15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Kandji

Kandji Mobile Device Management (MDM) is purpose-built for Apple devices including macOS, iOS, iPadOS, and tvOS.

Learn more about Kandji

Pros:

The interface is intuitive and has allowed us to easily manage a rapidly growing fleet of macOS devices as well as a few iOS/tvOS devices.

Cons:

I wish they could fix everything. Unfortunately, whilst they try hard, they can't resolve fundamental flaws in the OS's.

Kandji ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Kandji has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 75 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kandji before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (75)

Chris
Chris
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A perfect match for our needs

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's been great. The sales process was efficient, and in the few instances where I've needed support, the team have been responsive and have gone out of the way to help.

Pros:

As a smaller company without a dedicated IT team, Kandji makes managing our fleet of Macs simple. Transitioning from our previous MDM was straightforward and Kandji gives us the advanced features we need. I really like the in-built templates which gives you a configuration which is aligned to specific security standard, which can then be customized as desired. This allowed us to get up and running in less than a day. The software itself also feels modern - this comes across in the user experience and ease of use, especially when compared to other MDM solutions.

Cons:

As a relatively new offering, there are some features I wish were present - one example would be being able to assign an application to a single device without having to create an entirely new blueprint. To thier credit the Kandji team have acknowledged this and seem really receptive to feature requests.

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro , Mosyle Business , Addigy and Fleetsmith

Reasons for Choosing Kandji: We had outgrown the product and were looking for more advanced features.

Switched From: Jamf Now

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: Kanji offered the combination of powerful features and ease of use.

Dennis
Dennis
IT Team Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simpliest and most effecient MDM for Apple Device Management

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We needed to simplify management of Apple devices. We needed an MDM that is effective and simple and didn't require hours upon hours of training to use. Kandji delivered on all points and their support is in a league of their own. Having an MDM that is easy to administer and works as expected takes all the pressure off of wondering if our Apple devices are configured and secured. To be completely honest, the peace of mind gained from using Kandji completely negates any cons I have and makes me infinitely & joyfully patient for the improvements in those areas.

Pros:

The auto-app library makes app installation very simple. Custom apps are easy to set up and deploy as you would expect. Their support team is astounding. Their knowledgableable, effective, and quick! Using blueprints to group devices and deploy apps and settings is simple and straightforward.

Cons:

Kandji's method of deploying configurations and apps to devices is it's best, and unfortunately the most crippling feature. Blueprints can help organize systems but leads to some frustration when attempting to make a one-off commands. Creating views for your devices doesn't work as expected (although I'm told this is something they are working to improve). Auto-apps require installation if you only want to keep them updated (I'm also told a self-service option is in development that will resolve this).

Alternatives Considered: Mosyle Business and Fleetsmith

Reasons for Choosing Kandji: Jamf was annoyingly difficult to administer, with some features not working as expected, the Jamf binaries failing to communicate, users being able to easily remove and break MDM connections, inconsistent behaviors with policy and configuration profile deployment, etc. What took months to set up in Jamf took about a week to configure in Kandji. We would often find ourselves shrugging in confusion as some apps would install with the built in pkg deployment via policy and others wouldn't (not an issue we have had with Kandji). The support experience was frustrating at best. The fact that we were able to set up, test, and migrate our entire organization to Kandji and that all our settings and apps work should say something.

Switched From: Jamf Pro

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: We had the entire instance set up within a week. It was so easy and made such an impression that after some basic testing and conversations with their migration team, we were sold.

Christian
IT Administrator in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

First attempt of auto device enrollment killed/locked out device

1.0 last year

Comments: Showstopper during trial as hardware kinda "killed"/locked out.

Pros:

support was responsive, but not really helpful in my case.

Cons:

First enrollment led to MacBook start in a pixeled blue screen after login window appeared for a few seconds. Then auto-reboot, same behaviour, infinite loop. Attempt to safe boot, NV RAM reset or restore did not work because Kandji obviously set a Firmware password on the device, but did not escrow it back to Kandji. Support assumed a hardware issue, which is ridiculous and more than a "co-incidence", because MacBook worked fine before enrolled to Kandji. So this leaves MacBook unuseable to us, which is a show stopper for the trial.

Manuela
IT Administrator in Canada
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Kandji - Making Mac Device Management Easy!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've had a really amazing experience. I actually reached out to Kandji about 6 months before I purchased the product as I was building the business case and my Sales Support Member was checking in with in the right increments, when I finally did pull the trigger he didn't even mention how long it took me to purchase (I also 90% of the time responded to his emails and updated him on whats going on). I went on the trail and had calls with sales and a support engineer to answer any questions I wasn't able to find answers for, look at my space and give me feedback and suggestions. I would recommend coming to those meetings prepared so you can get the most out them. With in a month the space was set up and I had a warm hand off to my Customer Success Manager, we had a call and they also looked at my space and when I asked "Now how would you suggest I get 200 people to enrol this on their machines" they shared how other customers do this and I felt really set up. I get regular check ins from my CSM, and the support team continues to be a great help. 5 Star review.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use and understand. To make changes is a breeze and their support team is TOP NOTCH. I've always gotten quick, personable & knowledgeable support. I like that the software is similar in how you would use as Mac - very intuitive and the interface is so beautifully simplistic.

Cons:

There isn't anything that really bothers me. I've had some challenges for sure, but when I reach out to support they always find the answer, even if they don't have the answer in the chat they get back to me via email in a reasonable amount of time based on the urgency of the issue.

Alternatives Considered: Hexnode UEM , JumpCloud Directory Platform , Jamf Pro and Mosyle Business

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: Looking at the other managers, I found their interface to have "outdated" language. What I mean is you know when you have a multipul choice quiz, and the answers/ questions are phrased in way that is meant to confuse that - thats what I mean about "outdated" language. IT doesn't need to be complicated, and we should be able to move with the times and make the language simple for everyone to be able to understand. Navigating Kanji was also the easiest - just the right amount of menus. When I think about expanding IT, I'm confident I can hire someone who has NO experience using a device manager and they will be able to lean Kandji very quickly.

Jacob
IT Systems Administrator in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My favorite MDM

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am 1 person administering about 200 users, give or take. I have used other MDMs, and most of them either overload you with policy configuration mechanisms or make finding things like activation lock passcodes an arcane endeavor.
When tied to ABM and properly configured with Liftoff, my onboarding looks like this:
I open a Macbook fresh from Apple. I connect it manually to wi-fi. I watch. It's that easy.
Sometimes, maybe, a few seconds later, I log in to the auto admin profile. It runs some more parameters; maybe I'll run 'sudo kandji run' to watch. I create the new user. I shut it down and take it to FedEx.
That's it. Entire applications, like Adobe Creative Cloud or Slack, start installing if I will it. If I toggle a blueprint change, suddenly they're getting Docker and VSCode. The glory is that I don't even *have* to touch it - I could ship the laptop straight to my user and still be able to administer it. Kandji has even taken the panic response of "what if I need a laptop RIGHT NOW" away, because I can just direct a user to my organization's enrollment page after the fact and take it back over. I cannot imagine being 1 user servicing 200 and still using FileWave or Mosyle, plain and simple.

Pros:

I was shown the Kandji admin panel on my first day, having only seen the name in passing before, and was more or less told to just figure it out. I've opened my share of support tickets, but Kandji is so well organized as a tool that it's not scary at all to learn how to use. It has made plenty of my breakfix tickets take seconds to resolve, and where access control used to be a headache, it's made a no-brainer by Kandji.

Cons:

More a ding against Apple than Kandji, but in my experience, simultaneous app installation from Self Service doesn't seem to work - say you're waiting for xcode to install. You know it's ~14GB, but it's been stuck at 98.05% for two hours, so you're like, "okay, I'll just grab Chrome or something in the meantime," but you can't, because you started xcode first.

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro

Reasons for Choosing Kandji: Purchase was made before I started

Switched From: FileWave

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: Pricing, culture, new-ness, ease of implementation

Majdi
IT Infrastructure Manager in Türkiye
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Incredible product!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Kandji makes it incredibly easy to manage Apple products from the easy-to-use interface, easy-to-use Auto-Apps, to the amazing support team. I can go on and on about how incredible the customer service is at Kandji. They are always willing to help us with any questions we may have, no matter how small the issue is. They are incredibly attentive and are always ready to help. 10/10 experience. From the first demo we received, the team at Kandji was on top of their game and were on the call to listen to our requirements in an MDM and show us what they have to offer. Throughout our demo period, they were there to support us to make sure that our team was ready to utilize the platform to its fullest. One of the main reasons that we chose Kandji was because of the incredibly good-looking UI. And, although some products look pretty but have nothing going on under the hood, Kandji is nothing like that. Kandji looks amazing and works, it just works. They have taken the Apple MDM solution and have made it simple and user-friendly with Mac Admins in mind without compromising on any functionality that might be needed. Amazing product!

Cons:

Nothing. Our experience with Kandji has been nothing but the best.

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: The Kandji team was so amazing at explaining the product and offering us all the support we needed to implement the software. The pricing was also much better than the competition and the UI is a lot less complicated.

Stephen
IT Operations Specialist in US
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Kandji is Amazing

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: 10/10 would recommend to literally anyone. Every single person that I've interacted with, from Sales, to Execs, to Engineering, and CX Support have been incredibly personable, helpful, and just plain rad people.

Pros:

The UI is extremely intuitive, and is obviously very UX driven. I've been using it for well over 6 months and have yet to have an issue.

Cons:

I literally have zero complaints about Kandji, but if I had to choose something, it would be nice if we could manage the handful of PC's that we have in our org (primarily a Mac shop).

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro , ManageEngine Endpoint Central and SimpleMDM

Reasons for Choosing Kandji: We wanted something more intuitive, with more controls, and more security parameters. I work with several people who like to find flaws in systems and they've yet to poke any holes in Kandji, which is saying a lot.

Switched From: Cisco Meraki

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: Our biggest deciding factor in Kandji was that it had the best use case for our environment, they had the most in-depth security protocols, the best UI, and by far some of the best customer service we'd ever encountered.

Jason
Jason
Chief Operating Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best Mac management solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have a fleet of 35 Macs used by developers, designers, QA and administrative staff at our custom software development company. My users are very savvy and self-supporting, but we needed to be able to certify to our clients that our endpoints were secure: storage encryption enabled, software up-to-date, and common vectors for attacks closed up. Kandji lets me enforce and monitor those things and many other best practices that save us from downtime, which costs billable hours. Their support has been phenomenal, even going so far as to give me recommendations when I ask about their experiences with antivirus, Wi-Fi management, and the like.

Pros:

I love their common-sense approach to everything. Their solutions feel less hacky than other providers I tried and they seem to be very in-tune with Apple. They clearly spent a decade or more managing Macs the hard way so they know how to make it easy for me, an operations person who wears many hats.

Cons:

I just have one feature request, and that's for Blueprints to be able to inherit from one another. Right now all you can do is copy. They're considering implementing it, which I imagine isn't trivial.

Alternatives Considered: Hexnode UEM , Cisco Meraki , Jamf Pro , Fleetsmith and SimpleMDM

Reasons for Choosing Kandji: Rippling's hardware management was too simple and too brittle. We weren't using Rippling's payroll or HR functions, so it made sense to switch to a solution tailor-made for Mac management.

Switched From: Rippling

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: During my free trial, everything just made sense, the help documentation was thorough, and when it wasn't sufficient, support staff were extremely helpful and stuck with me until I had a solution.

Pax
Pax
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Kandji Rescued Winston Prep From Our Previous MDM

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our relationship with Kandji is great. We are excited to keep working with them into the era of Big Sur and Apple Silicon Macs!

Pros:

The support is excellent, and the white-glove migration was crucial to us. We were forced to switch from another cloud-based MDM provider during the middle of a pandemic while our fleet of nearly 200 Macs was scattered about the country and no option for in-person support for our users. Kandji's clever approach kept us safely managed until the moment of migration, and 98% of the fleet switched over with no manual intervention.

Cons:

There remain some management abilities we'd like to have, but generally those gaps come from gaps in the MDM protocol. Kandji is quick to embrace the latest and offer it quickly, including launch day support for macOS Big Sur.

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro , Mosyle Business and SimpleMDM

Reasons for Choosing Kandji: Apple purchased Fleetsmith and removed most of the functionality we relied on to keep our Macs safe.

Switched From: Fleetsmith

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: We have a widely dispersed fleet, a skeleton tech support team, and drop ship Macs all the time. Kandji's "MDM PLUS" approach was the best fit, by far.

Ryan
Ryan
Director of IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pro Level MDM at a Lower Cost and Administrative Burden

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Kanji provides pro-level features without the complexity of other solutions. The flexibility they give you by offering robust out of the box functionality as well as the ability to build custom scripts and push out custom applications can't be beaten. They are also pushing out new features at an accelerated rate so it feels like I am adding new rules and apps for my users weekly. For someone that is not as technical when it comes to writing scripts, their support has also been incredibly helpful. They are more than willing to figure out exactly what you are trying to do and provide insight and help so that you can accomplish your goals.

Cons:

The only area for improvement I would say is that the UI does not adapt well if you try to log on to the application from a phone.

Gene
IT Operations Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Apple Device management made simple.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use, kandji is very user-friendly to set up and administer

Cons:

Some of the alerts are not clearable and are acceptable.

Toufik
Application Security Engineer in France
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I'm not regretting to purchase Kandji

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very happy about the overall experience and easiness to use Kandji.

Pros:

Awesome user interface and user experience. It helps me save my mental load by offering an intuitive and comprehensive interface to use.

Cons:

The pricing model was, at first, confusing and not to our advantage when we start with a small number of devices.

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: Better interface, and cheapest after a numbers of enrolled devices.

Ryan
IT Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great MDM solution for Macs!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I really like Kandji and would recommend it to companies who need some kind of MDM management. Kandji definitely doesn't have the most features available as competitors, but for the price it's great. I could see a lot of smaller companies using Kandji. As Kandji grows and has more features, they will be a great option for larger companies too.

Pros:

-Very easy to deploy -Packed features for the price -Very affordable way to get started in MDM for compliance, organization & management -Great customer service -Lots of things are already automated for you, no custom code needed -Still have the ability to create custom automation if you please

Cons:

-Still a developing software in the making -Doesn't have as much features as other MDM solutions out there, but this is a great starter and price point -Would like to see more control options in the future

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro and Fleetsmith

Leo
IT Manager in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kandji is the Jamf killer

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

With Kandji, you get 99% of what Jamf does out of the box with a far more intuitive interface and setup time to get 100% deployed can be a day or less compared to Jamf's two weeks. Jamf doesn't get it, they're slow to evolve, their UI is stuck on the same thing since 2012. Also Jamf has a chip on their shoulder. Their pricing is rediculous. Kandji is what Jamf should have been. They do it better, faster, cheaper, easier.

Cons:

The problems I'm solving are the ones that Kandji is designed for, Apple MDM. It gets the job done without me having to continually work within the application

Riaz
IT Administrator in Germany
Design, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great customer Support!!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is helping us to manage our company user device and also maintain security.

Pros:

The prompt support and giving the best solution for the admin make the work easier and more appropriate. Also in the time of any kind of trouble we got the best solution.

Cons:

some features are still need to be updated, I guess it takes a while to update, so no complaints about it

Alternatives Considered: Jamf Pro

Reasons for Switching to Kandji: It is easier to understand and easy UI.

Alan
IT Ops Manager in UK
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Why you chose Kandji & problems solved:
We looked for Zero-touch deployment and remote management of our Mac devices. Although we have not quite realized some of the value-added features, such as lift-off, we are happy with the functions we currently have in place.

Pros:

Pros: The tool fits our organization well. Once we got used to the Apple Device Manager Integration and how blueprints worked, we quickly made good progress through our list of requirements.

Cons:

Cons: Support was an issue at first, which slowed us down- mainly as we are in the UK. However, they have since increased their support model to cover more hours. It's a shame Kandji didn't quite align with our SSO requirements. However, there are good things on the roadmap we are looking forward to seeing.

Daniel
System Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Why I use Kandji for MacOS MDM

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use. Real-time technical support.

Cons:

There are still some features we are getting the hang of. Not necessarily a con but there are many options available in many different areas to configure. Making more apps available could also be appreciated.

Andrew
Group Platform Support Manager in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Equiem Services Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Being able to manage our fleet of devices in such an intuitive way has reduced our need to support our users. The setup of Mac Devices has never been easier.

Pros:

Onboarding staff has become much easier with Kandji. Configuring the devices is easier than ever before. We are now solving our software licensing issues with Kandji.

Cons:

Nothing, the product is so easy to use and the support that comes with it is nothing short of exceptional.

Alan
VP, Information Technology in Canada
Construction, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Simple, easy to use, out of the box security baseline benefits.

Cons:

Couple hiccups getting macOS updates running smoothly but that is likely more of an Apple issue than a Kandji issue.

Mattia
System Admin in Italy
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing software

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The support team, UI of the dashboard (even if some small changes should be done, to improve even better the experience). We tested some other competitors and Kandji is the easiest and most reliable tool we found on the market.

Cons:

Some parts of the UI on the dashboard should be improved.

Brian
Vice President in US
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best MDM

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The service has been very user friendly and the few areas I have need help, customer support has been there to help.

Pros:

Kandji is very easy to use and it provides so much control of the company owned devices

Cons:

There are some areas that need improvement like the ability to find a missing device

Rebecca
Chief of Staff to the CTO in US
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product & even better team

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Kandji made our IT team's job much faster and 'easier' all around, freeing up time for other projects and, at the same time, increasing the perceived performance/support by the rest of the company.

Pros:

Kandji is extremely user-friendly and intuitive, yet complete and thorough. I also appreciate how knowledgeable, reliable, and responsive is Kandji's support team.

Cons:

I haven't encountered anything I don't like in terms of product and features. For anything that might be missing and/or in the making, the team is very transparent and gives visibility on when it will be live - very valuable for us.

Lidia
Operations Manager in Canada
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Over all experience is great

Pros:

Very easy to use, straight forward, not complicated

Cons:

Does not have remote access to computers on the system

Kenny
IT Director in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Best MDM Solution.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We love everything from internal management all the way to UI and how Kandji is so appealing and easy for non-technical users.

Cons:

One feature I wished that Kandji offered was a built-in remote screen sharing option but I understand their reasoning why not to and how they want to align with Apple’s policies.

CJ
IT Manager in US
Security & Investigations, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Manage securely with ease

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very satisfied with Kandji.

Pros:

Easy to use, easy to implement and no conflicts with other already installed software

Cons:

Could use more integrations with other products.