15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

InterSystems IRIS Reviews

About InterSystems IRIS

InterSystems IRIS is a data platform setting a new level of performance for rapidly developing and deploying important applications.

Learn more about InterSystems IRIS

Pros:

I am impressed with the speed with which IRIS processes data. It almost instantly linked with our database and creating APIs is extremely simple.

Cons:

Using Cache Object script can be a pain as the error codes can be quite difficult to work with and the Studio IDE lacks some ease-of-use features.

InterSystems IRIS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

InterSystems IRIS has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 41 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used InterSystems IRIS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (41)

Francisco
Francisco
Project Manager in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

IRIS is the next step for the future

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use IRIS for integration with labs and the implementation with all labs and our central clinic has been quick and easy. Using HL7 very easy and calls APIs and Database without create big transformations.
Using IRIS as repository of data of patients, making a RESP API with only 3 clicks and deploy it in production without stop any process.... We saved a lot of time and money.

Pros:

This is the best all-in-one for interoperability application that I've used ever. It is easy to use, easy to learn and is supported by a big community that can help me.

Cons:

IRIS requires a qualified person for its administration, there is a lot of configurations, levels, permissions, etc.. It's not easy configure security with a out-standard configuration.

Victoria
Victoria
SENIOR INTEGRATION ENGINEER in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

InterSystems Iris is a flexible, powerful and innovative Integration Tool!

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall InterSystems Iris for Health has been an incredible interoperability tool. It has shortened development time and smoothed the path to production for our team. It has great support and resources to back it so that it is keeping pace with the advancements of our modern world. It is truly an an amazing interoperability tool and I have had nothing but great experiences both with the tool and the company.

Pros:

The InterSystems Iris UI is incredibly intuitive and they offer several out of the box features that are quite impressive. InterSystems IRIS for Health has built in capabilities for HL7 data handling and premade data transforming functions to get you working quickly. It also allows for incredible customization so that you can adjust those out-of-the-box features to meet the needs of your organization, vendors or use case quickly and effectively. On top of all of this the access to documentation, learning materials, and the InterSystems Community of Developers makes InterSystems Iris one of the best Interoperability tools I have had the chance to work with simply because the answers are at your fingertips. And if you cannot find an answer in the documentation or forums then connect with the InterSystems Worldwide Resource Center and they will get you in touch with area experts so that there is no problem out of reach.

Cons:

It would be nice to see source control as part of the out of the box features that comes with InterSystems Iris, though there are well documented and proven methods to get this implemented. The base code is in ObjectScript so you will need to learn and familiarize yourself with this language before you can dive into custom functions and classes. There is a lot of documentation and courses available to set you on the right path for ObjectScript development and you do not need to know ObjectScript on day 1 to begin developing with InterSystems Iris.

Mathew
Software Development Architect in Switzerland
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Having lots of features comes at a cost

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Support is very good, as soon as you have an issue you can open a discussion in a small but growing community, or contact support that will help you as a peer developer if needed.

Pros:

Having an inmense amount of features integrated with the solution, from web interface, to interfaces with different kind of technologies, to database.

Cons:

Having that vast catalog of features comes with a cost (literally and figurative) integration makes harder, although InterSystems is working to simplify it.

Padmaja
Senior Integration Specialist in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intersystems IRIS Product review by Padamaj

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I am happy with the product in daily BAU in my Role.

Pros:

Intersystems IRIS is good product and easy to learn and implement the interfaces in healthcare domain.The huge documentation gives a clear idea about product and each and every component. This is helpful for new developers to use the IRIS for their BAU.

Cons:

As I am a developer in healthcare domain few features are missing and it is directly not supporting in the IRIS. Example RTF file conversion, there is no direct components to handle it and we need to rely on third party software to implement the interfaces.

Alok
Alok
Cloud developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best in-memory database but bit unpolished

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall experience was good as the query performance increased, and the time required for managing the database fell greatly in these two odd months, from when we began.

Pros:

The speed of performance of IRIS is too good and fast. We were able to get around 2500% increase in query performance after our switch, which is too good. Also the process of migration and scaling due to heavy lifting is also easier.

Cons:

We hit several barriers in implementing as it is still quite new and had to use some workarounds as there wasn't much clarity in the documentation

Rob
Rob
Integration Specialist in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The most versatile and flexible integration software on the Market

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Comprehensive development with very, very good documentation, fast database

Cons:

Not a lot of customers in the benelux.. No front-end development tools

Javier
Analist in Spain
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

InterSystems IRIS best integration suite

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I've been working with the HL7 standard in ER7 and XML modes and using differents versions at the same time without any problem. The visual tool for creatig data transforms or bussiness process are great improvements that allows you to learn and understand the workflow of your integrations while you can switch to write all of them directly with code when you feel comfortable with your expertise.

Pros:

Intersystems IRIS lets you work with lots of standards directly, it comes with built-in adaptors to communicate seemlessly with lots of clients/organizations to make easier the integration between different systems.Even if you only need to work with text files or handle thousands of http requests IRIS will provide great performance, monitorig tools and superb stabilty.

Cons:

Knowing how IRIS works can be a little tricky a the beginning until you know what businness services, bussinness process and bussiness operations are and how they combine to create every integration you could need. Fortunately there's a huge online help resorces available to help you in this process.

Robert
Senior SW Engineer in Austria
Wholesale, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Never say IMPOSSIBLE

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've seen developers that fell in love with it. They required control not to reinvent wheels just because it was so easy possilble. And others that were lost because of the broad range of possibilities not finding their way.

Pros:

I like especially its incredible flexibility for all kinds of business challenges. There is no corner of the business that can't be serviced. This doesn't mean you have to do it and it is flexible enough to interact with any other solution. But you are never forced to say it can't be done At the same time, it is extremely efficient in its use of hardware resources with almost linear scaling.

Cons:

To make the best use of it, you have to educate your developer team. Experts are hard to find and they should have a real sense of engineering. It is different from the mainstream but the difference pays off by performance.

Christian
Systems Analyst in Brazil
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for data management

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been using IRIS since 2017 and from the beginning it has allowed us to define rules that make business process management more effective. Its database is robust and allows for high efficiency and scalability. When assigned to a self-performance analytical engine, it allows for real-time decision making. It also has BI capabilities and creating APIs is simple. The implementation is also simple, I recommend.

Pros:

What I like most is its reliability and high efficiency. The Software is also intuitive and has a great overall user experience. The implementation with the existing infrastructure was easy, generating little impact to the processes that we had previously.

Cons:

Intersystems' technology is not yet so popular, which makes it more difficult to hire qualified people and slightly increases the learning curve.

Stephen
Stephen
Principal Solution Architect in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great development partner

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far, all is well. My interaction with their sales engineers and support has additionally been great.

Pros:

What do I most like about the software? 1. The ability to support several developer technologies are in a single package. Object, SQL, NoSQL, JSON, XML, Java. 2. Built-in Analytics. I don't need an additional technology stack to support my analytics endeavors.

Cons:

Like most large software products I wish the documentation could be a bit better.

Ashok
Senior software engineer in India
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive Efficient and versatile software

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

As a developer, I have been working in this product. It's simplest language to write efficient coding and maintain easily. Intersystems IRIS has multiple products for various sectors. Intersystems IRIS for Health and Healthshare are specifically useful for healthcare sector and IRIS for data platform we can use it for generally software with various features. Eventually we can use this as a database and integration engine as well. I really recommend this wonderful product

Cons:

I don't fell much. because most of the modern implementations are already implemented and ready to serve.

Jagdish
Manager, HIE and Connectivity in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best Interoperability, performance database and application development platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: it's the greatest investment we have made to solve any business issues and ongoing challenges and daily requirements.

Pros:

Complete application development platform with variety of options to store data formats, support for various computer languages to interact and also include solid Interoperability platform.

Cons:

I like the software platform and great software company in general. Some documentation needs improvments.

Travis
Application Developer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One stop shop for your data storage, interoperability, and analytical needs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The impact on our organization and clients are easily felt. There always seems to be opportunities to integrate and adopt more and more industry-standard features to help enhance day-to-day operations. With a dedicated team to help develop and support their clients, working with InterSystems IRIS makes it easy.

Pros:

The vast features and functionality of InterSystems IRIS is what makes it stand out. The impact the software has on productivity and efficiency can be easily identified across multiple roles within the organization.

Cons:

It requires dedication from database administrators who understand the security-rich environment. With lots of features comes lots of back end management and configurations. It's hard to be an expert at all levels.

Alice
Senior Software Engineer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Modern Object Oriented Database with the ability of a full fledged programming language

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very positive, Easy to use and a All In One solution for SaaS company's needs.

Pros:

Has access to everything a current SaaS company might require to build/implement/support current and future features. Features such as REST/SOAP APIs, Database mirroring for high availability, Docker for environment sharing, in-built BI tools, Object Oriented Database, Terminal access etc etc.

Cons:

Rarely but we did encounter that there aren't enough tutorials regarding the application. Also, since this is not open source for a feature that's just come out, developers usually need to wait for a few years before getting the feature implemented.

Callum
Integration developer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fast, relieable and scalable.

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Pretty good.

Pros:

The fundamental messaging flow is incredibly quick and efficient. The tools available for transformation and filtering allow for a great deal of fidelity in getting the data where and how it needs to be.

Cons:

Using Cache Object script can be a pain as the error codes can be quite difficult to work with and the Studio IDE lacks some ease-of-use features.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Interoperability

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very good, I like the way you can build and change/map messages with the DTL.

Pros:

The way you can build business processes en productions. The Message trace and logging is very clear and you can follow the process flows perfectly.

Cons:

The look and feel, I miss some interaction between classes and the business process fields. You need to copy paste classes to the fields instead of a rolldown in some cases.

Daniel
Developer in Spain
Facilities Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simply the best

5.0 last year

Comments: Is very easy to develop new features and it workd really fast!!

Pros:

You can do anything with this software, and have a lot of ways to connect, ODBC, SQL, API, routines, clasess it's the best.

Cons:

It's not well known but i can't understand why

Dinupa Chamin
Associate Software Engineer in Sri Lanka
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Interoperability taken to a new level of trust.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The ability operate multiple applications at a single time

Cons:

Nothing so far as per my personal experience

InterSystems Response

4 years ago

Thank you Dinupa Chamin for your review! We saw that you are not fully satisfied with ease of use and missing some features. Could you tell us what would you like to add as a feature(s)? And what would be the best improvement in usability for you? We gather all the feedbacks and pass it tp our product team to put them into development. Thank you for your help!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Intersystems IRIS Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall a good experience. Customer support is quick and very helpful.

Pros:

This is the best database management software we've used. In hotels, data comes is generated from various points, Intersystems IRIS helps in collecting and processing data securely.

Cons:

Staff requires training before it can be used properly. Takes time to get used to it.

Justin
Interface Engineer II in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

-Easy to use -Extremely customizable -Excellent support

Cons:

In all of the years of using the product I have not really found anything that can't be done.

Ramón
Developer in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My first experience with InterSystems IRIS!

4.0 last year

Pros:

The message viewer. I think it's the best part because you can see the message flow and understand some things to for example fix problems.

Cons:

I like this software because have a lot of diferent products to desing easy implementations.

Alexander
IT Expert in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Made app implementation a lot easier for us

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I am impressed with the speed with which IRIS processes data . It almost instantly linked with our database and creating APIs is extremely simple .

Cons:

Unless you configure the admin settings properly at the beginning , you'll get a lot of permission restrictions later on and dealing with those can be frustrating .

Rafaela
QA Analyst in Brazil
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

InterSystems IRIS

5.0 last year

Pros:

The fastest method for creating and implementing smart applications tailored for enterprise purposes.

Cons:

While the documentation can be excellent in certain aspects, it is lacking in explaining other areas, leaving them practically non-existent. It is crucial to establish greater consistency in the quality of the documentation provided.

Valdeir
Developer in Brazil
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best data manager

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

the software is very fast and easy to use. The documentation is very good and it has a lot of good information

Cons:

I don't have nothing to say about it. I realy like the software

Andrei Luiz
Systems Analyst in Brazil
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

One of the best data management in the world

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I not used so long the IRIS Data Platform, but in the time that I used can see that this platform can solve a lot of modern problems, create REST interfaces is very ease, and this opens a lot of possibilities, because we can connect a React application to IRIS for example.

Pros:

One of the great thing about IRIS, is that Intersystems opened a little more, focusing in interoperability, we can work with a lot of things and languages, for example, using the REST api we can do anything, and there are too many other solutions as the connection with NodeJs. Resuming this is a great tool in all aspects, the management is very easy and understandable to everyone.

Cons:

Some things can be hard to work, as like Machine Learning, this is a difficult question in any technology or language, and in IRIS it is not so easy too.