15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About eLabJournal

eLabJournal is a fully customizable, secure, and compliant all-in-one ELN suitable for any life science R&D lab.

Learn more about eLabJournal

Pros:

Getting data in and out from eLab can be perfectly managed via the API. The open architecture and marketplace allows us to develop add-ons and use them directly in eLab.

Cons:

When being used to paper-based experiments, the investment of time you need to digitalize your experiments in eLabJournal is really high. We miss some Project/Study/Experiment filtering tools.

eLabJournal ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

eLabJournal has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 67 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used eLabJournal before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (67)

Maura
Maura
Business Systems Analyst III in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Functionality and Superb Customer Support

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience with eLab Journal has been exceptional. We are glad we chose to partner with them because they were definitely the right choice! They have helped us immensely and we would not have achieved a successful project outcome without them.

Pros:

Working with the team at eLab Journal to implement our LIMS and make enhancements as our laboratory has grown has been a wonderful experience. Everyone we have worked with is responsive and collaborative. The software itself has amazing functionality and provides the features we need to act as an efficient, high throughput testing laboratory.

Cons:

When we implemented the software in 2020, some of the menu items and navigation seemed disjointed and not exceptionally intuitive. eLab Journal has evolved since then and we have seen improvements. The team is also open to our feedback as system users.

eLabNext Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your review of eLabJournal, Maura happy to hear that you've noticed our improvements, and we always appreciate the great feedback! Since October 2021, we have implemented several new UI updates, reorganized the navigation tools, and taken a more multi-disciplinary approach to the menu items so that chemists, biologists, research techs, and lab directors can easily access their unique day-to-day workflows within the system. Stay tuned for additional major updates by 2023!

Austin
Scientist / Team Lead in US
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

eLab Protocols offers a great all-in-one solution to protocol development and refinement

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: So far my experience with eLab Protocols has been great and has offered an easy and streamlined means for communicating methologies that have worked well and for iterating on as these methods improve. I am excited to utilize the AI-based protocol generator function in this step of the process as well since it showed some promising outputs on some preliminary demos I performed. It still generates/hallucinates citations and can provide .

Pros:

The template generation and easy iteration of commonly used protocols in the lab has and will continue to be invaluable for our operations across our two sites.

Cons:

The slow adoption of the protocols function within the eLab protocol may be attributed to some of the clunky nature of generating a protocol from scratch in eLab, which can be challenging from a format perspective. However, generating the outline in a 3rd party platform such as Microsoft Word and then utilizing the import function has been great for generating rapid protocol skeletons that can then be populated/fine-tuned based on the user. Also the lack of a spell-check function makes 3rd party platforms more effecitive for generating error-free templates.

Alternatives Considered: Benchling

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: N/A - this was not a decision I was directly involved with

eLabNext Response

7 months ago

Austin, thank you for your positive and detailed review! It is incredible to hear that you find our platform an all-in-one solution with easy-to-generate templates and excellent sharing/collaboration capabilities across your two sites. We designed the platform with productivity optimization and seamless collaboration in mind. We greatly appreciate your feedback! We’re working on enhancing the text editor to provide better formatting capabilities. We highly recommend reaching out to our Support Desk ([email protected]) to be added to the feature request ticket and stay updated on its implementation progress.

Andy
Microbiologist in UK
Fishery, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

False starts

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Undecided if its an improvement or not. The jury is still out.

Pros:

Not sure really havnt started using it properly yet, taken a lot of time to sort out the infrastructure, would be easier if the Elab team has better insight into the peripherals and things needed to start using the software effectively

Cons:

Very slow to get up and running-this is mainly due to limited home resource and nothing to do with the product. However Eppendorff could start to sell printers and labels etc so they cover everything you need to start embedding the software effectively

eLabNext Response

2 months ago

Hi Andy, We noticed that we reached out to you on three separate occasions to assist with getting up and running, but unfortunately, we did not receive a response. Our team is dedicated to ensuring our customers have a smooth experience, and we could have helped you get started quickly if we had connected. If you still need assistance, please reach out to us, and we will be more than happy to help. Kind regards, Olivia

Xabier
Senior Data Engineer in Spain
Biotechnology, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Digitalization of Manufacturing Processes at Viralgen using eLabJournal

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

When using eLabJournal we take advantage of: - We no longer use paper-based experiments. - Instead of having different repositories for experiment and sample results, everything is stored in a single digital repository, avoiding the exchange of mails with these results. - The Audit Trail of the samples is really good. - You can trace the Samples that are used in an experiment really easily. - Sample reception process using QR has simplified this process within Viralgen. - The ingestion of data from third party software using API is straightforward. - The implementation of eLAbJournal has allowed more communication between laboratories and departments. - The integration with other third-party applications is possible using the API. In our case with SAP.

Cons:

- When being used to paper-based experiments, the investment of time you need to digitalize your experiments in eLabJournal is really high. - We miss some Project/Study/Experiment filtering tools.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Keeping Track of the Research

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This has been a great experience. At first had only planned to use for single aspect of research project and now pushing for us to incorporate into other areas. Customer support has been excellent. Always quick to respond when have questions or requests, and so very willing to work with us to customize the system to our needs.

Pros:

Although there was a learning process to using the system, it did not take more than a week for us to build the framework that needed for managing samples and recording experimental data. Have multiple users with different levels of comfort with technology and hearing more and more from group that so glad that set this up for this research project. Really appreciate that Microsoft Office integrated into system, not only for editing files but as sections within a entry. This has allowed users that do not have access to office to work with us with ease

Cons:

Lacking some options that know are available on other electronic notebook freeware (To Do Lists, Task assignment, Calendar, Messaging center, view only of integrating Microsoft office components, comment tracking, tags for indexing entries). One option that would love to have that seen in other electronic notebook software is the option to share study with outside user so can view (not edit) for defined period of time without using a licensed space. Would be happy if there was a limit on how many of these could exist at a time

Alternatives Considered: Labguru

Reasons for Choosing eLabJournal: Needed a inventory system that allowed better handling of aliquots and lineage. The permission management system was better for the needs of the group. And that hardly anything is every truly gone, can track history of pretty much everything.

Switched From: Labfolder

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: The customer service, the rep who set up our demo provided such good information. Was impressed that during the demo period (which was a month), he not only respond well to our questions but took our feedback and entered as requests for modification of the system. Demonstrated to us that would work with us to help us use the system to fit our particular needs

eLabNext Response

2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by to review eLabJournal! We are happy to share that we are preparing to release a brand new add-on in Marketplace in the coming weeks for handling Task Assignments/To-Dos; additionally, we now support options for commenting/messaging on other users' experiments/reports, integration with Microsoft Office (Excel, Word, PPT), and labels/tags on projects for easier searching. We also have a few major projects on the horizon, including a full redesign of our Inventory module! Moreover, we confirmed that our team is actively reviewing several of the features you've listed for future development consideration later this year. If you have specific ideas about how you'd like any of these suggestions to be implemented, please consider emailing your Key Account Manager or [email protected]. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our users, and we'll do our best to incorporate your comments into our next series of updates!

Angela
Senior Scientist in UK
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A useful everyday tool.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Would never go back to a paper based system now.

Pros:

Easy to use, traceable and auditable. Helps planning, organisation and tracking of work.

Cons:

Labelling of images, gel images for example, is tricky and much easier to do in other packages and bring in the images already labelled.

Alternatives Considered: Benchling

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: Several others were considered, but eLAbJournal was voted as the easiest to use by the users and met our requirements.

eLabNext Response

10 months ago

Thank you for your review, Angela! We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that our platform's easy user usability aligns with your needs. We understand the importance of audit trials and logs for GxP compliance in a lab. By providing this capability, we aim to help our users stay organized and maintain a clear track of their work. It is fantastic that you've found value in this aspect of our platform. We value your feedback and suggestions for improving the labeling of images. We encourage you to share your requests with our dedicated Support Desk at [email protected]. We're grateful for your support and look forward to continuing to serve you and your lab in the best possible way.

Bastian
Senior Strain Developer in Germany
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

6 month of eLAB and don't want to miss it anymore

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We're working with several microorganisms and getting them organized into easily trackable collections are a big plus for us. In general we're using the customizable samples a lot, also for tracking individual fermentation batches. Together with the barcoding feature, tracking and identifying samples has become really straight forward. Another great feature is the collaborative approach we can use, when we work on different projects. Everybody in the team can contribute with individual experiments and still everything is organized into the same project/study, which makes tracking the overall progress really easy.

Cons:

One of the things that certainly need some improvement is the data-management system. You can store data within experiments and in a dedicated file-storage system, but these are not interconnected (at least not that I know). And to work with the file-storage is also not the most straight forward way to organize your files. A little more database management functionality here could go a long way.

Alternatives Considered: Labfolder

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: Labfolder has a very bad reputation for being rather slow and most importantly unstable.

eLabNext Response

2 years ago

We appreciate this feedback on the data management system, Bastian. Our team has created different options for File Management, i.e the eLabHybrid solution, however, we do realize that these days, the need is very different for large volume data creation, connection, and analysis. Because of this, we are actively considering options for adding new utilities to File Storage, as well as unified file management solutions. Your comment is heard loud and clear! Feel free to reach out to our Support Team if you would like to offer specific recommendations for us to consider - much of our product development is customer-driven, so your input will help us to provide software that improves the experience for the entire eLab community!

Lucy
CEO in US
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using the eLabNext software has increased productivity in our company

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Using the eLabNext software has increased productivity in our lab. This software has given us an efficient way to keep track of our inventory, experiments, and even equipment! As our team grows, we need an effective way to cohesively collect and share all our data and information--eLabNext does just that and much more!

Pros:

The eLabNext software has allowed us to stay organized in the lab. For example, the Inventory tab has allowed us to keep track of our inventory in a more efficient way. In the same matter, the Journal tab has been helpful in putting together our experiment results, studies, and projects. We find this tab especially useful since we can pull different parts from eLabJournal (I.e., add inventory, protocols, etc.) to make a completed report.

Cons:

not getting notified/reminders when an item is expired or running low/needs to be repurchased

eLabNext Response

10 months ago

Thank you so much, Lucy, for your incredible review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that our platform has optimized your lab operations and made your work more efficient. It is our utmost priority to enhance productivity and provide an exceptional experience for our users like you. As we are actively working on implementing new features, enhancing notifications, particularly through emails is on our roadmap. To ensure that you stay updated on the progress of this feature, please reach out to our Support Desk at [email protected]. They will be happy to assist you and add you to the list of requestors for this feature ticket. We truly value your feedback, and we appreciate your amazing support!

Stephen
Dr. in Philippines
Higher Education Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elab experience in a developing country

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Elab has the most complete functionality of a LMS, since it covers inventory and protocol management that can be arranged per project per team.

Pros:

I like the inventory of equipment and samples functionality of elab. The integration of microsoft office is a big help.

Cons:

Navigation can be complicated in the beginning.

eLabNext Response

2 months ago

We're happy to hear about your experience working with our platform and team. Don't hesitate to reach out to our team for tips on accelerating your experience.

Francisca
lab manager in Netherlands
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

easy to use electronic labjournal

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Great, easy to use. We don't use any paper labjournals anymore.

Pros:

This ELN is easy to inplement en very easy to use. Customer support is great.

Cons:

Our internal servers are not connected to the ELN.

Xochitl
Senior Scientist in US
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, just it needs some patience.

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: In general I would recoment it. It's functional, user-friendly, and one single platform to keep easy access to labnotes/Inventories records.

Pros:

It is kind of intuitive. It doesn't need much training to start. It's useful when sharing on real time the information between different sites, and that is deeply relevant when teams are located in different cities and need to have access to the information. Very friendly when adding collaborators and working together writing a protocol/experiment. Excelent for record keeping and great that deleted info/vials can be found if is requiered.

Cons:

It requieres patience with the constant improvements and glitches. Now I am doing the refreshing as a part of the steps while using ELN. It is not too flexible and strongly recommend first to generate the protocol/experiment in other format and then just import it to this platform. That will save you time and headaches. Always have to save before you move between steps/sections, even in the same experiment. There are limitations in term of how to organize an experiment.

eLabNext Response

6 months ago

Xochitl, we appreciate your review. We're glad you've found the eLabNext interface intuitive and user-friendly, especially when collaborating with colleagues across different sites. Have you tried our free AI Protocol Generator add-on in the eLab Marketplace?? It's great for drafting new protocols and could help speed up your import process. We'd love to hear your suggestions for bringing more flexibility to your experiment layout. Please reach out to our Support Desk, and we'll pass the feedback on to our developers for consideration in a future update of our platform.

Joseph
Sample Manager in US
Research, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An Easy-to-Use Inventory Management System

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: eLabInventory has been an overall very positive investment and experience for our organization. We have been able to consolidate and organize our stored inventory in multiple spaces, which was originally solely tracked by Excel files or staff memory. We have streamlined our processes for accessing existing samples and storing new ones, as well as our shipping procedure. We are able to quickly locate, identify, and manipulate sample entries using eLabInventory, obtaining the additional details of each sample by easily exporting the data from the software. We remain GLP compliant through the audit-trail features of the system and can quickly search archived entries for auditing or study coordination. The Customer Serivce provided by the US Eastern team has been phenomenal and they are extremely knowledgeable; they are very quick to respond and very helpful when issues arise. All customers also can submit requests for new features, some of which eventually make it into the software configuration in future updates.

Pros:

eLabInventory allows users to enter, search, locate, relocate, and export data in a simple UI. The interface is clean and relatively easy to navigate, with only needed features visible. It is completely customizable as far as sample type, field options, label templating, and storage/equipment configuration. The add-ons for barcode automation and bulk sample manipulation are extremely useful and make the software more robust on a daily-use basis.

Cons:

There were unique implementation challenges when first setting up the software, like not being able to transfer samples between groups with having Shared storage locations or specific automation steps not executing to manipulate samples in the most efficient ways. Once the capabilities and limitations of the software were learned, then these were relatively straight-forward items to work with, but not having a clear understanding of how the software operates leading up to implementation, along with an overwhelming Help document library, made fast implementation unsuccessful. Better/more training from the vendor, tutorial videos rather than text or screenshots, and a pre-made framework version to fit our organization's needs would have been very helpful.

eLabNext Response

9 months ago

Joseph, thank you for your detailed review of eLabInventory! We're thrilled to hear that our platform has been a valuable investment for your organization and has successfully streamlined your processes. It is great to know that you find our UI clean and easy to navigate. We're glad to hear that our add-ons have helped you and your team optimize your day-to-day tasks! Our goal is to provide robust features that enhance efficiency and productivity. We're also delighted to hear that our customer success team has provided you with exceptional support. Regarding the implementation process, we appreciate your feedback about adding other types of resources, such as tutorial videos. We will pass this suggestion along to our team for consideration in future updates to improve the implementation process. Thank you again for your positive feedback and for choosing eLabNext!

Erim
Associate Director in Colombia
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

eLab is bringing our labs to the next level!

5.0 last year

Comments: Very satisfactory. Our end-users are very happy with the solution and we are receiving positive feedback. The team around Zareh is very knowledgeable about their product but also about the current market and trends. The collaboration is outstanding as any interaction is honest, transparent and direct. I would highly recommend to work with Zareh and his team.

Pros:

eLab is a very user-friendly and intuitive platform. We name it a platform because various modules are offered such as sample, equipment, storage unit management, ELN, Protocols, etc. The platform and the modules are highly integrated and data integration is very satisfactory. Getting data in and out from eLab can be perfectly managed via the API. The open architecture and marketplace allows us to develop add-ons and use them directly in eLab! Due to the very low costs and plenty of useful functionalities compared to others on the market, eLab was a no-brainer for us to implement on a larger scale.

Cons:

The only missing item I would add, which is rather a "nice-tohave" than a "myst-have" for us is Dashboarding/Visualization within eLab.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Thank you, Erim, for this great feedback! We recently won the "Ease of Use" and "Best Value" badges with Capterra, precisely for what you wrote here! With regards to support, all of our Lab Digitization Consultants or Key Account Managers come from scientific backgrounds and know what it's like to work in the lab, so they go in with the mindset of helping these labs to set a strong digital foundation in order to be able to grow into the system in a sustainable way. Developing a strong Digital Lab Strategy is imperative for successful business operations! We absolutely agree with you about Dashboarding and Visualization within eLab! Currently, our Timeline does this to some extent, but there is room for improvement! For now, most of our customers use our extensive API/SDK and Developer Hub to pull data out into their favourite visualization systems (i.e. Power BI), but it wouldn't hurt for us to have it within the system, and we are happy to notify you that it is in our roadmap, and will be available very soon!

Franziska
research Group Leader in Germany
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The development is stuck

3.0 last year

Comments: I'm thinking about moving my group back to good old paper reporting. I have already started doing this for short-time students that come to the group as trainees.

Pros:

When we bought into it, it seemed to be the most advanced and user friendly product on the marked

Cons:

Since we bought into it, the Journal is stuck in development or asks for additional money for features that should be integrated for molecular biology purposes.- still no possibility to use a stylus to annotate gel pictures or write entries. This would be to migrate from "paper book" to "electronic labbook" without loosing the ease of the "paper report".- gene bank files should be visible within the elab.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Thank you, Franziska, for your review! We appreciate your honest assessment of the platform, and we heard you loud and clear. We are actively working to develop additional features and improvements for the Journal and Protocol modules. We are happy to tell you many of the issues raised here are already core features within the platform. You may be interested in checking out our CloneAssist add-on, which allows users to integrate a molecular biology workbench into their ELN entries to visualize and construct DNA and plasmid molecules, with integrations with SnapGene, Genius, and GeneBank/FASTA files. We recommend scheduling a call with your Digital Lab Consultant/Account Manager to learn more about the add-on and see if it would fit your group well. As providing exceptional customer service and support is one of our core tenants here at eLabNext, we're surprised to hear that your service experience has declined since transitioning to a dedicated installation. That doesn't sound like us. Would you be open to scheduling a call through the Support Desk with our Customer Success team to share more about your experience? We will thoroughly investigate any feedback and make the necessary improvements to restore your confidence in our support services. The Head of our company would like to meet with you personally to investigate!

Linda
Fermentation Scientist in Norway
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

eLabjournal: a clean and simple eLN.

3.0 last year

Comments: If you are looking for a clean and simple eLN: eLabjournal is a great choice, especially for start-ups like us. The customer support is really good and it is clear from the beginning what eLN can and can't do. For us, our needs changed because of growth and we needed more extra features, but otherwise we would probably still use it. eLabjournal might not be the most intuitive eLN on the market and not the most fancy looking, but if you are just looking to replace those piles of paper on your desk or your labnotebook that is falling apart and has spills everywhere: eLabjournal is a good option.

Pros:

eLabJournal is a simple and clean eLN, without any complicated features. It is like having a digital version of a labnotebook. Nothing more and nothing less. There are no distractions of features that you would never use, therefore it is relatively easy to start working with it.

Cons:

It is a simple and clean eLN, but it doesn't work intuitive and typing text in either protocols and experiments was overly complicated. We had some issues with text not being saved. The barcode printing part never worked and then they discontinued a certain type of labelprinter. With a non-functioning barcode part, the inventory management part was also useless for us.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, Linda! The eLabNext platform was recently awarded Capterra's badge for best "Ease of Use," so we'd be curious to learn more about your experience with the user interface and the pain points you've encountered – could be due to lack of training from our side so that we will take this note! Our Digital Lab Specialists would be happy to schedule a free consultation to ensure that your lab group is optimized for your workflows, and we welcome you to submit any suggestions for improving your experience to our Support Desk for consideration. While we were unfortunately forced to end support for DYMO printers, eLabNext continues to be compatible with a wide range of Zebra and ZPL-compatible printers for our customers with labelling needs. Many of our customers have had positive experiences with these machines and reported significant improvements in the quality and configurability of their labels compared to DYMO. Our Support Team would be happy to provide additional information on this topic and connect you with one of our partners to receive an exclusive discount when ordering a Zebra device!

Hazel
Product Development Associate in US
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Online Journal

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Switching from traditional paperback lab notebooks to online journaling is an overwhelming task in itself, but eLabJournal simplifies the process of writing, peer-reviewing, and signing off experiments/studies. Entries are accessible when needed to be shared with other laboratories or departments and with the eLabInventory integration, it's easier to keep track of and know the components of an experiment. An amazing feature is the ability to attach files and to link other experiments within an entry, this eases the need to manage local folders for various users since they are downloadable anytime (and anywhere). Their superb customer service needs praise on its own. They have knowledgeable people who are quick to help and go beyond in explaining things and even accommodate the needs of our lab, both in research and operations.

Cons:

An entry can only be signed-off by a single person which makes it tricky for experiments or studies that needs both internal and quality reviews. eLabInventory is glitchy when there's a lot of back-to-back updates or additions made in the system.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review, Hazel! We are thrilled to hear that our digital lab platform has made your transition from the traditional, paper notebook so smooth and effortless. Our file attachment and linking features are designed to make data management more convenient for users, and we're delighted that you find it beneficial. We appreciate your kind words about our customer service! Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service while having a deep understanding of our software. It is wonderful to hear that our team has gone above and beyond to accommodate your needs. Regarding the single-person witness signature, our development is actively working on an Experiment Workflow that allows for a multiuser witness signature workflow. We have already released a feature for Protocol signing as well, which adds another layer of compliance! For more information about this feature's progress and delivery window, you can submit a request to our Support Desk. Additionally, any questions you may encounter while using eLabInventory can also be sent to our Support Team for further investigation and escalation to our developers.

John
Principal Scientist in US
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ELN and more

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: This software caters to the small biotech co's by providing a single solution ELN that integrates data and inventory management. As such, the pricing is in an very effective position to enable those same small biotech companies to acquire and use their software efficiently. Great customer support and service, this offers an appreciable and competitive value. This software is very good and taking in data, especially as a PDFs. Probably among one of the best ELNs out there. Unfortunately it's not a 'do-everything' solution, and does have some quirks. It would also better help these smaller co's that use it through implementing a less expensive 'module' add-in service that could pull from vendors like Fisher/VWR. This would allow for easier inventory management, and wouldn't require expensive custom solutions smaller companies wouldn't be able to afford anyway.

Pros:

The ELN is easy to start using from ground zero. Many features are intuitive, and easy to navigate. Organization is implemented nicely, and searchable.

Cons:

Frequent users will start to see issues with flexibility in correcting erroneous details of entries (not yet finalized), or setting up high-functioning templates for repeated experiments. More advanced features to integrate into ordering/inventory management are not modular add-ons, and treated as more expensive custom solutions.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Hi John, thank you for your review! We are thrilled to announce that we have recently won the Capterra badge 'Ease to Use' for the qualities you highlighted in your review. We are so glad you've found our platform easy to use and intuitive. Your suggestions for improving our supplies module are greatly appreciated, and we hear you. It is on our roadmap! We kindly request you submit your feature requests through our Support Desk so we can update you on the progress of the new features. If there's a particular company with which you want to integrate, feel free to connect us with one of their representatives, and we can discuss a possible partnership to develop an add-on with their internal development team using our API/SDK resources. We also recommend that you check out our Developer Hub, which has readily available recipes to aid in this process!

Elizabeth
Visiting Scholar in US
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

eLab has helped manage a veritable flood of samples

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I'm very pleased with eLab. It has greatly streamlined the tracking of sample receipt and downstream processing for thousands of samples, allowing me to set up standard procedures that even novice undergraduate students can follow without difficulty. Likewise, the pricing was very competitive and the team at eLab has been very responsive and pleasant to work with.

Pros:

This product has greatly facilitated the standardization of sample intake and inventory. Likewise, I really appreciate the ability to set up lab protocols (with version tracking) and standardized experiment templates. These features, in particular, make it easy to bring on new lab helpers in an undergraduate setting. There is no need to manage and track shared files or folders, and when a student leaves, their records and activities are preserved. The interface has generally been quite intuitive and easy to maneuver, and customer support is responsive and helpful if a user runs into problems.

Cons:

There are still a few glitchy (largely aesthetic) areas. For example, the "Lineage" button appears to multiply as one clicks on or manipulates successive sample records. This can be resolved by refreshing the page, but it is not guaranteed that you will remain on the same sample record when you refresh. This doesn't seem to impact the integrity of sample records, but can be annoying when working with a lot of sample records. There is not yet a function to create copies of plates of samples (e.g., whole-plate aliquots, series, or downstream product). One can work around this with batch importation, but I do look forward to this feature eventually being incorporated.

Alternatives Considered: Benchling and SciNote

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: eLab offered a combined electronic lab journal and inventory tracking/management platform that was both intuitive and economical.

eLabNext Response

2 years ago

Thank you for reviewing eLabJournal, Elizabeth! Our team worked hard to design an easy-to-use UI and we're glad to hear that those efforts have paid off for you. The latest version of our Lineage add-on resolved the glitch you mention and is available in the Marketplace please make sure to check and update the Add-On. We're also working on a bulk cloning feature for plates and hope to release it soon. Thanks again for sharing this valuable feedback so that we can improve the eLab experience for our entire user community, and stay tuned for some exciting updates!

Eva
Director in US
Research, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keeping track of your samples is made so easy

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Once a sample is generated, the sample history and what experiments it has been used in can be read in the samples sheet. So you not only know what happened to your samples (how many freeze thaws) but also who used the sample. Offspring of your sample can easily be tracked. This is vital sample management.

Cons:

We could not answer some of our questions using the question mark but when we reached out to eLab we got prompt replies. In the beginning eLab was a bit difficult to learn and a proper training by eLab is advisable to make sure you are using eLab at its full potential.

eLabNext Response

10 months ago

Thank you for your review, Eva! We're glad to hear that our platform has made it so easy for you to keep track of your samples. We understand the importance of comprehensive sample management especially with GxP compliance sample logs and the feature to link the Sample Parent/Children relationship. It is great to know that you appreciate the seamless integration between our modules, allowing you to effortlessly link samples to your experiments. We're dedicated to providing a user-friendly platform and we understand that learning new software can sometimes be challenging. That's why we're always here to support you with demos and training on any features that you may have questions about. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your dedicated Account Manager/Digital Lab Consultants, they would be happy to hop on a call with you and provide any additional information or guidance you may need.

Mitchell
Hilfsassistent in Switzerland
Veterinary Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

2-3 Things that NEED to be implemented into elab

5.0 last year

Pros:

I like that you can edit samples easily, and that you have a lot of possibilities with the configuration-map

Cons:

you need to implement 3 functions:1. implement "personalised-view" of your samples everywhere! at the moment, we only have personalised view on the "sample-list". We truly need to have a personalised view in "Advanced-Search-Results", as well as in each specific Location.2. Possibilities to change Date-format. = we sort our Dates with this format: DD/MM/YYYY -> elab should register this and when we try sorting by date, it should start with sorting by YYYY. At the moment, it is only Sorting by DD, which is absolutely not usable for us.3. Allow Control-C/Selection of Search-Results in Sample-List (or/and advanced-Search, but only when number 1 has been adapted too) = this would allow us to rapidly export our search-results from sample-list to excel etc.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Hi Mitchell, thank you for your review! We are happy to share that we recently received the 'Ease of Use' Capterra badge. It is fantastic to hear that you find our platform to be user-friendly. Regarding the specific functions you mentioned, the custom views in Advanced Search have already been submitted to our development team, and we would be happy to add you to our list of requestors. We will be sure to keep you updated on the progress of this feature. As for export purposes, we have recently introduced a new add-on, the Sample Export Column Selector, that allows for easy column selection. Furthermore, we're pleased to inform you that the sorting by year and Control-C functions are already available. We would be happy to demonstrate these new add-ons and features. Please get in touch with our Support Desk to schedule a call with one of our dedicated Customer Success Specialists.

Zakary
Lab Manager in US
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

eLabJournal has revolutionized our laboratory

4.0 last year

Comments: This has made our lives in our laboratory so much easier. We are a clinical lab so we collect samples and then store them until a project is nearing completion before we can analyze them. This means we need to have be very organized in how we keep track of where specific aliquots of samples are stored so we can find them more easily later. I wish I could go back in time and have the lab use this decades ago, because until now, our samples were tracked by excel sheets and paper binders. eLabInventory saves us so much time because we don't have to sift through individual Excel sheets to find our samples. Plus, it is so much more secure than using excel sheets because we could easily lose data. We've already started using the automated barcodes to organize everything and reduce errors.

Pros:

Being able to easily search for samples and see their location immediatelyAbility to move samples from one location to another easilyEasy set up for new sample typesEasy sample entryEasy and quick configurationEasy and quick equipment entryBarcode automationAmazing customer serviceInexpensiveness compared to other inventory systemsSample import

Cons:

Not being able to move samples from one location to another with click and dragNot the most user-friendly system I tested but it is improving all the time

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Hi Zakary, thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that eLabNext has been a complete game-changer for your laboratory! We're happy to inform you that we've introduced drag-and-drop movement of samples into our redesigned Inventory V2 interface, which is currently available to try out as a beta version! Inventory V2 hosts several other improvements as well, and our team will continue to incorporate new features as it approaches its official release date later this year, so keep an eye on our website's Updates page in the coming months for more information. We are also happy and proud to announce that we have recently been awarded the 'Ease of Use' Capterra badge, which validates all the points you highlighted in your review.

Ruth
Executive Director in US
Pharmaceuticals, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

This is the best!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

ELab is the most straightforward system we found. We paid for a different system, but despite trying to understand how to use it, we remained deeply frustrated. We checked out several systems; it was an easy decision to change to eLab one we tried it. The best part of eLab was the help from the support person, [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. It would be impossible to even begin to explain how much patience he had. He spent time between our calls considering our work and designing a template that would work for us. I had been unable to fully explain what I had in mind, but [SENSITIVE CONTENT] designed something that was exactly what I wanted (but couldn't explain). Whether you are involved in research with multiple layers of overlapping data or are tracking daily changes in a single study, this software can get you what you need...on the simpler end of that, it can be difficult to find a system that will work for you. The system, the support staff, and the price are all wonderful.

Cons:

There is absolutely no downside to this system. There is nothing to not like.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Ruth, thank you for your incredible review! We are delighted to hear that you've found our platform to be the best and most straightforward among all the ones you've tried. Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional support, and we are delighted that our team was able to assist you so well. Our Customer Success team goes above and beyond for our customers, and it is very much part of our own internal protocol to take the time to fully understand your needs and design a Digital Lab Strategy via features like Experiment Templates, and Sample Management that perfectly align with your vision. We believe that a personalized and tailored experience is key to our customer's success, and we're delighted that we've been able to deliver just that. We will make sure to pass along your kind words. Thank you once again for your amazing review and for being a valued member of our platform!

Tania
CEO in US
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Product you can grow with

5.0 last year

Comments: We leverage this tool to enable our IP documentation and trade secret processes. It is critical in our valuation and assessment of multiple processes across multiple species. It allows researchers to easily move between projects and scales well as our operations grow.

Pros:

This product enables us to ensure a secure environment for our IP related data. It is also seamless across our different labs and allows us to easily move between species and topics. The tool has also been easy to accommodate our rapid growth in researchers over the years.

Cons:

There are some features like stylus, etc. that would be nice to have. But overall it meets the majority of our needs.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Thank you so much for your review, Tania! As an ISO 27001-certified company, we place the utmost importance on information security. We are delighted to hear about your positive experience with our platform's security measures. Sometimes 'nice-to-have' features are 'nice' for some but essential for others, so we have submitted them to our development team. If you haven't already, please send your feature requests to our Support Desk so that we can keep you updated on the progress of those features. We value your input and look forward to continuing to provide you with the best possible experience!

Katharina
PhD student in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

eLABJournal improves your data management

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with eLABJournal is very positive. It definitely improves my data management and it has a lot of benefits when you collaborate with colleagues and students. I definitely recommend this to any wet-lab scientist!

Pros:

Having worked with eLabjournal for nearly 3 year, I definitely learned to appreciate its overall function for data management. You collect everything (e.g. data, protocol, notes, analysis, conclusions) in one software and you have everything accessible with a few clicks. Furthermore, I enjoy the Inventory a lot, as I can easily find back all my samples quickly.

Cons:

As with any new system, in the beginning it takes some time to get used to the navigation in eLabjournal. Logically also the structure is different than in a "diary-like" hard-copy lab book.

eLabNext Response

2 years ago

Katharina, thank you for reviewing eLabJournal - we appreciate your commitment to the platform and hope to continue being your one-stop shop for digital lab tools in the coming years! The structure of eLabJournal was designed as a 3-tiered project management-style workflow to encourage standardization and organization within your lab records, from Project to Study to Experiment/Report. We're glad that you have gotten used to it, but we'd love to know how we can make the learning curve shorter! If you have additional suggestions for how to improve the platform, feel free to reach out to your Key Account Manager to share your thoughts! As always, the HELP section on our website is there to assist you as well.

Robert
Process design engineer in UK
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Defo recommended

5.0 last year

Comments: Defo recommended, they are a friendly bunch and very speedy customer support!

Pros:

I like how customizable eLabJournal is! You can do anything you want.

Cons:

There are limitations to sharing samples throughout project groups and we have limited layers of organizing experiments. Structurally, these issues might be hard to overcome but it would be very helpful.

eLabNext Response

11 months ago

Robert, thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you find our platform customizable and versatile, which is part of our core philosophy and technical ecosystem. At eLabNext, we take great pride in offering a fully customizable experience with the extended functionalities of our add-ons and API. We aim to create a flexible platform catering to every individual's needs. We were recently awarded the 'Best Value' Capterra badge. This recognition underscores our commitment to delivering exceptional quality at a great price. We are delighted to know that you appreciate our price/value ratio. We appreciate your support and are excited to continue enhancing our products to exceed your expectations!