Canada Local product

Soluno Reviews

4.8 (48) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Soluno

Cloud-based and designed for law firms: Soluno is a powerful, easy-to-use time, billing, accounting, trust and reporting software.

Learn more about Soluno

Pros:

It's easy to learn and use and is cloud based. Integrates with NetDocuments.

Cons:

I find it difficult to maneuver between the different features.

Soluno ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Soluno has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 48 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (48)

Sort by

Have you used Soluno before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (48)

Barry
Barry
Lawyer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Soluno has revolutionized our firm management and accounting

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Everything in our experience has been top-notch and a dramatic difference from Thomson Reuters, a massively larger company than Devlos. From our first interaction with their sales force, to onboarding and importation of data, to making feature requests that are actually acted upon, the experience has been 100% positive.

Pros:

Soluno has the best of both worlds – the law firm business intelligence of a mature product like PCLaw with the freedom and convenience of a browser-based solution. I love everything about it. Here are the top reasons you should switch to Soluno too: 1) it has a well-designed user interface that is intuitive but powerful; 2) it is a sophisticated platform with billing and accounting made for attorneys, not something generic like QuickBooks that is a poor fit for lawyers; 3) incredible, fine-grained reporting on every metric you could imagine for timekeepers, firm performance and accounting; 4) surprisingly snappy performance that will convince you the server is in your office; 5) wonderful, attentive customer service, including listening to feature requests and acting on them quickly; and 6) free (depending on firm size) importation of data from our previous system. In our previous system (Firm Central + QuickBooks Online), posting a payment required five manual steps in two systems. In Soluno, it’s one step that’s lightning quick and will save us considerable time and hassle.

Cons:

The only thing I’ve noticed is that there isn’t much of an online help utility, but there is a customer support widget in the corner for live chat support that is quite responsive.

Devlos Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Barry - we are so grateful for these kind words! Our team values making sure our clients feel heard and supported and we're so happy to read that our efforts have had an impact. We're excited to continue working alongside your firm and keep the revolution going!

Kelsey
Paralegal in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great, straightforward legal accounting software

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Soluno is definitely more efficient than our previous software and is much more intuitive. Billing is a lot faster and setting up new billing templates is very easy. We mostly use it for accounting purposes so we haven't used the case or document management features. I love that it is cloud based as we do not have to complete a long install process for each new user and our remote employees can always access it with no problems.

Pros:

Really easy to use Lots of things are customizable and the support team is very open to suggestions

Cons:

Would love if there was a closed file feature so that we could remove files or have them destruct after a set period of time.

Alternatives Considered: PCLaw

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: We had been looking at switching from PC Law because they were changing their pricing structure anyways, and then we had a cyber attack that helped push us to starting fresh with better software.

Switched From: PCLaw

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: Better pricing, and we did the demo and found Soluno just a lot more user friendly.

Paridokht
Financial Controler in Canada
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Soluno

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: They need to develop this software more friendly with more capability.

Pros:

Soluno software is restricted to Trust accounting.

Cons:

This software is not flexible as the other accounting software.

Alternatives Considered: QuickBooks Online Advanced

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: PC Law software is designed for desktops and has no online software yet.

Switched From: PCLaw

Ben
Principal in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptional product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are finally running our back office and front office software in a piece that is intuitive and easy to learn. This saves us a lot of time and effort in operating it compared with what we used to have to do. We no longer have to pull our hair to try to do get some necessary report or run some necessary function in the software and everything is straightforward. I am really glad that we ended up with this product.

Pros:

This product is exceptional in that (i) it is very easy to use and (ii) it combines the back-office accounting and the front office so it is comprehensive and fulsome. This is why this product stands out above all others. The ease of use and the fact that it contains all back office accounting, plus the exceptional customer support from the provider, simply make this product exceptional. I should also note that the support in migrating our data from the previous software has been exceptional as well.

Cons:

There are always features that can be added and I noticed that they improved the User Interface recently.

Grace
Paralegal in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software, great support- what more could you ask for?

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience has been wonderful. They took a very stressful event of having to merge two different systems and made it as smooth as possible. I would definitely recommend this software to anyone looking for a change. Very modern, constantly updating and fixing things, fantastic customer support, what more could you ask for!

Pros:

I like that this software is very easy to use and navigate. All the icons are pretty self-explanatory. I think was blows me away the most is their customer service/support. We had two firms merging that used two different programs and they spent countless hours making sure everything converted well. Huge shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who is still to this day just a quick phone call away to help us with any question big or small. They really care about their product and their customers.

Cons:

Nothing I dislike about this software. They take every suggestion and add it to their list of things to update and improve. A couple things we are hopeful to see implemented is the integration of credit card processing within Soluno; adding the ability to incur interest on files; and automating the transfer of trust funds to fees incurred at the end of the month.

Devlos Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Grace - we are so appreciative of this review. Transitioning between software can be tricky and we're so happy to hear that our team helped to make that a smooth experience! Also, our credit card processing integrations are coming soon - we hope your firm will love it.

Sheryl
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Software and Awesome Customer Service!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We previously used PCLaw and decided to make a change mostly because we had software problems that wouldn't be addressed nor fixed by the company but also we made a company decision to move to cloud-based software. The transition to Soluno was easy. The software was similar in function to what we were used to because representative were involved with PCLaw previously. That made it an easier transition for our employees. They continue to be extremely responsive to our suggestions for enhancements to the software.

Pros:

This software is very user friendly and the tech support is very quick to respond and fix any issue we may encounter. They keep improving and adding new features regularly. Their team also explains things in understandable terminology and not "industry" language - very helpful!

Cons:

There are some integrations (ie: credit card payments and payroll GL importing) that aren't available but I am assured that they are on the list for future improvements to the software. A printable user manual and basic (for new users) and advanced (for existing users) training videos would also be helpful.

Alternatives Considered: BQE CORE Suite, Zola Suite and Centerbase

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: LexisNexis wasn't putting effort into fixing their product. We would discuss our continued problems with PCLaw which lasted several years with LN management and technical team but wouldn't get any resolution. In fact, they started to cut tech support staff making it more and more difficult to get issues fixed.

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: We made a company decision to move to cloud-based software and Soluno was similar in function to what we were used. Their team was also extremely responsive to our concerns and questions, before and after implementation. They continue to be an amazing company to work with!

Gail
Law Clerk / Office Manager in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

New to Soluno

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The billing features are great that you can bill and email all of your client's at once.

Cons:

Unable to close files, the billing template does not allow for more than one person to be listed on an account as multiple clients can only be copied on an invoice and as mentioned not included on the front page. Unable to set up a contingency agreement arrangement in Soluno. Also reports are difficult to locate in Soluno.

Alternatives Considered: PCLaw and Clio

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: We were looking for a cloud based accounting program.

Switched From: PCLaw

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: The product was cloud based

Jordan
Partner in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Soluno is Great for Small Legal Firms

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great, any time I've had a question I have received a quick response.

Pros:

Easy to use, Provides a lot of options, Laid out well, Does a lot of tedious steps for you

Cons:

Cannot close files, a couple of glitches in the numbering of receipts and in cheque printing

Alternatives Considered: Cleo Integration Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: We liked the monthly billing option and ease of cloud data backup.

Switched From: PCLaw

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: We liked the monthly billing option and ease of cloud data backup.

Trinda
Office Manager in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love Soluno!

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

It is amazingly easy to use. Especially compared to other law firm products commonly used. Whenever I have a question or need help, the support team is absolutely fantastic; their customer service is is definitely above and beyond.

Cons:

I would like more direct features rather than 3rd party features (email management, document management, BF/Reminder system).

Mary
Comptroller in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very happy that we switched over to Soluno

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is user friendly and relatively easy to navigate and the customer service is exceptional!

Cons:

Creating certain reports can be a bit difficult and there are not enough report views.

Alternatives Considered: Centerbase and Uptime Cloud Monitoring

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: Wanted to go to a cloud based solution. When looking at our options, Soluno rose to the top of the list.

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: Our consultant worked with us and for our needs determined Soluno would be the best fit for our practice.

Devlos Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Mary - we really appreciate you taking the time to review Soluno. We are always thankful for your feedback and its great that you find the product easy to move through! Upcoming improvements to the reporting screens will make it easier to create new report views, and we're always happy to work with you through our support chat to make further improvements!

Alex
Alex
Managing Partner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Replace your law firm accounting software (especially it is PCLaw) with Soluno

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: See above

Pros:

We started the practice 25 years ago on PCLaw. As we migrated through different practice management programs (we use Clio now), PCLaw never changed. However, it was clear that it was not getting the love from the developers over time, but they still charged us annually as if it was. We also had significant issues on a semiannual basis that required database rebuilds and tech support. This was in addition to certain usability issues (like getting constant errors every time we needed to email bills to clients). We made the decision to find an alternative in early 2018. With the help of a consultant (Optiable), we were introduced to Soluno. We did our research and spoke with the Soluno team several times in early 2018 to make sure it was a good fit. In the late summer of 2018 we then decided to provide them a snapshot of out data from PCLaw and create a test account. This allowed us to put the software through its paces with our own data. Time entry, emailing fake bills, editing time entries, writing checks, reconciling accounts - you name it, we tried it. And since the folks from Soluno were former PCLaw guys, Soluno just felt comfortable to use. We decided to move forward and went live on 1/1/2019. The transition was smoother than I expected and the Soluno team was there every step of the way. We did have some hiccups in early 2019, but they were quick to address the issues. Overall, we like the product very much and are happy with the decision to migrate.

Cons:

Some of the reporting we were used to in our old accounting package is not available. However, we are told that many of them are on the road map for future release. That said, the few missing reports are easily forgotten by all of the benefits of not having to manage the software and having the ability to access it anywhere.

Natalia
Office Manager & Law Clerk in Canada
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

You Get More Than You Paid For

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Soluno is a great product with superb training and customer service. You get more than you pay for with Soluno. The product is web-based, which is great for lawyers being able to keep track of time and docket from anywhere - zero excuses for dockets not being in on time! As with any law firm, we strive to please our clients, which includes, presenting invoices in any manner that is desired by the clients; Soluno has spent countless hours working with me to ensure that each and every client receives what they want when they are billed. As a growing firm, we require training for new staff on a rolling basis; Soluno ensures that time is made to train our new staff immediately; usually on their first day. Overall, Soluno is very easy to use, has various reporting capabilities, can be used anywhere and has amazing staff, who are always available and always pleasant!

Pros:

Soluno is a great product with superb training and customer service. You get more than you pay for with Soluno. The product is web-based, which is great for lawyers being able to keep track of time and docket from anywhere - zero excuses for dockets not being in on time! As with any law firm, we strive to please our clients, which includes, presenting invoices in any manner that is desired by the clients; Soluno has spent countless hours working with me to ensure that each and every client receives what they want when they are billed. As a growing firm, we require training for new staff on a rolling basis; Soluno ensures that time is made to train our new staff immediately; usually on their first day. Overall, Soluno is very easy to use, has various reporting capabilities, can be used anywhere and has amazing staff, who are always available and always pleasant!

Cons:

Soluno is a great product with superb training and customer service. You get more than you pay for with Soluno. The product is web-based, which is great for lawyers being able to keep track of time and docket from anywhere - zero excuses for dockets not being in on time! As with any law firm, we strive to please our clients, which includes, presenting invoices in any manner that is desired by the clients; Soluno has spent countless hours working with me to ensure that each and every client receives what they want when they are billed. As a growing firm, we require training for new staff on a rolling basis; Soluno ensures that time is made to train our new staff immediately; usually on their first day. Overall, Soluno is very easy to use, has various reporting capabilities, can be used anywhere and has amazing staff, who are always available and always pleasant!

Ed
Controller in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Soluno was a good choice for our firm

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We had been users of PCLaw for many years, but the current state of that program was too uncertain for us to continue. Soluno did everything for us that PCLaw did and it did it without crashing or locking up. Soluno is also a more modern product. The look and feel is of a much newer program and it operates like a much newer product.

Pros:

The conversion from PCLaw was all done by the folks at Soluno at no cost to us. I have dealt with data conversions before and this was a huge factor in our decision. Customer support is also second to none. They are very responsive and frequently you can talk directly to the programmers. Very simple to use and fairly intuitive. This program can either be installed locally or on the cloud. We already had the hardware in place, so we chose to install locally. If we choose to switch to the cloud at a later date, it is literally a very quick process. This flexibility was also a major factor in our decision.

Cons:

The reports cannot be customized which is a disappointment. You can export any of the reports to Excel, so it isn't too difficult to get the data you want, but some customization would be nice. This program is fairly young, so improvements are coming at a rapid pace. If you are looking for a completely mature product, then this may not be for you. However, they are very responsive to users suggestions and many suggestions become reality in future releases.

Alternatives Considered: CosmoLex

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: PCLaw has become unreliable and very dated.

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: Reasons stated above.

Brian
CEO in US
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Soluno Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our main focus in using the system is basic accounting and basic time entry. We also use the system for financial reporting, but only at the basic level since we export reporting and run higher metrics in excel.
Currently we use the system also for conflict checking, but in the future this will likely be separated and done through our document management systems.

Pros:

Soluno works very well in daily management of a 20-25 attorney law firm. The accounting data entry side of the system is fluid and works well to cover all possibly scenarios that happen in daily law firm management.

Cons:

The reporting tools could use to be more robust and management friendly. Ultimately you can get the answer needed, but more customization on reporting that can be setup and run quickly would be very helpful. From a time entry standpoint it covers all bases, but a calendar view and individual time management from a reporting level would be very helpful.

Alternatives Considered: Juris Legal, Clio and ProLaw

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: Aderant is mainly a DMS system and never put the time in their accounting product acquisition. We needed a product that was Cloud based and could grow with a firm that is growing and plans to grow.

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: We prefer to grow with our software company as opposed to getting something out of the box and settled for years. Soluno was at the right stage of development where it functioned well and we could add to its growth by offering input and benefiting from the customization's.

Stephanie
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Soluno -- the intuitive software

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: This software solved a frustration we were having with our previous software wherein we no longer had good (or any) customer service or support. We have been supported from the beginning with this product. The transition was painless and any questions or issues that come up are handled immediately.

Pros:

The product is so easy to use and after a brief tutorial in the beginning, we have all learned the product as we use it and it was such an easy transition. The attorneys are finding it easy to use as well. It's great that it's a Cloud-based product and that helps when having our office files backed up. They are safe on the Cloud and we don't worry so much about lost data. Customer Service is fantastic. The intuitive part of the software is my favorite and makes my job so much easier.

Cons:

Sometimes, I wish there was a "help" button when you are trying to do something or perhaps if you can't save something on the screen (red line). We don't always know what it's looking for. The manuals have been great, but don't always want to have to look in them. I would also like to be able to delete very old vendors. Some have gone out of business or passed away.

Patrick
Accounting Manager in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Cloud Based Legal Accounting and Time/Billing Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our firm started about 1 year ago. We launched with Soluno, and it has been the backbone of the firm. Starting a new firm has LOTS of bumps in the road, but the great team at Devlos was never a problem. On the contrary, we view them as a tremendous partner!

Pros:

Easy to use and customize. Amazing customer support. Constantly being improved.

Cons:

No mobile app. Although I think that is in the works.

Alternatives Considered: PracticePanther Legal Software, CosmoLex, Centerbase and Clio

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: The software was new, but developed by a seasoned crew that really knew the ins and outs of legal accounting. They integrate with NetDocs and a few other third party programs, and they honestly haven't stopped making Soluno better and better (just like they said they would).

Devlos Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Patrick, thanks so much for taking the time to review us!

Ashley
Accounting Clerk in Canada
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Refreshing Canadian Based Accounting Software

4.0 6 months ago

Pros:

This software is very user friendly. A quick tutorial will have you ready to go in no time. The payable feature provides the ability to upload a copy of the invoice being paid which can be extremely helpful. The development team is always working to improve the software and user experience. Overall, a positive experience with this software over the last 1.5 years.

Cons:

Integration from PCLaw to Soluno was a pretty smooth process. As they are a growing company it can be hard to keep up with demand for new features, like specific tailored billing templates, however, they do take your input on what is needed for future updates.

Krista
Lawyer in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Soluno for Small Firms

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I opened my practice as a sole practitioner, with Soluno, approximately 1 year ago. We are building and growing together. It's been a fantastic experience working with their Team. They are keen to support their clients in any way possible. I am very glad I made the choice to work with Soluno.

Pros:

The customer service team at Soluno is fantastic! They are ALWAYS keen to assist and resolve any issues as they arise. I really enjoy that Soluno is developing and growing with its lawyer clients, listening to what we really want and working to implement those solutions. The system is easy to use and navigate and errors are easily corrected.

Cons:

There are things that are glitchy sometimes as they continue to build and develop. Customer service is VERY responsive, but some issues are more of an annoyance that shouldn't happen in the first place.

Devlos Software Response

3 years ago

Hi Krista, thank you for your kind words. Working with your practice is an absolute pleasure; we take pride in our support team and so we're thrilled that you find it beneficial. We are always working towards fixing any glitches in our system, and with your feedback and our recent optimizations, Soluno is more reliable and stable than ever. We're excited to continue assisting your firm in the future!

Carla
Bookkeeper in US
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I Won the Software Lottery

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I now have quick, accurate information available at a moments notice for my Partners when they ask me for account balances, monthly billings, client ledger card information, etc. I no longer have to keep separate excel spreadsheets for reporting information to my Partners. I now have an automatic 3 way reconciliation.

Pros:

I love the fact that this product is very user friendly, functional and makes sense! All the reports and documents are in pdf format and you have the option to convert them to excel if needed. This product has saved me so much time and energy that I feel like I've won the software lottery!

Cons:

There is nothing I don't like about this product.

Devlos Software Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words Carla. Its great to hear that Soluno has been such a great fit for your firm!

Leslee
Owner in Canada
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I live Soluno

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I not only love it, I actively convert law firms to Soluno

Pros:

This software is very user friendly. The tabs and flow make it easy for non-computer people to use

Cons:

I’d like Recurring entries please! This would allow for additional productivity improvements for users

Alternatives Considered: Clio

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: Pc law was broken. So awful

Switched From: PCLaw

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: Ease of use

Heather
Lawyer in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Singing the Praises of Soluno

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The customer service is absolutely amazing and they are there 100% of the time including evenings and weekends. They walked us through our Law Society Audit and were incredibly helpful for our preparation.

Pros:

The software is very intuitive and user friendly. One of my favourite things about Soluno is that my version is completely cloud based so I have full piece of mind that I will never lose data and is being backed up in real time and also that my clerk can log in from home and update the books. A cell phone option is already included so I can docket in real time straight from Court.

Cons:

No real cons although I am excited for the additional features planned for the future including more additions to Soluno's "heat map", calendar view to break down docketing, per day, per month, per year. I am looking forward to being able to record my meetings and full schedule in the same software.

Nathalie
Owner in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of Soluno

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: We love it but we had a steep learning curve, having been with PC Law for 30 years!

Pros:

We love the Cloud accessibility and once you are familiar with how the system is organized, it's fun to use.

Cons:

I still struggle with the automatic generation of Form 9A, and I don't find it obvious how to find the reports that I need. I don't find the tabs and the options that intuitive.

Philip
Principal in Canada
Law Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An excellent product for law firms, large or small.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been extremely pleased with the Soluno program and the service and responsiveness of their staff.

Pros:

Soluno is very user-friendly, it is easy to maneuver through the different modes and reports and it provides all of the detail and functionality that you would expect from a more complicated program.

Cons:

There is very little not to like. There were some minor challenges with importing data and getting it set up as we wanted but overall, even that process was pretty seamless.

Raymond
Attorney in US
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

bvm

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

Reliability

Cons:

Billing function not that user friendly

Casondra
Office Manager in US
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Soluno for Small law firms

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to learn and use and is cloud based. Integrates with NetDocuments

Cons:

I wish the time reports were easier to read and/or were able to be customized.

Alternatives Considered: LEAP

Reasons for Choosing Soluno: We needed a cloud based program.

Reasons for Switching to Soluno: Pricing and better for small office.