About Synder

Sales, expenses, fees and inventory management for ecom biz to streamline vital reports for daily operations and accurate accounting.

Learn more about Synder

Pros:

The software was easy to use once it was connected.

Cons:

I had trouble with set up. It was not clear how to link multi currency accounts.

Synder ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Synder has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 240 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Synder before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (240)

Sha Lynn
Sha Lynn
Bookkeeper in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great Platform Excellent Customer Service

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great!! I will continue to work with it to perfect my process and make the automation smoother

Pros:

I really like the platform. Clean imports. It was refreshing compared to other platforms I have tried. And [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], the tech, is just a chat away and super helpful.

Cons:

Needs a few features added. Like classes for PayPal

Deb
Bookkeeper in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Useful product, great customer service

5.0 last year

Comments: It's taking a little while to learn, but customer service has been excellent. They're available and helpful by chat, so I've received all the information I've asked about. I've chatted with several people who were helpful. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was patient and worked hard to answer all my questions.

Pros:

It connects sales from multiple platforms to QBO and has the option to roll back the sync, which gives you the chance to fix errors and resync correctly.

Cons:

It's somewhat complicated to set up. All products and services must be set up exactly as you want them in POS systems and QBO, so it takes a while to iron out the kinks. Run it in small batches to see how the sync sends information to your P&L.

Alternatives Considered: Commerce Sync

Reasons for Choosing Synder: We wanted all transactions imported from multiple platforms through one app.

Switched From: Commerce Sync

Reasons for Switching to Synder: We wanted all transactions imported from multiple platforms through one app.

Shannon
CEO in US
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Nice product with a lot of functionality

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Unlike many who probably use this, we use Square POS for restaurants. The main feature we love is the ability to real-time import Square transactions. But what's really different, is how they handle each transaction. Along with Square for Restaurants, we also have a Square checking account. Unlike traditional use of merchant accounts (where your transaction is logged and then automatically transferred to your bank account), with this setup Square is both the settlement account and the first deposit account. Synder is the only company that actually executes and logs both transactions (the sale / settlement & then the transfer to the square internal "checking" account).

Cons:

Not really a Synder con, as so far none of them support this, but the lack of Square support for other Square transactions. Square now has checking & savings accounts, debit cards and loans. All of which are not sync'd by any of these types of software products (including Square's own).

Robert
IT Consulting in US
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Syncing with QuickBooks not ready for Prime-Time

2.0 8 months ago

Comments: It took a while to get into a good working relationship due to the default hands-off approach and reliance upon scripted answers as opposed to engaging directly, but once we got past that and started to work together, their support staff was extremely responsive and helpful, and I was not a happy customer and was very demanding. I think a big part of that initial disconnect is caused by some poor decisions as to support priorities. A shift there towards front-loading their support interactions to focus heavily on the quality of the onboarding experience would do wonders. That being said, they have a lot of fundamental technical challenges that they have yet to resolve before this transaction syncing software is ready for any serious accountant who has to import transactions from multiple sources like Amazon & Paypal without spending an inordinate amount of time triaging and fixing problems and errors.

Pros:

I like their flexibility, and their support staff really listened to my input for changes and even in the short time I used their product; I saw some of those changes take place in the application, so from that I also know that their developers are also eager to improve and adjust their software to make it more effective.

Cons:

Their product just doesn't work well enough to save me any time by importing Amazon & Paypal transactions into QuickBooks Desktop. Their process is full of errors and their configuration interface could be a lot more intuitive, which would reduce miscommunications along the way. In the few months I spent working with Synder, I wasted more than 100 hours troubleshooting & repairing. I even ended up with a corrupted QB file which had to be restored from backup to start the process of importing nearly a year's worth of transactions all over again. Their onboarding process is designed to be hands-off, and this caused a lot of initial problems. If they spent more time with onboarding and understanding the QuickBooks account and classification structure at the beginning, many of the initial issues could have been avoided and a significant amount of my wasted time could have been avoided.

Beth
President in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Big Time Saver

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Customer support has changed since I started using Synder. For the longest time the chat was available and every issue I had was taken care of instantly. Any questions I had was very responsive and resolved within minutes. They have since shifted to email support for questions/issues. Response time is now a day for any questions which can be very frustrating.

Pros:

I need detailed transactions loaded to QB desktop - not daily summary. We track inventory for apparel and there are thousands of items. Most interfaces I found do only the summary. Synder gives me that detail and once setup correctly puts the transactions into the correct accounts on QB Desktop. Big time saver.

Cons:

My biggest complaint is not being able to data map the item name to a field in quickbooks. I need the variation on Square to map to the item name in QB Desktop. My background is technology - programming. The ability to map fields is already part of their functionality for setup - just not for this field. I have tried multiple times to explain but am not heard. I have to pay staff to go into every transaction and update the items. If this was fixed I would five start this software 100%!!

Jamie
National Account Manager in Canada
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Synder Invoicing

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We implemented synder to allow us to invoice multi-currencies and give customers the ability to pay by credit card. This has made our AR operations much more efficient!

Pros:

The real time sync and integration with quickbooks

Cons:

We hope to be able to customize our invoice email with our logo

Alternatives Considered: Xero

Reasons for Choosing Synder: Synder has features that we needed to give our customers a better experience to pay their invoices

Switched From: Bitrix24

Reasons for Switching to Synder: The integration with quickbooks and the easy to use interface

Erika
Virtual Controller in US
Accounting Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I needed to automatize the entry from Stripe to QBO to avoid the manual entry and bank fee reclassification. Synder take care everything for me and the reconciliation is very easy.

Pros:

Easy to set up and connect to QBO and support is fantastic. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is wonderful and have a lot knowledge about the software and how works. He take care my issue immediately and show me how make the corrections etc.

Cons:

I like everything. I don't have any that i don't like

Alternatives Considered: Connex One and Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Synder: I needed to automatize the entry from Stripe to QBO to avoid the manual entry and bank fee reclassification. Synder take care everything for me.

Phillip
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great solution to sync 1000s of Stripe payments in QBO

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Fantastic. It does what it says it will do.

Pros:

Super easy to set up. WOrks the first time. QBO records all required info from the connection.

Cons:

paying via paypal. But I think they have changed that.

Alternatives Considered: Zapier

Reasons for Switching to Synder: Much easier to setup. Took 2 minutes. Plus great customer support from Kirill.

Paul
Director in UK
Computer Hardware, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good Sync System

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Easy to use and setup and helps our accountant sync orders with sales etc. Would recommend this system.

Pros:

Great syncing app that syncs stripe sales and charges to Quickbooks

Cons:

It would be good if you could buy add-hoc credits as and when you need them.

Jair
MD in UK
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Brilliant software

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Synder provides thorough integration for many platforms with lots of functionality and a very responsive support service. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Real time saver in terms of importing transactions and reconciling payments.

Cons:

No default sales account in Xero per platform.

Rodrigo
Marketing Manager in US
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing Support

5.0 last year

Pros:

Synder has a team that can speak to you instantly via the live chat or you can even request a call/Zoom meeting. Accounting can be very time-sensitive and it has been of crucial importance to have the Synder support team available for me when it is really necessary. Shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT] for his support and patience in helping me deal with a multi-channel issue regarding Amazon FBA, shopify, and many other platforms. We figured it out after several meetings and he was right there to help along the way.

Cons:

I don't have a lot of cons to share other than the fact that it can be a bit tricky to set up everything perfectly if you have several sales channels. But, the point of this is to stick through it, to set it all up, and then you don't have to worry about accounting headaches down the line.

Scott
CEO/Owner in US
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Synder App - They Do One Thing and Do It Well

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It was excellent. We went from a Quickbooks Desktop workflow that included emails/post-its to a fully streamlined, automated workflow. While we could have stayed with Quickbooks Desktop, we shifted to Quickbooks Online with little or no effort on the Synder app.

Pros:

Loved the flexibility of the application to act as a conduit for our transactions. Support staff [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] were fantastic to help us through testing and onboarding. They support multiple transactional sources.

Cons:

We had some glitches at first and had some display issues using various browsers. The support staff helped to rectify the issues and kept us in the loop throughout the process.

Alternatives Considered: MyWorks Sync

Reasons for Switching to Synder: For some reason, MyWorks charged extra for Quickbooks Desktop integration (which we were initially shooting for.) Originally, we were using quickbooks for inventory management along with transactional data. We shifted to separate our inventory management to other software an use QB for our ledger alone. At that point, Synder was the obvious choice.

Michael
VP of Operations in US
Import & Export, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Worth every penny

5.0 last year

Comments: Buy and setting up the product was extremely easy, support so far has been exceptional, but I am also realizing that I am just scratching the surface on what Synder all can do for us. As our business grows, I am sure I'll find new/additional value add from the platform.

Pros:

We currently primarily rely on Quickbooks for our administration but use Synder to consolidate sales from four platforms (Etsy, Amazon, Square, and Paypal) in to a single administration. Synder grooms the data before we receive it into Quickbooks. The product works really well and when I ran into problems (twice) tech support was really supportive and left no stone unturned to resolve my issues. At first I was nervous to spend the money for our starting business but by now they have proven to be worth every penny.

Cons:

The pricing for Synder is transaction based, which by itself is a pretty clever pricing model. As a new user I started syncing records before I had all the product mappings figured out. Now that I am deeper into the product I realize I need to go back and rerun historic transactions to resolve to the right products in QuickBooks Inventory management

Michael
Business Owner in US
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I recommend Synder for Stripe Transactions

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am happy with the service and the application

Pros:

Once setup it helps transfer Stripe raw transaction data into Quickbooks Desktop software. It saves me a lot of time.

Cons:

It took awhile to setup the app. However, I had great customer service from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. She helped me quite a bit to get things working.

Matthew
Matthew
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Synder keeps winning my heart over again

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Not to overstate.. my overall experience with Synder is exceptional. Both with the software and customer support. I consider myself an advanced user, and when I ran into an issue this morning, Lizzie helped me solve the issue quickly over chat.

Pros:

I can manage multiple client connections under my single login. Once set up, each account runs on auto-pilot. I use Synder to process 300+ transactions currently, all of which I'd have to manually process without the software.

Cons:

Minor user preferences could be improved, such as having an option for a longer period before being automatically logged out.

DON
CPA in US
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Synder sync is very powerful and helps sync Stripe and QBO

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: the sync process is nice and they are dilligent to get the sync right and work with you as a client

Pros:

This is a very good sync app that syncs with Stripe or Square to QBO. I have used it on both platforms with two different companies I do bookwork for. One is about 500 transactions per month from Stripe and the other is about 100 transactions or less. But it is very nice in that the app sync process sets up the customer in QBO that had the sale over in Square or Stripe. You don’t have to do all that legwork. And you can rollback a transactions or cancel the sync at any time or try a sync then roll it back. Very useful. I used the competition and couldn’t get any tech support and gave up and tried this company out and am very pleased. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have been very helpful in helping get my client companies setup and track down problems in the sync process. Highly recommend.

Cons:

took a while to get synced and all setup, client accounts take a while to get configured correctly if you are an accountant providing this service it is a little rough

Vladimir
Vladimir
Owner in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love this software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've been using this app for 1.5 years and love it. It takes about 5 minutes to make an initial set up. No headache in the future. We're syncing all our Woocommerce orders with QB (both Stripe and PayPal payments). And support... It's so fast and efficient! A guy named [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]
solved my issue in literally 2 minutes! I got the answer instantly. WOW!

Pros:

- fast set up - worth the price - easy to use - multiple settings - syncs both Stripe and PayPal - awesome support

Cons:

I haven't found any in 1.5 years. Maybe they should keep expanding and adding new services. However, it's an opportunity and not a con.

Lori
Owner in US
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Customer Service / Support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall I am happy with this service

Pros:

I hate any kind of technical software issues and when I have trouble, or questions, I LOVE your customer support. Tonight, I was able to use a chat with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and he answered all my questions quickly and efficiently and solved my problem right away. I appreciate you hiring wonderful people like [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to help me thru things like tonight's issue which are so frustrating for me.

Cons:

Sometimes I get emails or corespondence that is not intuitive to me. I wish things were worded more "idiot proof" so that a layman can understand it. I make jewelry .... I am not an IT person.

Will
Founder in Canada
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best product for Quickbooks Online

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience with Synder has been great! I would recommend this product to anyone using Quickbooks Online and selling products with Shopify or other supported platforms.

Pros:

The software works great, saves me lots of time with completing the sales reconciliations for my clients e-commerce sales deposits (Shopify). The support team is great. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has helped me with a variety of stuck points and has solved my problems very quickly and taught me how to better use the software along the way.

Cons:

The only suggestion I would make is to have a accountant portal developed similar to how QBO and receipt bank have, so that the client files/transaction data is more clearly separate. That being said I run multiple clients and have had zero issues with it.

Colleen
administrator in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Recommend Snyder for nonprofit accounting

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: The syncing has saved a lot of time, energy, and money for our nonprofit.

Pros:

Ease of syncing donations through Stripe to Quickbooks to make accounting and reconciliation easier.

Cons:

Some of the settings can be tricky to perfect so the transactions show up how we want in Quickbooks. With time and some adjustments we have fixed the issues.

Michele
operations manager in US
Music, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Synder review

5.0 last year

Pros:

This app syncs all of our Stripe payments into QBO in nearly real-time. Would recommend for that efficiency and accuracy alone.

Cons:

The subscription price is high if you don't have a lot of transactions. Also, recently there's a fraud prevention charge added to every Stripe transaction, so if you have 100 syncs a month, that covers only 50 transactions, whereas before the fraud prevention charge was added, that would cover 100 transactions.

Kara
Owner in US
Consumer Goods, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Synder is easy and critical to my business

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: It has been great. It's smooth, easy, and consistent. Customer support has been great when I've had a question. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was able to chat with me and answer all questions I had.

Pros:

Synder takes the work out of my accounting. All invoices paid are synched directly to my Quickbooks. It's smoother and I never have to worry. Before Synder, I was manually trying to keep track of everything. This makes it so easy.

Cons:

I have no complaints. Synder has been great with all needs

Jadelyne
Bookkeeper in US
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Absolutely love the ease of use. I had my clients Stripe transactions into QuickBooks Online within minutes.

Pros:

I never even knew a such thing existed. I initially went back and forth between QuickBooks and my clients Stripe account. Once Business Payments was referred to me by a fellow bookkeeper I immediately downloaded it, and I will definitely keep using it for myself and other clients.

Cons:

When I initially downloaded this product for my client, I needed to sync a few months of transactions--exceeding the 50 transaction sync limit. The organization is so small that going forward the 50 transaction limit will suffice, however, just for my initial setup I would have liked to be given a little more. Perhaps a first time user bonus?

Hafsah
F&A Manager in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Support!!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I am a new user of this product, and recently had some trouble with the syncing of the transactions across the different platforms. I reached out to the help desk and was connected with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. She was such a massive help, and constantly guided me through the entire process of fixing all the errors that had been building up for months. She spent days going through our company transaction reports trying to identify the errors and was wonderfully patient to deal with. Just wanted to give [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] a massive shoutout for being so great to work with!

Cons:

I didn't know the product well enough before, and found it slightly confusing to sync up with my quickbooks. It was hard for me to identify the cause of error, and where it existed. Overall i am happy with the product, after having my issues resolved.

Enid
Treasurer, Board of Trustees in US
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intuit should be grateful this company exists

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Compared to the desktop version, Quickbooks online is a hot mess. It is probably fabulous for a tiny business or individual entrepreneur. But our online educational non-profit is obviously far too complicated for their programmers. Our transactions are through PayPal, Square, and Stripe. With the online version of Quickbooks - you cannot get a good import from these major providers unless you purchase Synder. At least the programmers at Synder know how to get it done and get it done right. Every question I have asked has been immediately answered with the right information that I needed. The program itself works like a charm.

Pros:

As I told [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] the last time I asked for his help importing PayPal and Stripe - This service is the only reason I'm not on tranquilizers while trying to work with Quickbooks online. The Synder app is logical, well thought out and works - in other words, everything that Quickbooks online is not.

Cons:

At the moment I'm so grateful it exists I cannot think of a con.