15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Jira

With 15+ years in the agile space, Jira offers teams the top tools and best practices to provide the right foundation for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Pros:

It’s ease of use to set up different help desks or ticket requests was fairly easy. Each help desk can be unique to the department it serves.

Cons:

It can be costly and there are nasty sides on the licensing. For example, you can't use plugins for a limited number of users, and only pay for that the number of users.

Jira ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Jira has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 14,154 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Jira before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14,154)

Tej
Tej
DevOps Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Jira the scm management

5.0 last month New

Comments: I have used Jira for Project, Task, Integration, CI/CD Management. I connect Jira with Azure DevOps to use azure board, pipelines, repos, test. I found it is full fill all my requirements like restriction on user for some project , only some setting allow to developer and it's Boards which make me happy with all required tag in it.

Pros:

The user interface is the best which I like, we can customize it according to our needs. We can create customer Tasks like Epic, feature, etc. Integrety with another tool which makes Jira more special, we can connect it with like MS Teams, Azure DevOps, Etc... It Provides various extensions and other 3rd party tools that help in migration from other SCM tools like monday.com, azure boards, slack, etc It also provides a Dashboard so we can see all project reports at a single point which makes this fabulous.

Cons:

Cost is a barrier for the startup/ small size company like 10 to 20 members in an organization, it could be free for them. Some Other tools are for the same like the Azure Board which is free for 5 people in the organization. Its migration/sync was not easy and free with other tools like.. migration from Azure board to Jira take time to understand the process. There are lots of extension / 3rd party tools available that are not free and charging costs are high. Sync will automatically affect after 180 seconds of update in Azure board which is not good, or we can refresh manually by refresh button which is inconvenient.

Meelis
IT support in Estonia
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Jira helpful tool to track and manage your projects.

5.0 5 days ago New

Pros:

Jira is a great tool that helps you to track and manage different projects within your organization. I am also fond of the time tracking and project management features that offer a wide range of possibilities for the beginners and savvy users.

Cons:

Setting up your first project and workflow may be a little difficult at the beginning, but luckily Atlassian has made it as easy as possible. Also migrating from hosted to cloud instance may be a quite a headache if done incorrectly, so definitely it would be great to understand your company needs for the long run and then decide how you implement your Jira!

Lucien
VP of GTM in France
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is very hard to use with new age project management tools

3.0 last week New

Comments: Jira is a tool that drastically needs to redesign in order to stay relevant. As a fast growing agile startup, choose ClickUp.

Pros:

Jira provides a unique edge given it also owns and provides confluence which is a fantastic documentation tool. Jira also has a good sprints feature with important and easy to view visualisations like burn down charts.

Cons:

Jira is so unusable and clunky it is a very frustrating platform for people who want to work fast. Once you've used Notion, ClickUp or Asana there is no going back. Previously, technical teams would favour Jira due to it's superior integrations but the other companies have caught up providing a beautifully seamless and powerful UX/UI. Once we consolidate multiple instances after M&A we will be moving away from Jira.

Faz
Faz
Head of Product in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Capital Markets, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brickflow Loves Jira

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Jira rocks for Brickflow because it keeps things organized with boards and to-do lists, but also makes working together a breeze. Everyone can see how projects are coming along and stay on the same page, which is pretty sweet.

Cons:

Jira can be a double-edged sword. While it excels at organization with boards and to-do lists, setting things up can feel like navigating a labyrinth. Collaboration features are limited, so forget chatting with teammates directly within the app. For non-technical teams, Jira's robust features might be overkill compared to simpler tools.

Chinmay
Data science engineer in India
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Jira review - excellent tool for Project and Sprint planning

5.0 5 days ago New

Comments: The Jira app is an exceptional tool for project management, particularly suited for agile development teams. Its comprehensive features, robust performance, and high level of customization make it a valuable asset for managing complex projects and enhancing team collaboration. While it may have a learning curve, the investment in time and effort is well worth it for the productivity gains and streamlined workflows it offers. Overall, Jira stands out as a premier project management solution that can adapt to the needs of diverse teams and projects, making it a highly recommended tool for organizations looking to optimize their project management processes.

Pros:

Comprehensive project management and issue tracking features. High level of customization. Strong integration with other tools and platforms. Excellent reporting and analytics capabilities. Effective collaboration tools.

Cons:

Steep learning curve for new users. Can be overwhelming due to the abundance of features. Performance can be slow with large projects or extensive customizations.

Sarat Chandra
Sarat Chandra
Systems Reliability Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is a Lifeline to Projects

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Jira offers the most comprehensive view of Projects and ongoing Tickets. It also emcompasses several collaborative tools which makes Data integrations simpler and intuitive.

Cons:

Filtering and Search system - This could be a lot better when trying to create views for yourself or search for certain keywords together.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good tool for tracking you tasks

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

I can create task for myself and for my colleague, assign it to them. Great tool for tracking my work, planning it. You can create subtasks to issue/story for even more detailed tracking.

Cons:

It is a very robust tool. For now I think I use only a small part of it. From the beginning it was a little difficult to learnn how to use, but that is something you can say about any tool.

Danielle
Danielle
Graphic Production Artist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Museums & Institutions, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Helpful for task management and tracking

4.0 last week New

Comments: Working in Jira has been generally a positive experience and there was a fairly shallow learning curve - though we had onsite training, which was helpful. I like the mobile features and being able to see/make updates on the go.

Pros:

Customizable forms improved intake of repeatable requests by making them more easily trackable and identifiable Easy to add media Good at-a-glance interface to see your tasks and assign priority levels to each Able to add "owner-only" notes that aren't customer facing

Cons:

It's a bit clunky interfacing with Outlook and if a team member has not been manually added, even if tagged in the work order, they will not be notified of activity.

Rajesh
VP - Products in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Agile Project Management Software

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Its helped our organization to get better visibility on what we do and also helps us to view and get metrics of utilization to plan our resources and tasks better

Pros:

Dashboards, Search, Ability to link with google drive, custom fields

Cons:

Permission management is a big pain. It is very complicated

Sunil
Sunil
Deputy General Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

User review of jir

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We started jira in small group of team then we convinced our team to use it to track our project

Pros:

Easy deployment of any project in kanban and scrum framework less training required to use

Cons:

Time line view can be improved and in scrum need some additional features in backlog management

Marc
Product Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Flexible but not at all fun

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Originally we wanted Jira to be the place for Product and Development. But we soon realised that we needed a separate app for the product team instead. So now the product team work outside Jira and only when it's ready for Development will a ticket get created and planned in the backlog ready for a sprint. Jira helps the Product Manager to know the status of features, bugs and tasks and allows the development team to ask questions relating to the ticket in the comment section. That way there is full visibility of the discussions for future reference.

Pros:

The biggest strength that Jira has to offer is how customisable the app is. We're forever fine tuning how how development flows are setup and I've never run into an issue where what we wanted to achieve could not be possible. The workflow editor is pretty straight forward once you figure out how to map these to specific projects and features. It also has a mammoth number of apps that can integrate with it, which can greatly help simplify your organisations stack. We use a bunch of apps that connect to Jira such as Slack and Git. The mobile app is pretty good and more simple to use. There's also a new iOS app that you can run on a mac that seems to be a slightly faster and more user friendly version. However, I haven't quite worked out how to tailor the notifications. The search is very powerful!

Cons:

It is very slow to load pages and jump between stories. When using this on a daily basis it really gets annoying. When we need to change a setting it's hard to work out where to go. I have to say I've never seen another app quite like Jira which has so many different places to go to in order to change very similar settings. If someone accidentally creates a ticket with the wrong type the only way to change it is to Move the ticket. And I can't seem to change the status of the ticket at the same time. So often an Open bug ticket becomes an Open feature ticket, which really should still be in Draft.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Makes most sense for software projects and products.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: JIRA is our source of truth for what is inside, coming out and ready to go next in, in our engineering pipeline is. There isn't a better tool out there even for miles and once you are cosy with JIRA, you can't really make do with another tool.

Pros:

1) Releases/Versions: Releases allow us to work in parallel on multiple efforts with the same team. 2) Parallel Sprints: Same as releases, we are a lean team and we have to work on Product features and polish/bug fixes simultaneously. 3) Custom Filters: I like these the most!

Cons:

They have taken out small pieces of functionality and made them separate products. These products are now paid and for those small pieces of functionality, you have to make extra purchases. e.g. Pages

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Ultimate Business Productivity Suite

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: JIRA has been an excellent tool overall - provides the perfect mix of task, project and issue tracking features that every company needs. I have worked with JIRA in two independent fast-growing companies and both times it has been the main driver of productivity.

Pros:

The fully integrated task and project management boards with extensive levels of detail to run Kanban maintenance boards, complex sprints and even visualise recruitment pipelines. In collaboration with Confluence and BitBucket, the Atlassian product suite make the management of a growing software team seem easy.

Cons:

JIRA has quite a steep learning curve for less software native users and can appear too complex for the average operational or commercial person. As such, it can be difficult to convince new people to use JIRA without extensive training and hand-holding. This could be improved by guided tours and a simpler interface for "new starts".

Chirag
CITO in US
Insurance Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Versatile tool for help desk and task management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Jira for IT help desk support, miscellaneous administrative and clerical support, staying focused on engineering and resource planning. We've gained several benefits. We can transparently tell all the efforts we are working on, which effort is taking more time, what are the blockers, who's putting how much effort into what work and whether there is value in the work we are doing. Jira has allowed us to stay focused and cut down on non-essential or wasteful work while giving the company a clear idea of what we are working on.

Pros:

I love Jira's ease of use. Jira allows our staff and business partners to request from us using Jira Service Desk. Engineers track their effort using Jira Software. We use the default settings for the most part and that works great for us. There is no need to train anyone on how to use it because everything is self-explanatory. That cuts down on confusion and allows us to get/enter accurate information.

Cons:

It is slow. It is very slow at times. Jira's makers - Atlassian - have not paid much attention over the years about its slowness. If you are into full-fledged project management, portfolio planning and more, you will have to buy add-ons to get additional functionality within Jira. Did I say that Jira is slow? While the ease of use saves time in accurately recording information in Jira, all that saved time is wasted away waiting for pages to load.

Ogaga
Security Analyst in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

JIRA works pretty great for projects and tasks

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: JIRA has been very beneficial to us across all teams and it's very useful for service and technical management.

Pros:

I like the kanban board, it works very well and looks simple to use (but it's not easy to setup). The task management for business project is very nice and the new feature of being able to look at the overall work like in a spreadsheet, definitely beats Smartsheet for me. I like that you can easily move your work when you're done using the board view, if you like.

Cons:

Scrum/Agile can be difficult to setup because the Kanban board isn't so great when setting it up. I have run into some difficulties with it, their support board was helpful but it did not resolve the issue. Business projects do not have the ability to link to Bitbucket, it would have been nice to include task management with Bitbucket integration, it helps to appropriately follow up on tasks. The board view for tasks and sub-tasks doesn't work for me. I'd like to see that there are major tasks with steps of the child tasks (change the subtask icon too).

Brandon
Brandon
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A robust application that can be used for everything from task management to software development

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We started using Jira for simple issue tracking for all issue types, from bugs and ideas to backlogged and in progress tickets. We have since expanded this to track our full development roadmap and to produce documentation within Confluence. We have also taken advantage of the integration with Gitlab and Sentry to help give us a more clear picture of what's going on, even when it isn't happening directly in Jira.

Pros:

Jira has a weekly release schedule which means the product is always being improved or changed. This is usually a good thing, although I will admit that sometimes it isn't. Jira is also incredibly functional for a broad range of use cases, from managing a simple to-do list, team task tracking, process automation, to software development. They do a good job of making it user friendly and easy to onboard, especially since they started making drastic UI improvements a little over a year ago.

Cons:

A consequence of being capable of so much is that it can be hard to configure initially. More specifically, which features you need and which can be disabled. There are a lot of great features but some just complicate the workflow, and it usually takes time to figure this out.

Meraz
Meraz
Assistant Manager in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best-in-class and Reliable Project Management Companion

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Jira is presently utilized to manage our projects and workflows. We utilize it to manage team members' progress on projects, track outstanding work, and offer context for objectives and procedures. This is utilized across the organization and provides visibility for a large portion of the development effort on a range of projects.

Pros:

1) Integrate seamlessly with development tools like Slack, Github, or Bitbucket. 2) Workspace is very configurable; you may customize the components of each task on your board, as well as create your own icons, labels, and automated processes. 3) Connect all issues/tasks to Epics and view the anticipated outcomes in the Product Roadmap. 4) It offers the flexibility of a kanban board, which provides the user with a clearer view of what has been accomplished, what is in process, and what remains. 5) User story statuses may be used to monitor progress and control workflows. 6) Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories, which speeds up administrative duties if this information was previously recorded in another format, such as CSV.

Cons:

1) Only internal users may be allocated to tasks and user stories. This might result in unnecessarily long delays when external users want immediate input or participation. 2) When many boards exist within a project, statuses (user stories) cannot be established explicitly for each board. 3) User stories may be assigned to just two categories of users: assignees and reporters. JIRA does not permit the assignment of numerous assignees to a single user story.

Chetan
Director, customer experience in India
Broadcast Media, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The only tool Engineering, Product and Project Management teams need

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience using JIRA for the last 12 years has been positive. I have seen this product evolve to a point where it is now the single most widely used tools by engineering product and project management teams

Pros:

First of all, the tool is extremely lightweight from a deployment perspective and also from usability perspective as well. It allows for seamless saving of information as you type and that's a pretty good feature the user interface is very well laid out and is very easy to navigate through the tool across various screens. Teams across the organisation can view the status of the development items across different projects and across different boards, per developer. JIRA can also be used to track tasks and banwidth allocation for various teams as well. The extension of confluence is the best feature that you could extend to a JIRA instance for your developers

Cons:

The amount of integrations that JIRA comes out of the box with can overwhelm new users. It does have a slight steep learning curve, but once the user is comfortable using the system they should be able to navigate through the tool seriously

Michael
Michael
Systems Engineer in US
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA - The monolith everyone uses

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use JIRA to plan monolithic projects across our organization and communicate with teams in multiple time zones and regions. We have a tier 1 tool plugin that allows our tier 1 support to escalate tickets for tier 2 and that is where we perform our work. I work indirectly with our JIRA administrator and project managers to support them while they support the JIRA platform for our organization. I have worked with JIRA in numerous organizations and while I've given it a mediocre score overall, it is a useful and irreplaceable tool overall.

Pros:

JIRA is an industry standard tool, due to this it's very well known and a colloquial metaphor for "tickets" in and of itself. JIRA is able to handle monolithic projects and the many related projects with regard to them. JIRA is very good at allowing and automatically building self-referencing tickets within it's comments and ticket parts, if you put a ticket title into a ticket it will automatically reference the actual ticket with a link. It is also very good at adding to existing tickets with related tasks, sub-tasks, and prioritization. JIRA also is considered in almost every third party tool with a massive volume of software that offers "JIRA plugins" considering it's high stature with the IT community.

Cons:

JIRA is "the tool" but it's not "a good tool" for every project and company size. JIRA is like other commercial grade products that just aren't designed for simple day to day use. While it opens up nicely and begins to make tons of sense in larger projects, larger organizations, and larger teams it often doesn't show the same beauty with simple projects and day to day ticket tracking. Additionally, the JQL language is ridiculous follows in the foot steps of many other proprietary languages that are only great for constant users of JIRA. While that's the implied scenario because as mentioned JIRA is "the tool" it's not always the case. When my day is split 20 ways, I have little time to sit down and do more than plug in a JIRA ticket number to get to the issue to investigate, review, get sign off on a fix, and apply. JIRA is also having what appears to be a lot of difficulties this year staying online with their new data center providers. I don't remember ever having these issues prior to their most recent move.

Mohammed Sohail
Mohammed Sohail
Principal QA Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Improvement in Active Sprint View

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: JIRA is really serves the purpose of managing the Project and complete tracking along with the required reports generation. This is the first go-to tool when it comes to tracking of tickets/tasks/assignments in Project Deliverables. I would continue using it and recommend other teams as it is very convenient to use.

Pros:

The issue search or search filters are really helpful and easily we can save our own filters and share it with the team. This really helps us to manage different team's sprints and backlogs easily.

Cons:

The new Active Sprint view limits or restricts users to understand the main story and its subtasks. It is difficult to navigate or track the original ticket in an Active sprint view. As an alternative to this, we navigate to Backlog view and from there we track the Active Sprint tickets. The Active Sprint view should provide option to enable or disable the view of sub-tasks for the tickets. I mean, more customization here would really help users to make their own choices.

Vlad
Project Manager in Romania
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Industry standard for Software Development teams

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I started project management with this in my toolkit and it has remained my favorite ever since. I have seen other options such as Kanbo or Monday, I believe Jira and its related ecosystem remains far superior. Its pricing scheme is pretty good as well, you can try it for free, adopt it in small teams almost free (10$/m) and can scale it up transparently. It gets pricier when it comes to enterprise grade, yet that is the norm and i believe it is money well spent.

Pros:

The software is made around the idea of AGILE collaboration on projects for the entire team. It brings transparency to the processes and is a great information radiator for the entire team. It facilitates commonly used methodologies such as SCRUM and KANBAN and makes project management significantly easier. It is also very versatile and adaptable to particular needs. Although the standard fields are great, you can also create your own to fine tune your processes. Workflows are also highly customizable, giving the user-base great flexibility on how work is set up. Based on this, teams which work in areas not related to software development can also reap the benefits. I've seen implementations in recruitment, data analysis and more. Another great feature is its integration compatibility with other ecosystems such as Microsoft's which makes it easy to pick up. In terms of services, Atlassian offers multiple ways teams can use Jira: Cloud or Self-managed (Server or Data Center) making it an adaptable offering that can withstand the highest level of corporate security scrutiny. Another great feature is the marketplace which contains a great number of apps that provide added capabilities to the app. Last but not least, Atlassian has developed an entire ecosystem geared towards solving projects (especially software ones)like: Confluence (Info silo), Bitbucket (code management), Service Desk and more.

Cons:

The plethora of fields and customizations available can make a new user feel a bit overwhelmed. In this regard, it takes a bit to get used to it. The interface could use a revamp to make things cleaner, clearer and more crisp for the more casual user at least. (ex: easier to find timekeeping, task transitions, new task coloring schemes and more) The workflow engine can also be upgraded to be more user friendly and provide more administrative options (create, apply, delete, manage versions) The security administration section also needs a revamp in terms of adding or removing users, groups, roles into or from project (ex: if you create a new group, you can't bulk add it to all existing projects without some scripting in the CLI)

Angel
ELV Presales Engineer in Jordan
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Allows teams to work together on tasks by planning and tracking their progress in real time.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Jira enabled us to build a special workflow plan for each of our products as well as the projects we work on, which helped keep the workflow on track and enabled us to manage production rates and adhere to agreed delivery dates and increased our ability to make the appropriate modifications to plans appropriate to the actual situation of the project.

Pros:

Using Jira, the team can plan and track their work, Jira is a powerful platform for managing tasks of different numbers and types for any type of product or project, as it offers the possibilities of collaboration as well as documentation of all databases and key documents related to all activities. The number of tickets that can be dealt with And because of the ability to integrate and customize it, which is very useful for organizing the affairs of tasks and team members, we can consider it a practical agile methodology that ensures the teamwork excels and achieves its goals. I love Jira's ability to filter missions, which increases our ability to see details of all missions, check the start and end dates as well as team member comments and attachments they've made. All this is done easily without much effort searching. I appreciate the reports that we get and the ease of customizing them to suit our needs, as they include the information that we want to display, especially related to a summary of the workflow during a certain period of time. I love the fact that Jira is easy to customize and integrates with many of the apps we use.

Cons:

It's not a bad thing for people who are looking for the right way to manage products and projects, even though Jira looks complicated and members need to put in some time and effort to learn how to use it well. This topic might not be right for everyone, which could hurt the quality of both the inputs and the results.

Francisco
Francisco
Information Technology And Services Professiona in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

In teams, jIRA is used to organize and automate collaboration.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: If you have various add-ons, you can clearly see what is currently being done or worked on, have complete documentation of what has happened, and evaluate the time spent on various tasks. It also helps with error and task communication to other departments within the company. All of this can be compiled into various boards through various searches, allowing everyone to get their own take on the lists. JIRA organizes sales processes by determining who is in charge of which tasks, who has completed which tasks, what the relevant ToDos were, and how the results appear. How much effort goes into a sales process? Data analysis options for improving sales processes and resource planning.

Pros:

JIRA is a highly complex and dynamic system that can be used to map all, even the most complex, tasks in projects in teams without the use of programming. As a result, all task-related processes can be created and tracked at the granular level. Workflow functions, as well as the concept of roles and rights, help with task management and ensure that the process runs smoothly. Jira can be integrated with any team tool, making it your primary source of information. The advantage stems from the documentation produced, which is primarily used for task distribution, management, and tracking. Time can be tracked and accounted for, as can projects. Everyone keeps a time log and records their questions, answers, workarounds, and other details.

Cons:

Sometimes it is difficult to see the full complexity of a solution, which is all possible. Furthermore, because the results are frequently irrelevant, an optimized search would be advantageous. It took a lot of AddOns to make it "round." Costs should not be overlooked. My inbox is overflowing with emails.

Setareh
Electrical Engineer in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is an excellent tool for organizing tasks, tracking progress, and collaborating in a team

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Jira is a powerful yet flexible project management software that has become a go-to tool for me. Its customizable features and ease of use make it a great choice for anyone looking to improve their project management capabilities.

Pros:

I use Jira at work everyday. It helps me organize my tasks, keep track of my progress, and connect with my team more efficiently. Jira allows me to customize my workflow, issues, and fields to fit my unique needs. This flexibility helps me to avoid confusions, and improve my productivity.Furthermore, Jira integrates with more than a thousand third-party tools, such as GitHub and Slack. This integration capability is very important because it facilitates cross-functional communications.Jira's reporting features are very essential. It allows me to monitor my progress, identify bottlenecks, and make data-driven decisions. The reports can be customized and exported in various formats.Jira helps me to prioritize work, and deliver value faster. I totally recommend project managers and company employees to use Jira at work. It helps you be more productive at work.

Cons:

In my opinion, there are no cons for Jira. The only thing I can mention is that the software can be overwhelming for new users due to its rich features and complex interface. It requires some training and patience to fully utilize its capabilities. However, I do not consider this as a dislike. It is a faily user-frienly software. I enjoy using Jira at work!

Josemaria
Josemaria
Vice Director for External Affairs in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PM. Agile. Cloud. It works for me!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A powerful, mature, and highly customizable Project Management software that works in any scenario. Best suited to match the dynamic nature of Agile projects.

Pros:

As a Project Manager, we have a lot of things to do and think about. Good thing I stumbled upon JIRA. It is a very powerful and collaborative PM tool which supported my PM role in an Agile context. (I was on a standard/waterfall project methodology for years... Agile is rather new to me) It is highly configurable, meant to suit any niche, industry, or user scenario by combining the powers of Kanban and Scrum. You can set up just about any of your workflows, project states, fields, action/issue items, etc, via the default settings (that surprisingly some have worked out of the box), or by easy customization on demand. Data analysis is easy as well. JIRA collects from all data points you set up into a single data hub that is extractable, searchable, and comprehensive (with all your historical data). The core program and its APIs are pretty mature and with proper documentation. Our devs didn't really have a hard time since they were provided with a rich toolkit to begin with. JIRA also comes with its mobile app so that you can manage your projects on-the-go. It is cloud-based via subscription which relieves the admins from the difficult part of infra and server setup. I have not experienced any downtime as of my 1 year use of this service.

Cons:

It is cloud-based so you have to make sure you have enough bandwidth provisions to support this (rather challenging for bigger teams working on the same location at the same time). The usual loading times may take longer with poor connectivity. A rather steep price for small businesses to use. Self-hosting JIRA will also make things more expensive (and risky) as the number of users grow.