it in turn makes the respective queries in the middle of the conversation like magic.

Cons:

Botpress improves very quickly over time thanks to its very active developers and community. Sometimes we tend to find one or another bug that is addressed quickly. I would like them to implement the use of more dependencies that we can import and also generate cards from code in the Studio. I would need a better integration with Instagram, it is the only social network of all that has been difficult for me to integrate with botpress, it is the only social network of all that has been difficult for me to integrate with botpress, although it must be noted that Instagram with its policies does not make it easy either.

Jean-Francois
Associé, Direction Web in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent product and very user-friendly

5.0 last month New

Pros:

After evaluating multiple options, we found Botpress to be the ideal solution. This tool stands out for its user-friendliness, ease of use, and efficiency. The combination of managing conversation flows with pre-configured cards and AI provides effective control and remarkable flexibility. Moreover, the integration with GPT is highly impressive and seamlessly incorporated into the tool. In addition, the support for learning the tool is robust. The available documentation, active Discord channel for inquiries and discussions, and comprehensive YouTube training channel together create a well-designed ecosystem around the tool.

Cons:

While the documentation is accessible and easy to consult, there are areas for improvement, such as the inclusion of default values for certain configurations or variables. Our tests helped us identify these, but the search in the documentation did not.

Amit
Associate engineering manager in Belgium
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amit’s review

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease of usage Ui flow design Nlp processing

Cons:

Customization Add custom widgets and hooks

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Amit, first, I want to thank you for reviewing Botpress. It's greatly appreciated. I'd love to get the chance to pick your brain on custom widgets and hooks. If I get a better understanding of your use case, I can bring this up in a product meeting. You can also create a ticket on our Github project since we are open-source. Best, Marc

Carolyn
Carolyn
Freelance Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

World-Class Bot Building Platform

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Botpress is a great platform with a strong community of developers around the world that are welcoming and open to sharing their time, resources, and elevating best practices among bot builders.

Pros:

Botpress offers an economical and code-friendly low-code platform that allows for a range of user skill and experience to begin building scalable applications quickly.

Cons:

Ambiguity on feature releases / project update timelines. They're certainly not the only company that ships features without a schedule posted to the public, but it's always nice to have a know in advance when new bells and whistles are coming!

Kamsi
Research Staff in Nigeria
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Flexible Chatbot Building Platform

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

I like that Botpress has a low-code interface that makes it easy to create and manage chatbots, with little or no coding skills. I can use the visual flow editor, the built-in templates, and the drag-and-drop widgets to design conversational flows and user interfaces in minutes.

Cons:

I dislike that Botpress has a steep learning curve, especially for beginners and non-technical users. The platform has a lot of features and options, which can be overwhelming and confusing at first. I have to spend some time and effort to learn how to use the platform effectively and efficiently.

Artemio
Artemio
Manager in Mexico
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Exceptional conversational AI software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are working in a help desk solution for our field workers support

Pros:

1. It's open source 2. Botpress hass a community forum for support 3. Botpress SDK is help you to develop robust apps and with more functionalities

Cons:

We still are testing this solution and not yet have cons arguments

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Artemio, thanks for taking the time to review Botpress. I am glad to hear your positive experience and I am looking forward to seeing you benefiting from a conversational ai platform. Best, Marc

Cesar Augusto
CEO in Mexico
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Chatbot Creation with Artificial Intelligence

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, it's interesting and satisfying; it helps spark the imagination to create interesting bots.

Pros:

Easy of use and development of natural language bots

Cons:

At first, it's a bit difficult to understand the interface

Alex
CEO in Germany
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Botpress is a universal tool for creating chatbots.

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

I like that Botpress is versatile in it's functionality. It comes with great built-in tools as well as the possibility to embed custom code.

Cons:

It is not that easy to use when you first start out.

Max
Director of Marketing in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Botpress is a Great Way to Get Started in Chatbots

4.0 last month New

Pros:

I like that it was easy and free to get started. They have a generous free plan, so it's easy to explore and test its capabilities.

Cons:

It would be a huge help to have more templates available as a starting point. The software is intuitive, but for a beginner it's hard to sift through all options to find the best way to accomplish the task at hand. I think having more templates would be a great way to learn options and best practices.

Abhishek Raj
Abhishek Raj
Application Specialist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An excellent Bot framework that can be deployed totally on premise.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I have evaluated a dozen other chatbot frameworks but choose to go with Botpress. One of the main things which I like about Botpress is that it can be deployed on-prem and none of the data leaves your organization. It can be customized as you like and as they said, it's like a WordPress for chatbots. Recently Botpress community support started growing.

Cons:

There is a learning curve to it. The documentation/blog can be improved to help customers stay motivated.

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Abhishek, thanks for reviewing Botpress and for bringing up the learning curve of our product. We've recently hired great talents to improve the experience. We are also putting more effort into content creation to help the community use Botpress to its fullest potential. Cheers!

Demyan
Lead Engineer in Ukraine
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best on premises chatbot solution

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Best open source solution available on the market

Pros:

- Easy to use CMS - Great modular architecture - Community support - Fully customizable - Multiple bots on one instance

Cons:

- Lack of documentation - Businesses model is based on paid features and paid support rather than just support

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Demyan, Thank you for the very detailed feedback. Cheers!

Anurag
Data scientist in India
Government Relations, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Not able to get it running lack of tutorial and ease of use.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Flow based structure, drag & drop and connecting

Cons:

Nil, I didn’t explored that much coz I got so confused and went back to rasa

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Anurag, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you had such a bad experience with our product. I'd love to take some time and pick your brain to really understand where we should improve to make sure that doesn't happen again. Please send me an email so we can schedule some time. Best, Marc

Federico
IT director in Costa Rica
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

From the beginning

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The robust and integrated platform fully featured and open

Cons:

Bugs and critical features should be prioritized over net features

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Federico, Thank you for your review and for being a part of the Botpress community.

Moises
Software Engineer in Mexico
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

making a bot was never so easy

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy to set up your bot helpful guides Easy to manipulate

Cons:

At first it was a little complicated to integrate our bot to the systems

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Moises, thanks for taking the time to review Botpress. I'd like to know how we could have made the integration easier for you. Please reach out to me with more details. Best, Marc

Jeroen
CEO in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Persistency delivers success

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have created a complex use case for the bot and couldn't solve this for acceptable costs with other bot software, so we're happy to have been able to work with Botpress.

Pros:

It's quite complete, of course it's open source and it's getting more than the job done.

Cons:

It's not the easiest bot software to set up. Documentation is improving and that helps a lot.

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Jeroen, thanks for taking the time to review Botpress. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Best, Marc

Pierre
Developer & Designer in South Africa
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The documentation is really good - easy to understand and the screenshots helped too.

Cons:

Ummm, nothing comes to mind... Oh, Whatsapp integration would be amazing, but I realise it's sort of impossible.

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Pierre, thanks a lot for reviewing Botpress. WhatsApp integration is something we've been trying to get for quite some times. It's a long process to get the approval. Rest assure, we are working on this. best, Marc

Ian
Ian
Administrativo in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Newspapers, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Boopress is Very nice

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

easy usability and easy management for the administrator.

Cons:

didn't have much video tutorial and the installation was not very fast.

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Ian, thanks for taking the time to review. I'd love to know more about the speed of installation. I'd like to know your thoughts and understand how we can improve. Please send me an email Best, Marc

Kevin
Kevin
CloudOps Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Still evaluating the free version

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Still evaluating, but trying to better understand where the Bots can be helpful in a learning environment

Pros:

The visual editor is a nice addition, easy to implement on linux, just a few commands to get started

Cons:

While the visual editor is nice to have, there is too little documentation on building a bot. The app is updated quite frequently, but the documentation trails way behind. The only way that we learned to build a bot is by following along a YouTube tutorial from 2 years ago. Wish there were more walk-throughs.

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Hi Kevin, I want to thank you for your feedback. I take good note of the lack of documentation about building a chatbot. We will work to improve this. Best, Marc

VARUN
Agency owner in India
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good Experience

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Easy to understand easy to use botpress is amazing

Cons:

Sometimes it gets buggy and botpress team need to look into this

Damacio
developer in Brazil
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

great app, easy and fast

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: perfet for fast comunicate with visitors and useful tool to request data form

Pros:

is a easy way to keep proative comunication with web visitors .. easy to configurate and conec

Cons:

you need some tecnic skils to setup for the first time

Botpress Response

4 years ago

Thanks for leaving some feedback Damacio.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

boom in ai field

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: its is awesome literally it helps me first day i did not know how to use when i am friendly with it then i made me master after two days

Pros:

pros are following: easy to handle easy to publish easy to use easy to use multi functionality

Cons:

i like most is the feature that we can get source code also through which we can implement on project easily

Kodey
Owner in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy, quick, and powerful

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It was way easier than I thought to create a chatbot. And the powerful tools were just what we were looking for.

Cons:

The only issues we have faced is with multiple knowledge bases. Once we added a second knowledge base, the results of the chat changed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Botpress approaching

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It is easy to understand it. The process for building bots is very intuitive

Cons:

Complete courses to understand all the functionalities

Vatsal
WEB DEVELOPER in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best AI enabled bot platform

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: It's very helpful for our educational purpose project at my university

Pros:

It's easy to use the studio without doing the code stuffs and API

Cons:

-Less CSS modification and js file not modifyable -Glitched in KB and flows