About Jira

With 15+ years in the agile space, Jira offers teams the top tools and best practices to provide the right foundation for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Pros:

It’s ease of use to set up different help desks or ticket requests was fairly easy. Each help desk can be unique to the department it serves.

Cons:

I dislike both how it's hard for me to use and how it's hard for others to use - I run into instances of people misunderstanding the software all the time, which creates mistakes and wasted time.

Jira ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Jira has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 12,933 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Jira before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (12,935)

Ryan
Ryan
Marketing Analytics Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JIRA is a great way to track our team's work

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Very positive when used well, very mediocre when not implemented well

Pros:

I like that it creates really easy to use tickets that can track our team's work and give everyone a great place to submit work for our team

Cons:

The only complaint that I have about JIRA is that I don't think I am taking full advantage of it. I have used the product now in three very different ways at three very different jobs. The possibilities are endless with this program, though I will admit that the current implementation is by far the best.

Cindy Tathiana
Email Marketing Consultant in Algeria
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Comprehensive Review of Jira

5.0 last week New

Comments: Overall, Jira is a great tool for any organization that needs a powerful project management solution. It's easy to use once you get the hang of it, and it has a lot of powerful features that make it easy to track and manage your projects. The cost may be quite high, but it's woWhile Jira is a powerful tool, it can be quite difficult for new users to learn how to use it. The learning curve can be quite steep, and there are a lot of features and options to choose from. Additionally, the cost of Jira can be quite high, depending on the plan you choose.

Pros:

Jira is an incredibly powerful and versatile project management tool that can help any organization manage and track their projects. It has an intuitive user interface and powerful features that make it easy to assign tasks, track progress, and collaborate with team members. It also has a great selection of integrations, allowing users to connect all sorts of tools like Slack or Trello to Jira.

Cons:

While Jira is a powerful tool, it can be quite difficult for new users to learn how to use it. The learning curve can be quite steep, and there are a lot of features and options to choose from. Additionally, the cost of Jira can be quite high, depending on the plan you choose.

Verified Reviewer
Lead System Administrator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My experience while adopting Jira

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: fair enough

Pros:

the deployment was easy and you don't need any special skills to do

Cons:

user interface is not as easy as it should be, I feel they need improvement on the front end side of the app

Alternatives Considered: Sunrise ITSM, ClickUp and Bitrix24

Reasons for Choosing Jira: I need something more automated

Switched From: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Jira: My manager prefer Jira because he had used it before

Benjamin
VP Operations and Technology in Canada
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advanced Project Management tool

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: As a software solutions company, we have numerous projects on the go and use Jira to track them. We use Scrum, and Jira matches up with the Scrum process well. We do weekly sprints where we review the backlog and add tasks to our sprint, and this process is easy with Jira and allows many options.

Pros:

Jira is a nice and powerful tool to track our projects. This includes all Epics, Stories, Tasks, Sub-tasks and bugs. It allows for many options as well, including labels, easy prioritization (drag and drop). Recently they have added features to help track milestones, so you don't need MS project anymore. There are a lot of different reports (good for clients) and numerous integrations available.

Cons:

After you get to so many users, the costs increase quite a bit. Confluence and some add-ons are also additional costs. We have also found the odd bug. For example, the wrong ticket is updated, or in the backlog view the mouse curser can no longer select rows (fixed by a refresh). Classic Projects vs. New Project is also a bit confusing. It's hard to get new features for some of our old projects, unless we recreate the Project from the start.

Alternatives Considered: Trello, Microsoft Project, Basecamp, Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We chose Jira as our team has experience using it already.

Ahmed
Ahmed
Founder, Biomedical Engineer & Data Scientist in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Jira, Streamlining Team Collaboration

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Jira is considered as a robust and powerful project management tool that provides teams with the tools they need to collaborate and manage their tasks, issues, and projects effectively. The tool offers a wide range of features, such as task management, workflow configuration, collaboration, reporting and project tracking, alerts and notifications, access controls, calendar management, document management, and integrations with other tools.Jira's flexibility allows teams to customize their workflows and processes to match their specific requirements, and it provides a range of built-in templates to help teams get started quickly. The tool's collaboration features, such as commenting and notes, help teams to stay informed about the status of their work and provide feedback and share ideas.

Pros:

- Task management: Jira offers a comprehensive system to create, assign, and track tasks, with built-in templates to simplify the process.- Workflow Configuration: Jira allows teams to customize their workflows to match their specific processes and requirements, with built-in templates to aid in setup.- Collaboration: Jira provides a range of commenting and notes features to enable easy communication and collaboration among team members.- Reporting and Project Tracking: Jira offers a variety of reporting and project tracking features, including real-time data, visualization options, and built-in reports to help teams track progress, identify trends and measure performance.- Alerts and Notifications: Jira provides real-time alerts and notifications to keep teams informed of important changes and updates to tasks and issues.- Access controls and Permissions: Jira offers role-based access controls to manage access and permissions for different users and groups.- Calendar Management: Jira has a calendar feature that enables teams to schedule and manage their tasks and projects.- Document Management: Jira provides a central location to store and manage documents, such as files and images.- Integration: Jira can be integrated with a wide range of tools and applications, Like Slack, Google Calendar, Google Drive, Trello, GitHub, Bitbucket, Microsoft Excel, Word and Outlook & Zendesk.

Cons:

Jira is a powerful tool that provides a wide range of features to help teams collaborate and manage their tasks, issues, and projects effectively, but as it is a complex tool, it may require some time to set up and use. Also, the UI can be cluttered and confusing for some users, and the performance may be slow when working with large projects or many users. The mobile app may lack some features compared to the web version, and the reporting and analytics features can be limited. However, Jira offers many integrations, which can help teams to work more efficiently and effectively.

Alternatives Considered: Trello, Basecamp, monday.com and Wrike

Reasons for Choosing Jira: - Advanced features: Jira offers a wide range of advanced features such as workflow customization, agile methodologies, reporting and analytics, and integration with other tools, which can be beneficial for teams that need more advanced functionality to manage their tasks, issues, and projects.- Scalability: Jira is designed to scale with the needs of organizations, and can handle large projects and teams with ease, which can be beneficial for organizations that are growing and need a more robust project management tool.- Ease of use: Jira is designed to be easy to use, with a user-friendly interface, built-in templates, and a wide range of resources and tutorials available online, which can be beneficial for teams that are new to project management or software development.- Cost: Jira is considered to be cost-effective solution for teams of all sizes, and the pricing plans are competitive compared to other project management and software development tools.- Integration: Jira offers a wide range of integrations with other tools and applications, which can help teams to work more efficiently and effectively by reducing the need to switch between different tools.

Switched From: Trello, Microsoft Project and Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Due to its advanced features such as workflow customization, agile methodologies, reporting and analytics, and integration with other tools. It is scalable and can handle large projects and teams with ease. It is easy to use with a user-friendly interface, built-in templates, and a wide range of resources and tutorials available online. Jira offers a wide range of integrations with other tools and applications, which can help teams to work more efficiently and effectively by reducing the need to switch between different tools. It offers advanced reporting and analytics features such as real-time data, visualization options, and built-in reports to help teams track progress, identify trends, and measure performance. Additionally, it provides support for Agile methodologies, collaboration features, customizable workflow, mobile app, and it is cost-effective. All these factors combined make Jira a powerful and versatile tool that can meet the needs of various teams and organizations.

Jose
Jose
Business Change Manager. IPMA, PMP. in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA, a project management platform that increases visibility and promotes collaboration.

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: JIRA is a mature and widely used platform that flexibly manages the execution of our projects, understanding that there is no single solution to complete a job, given all the variables to take into account. We can create a completely customized workflow, which ensures that all processes related to execution are modeled on the platform, without the team missing a beat throughout the project cycle.

Pros:

One of the greatest advantages of using JIRA comes with the prioritization of activities since it allows us to remove subjectivity when executing tasks that are really more important. With JIRA we will achieve that critical tasks are carried out in the shortest possible time and the evidence of the execution is recorded, on the other hand, the platform is fully configurable for any type of project or organization, which avoids the need for custom development or integrations made for a specific need.

Cons:

When interacting with JIRA in a corporate environment, it's easy to configure and customize user views, roles, and permissions, and it's very easy to get familiar with the user interface and menus, making task management intuitive. On the other hand, collaboration functions to communicate with the team, as well as the notifications, keep employees and senior management informed, regardless of the type of organization, we can use it to track projects.

Alyssa
Alyssa
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A powerful project management and task tracking tool

4.0 last week New

Comments: Jira has a wide range of clients and customers who benefit from automation. There is no way that its features, production applications, or overall functionality could ever be anything but beneficial to the end user.

Pros:

Jira is useful for turning your automation-related ideas into working software. Jira's flexibility and special features make it a tool I enjoy using because they improve my efficiency at work.

Cons:

When it comes to tracking and reporting events, I don't particularly enjoy the lack of customization available in Jira. Project managers frequently use Google Sheets instead, despite the fact that its UX requires frequent revision.

Verified Reviewer
Sr. Systems Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira the task management platform for professionals

5.0 last week New

Comments: Overall my experience is great and we don't plan to switch away from JIRA anytime soon. It is our number 1 task management software no matter the project or technology.

Pros:

The most important feature the kept us on JIRA for years would have to be the task management in between projects. With the ability to have dashboards to see across projects it is critical to our weekly sprints.

Cons:

The thing I like least about this software would have to come down to speed. Sometimes we want to edit and move tasks fast in sprints and it never moves as fast as we want it to.

Alternatives Considered: Trello and monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We are already integrated into the Atlassian suite so it just made sense. It also filled all of our needs on top of this.

Aditya
Aditya
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for Project Management

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, my experience with Jira has been positive. It's an intuitive and powerful tool for project management that allowed our team to stay organized and on top of tasks. I found the interface easy to use and the features very helpful in tracking progress on projects. The reporting capabilities were also great for providing key insights into performance which was extremely useful for decision making around future projects.

Pros:

I liked how easy it was to organize tasks and assign them to individual team members. It also provided a great way to track progress on projects by giving everyone visibility into the project timeline, task statuses, and any potential risks or blockers that might arise. Additionally, I found the reporting features really helpful in providing key insights into project performance which helped inform decision-making around future projects.

Cons:

The one thing I liked least about this software was that it required a lot of manual effort to keep the data updated. Whenever changes were made to tasks or timelines, someone needed to manually go in and update the fields which could be time-consuming. Additionally, I found some of the features such as resource management and project budgeting somewhat limited compared to other software solutions on the market.

Tanmay
Tanmay
Associate Product Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Tool with multiple benefits but grown too big and clunky

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: It does the core job. It does basic things very well. Beyond that any niche or advanced usecase is not intuitive enough to quickly grasp or set up

Pros:

The core capabilites are at its best. Creating issues, bugs, epics, stories, tasks etc is brilliant. Managing status changes, showing sprint summaries and completing sprints is very good

Cons:

Settings have become very very complicated. Project ownership, allowing edit and delete access, modifying status workflow are fragmented and confusing to understand

Jack
Managing Partner in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

First class service desk offering

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have used this product from the very day we christened our service desk. It has evolved into an enterprise-class, feature-rich ticketing system that we have integrated with several external directories for our customers. So far, we haven't found a requested feature that we couldn't implement easily in Jira and the value proposition is strong. We recently migrated from an on-prem solution to one of their cloud offerings, mostly for ease of customer access, and have been thoroughly pleased.

Pros:

Of course there's a little confirmational bias in any review of a product already acquired, but implementing it really was a thoughtful decision. Over the last few years, this product has really matured. When we started with it as an immature FOSS offering, it wasn't really enterprise-class. We were motivated by cost initially, but Atlassian has really grown it. Now with external directory integration, tiered hosting offerings, MSP-level features, and significant customization available, I can't think of another product that beats the value proposition. My most favorite feature? The return on investment. We use this to manage service desk interactions with more than 25 MSP clients, and have never been let down. It costs us less than weekly staff meeting pizza to operate and integration with other Atlassian products is superb.

Cons:

Much of the branding customizations fall flat. Inability to resize or edit logos, the prominently featured plugs for Atlassian throughout the UI, and clunky DNS-tricks requires to redirect customer portal URLs to MSP's domain.

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus, SolarWinds Service Desk and ServiceNow Problem Management

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Cost versus features and ease of implementation

Verified Reviewer
Help Desk Customizable Solution in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Airlines/Aviation, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HelpDesk Dream System

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I really loved the platform and the easy of use and they offer a mobile solution which allows you to manange, support and assist using your mobile device which is important which you are on the go and have customers who diesire information or support.

Pros:

Coming on board with Delta I hadn't user the JIRA platform outside of submitting tickets in my past. There was a shell created by our IT team and it was a great start but with the help of an intern he and I were able to completely change and enhance the user experience on both sides for those who enter tickets and those who work or engage with tickets. The system seems a little overwhelming at first because it offers so many variations however once you really consider what you want to do and who you want to achieve it really straightforward. You're able to change and modify just about every aspect of the interface so that its complete company-specific or even department-specific is you choose. You can make it look like its an extension of your companies actual website. You can access and run reports for so many different KPI's or metrics to see preformance or SLA's and they are all realtime.

Cons:

Like I stated it was a bet overwhelming bacause there are so many options and changes that can be made using JIRA however there are tons of resources as well.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Jira: We chose JIRA because it appeared to be the best application for what we needed. It was also expandable and we could scale it as needed in the future. We also like that it was completly customizable.

Verified Reviewer
Product Manager in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works great for Software Project Management, I wish the configurations were easier to set up.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are overall very satisfied with the product as the user side of the things are very solid. The administration is quite complex and if you are doing it on your own, it will take a long time and a lot of hours reading their forums to get things right.

Pros:

The task tracking and overall reporting are pretty solid. If configured properly, you will not miss on any updates and can proactively resolve blockers.

Cons:

The configuration. They are very complicated and you cannot expect a new user to get it right and that's why there are dedicate people who set up this. We did it on our own and it took us a couple of months to get things right.

Alternatives Considered: Pivotal Tracker

Reasons for Choosing Jira: DeskPro was slow and confusing. It's the opposite - the admin interface is pretty solid while the user interface was a lot to wish for.

Switched From: DeskPRO

Reasons for Switching to Jira: I have been using it for 6 years at different companies so it was the most comfortable choice to make.

Rachel
Project Coordinator & Traffic Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for time tracking and task management, but some functionality is overly complicated.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a project coordinator, I use Jira daily in a project management aspect, matching our planned work to progress completed by our teams. I maintain an overhead view of in-flight tasks and projects, and compare this data to outside sources we use for resource management, capacity to contract, etc. My most frequently used elements are a custom KanBan board which shows all in-flight, assigned issues for the entire company; as well as Tempo time tracking software and the reports tool.

Pros:

I love the KabBan task view, our company uses this every morning for a company-wide standup meeting. We have set up a customized board with cards that display budget/due date/time spent/etc. and it has been invaluable to us during COVID-19, as we are all working from home and need to stay connected. Jira's time logging via Tempo has some buggy elements, but has been absolutely crucial in maintaining a clear view of task progress and budget maintenance. The time logging tools are incredibly reliable and allow the perfect amount of editing control by both administrators and users.

Cons:

It is a big pain not being able to assign more than one user to an issue at a time, especially when making Jira issues for meetings, as the purpose here is to provide an issue to log time against. It has also been difficult for our company to systematize and homogenize project structure, as there was such a large learning curve to Jira project setup, and we have a large number of open projects. The functionality between projects differs greatly, and I think a large part of this is due to complicated project setup and maintenance. While Jira is very developer-minded, and many of our developers like it, it seems a slightly less appropriate fit for our designers/strategists and project management team. I also lack the ability to export some reports I need, for example a clear Estimates versus Actuals report in CSV form.

Marc
Product Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Flexible but not at all fun

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Originally we wanted Jira to be the place for Product and Development. But we soon realised that we needed a separate app for the product team instead. So now the product team work outside Jira and only when it's ready for Development will a ticket get created and planned in the backlog ready for a sprint. Jira helps the Product Manager to know the status of features, bugs and tasks and allows the development team to ask questions relating to the ticket in the comment section. That way there is full visibility of the discussions for future reference.

Pros:

The biggest strength that Jira has to offer is how customisable the app is. We're forever fine tuning how how development flows are setup and I've never run into an issue where what we wanted to achieve could not be possible. The workflow editor is pretty straight forward once you figure out how to map these to specific projects and features. It also has a mammoth number of apps that can integrate with it, which can greatly help simplify your organisations stack. We use a bunch of apps that connect to Jira such as Slack and Git. The mobile app is pretty good and more simple to use. There's also a new iOS app that you can run on a mac that seems to be a slightly faster and more user friendly version. However, I haven't quite worked out how to tailor the notifications. The search is very powerful!

Cons:

It is very slow to load pages and jump between stories. When using this on a daily basis it really gets annoying. When we need to change a setting it's hard to work out where to go. I have to say I've never seen another app quite like Jira which has so many different places to go to in order to change very similar settings. If someone accidentally creates a ticket with the wrong type the only way to change it is to Move the ticket. And I can't seem to change the status of the ticket at the same time. So often an Open bug ticket becomes an Open feature ticket, which really should still be in Draft.

Alternatives Considered: Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira: We hired a new Head of Development who encouraged us to make the switch as Jira had better reporting/time tracking features.

Switched From: Pivotal Tracker

Reasons for Switching to Jira: Although it was more simple to use it didn't have the time tracking and reporting features we needed.

Verified Reviewer
Product Owner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly flexible Agile project management tool but a little complicated to use.

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: I love using Jira as I can configure it as per my project's needs and I highly recommend this tool if your team is following 'Agile Development' process.

Pros:

I have been using Jira from last 5+ years now for Backlog management, Requirements management, Bug tracking and creating Dashboards for project review meetings with leadership. It's extremely flexible tool where you can configure your own workflows and customize it as per your project's needs. It's my go-to Agile project management tool (especially for Scrum). It's so easy to create and manage user stories, bugs, technical tasks etc. You can tag your user stories as per Epics and Features, you can also add labels to each ticket. You can track the status of any ticket and also see the bandwidth allocation of various teams. In JIRA, you can add advanced search filters to view only those user stories that has particular combination of fields (like specific assignee, status, epic name etc.). Moreover, JIRA Dashboard provides a bird's eye view of the overall project status which gives the real time visibility to you and the leadership team. The UI is very clean and simple and it makes Agile Development very productive, once you get the hang of it. Plus, it's very well integrated with many popular apps like Google workplace, workday, slack etc. But there is definitely a steep learning curve with Jira. The success of this product largely depends on how your management/leadership standardize various processes and workflows within Jira.

Cons:

Jira doesn't allow you to add multiple assignee on one user story, and this becomes a concern when multiple developers are working on one story. Also, it's hard to get support from Atlassian when you are facing some technical issues. Additionally, in my experience, I have found that as Jira provides great level of customization, it can become really messy, if multiple management styles are involved during project planning phase. The workflows can get overly complicated and as a Product Owner, you find yourself stuck in updating the ticket statuses all day long.

Vedarth
Tech Lead in India
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

good tool for project management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Collaboration of our team has improved after we started using Jira, the tools helps in planning and identifying gaps while we develop features. The mobile application is really good and one can get work done from mobile app as well. Overall Jira suites our needs.

Pros:

Jira is very flexible and can be used for different use cases, eg: project management, issue tracker, road maps etc. It is quite easy to configure compared to other generic project management tools.

Cons:

The transition from old user interface to new one, it is very confusing, the UI is not consistent when we visit URLs from email notifications. Compared to other generic tools, Jira is quite easy but still it is not easy to setup, it takes quite a few days to configure the system as per needs. It would be great if there were boilerplate templates.

Alternatives Considered: YouTrack

Reasons for Choosing Jira: Pivotal tracker is very specific for project management, we needed a customisable product which we can use with our existing workflows.

Switched From: Pivotal Tracker

Reasons for Switching to Jira: JIRA was easy to configure and had all the plugins we needed, it was just plug and play.

Verified Reviewer
Web Developer in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira - you might not want to use it, but it has all the features you will ever need!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Jira is all about customization and making it work for your own workflow.

Pros:

Jira can be customized to fit almost any workflow imaginable, whether it be a very simple Kanban board or very restricted and complicated workflows with approvals and automations. If you learn it well you can make it work in almost any organization - which is a skill you can use between jobs!

Cons:

Jira isn't very intuitive to use and setup when you first start using it. They are making a conscious effort to simplify it with the new next-gen projects, which does help, but the UI is often slow and requires waiting between screens loading too often, which can be annoying at times.

Alternatives Considered: Trello

Switched From: Trello, Flow and Asana

Dhiraj
Review of software That i use in India
Market Research Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My personal experience with Jira

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I like Jira for its robust set of features, flexibility and scalability. The software is popular among developers, project managers and other professionals for its ability to handle a variety of tasks such as tracking bugs, managing tasks and projects, and reporting on progress.Some of the most commonly cited features that people like about Jira include:Customizable workflows: Allows teams to adapt Jira to their specific processes and requirements.Comprehensive issue tracking: Provides a centralized location for tracking and managing tasks, bugs, and other issues within a project.Reporting and analytics: Offers a variety of reporting and analytics tools to help teams make data-driven decisions.Collaboration and communication: Facilitates collaboration and communication among team members by providing a centralized location for discussion, file attachments, and real-time updates.Integrations: Jira offers a wide range of integrations with other tools and platforms like GitHub, Bitbucket, Trello, Slack, and more.Mobile App: Jira also offers a mobile app which allows users to stay connected with their work while on the go.Overall, Jira is considered as a comprehensive and powerful tool that can help teams stay organized and on track, and that's why I like Jira

Cons:

Steep learning curve: Some users find Jira's interface and feature set to be complex and overwhelming, which can make it difficult to get started or to fully utilize the software's capabilities.Limited customization options: Some users find that Jira's customization options are limited, and that it can be difficult to make the software look and feel the way they want.Slow performance: Some users have reported issues with Jira's performance, particularly when working with large amounts of data or using certain features.Limited scalability: Some users may find that Jira is not suitable for very large teams or organizations that need to handle a large number of projects or users.Expensive: As stated before, Jira is considered as more expensive than other similar project management and issue tracking tools, which can be a concern for some organizations.It's worth noting that these issues may not apply to everyone, and that the software is constantly updated to improve the user experience, so some of these complaints may not be valid anymore. Additionally, Jira's support team is always ready to help and provide solutions for any issues. But in my case i have face such problems in past

Vlad
Project Manager in Romania
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Industry standard for Software Development teams

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I started project management with this in my toolkit and it has remained my favorite ever since. I have seen other options such as Kanbo or Monday, I believe Jira and its related ecosystem remains far superior. Its pricing scheme is pretty good as well, you can try it for free, adopt it in small teams almost free (10$/m) and can scale it up transparently. It gets pricier when it comes to enterprise grade, yet that is the norm and i believe it is money well spent.

Pros:

The software is made around the idea of AGILE collaboration on projects for the entire team. It brings transparency to the processes and is a great information radiator for the entire team. It facilitates commonly used methodologies such as SCRUM and KANBAN and makes project management significantly easier. It is also very versatile and adaptable to particular needs. Although the standard fields are great, you can also create your own to fine tune your processes. Workflows are also highly customizable, giving the user-base great flexibility on how work is set up. Based on this, teams which work in areas not related to software development can also reap the benefits. I've seen implementations in recruitment, data analysis and more. Another great feature is its integration compatibility with other ecosystems such as Microsoft's which makes it easy to pick up. In terms of services, Atlassian offers multiple ways teams can use Jira: Cloud or Self-managed (Server or Data Center) making it an adaptable offering that can withstand the highest level of corporate security scrutiny. Another great feature is the marketplace which contains a great number of apps that provide added capabilities to the app. Last but not least, Atlassian has developed an entire ecosystem geared towards solving projects (especially software ones)like: Confluence (Info silo), Bitbucket (code management), Service Desk and more.

Cons:

The plethora of fields and customizations available can make a new user feel a bit overwhelmed. In this regard, it takes a bit to get used to it. The interface could use a revamp to make things cleaner, clearer and more crisp for the more casual user at least. (ex: easier to find timekeeping, task transitions, new task coloring schemes and more) The workflow engine can also be upgraded to be more user friendly and provide more administrative options (create, apply, delete, manage versions) The security administration section also needs a revamp in terms of adding or removing users, groups, roles into or from project (ex: if you create a new group, you can't bulk add it to all existing projects without some scripting in the CLI)

Alternatives Considered: KanBo and monday.com

Sarah
Technical Operations Administrator in US
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive, Customizable Task & Project Tracking - Designated Administrator Reccommended

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Jira is an incredibly powerful tool that takes administration investment to really harness its power - identifying or designating a "Jira Champion" would be necessary, IMHO, for companies with a user-base larger than 75 people. While I understand where others may not be so keen on the time it takes to implement and customize, professionally, I am a believer in the power of Jira now and as we continue to grow. I don't see us moving away from it, even with the additional investment in Jira education, any time soon - its power is unmatched in the space.

Pros:

Jira is *incredibly* versatile. You can customize almost every aspect of your Cloud instance, Project, Boards, & Workflows to fit nearly any use case, and across multiple departments. Permissions to your Jira instance can be restricted at a very granular level if need-be, but can be more broad if the occasion calls for it. Additionally, and probably the largest reason we transitioned from enterprise Jira to a Cloud Jira instance is the pervasive availability of integration across the market. Speaking of market - Jira has a growing 3rd-party market that offers enhancements to the Jira platform that Jira does not natively provide or are too complex for an untrained Jira administrator to script themselves. Of those that are "approved" by Jira, we are extremely happy with the breadth of functionality, integration and ease of use. With all that I do have to say that our favorite thing with all project leads is Jira Automation. Once you understand the "SmartValues" language that automation runs on, the use cases for automation are truly endless. It is one of the many strong features from a project management perspective.

Cons:

Jira takes a village. Atlassian has an incredible resources in the "Atlassian Community" and they do a great job of having experienced users there to answer questions but, because each instance can be set up so differently, the actual customer support request portal is limited to bug fixes. As a result, much of my time administering Jira is spent researching how to fix a roadblock or how to modify permissions - a lot of "learning by doing". Generally speaking, Jira can be difficult to use from an administration perspective, *but* for the purposes of moving ticket along, the UX is pretty good and the UI is fairly intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A very powerful task tracking system

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: JIRA is easy to use and great for managing work tasks on a project, however customization options are often only available to admins.

Pros:

Our company uses JIRA to manage work tasks. It has all the important features for assigning work to team members, tracking how long each task takes, notifications, capturing comments and hours worked. The tools allows for the flexibility to create your own JIRA ticket types or categories, with any kind of number of input fields. Data fields may be dropdown boxes, tags, values, or free text. Fields inherently have the ability to recognize hyperlinks and add those in once you type out a link, and it also recognizes JIRA links, such that if you enter a JIRA ID tag, it automatically creates a hyperlink to that JIRA entry. JIRA supports Agile development schemes and tickets could be easily tracked through a JIRA Dashboard. JIRA filters are also easy to use. You may use the basic query that provides you with simple dropdown fields for common elements, or you can create more advanced queries using JQL.

Cons:

Being a JIRA user can be limiting as you only have the ability to enter data for the fields that are currently configured. You have to go through IT or the admins for any form of customization such as adding/removing/hiding fields, setting what kind of text format is in each field (e.g. plain text vs rich text) and modifying which fields are required vs optional. When you have rich text formatting, sometimes it can be frustrating getting the text to show up the way you want. The workaround for this would be to use the Text tab instead of the Visual tab so that you can modify the formatting tags.

Shaffick
Director in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira...the best out there

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The overall exprience has been HIGHLY positive. Jira is the go to software for project planning and coupled with Jira Service Desk and Confluence (which we use at the moment), it is a very truly powerful piece of software. I have tried other ones, but always came back to Jira due to it's widespread acceptance and ease of use.

Pros:

Jira is highly customisable, and also has plugins. It allows you to monitor your projects and provided granulated access to individuals. You (or your admin) can set roles for the project and associates those roles to certain activities and then associate the roles even further to individuals. You can organize your tickets in sprints and releases as well as monitor workload and task assignment to your team during sprints (or whatever other form of software delivery you wish to choose).

Cons:

Pricing model. Currently, you have a choice of server vs cloud setup. If you have a team that can maintain the server instance, I'd recommend going to server because you have a lot more plugins you can use on server and you can set it up the way you want. The best thing is the licenses are a one-time cost, as opposed to lower, but monthly and forever costs on the cloud portion. The other thing that is to be considered is that the plugins you choose need to have the same level of range for hte user count. i.e if your jira is for 101-250 users, all your plugins will need a license level of the same range, i.e 101-250 users. Something to consider if you are thinking about moving to Jira.

Senthilkumar
Senthilkumar
Test and tools specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effective Agile business project board

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used JIRA for agile development and testing projects for tracking status. Multiple scrum and agile masters used JIRA, resulted effective outcomes, tracking in a easy way and watch out without a delivery miss. Creating sub tasks within task lead to deep level of monitoring work items, given confident to manage the task items. We have used user stories, back logs, mini sprints, daily hour stand up calls which given target throughput accurately. Used JIRA in the form of test cases, defects, change request types, requirement analysis - all forms of software test and development life cycle along with multiple development tools like dotnet, GitHub, etc.,

Pros:

Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.

Cons:

Sometimes I feel, the JIRA GUI is clumsy to have many things in dashboard, other than that I do not see any specific negative factors to hate JIRA, and it depends on how we use the features for projects.

Prateek
Prateek
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best and most popular project management tool.

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall Experience with Jira is Awesome. I have seen this tool as a game-changer for some organizations. Even for personal goals I am using Jira in daily life.

Pros:

Jira is the most powerful and popular project management tool available. The best thing about Jira is its high customization capability and simplicity out of the box.We are using Jira for more than 7 years, In any organization, I worked with, I have seen Jira.Most useful features for us in Jira - 1. Customization is very powerful in Jira. For almost every specific need as per the particular project, we were able to customize Jira.2. Powerful reports and dashboards - Easy visualized graphs and charts help us to recognize the current status and health of our progress. It is very easy to track time, individual user performance, blockers, and progress of the sprint.3. Extensive - It is very extensive, even for the rarest need there is already a plugin available we can use out of the box.4. Collaboration and communication- It is the best thing in Jira, no more dependency on Emails, and no more wasting time on checking and finding scattered information in the mail. Jira provides transparency in communication, all communication is in one place. Even having the related important documents, versioning of documents is available.5. Integration- its integration is beyond any other available tool. We are using Confluence to manage all the related documents in one place, and versioning is very easy, We are also using git bitbucket, TeamCity CI-CD integration in our project which made our life super easy.6. Agile tools- Out of the box we can jump-start with premade templates of

Cons:

The only con I see in Jira is that it went a little complex to configure as an administrator. But it is obvious due to its large extensive and customizable capability. It happens only for the initial time but that issue can be copped as it has a very vast help community and forums.