ServiceNow Customer Service Management Reviews

4.3 (131) Write a Review!

About ServiceNow Customer Service Management

ServiceNow Customer Service Management is built for the digitally connected service economy.

Learn more about ServiceNow Customer Service Management

Pros:

The ServiceNow CSM modules offer a full suite of features for customer management. The product is easy to use and extremely flexible.

Cons:

I have noticed that changes can be hard to make and often take months for our team to implement.

ServiceNow Customer Service Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

ServiceNow Customer Service Management has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 131 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ServiceNow Customer Service Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (131)

Verified Reviewer
Project Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Service Now -tools to use for Ticket management

5.0 last month New

Comments: I love the look and feel of service-Now.Support documentation and KB articles.If you have HI portal access then 80% of your problem is gone. Means you will get all the access for KB and documents which help you to understand any issue or product/ releases.Price is bit high but it is worthy to have Servicenow in your company.

Pros:

first and formost point is, most the module is Workflow driven.for Juniors it is ease to use and learn.coding is minimal.you will get hell lot of examples from Web and Service-now communities to refer. APIs are readily available to integrate with any app.

Cons:

if you report a problem or request for new feature then Servicenow team will take time to review that.then they will plan in their road Map may be it will come in next release like they have different release (helsinki/ geneva) or may be it will not come.this software they are keeping upto date so your team should have developers to fix the issue after each release.but i will say their product documentation is so so So good, it will help to understand and fix anything.

Meraz
Meraz
Senior Security Consultant in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Great Tool for all the ITSM needs- One that fits All

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: We utilize ServiceNow to handle inbound IT support tickets, manage IT changes, and track app configurations. This method has been tried and tested, and it consistently delivers. Top-notch all around; have extensive experience managing Incidents, Problems, Changes, and Catalog Items inside IT Service Management (ITSM) modules.

Pros:

The ability to integrate with other applications and personalize the tool for use in ticketing and routing is maybe the most useful feature of ServiceNow. Our day-to-day customer support operations would not be possible without our user-friendly incident management, configuration management, and service documentation.Fast and simple incident reporting, progress tracking, and customer service interaction. ServiceNow is excellent for archiving service documentation; we've catalogued all of our services there, so that when tickets are sent, we can quickly and easily access the relevant knowledge base articles to address the problem.

Cons:

A lengthy upgrade procedure might be the result of too much modification, but luckily there are many resources available to help you out. Non-IT users may find it challenging to use the site without first receiving etxra training.

Rennie
Solution Architect in US
, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

ServiceNow is premier and get better with every release

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall an excellent product.

Pros:

Highly scalable and provides modular solutions for implementing service based best practices across the enterprise. Initially focused on ITIL it has expanded to include ITOM, ITSM, and ITBM functions. Out of the box solutions for other areas of the enterprise including HR, Security, Governance, Finance, and CSR. The platform itself allows development using standard web technologies and programming skills and they offer a vast documentation library and vibrant community of developers and users. Their support is top notch and they are always quick to respond.

Cons:

Their pricing model is complex and unwieldy. It can be very hard to determine which features you actually have access to. Some of the features which seem like they should be part of the base product functionality are split into sub-modules at additional cost. This can give the impression that you are being nickeled and dimed for every little feature. Inquiring about instance capabilities of technical staff is always referred to your sales rep. Early adopters who did a lot of customization can find themselves in a lot technical debt prior to ServiceNow’s current guidance of best practices. Some of the earlier product design decisions have sometimes forced compromises to be implemented for product growth. This can create some ambiguous methods non-intuitive workarounds to be employed in development. Their documentation can be somewhat sparse on examples or use cases for particular API or feature specific applications. Finally, since the product can become the core of so many areas of the enterprise, it can require quite a large investment in support resources and it requires these resources to understand SaaS management differences vs traditional application support development.

Ryan
Analyst Developer in Canada
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Complete Package

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are using this ServiceNow CSM as our primary Customer Service tool and we are easily able to manage thousands of cases per day which we have found difficult when using other applications in the past.

Pros:

The ServiceNow CSM modules offer a full suite of features for customer management. The product is easy to use and extremely flexible.

Cons:

ServiceNow's easy of customization can also be its achilles heel. If managed improperly or over-customized it does not take long to make oob upgrade path unsustainable.

Alex
Process Analyst in US
Medical Practice, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Hyper-Functional Ticketing System

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, this works as a great ticketing system. It also has some light task/project management functionality that we're only beginning to explore.

Pros:

As customizable as you need. Our Supply Chain Contact Center uses ServiceNow as their ticketing system. They're able to capture the source of the ticket (email vs phone), responsible parties, root cause, category and sub-category of issue, comments, and more. It's phenomenal. They've begun to use it to assign tasks from their department to other departments. This is a huge boost to their reporting capabilities, as they can now get a truer picture of their ability to hit SLAs. Our Process Optimization team is ramping up to use this to track reporting and project requests. Another stellar feature is ServiceNow's document repository. We're able to store training or case documents within ServiceNow, and then, when a rep types in their comments, ServiceNow actually displays related training and case documentation at the bottom of the page so the rep can review related documentation and resolve their tickets more quickly.

Cons:

While ServiceNow has been wonderful for our Supply Chain Contact Center, it hasn't worked as well for our Security team, but I believe this has to do with how they've customized it for their own uses. For instance, my department will open a ticket for a new hire to receive proper system access, and we put the new hire's start date in the original ticket. Well, the original ticket isn't what's actually assigned to the Security Analyst - a sub-task is assigned, and the new hire's start date doesn't copy down to that sub-task. Consequently, Security Analysts often have to reach out to us to get information we already put in the ticket. Again, I think this has to do with how the system has been customized for their use.

Brian
Sr. Health data analyst in US
Medical Practice, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for assigning jobs and direct communication; dense UI missing common features

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall this is a fantastic product. It frees up developer resources by taking on administrative and organization responsibilities, connects end users with developers through a consistent interface with straightforward prompts that reduce communication errors and adhere to policies and prevents logjams and delays by implementing a normalizing the request and delivery process so task can be consistently assigned to the appropriate person based on workload, importance, resource needs, etc. The UI issues are irritating, but they do not reduce performance significantly, and they do not impede the product's superior performance with regards to the intended results.

Pros:

All users work in the same interface, creating a pretty seamless pipeline between end users and departments that identify a need and the department and content manager responsible for the requestors need. ServiceNow handles most of the administrative duties, documentation, and organization for tasks/projects from step-by-step request submission, to manager approval, to task creation and delivery, ensuring timely communication and adherence to procedure, while freeing up development time.

Cons:

Although the User Interface is straightforward for most tasks and consistent among all users, there are many rudimentary features that are either buggy or absent. For example, when a task is submitted, both a "request" and a "task" are assigned. They are identical and both must be filled out to close the job, but they do not interact with each other and one can be closed and the other open in the system. Similarly, there are no steps between completing and closing a task, but submitting a task as complete does nothing but refresh the page and change the "complete" option to "close." It doesn't not even populate the completion time.

Stacey
Stacey
Systems Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lot's of features, lot's of complexity.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Works fine if you don't need to do much more than open tickets that are already assigned to you or work with tickets that are assigned to you. Assigning ticket to others in a large organization where you don't know the group they are part of is a struggle. I often know who a ticket should be routed to but our implementation requires specifying the team they are part of as well. Some people are on multiple teams. Searching really needs improvement for users that don't interact heavily with the system.

Pros:

Works well for tracking tickets across a diverse organization. Integration with e-mail system simplifies interactions with users.

Cons:

Complexity makes simple tasks difficult. Learning curve is steep. For example, performing simple searches is not possible. If I closed out a ticket recently, then I often need to look in the documentation to search for that specific ticket again. highly customizable views allow for tweaking to work with your use habits. Interface needs to be simplified and have common functions more accessible. It may partly be the way this organization has implemented and customized the interface, but it is still not user-friendly.

Alejandro
Presales Manager in
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Service Now, the one that gathers them all

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've been working along with servicenow for several years and we have more and more success digital transformations stories by building business improvement strategies upon the Servicenow Platform

Pros:

ServiceNow is a Service Management Platform, ranked by Gartner just as the #1 in the global market of digital service management platforms. Easy to use, deep dive, almost boundaryless ServiceNow software integrates a strong and robust collaborative service management engine, that allows almost all kind of organizations, no matter the economic sector, to optimize and automate any business and IT service through a full function collaborative tool set, such as Asset Discovery, service catalog, business rules definition, SLA's and analytics easy-to-build dashboards, not to mention the application development capabilities which stands as the ServiceNow main differentiators.

Cons:

As any technology solutions, there is and will be room for improvement, starting with more built-in integration capabilities in order to simplify more complex implementations.

Jason
Jason
Application Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow A Great Piece of Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use it to enter tickets for clients experiencing issues with our software. I use it on a daily basis to log these tickets and to keep records of issues that are clients experience.

Pros:

This software is very easy to use and is extremely user-friendly. I love that it is very customizable and can be tailored to any buisness model.

Cons:

There are times that it can be slow when trying to interact with some of the dashboards.

Norbert
Functional Analyst in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I really appreciate using Service Now in my daily basis

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I'm using Service Now as a daily tool to support users with their technical issues and I find Service Now as a excelent tool for this. It's easy to use for users, customizable for me and my colleagues from the support team, have many options to organize Your work. I appreciate it very much and if I change my job, I hope that I will also work in Service Now in the new one.

Pros:

I think most important part that I like is posibility to configure Service Now layouts, list and elements on the screen to meet Your personal needs. Want to have this element to be shown in Your homepage dashboard? No problem! You need to create own template to not put the same response every time? Sure thing, You can do it here! Very layouts and pages which I like the most.

Cons:

I think building reports and dashboards can be quite difficult when You are trying to do it first time. Report and dashboard builders are quite complex tools any such many options can be shocking at first and you need to spend some time to discover what is what and get used to it.

Victoria
Victoria
Global Service Desk Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using SNow since 2012

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: 99.9% of the work I do every day is linked to either accessing Service Now or working on data produced by SNow. Using SNow for as long as I have, has made me confident in choosing to continue renewal. I have to admit that licencing model changes and yearly negotiations are painful but that is all part of the environment we work in.

Pros:

The fact that the software is widely versatile and scalable for the needs of an organisation. It can use beyond IT but in every department in our organisation as it offers automation of business tasks as well as good reporting and analysis tools. HR processes, Self Service, Approvals, Confidential reporting, schedule reporting and automating routine work, asset management and discovery.

Cons:

The fact that I can not imbed linksBut also think is mostly geared to large organisations. I have not found it to be possible for a small company to take advantage of this service (price plan and configuration is beyond the capabilities for a small company to take, which is a shame).

Verified Reviewer
Business Systems Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Gambling & Casinos, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

"I Have Had Excellent Experience Using ServiceNow ITSM (Customer Service Management application)."

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: ServiceNow ITSM has enabled the enterprise wide service management with effective tracking ability. The business users have end to end visibility into the incidents (INCs), requests (REQs), request items (RITMs), change requests (CHGs), Configuration items (CIs) etc. so that triaging of tickets becomes easier for both end users and help desk. Being Business Systems Analyst, I have had an opportunity to work closely with enterprise service desk to create configuration items (CIs) and publish knowledge base article (KBAs). Having ServiceNow ITSM implemented as service management system, I can easily make requests through the user-friendly cloud platform and view the updates of work being done against my requests.

Pros:

I find this product user-friendly, tracking enabled and knowledge oriented. It's definitely better than other competing products in the market as it enforces standard ITIL practices.

Cons:

I have not had such experience to dislike this product. being ITIL certified Analyst, I deem this product very appropriate to follow standard service management practices.

Ravi
Ravi
Senior manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best Ticketing tools available

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Covers all ITIl aspects w.r.t incident, problem and change management. It has a very cohensive environment right from when an employee joins the organisation, getting access to applications, performing day to day jobs with tickets, requests, incidents, problems and changes. Given the fact that it also has inbuilt reporting capabilities, this is an absolute must. It's api and backend can be accessed by multiple softwares and applications enhancing the capability to produce visually appealing reports. Admins/engineers/customer service execs can create their own dashboards to monitor their queues efficiently. Inhouse capability to graphically repsent the queue make things easier while distributing work, prioritising work, planning change activities etc...

Cons:

None that I know of as yet. Whatever customisations i needed were easily available within the existing module.

Sonia
IT operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall a good and Wonderfull experience.

Pros:

I have been using ServiceNow almost everyday for more than 2 years which is really user friendly. Initially It has been very easy to navigate and locate previous tickets on this software. I used ServiceNow as a ticking tool, where my team used to to review the ticket sent by the previous team and add remarks and validation as and when needed, it was a very nice tool to track the overall productivity of the team.

Cons:

I did face starting doing the starting phase as navigating and learning the options took me some time. I would like to enhance more features such as feedbacks, larger vol of data can be saved and customer satisfaction feedbacks which would help the team validity and increase the overall performance.

Fabricio
Fabricio
CISCO TAC Engineer - Switching in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very Good IT Comunication Tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The way that users report any failure on the devices in order to get this resolved faster was not the correct one. And we solved this with ServiceNow since their user can report quickly the issue that he is having and also there is a watchlist of available people that can take the case and provide support to the person that is having the issue. Also, there is a really good feature of the tool that makes them different from other solutions in the market.

Pros:

- Is easy to use for developers and regular users. - There is a good option like the feature that allows you to add people to the watch list so they can check the progress of the status of a ticket even do they are not going to provide support.

Cons:

- Updates are not good since they made some changes and in some cases impact the way data previously saved on the application. Also, they made some changes in the GUI and some times users complain are related to that there is no a particular option or they are not able to find it now after the upgrade.

Verified Reviewer
R&D Support in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good ticketing tool with lot of options to develop

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The tool is good for any service based organization but needs to focus on some improvements because there are several ticketing tools available in the market with better options

Pros:

It does have good platform to create knowledge articles and save it This can be easily adapted by any organization

Cons:

Need to improve the UI Should have a Better tracking of the comments from the user and the agent

Will
Will
CEO & President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow Not for Small and Medium Sized Businesses

1.0 12 months ago

Comments: When this was flagged to ServiceNow Management, they have washed their hands of it and said for me not to get my hopes up that they will do anything. It's clear that I am too small of a business for them to do anything for us. My only option now is litigation.

Pros:

The PROMISED functionality is fine. They never got it to a functional state after a year of "implementation." I do not recommend ServiceNow for small and medium sized businesses because ServiceNow doesn't care about fulfilling their promises because losing a small business is no big deal.

Cons:

I feel that ServiceNow lied to me. I was told that it could integrate with NetSuite, our ERP. ServiceNow referred us to one of their partners for implementation. We bought it in December of 2020. It is now December 2021, and the tool is still not implemented. On top of this, they are contacting me asking why I haven't paid for the second year of the service! We have not been able to actually use the tool once! We are too small of a company for Service Now to do anything about the issue.

Arpan
Technical Support Consultant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A powerful CRM containing tons of features.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- Highly customizable, extendable, and flexible according to one's needs. - Constantly evolving and improving with two new releases per year. - Contains everything which a CRM should have!

Cons:

- Contains synchronous JavaScript requests which causes web pages to get stuck, disabling any actions on the webpage while the request is active. Sometimes, a page needs to be reloaded to make it work again. - Many features (for instance: Reporting) require training first before a user can start using them. This process can be cumbersome for an average user if training resources are not available. - Expensive as compared to other CRMs (for e.g. SalesForce).

Ankur
Developer in India
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall Good SaaS & PaaS tool to handle ITSM processes

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

1) Covers most of the ITSM process required in an organization 2) Platform allows development using latest web technologies and supports integration with 3rd party apps 3) ServiceNow Customer Support team is very much good at resolving any issues/tickets 4) Good application as SaaS and PaaS 5) Allows customizations to out of box script components and enhancements

Cons:

1) Cost could be one factor which they need to improve upon 2) Upgrade activity requires lot of efforts 3) Sometimes the code/script may break while it was working earlier well 4) Requires good training to be given to non-technical staff for proper use of tool

pratik
DevOps Engineer in India
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

An awesome saas and paas application

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It’s an very demanding cloud platform. They also offers you to provide various commercial scope application platform as well.

Pros:

1) An awesome application as Saas and Paas as well, Good inerface, user friendly and easy to use. 2) Due to backend code in jaava and JavaScript it is very flexible. 3) Cloude data and services is simply awesome. 4) The best thing is its also supports to integrate autoCAD as well.

Cons:

1) To implement discovery tool for automatic cmdb population have some hogh cost concern. 2) When you using a UI action which has script inside it freezes the screen. 3) Upgrade to an instance will become quite hectic.

Petar
Petar
Helpdesk Specialist Level 2 in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy and productive CSM tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It makes it easy to track customer replies and action any update or development on time whilst allowing for easy SLA tracking and communication with the customers.

Pros:

Plentiful options when creating your favourites and setting your filtered searches (which are very detailed and precise). Any search can be added to favourites and be easily accessible. User interface is easy to navigate and find the options you're looking for. It uses easy to follow logic and it is very user friendly.

Cons:

This is most likely depending on the implementation process and data migration during the integration process, the update field is constantly moving to the next case/incident which makes it hard to track you work at times. Most likely adjustable during implementation process.

Verified Reviewer
Customer Support Engineer at Cisco TAC in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for HelpDesk Services

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: ServiceNow was a huge asset for deploying our first formal Support Service Design.
The ease of use and default templates, got us up and running in with no issues. Great Experience overall.

Pros:

Out of the box, Service Now comes with configuration templates to get you started on your HelpDesk service deployment. From there, you can start tweaking the tool to match your company needs. This was very helpful to us since we were deploying a ticketing tool for the first time. The deployment process was a breeze, intuitive and we didn´t find any major roadblocks whatsoever. From the user side, is very easy to use, great compatibility with any browser (since is web based), and the amount of tools for reporting are amazing. We are able to benchmark and tweak our Support Service and keep track of our KPI metrics very easily.

Cons:

It can be somewhat overpriced. Other than that, no issue whatsoever.

Verified Reviewer
Network Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's a great ticket system

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Time table of incidents and reports of common every day problems .

Pros:

Very easy to create tickets and can be customized to work with your environment. User inventory can easily be populated to all of your company assets. User field can be populated automatically to bring up a user name and profile information.

Cons:

Ticket system should automatically be saved. I wished there was a way to duplicate a ticket to a new ticket number for items not resolved. Instead of re-opening a ticket. Your ticket search buttons should be easier to search, I have gotten lost several times searching for tickets.

Colleen
Eccomerce Specialist in Mexico
Cosmetics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Horrible customer experience

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience maybe a little clouded because I am using Service Now through a third party vendor who handles our IT (cognizant) and some of the missing features maybe due to this. I have been using Service now for almost a year to not only track minor IT issues (example requesting new monitors, issues with WIFI ect) but also updates and builds to our website and ERP System. Overall I would not recommend Service now for the later especially in large corporations across multiple subsidiaries as this doesn't give companies the tools accurately implement builds. Unfortunately due to the lack of tools in Service now (or how our vendor restricts these tools) our company had to resort to managing these builds outside service now and update once complete.
Rather you need a system like JIRA where users can easily assign issues for QA testing and allow anyone to reopen tickets.

Pros:

-can search to find topics -can customize search for tickets and service request -can excel tickets and customize the information -if you developers access you can create reports -receive email confirmation and when tickets are updated -can uploads images and video

Cons:

-when creating a service request the user cannot specify the name. First a request is created [sc_request] then automatically a requested Item is created [sc_req_item] with a default title which is extremely confusing -only the user who created Incidents can reopen Incidents -only the user who created Incidents can then link to previously closed incidents -if you don't have developer access you can only see the tickets you created and need other users to add you as a watcher to the ticket -Incidents cannot be changed into Service requests, and those changes can't be tracked. (example to change a Incident into a service request a Incident must be closed and Service request opened) -IT Portal view doesn't save views, views are only saved for that session

Balaji
Balaji
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow Ticket Management Tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The experience has been fantastic so far. We have been able to resolve tickets that comes to us with a quicker turnaround time since it directly comes to our queue.

Pros:

The best tool for ticket/incident management for a large enterprise organization. It can create and tickets delegating it to individual groups so that it can be look at promptly for resolution.

Cons:

No there is nothing I dislike about this software as it has made my life easy for raising ticket against team and also receiving issues from my application users and provide faster resolution