Relias Healthcare LMS Reviews

3.9 (46) Write a Review!

About Relias Healthcare LMS

The Relias LMS is a healthcare learning management system helping to evaluate skills, ensure compliance, and create learning plans.

Learn more about Relias Healthcare LMS

Pros:

Relias has a clear search function, it is very simple to search by the credentialing body you need. I use the ASWB search which will apply for multiple states and territories.

Cons:

Its a little difficult to upload a document and just have it sent to the supervisor for verification.

Relias Healthcare LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.3
Features
3.8
Value for Money
3.3

Likelihood to recommend

6.2/10

Relias Healthcare LMS has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 46 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Relias Healthcare LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (46)

Kenneth
Kenneth
Executive Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Relias LMS has been a great training resource for my organization

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Relias LMS offers a large array of quality training courses which are current and relevant to the needs of my organization's workforce. Many of the courses enable credentialed staff to receive instant CEUs once they have completed them. Relias LMS also provides detailed tracking and alerts for a host of human resources functions.

Cons:

The cost of the optional human resources management package and specialized training products could seem a little pricey for smaller organizations.

Donna
Agency Trainer in US
Mental Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Relias to Train Staff Who Work 'Round the Clock

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Because Relias is accessible any time, any where, we are able to train our 'round the clock staff in an efficient, consistent, user-friendly manner. Putting together training modules, designing training plans and even entering new users into the system is easy enough that this clinical counselor-turned-trainer was able to do it without issue, in an impressively short time. Per staff report, training is easy to navigate, with staff being able to use the system immediately upon training assignments. It's a great tool to keep track of completed, late and missed trainings, including external trainings. Because our staff are mandated to complete specific training on cultural diversity, sexual harassment, ethics, safety, HIPAA, confidentiality and direct care, Relias affords them the opportunity to receive training during available time. No need to think about transportation time to attend training, as all you need is a device connected to the Internet and you're good to go. Although we mainly use Relias via a browser, we also use the Relias app on Chromebooks and phones.

Pros:

Relias is accessible any time, any where. Once set up in the Relias system, all staff have to do is have access to an electronic device and Internet connection. It's very easy to navigate, with users needing little introduction to the product.

Cons:

In the past, I would have said connectivity issues but that issue has been resolved; in fact, we have very little issue using Relias. Perhaps updating some of the trainings on a more frequent basis would be beneficial to the customer

Janet
Finance and HR in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Began wonderfully, was great when it was Essential Learning

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Good content. There is a wide variety of courses available although staff with family and busy schedules rarely availed themselves of it. It was an easy transition, although we made it with the staff of Essential Learning so I can't speak to how Relais does with it. Everything else with them is more difficult but this could be going well for new companies. It would be nice if they approached things with a customer service prospective vs collection agency forcing unhappy customers to stay.

Cons:

Staff got little out of it. Did the course work just to get credit. You can pass with little understanding of material so was a waste of money. Customer service abysmal. We asked for one year contract and was provided one. Was verbally assured contract would not automatically renew. Makes no sense they repeatedly call to renew contract then renew even if you say no. We will end up in court so I admit to some bias and should never forget in corporate America that your word means nothing it just what you can squeeze in the paperwork, but this really was a waste of money for our workforce. So many free materials available it makes no sense. Just basically paying so it looks good for licensing.

Verified Reviewer
Instructional Technologist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Product. Great Service. Just a few small issues.

5.0 last year

Pros:

I like the reporting, certificates, and approved pre-built trainings that can be used as CE credits for a multiple of licensures. Our customer service rep has been fantastic when it comes to being responsive to our company needs and problems we encounter in the system.

Cons:

Some of the pre-built trainings are very poorly built. Many of our staff find themselves "completed" with the learning portion, but unable to enter the final exam (which is required for every Relias course). Also, when exporting reports we must do a lot of formatting to get a usable .csv or excel file.

Rachel
Learning & Development Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Functional for our needs

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall this software has been very useful. I came on board after Relias had already been implemented for ~2 years and without an LMS administrator, many features had been overlooked completely. Now we are using much more of the capabilities of the system.

Pros:

Customer support is quick to respond and resolve issues. Administration is simple, I can log in as users quickly and troubleshoot.

Cons:

I would like to be able to customize reports more, or build my own.

David
Owner in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Can't Stop Them

3.0 7 months ago

Comments: Did a decent job, but we went out of business as of Dec. 31, 2021 and I can't get them out of my checking account. US Bank said they had resolved the issue months ago only to discover the money was still coming. out.
I talked with a rep and was told they would make no accommodations.

Pros:

Decent functionality, worked reasonably well.

Cons:

Worked reasonably well for our needs. Liked it much better with the original owners.

Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Relias is an LMS that our company has used to maintain annual trainings for professionals.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: compliance on licensing and accreditation.

Pros:

Relias is an LMS that our company has used to maintain annual trainings for professionals and paraprofessionals alike.

Cons:

reporting and customer support are lacking and I am certain the system can do more for me than what I have had to teach myself

Matthew
Counselor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I guess it's better than a meeting

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like it when the training modules can be skipped through quickly. Honestly, all the information is pretty intuitive already.

Cons:

The training modules that you have to sit through because it won't let you skip are extremely painful.

ROBERT
LCSW-S in US
Mental Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Provides a wide range of offerings, free in some states/networks

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Relias has a clear search function, it is very simple to search by the credentialing body you need. I use the ASWB search which will apply for multiple states and territories. The service is available free from some managed care organizations as a benefit for being in network. Relias keeps records of course completion that allows for printing multiple certificates if needed.

Cons:

There are not enough courses that have audio available,

Jennifer
HR in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Relias Online Training Review

3.0 4 months ago

Comments: It was rough and then we got stuck and still pay monthly for a service we don't use.

Pros:

The wide variety and amount of content available for training needs.

Cons:

Lots of issues with employees accessing and using the platform. We had it ever since it was Silverchair.

Jim
IT Manager in US
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

A whole lot of bang for your buck!

5.0 3 days ago New

Pros:

It allows us the flexibility to use the software like we want to, not how it forces us to. The online training and the support portal are second to none!

Cons:

Sometimes items are a bit tough to figure out where they are located in the software.

Abigail
Founder/Executive Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Forced into being a subscriber more than 4 years later...

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: I really can't describe how frustrating Relias has been. The customer service is terrible (they will regularly admit that they don't know how to fix a problem, and not follow up with a solution), the product has only a fraction of the promised capabilities, and they substitute in deceptive long-term autorenewal of contracts in for a functional product or customer service. It's so bad that while we have decided to stop attempting to use Relias even though we are still paying for it for the next 3 years, and subscribe to another company's LMS system simultaneously, as having a functional LMS product is critical and Relias's LMS system is not functional for our needs. In short, we'll be paying several thousand dollars for an unusable product through Relias over the upcoming years, and then paying less elsewhere for another LMS product that in superior in all ways.

Pros:

The concept of having an administrator account that allowed us to assign and monitor what courses staff is what originally attracted us to the product. We also liked the concept of purchasing "Seats" that could be rotated between users if we didn't need to use the seat for one person ongoing.

Cons:

The user experience is quite awful. The courses randomly stop in the middle and makes you restart, forcing users to watch courses multiple times to finish. Several of the courses I took were acceptable in content, and others gave advice and opinions contrary to research, which is a significant concern in the field. They say that they have CEU courses for multiple disciplines, but when we try to access courses for certain disciplines listed, there will just be one or two basic courses, such as HIPPA - which all clinicians already have and is not specific to the discipline. Most frustrating is that they slip a tiny link at the bottom of their contracts that link to a separate "terms and conditions" document, in which they lock small companies into contracts impossible to get out of for years and years. Our previous business manager, who has since passed away, started a 3 years contract with them over 4 years ago. I tried to cancel services after the end of the last contract and they say they autorenewed the contract for another 3 years, (without anyone's approval), because our deceased business manager didn't contact them prior to the end of the contract to stop the autorenewal. That's several thousand dollars worth of services over the upcoming years, what we didn't agree to and don't want, that they will continue trying to bill us for for the next 3 years.

Andrew
Director of Business Intelligence in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall good software, does what they advertise

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Tracking ability on employees is done well. Better support would make this product a home run.

Pros:

Ability to track all employees and which courses they have completed. They have a large collection of courses to choose from.

Cons:

Customer support for their product is lacking, especially if you use their API. Courses are still using flash content (which has been disabled in most browsers), and they do not plan to update a number of courses until 2020.

Karen
Msnager in Canada
Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great professional development courses

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: User friendly and very easy to take courses on a variety of topics related to my field.

Pros:

I have taken over 60 courses through relias and have been very pleased with the content. The courses are easy to navigate, and take approximately the scheduled amount of time to complete or less. There is a broad range of courses available from software (ms office), and HR/management/ leadership to health related topics and direct client service. I was easily able to get professional development credit for the courses, even if they were not preapproved by my accrediting association as the course outline and instructor qualifications were readily available to submit.

Cons:

I have no significant cons to report. When launched the course always opens in another window, and a pop up will tell you this, so be aware of your settings.

Megan
Director of Health Services in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alot of promises with very little delivery.

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Training compliance if they don't discontinue the course credentials without letting the administrator know.

Pros:

I like the content offered and the features they stated they had available. It is easy for the learner to use as long as there are no glitches. Support is terrible once there are glitches.

Cons:

This software is easy to work with from a learner perspective, but then if there is a problem it is so convoluted on how to get support. It is terrible!! Learner's emails for support go to the corporate person's inbox. They have deleted their support email and now you have to fill out a 15 part form in order to submit a request. It's terrible support. It's hard to get the specific reports you want and you can't filter someone's transcript by the training plan you are looking for. I hate this product.

Tina
CEO in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unethical Business Practices

1.0 7 months ago

Comments: Unethical company that will lock you into a long term contract and not provide support. Been in business for 20+ years & have never experienced such poor customer service.

Pros:

Administrative functionality was user friendly. Convenience of team having ability to do courses remotely (when the platform would work).

Cons:

Many on my team were forced to come into the office to complete mandatory courses as many glitches prevented them from completing at home. Often couldn't fix issues in office. Was informed by a Relias employee that they had so many complaints that they removed the support chat from their platform. When you could actually contact the company, issues still could not be resolved.

Amber
Regional Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy to find and assign trainings. Quality of trainings are great and easy for all levels of staff.

Cons:

Unable to assign matching certificates to sign electronically so still have to complete those separately.

Ian
Residential Aide in US
Human Resources, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Relias Learning

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Been using for multiple years and it has only gotten better with time.

Pros:

I use this every year for my job and it keeps us updated on everything that could change in my field. The courses are easy to use and very informative.

Cons:

Mobile is not user friendly and is kind of buggy. Makes it harder to do stuff on the go. Sometimes after doing a task it doesn't register and needs redone.

Andrew
Director of Business Intelligence in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning management software with nice features

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ability to customize the look and feel of the site to our brand, as well as tracking all of our employees courses and completion in one place. TONS of content to pick from to keep CEU's up.

Cons:

Integration with playing their content off a 3rd party site has been a struggle. Content does not report back properly, causing training issues.

Shannon
Director of Nursing in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very helpful in providing training for all staff.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Time saving, ease of access

Pros:

Love the variety of training offered, many options to choose from, site is user friendly, staff more eager to participate in training as they can do it from home or phone.

Cons:

The cost is not budget friendly, although worth it to me, it was a hard sell to my employers . The expense of adding employee access as your company grows.

Elvarina
Contracts Specialist in US
Mental Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The ease and use that Relias LMS offers!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The fact that building an in-house LMS gives you the power to fully integrate your branding. Your entire online training program reflects your image on the front and back end, thereby enhancing the aesthetics and boosting credibility.

Pros:

The benefits of building an in-house Learning Management System tailored to your organization's specificity has much to be desired. Customization, Improved Functionality, Brand Integration and Targeted Expenses.

Cons:

There are risks of technical challenges as with any in-house system, there's always a chance that you will have to deal with tech glitches, even if you purchased the pre-built LMS. Plus, there are drawbacks to bear in mind in regards to the maintenance of an in-house LMS.

Jammie
Lpn in US
Medical Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy system to use for required training

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a Healthcare provider we use this system to keep all employees up to date on the mandatory training.

Pros:

I like that when you log in you are able to see the training courses that are currently due and future courses with the dates they are available and when they are due.

Cons:

Uploading documents can need some help. Its a little difficult to upload a document and just have it sent to the supervisor for verification.

Lirio
Clinical Coordinator in US
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Concept

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I have only been using this program for just under 6 months and it has so many features it has taken a little longer for me to learn the ins and outs of the program. As a company, we use RELIAS to track our online and in person training. I am in charge of uploading everyone's certificates into RELIAS and at first it was a little confusing but after doing it so many times it is super easy to do. I like that there is the option for employees to register for a training and send an email to their manager for approval- before RELIAS, tracking who wanted to go to what training was a mess. RELIAS has helped our company so much in the little time we have used it.

Cons:

Not that I liked it least, but there are so many options to explore, it took a little longer to get used to it and learn it.

McKinley
HR Assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love the way you can add new users so easily and assign training.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike about Relias.

William
Staff Accountant in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Allows users the ability to keep their employees up to date on critical training.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The software offers interactive videos that demonstrate trainings, safety, and ethics related topics. As an employer, videos can be scheduled for your employees, and email reminders will be sent out when they are due. Employees also have the ability to participate in trainings that are extracurricular in nature. ie If an employee wants to brush up on excel skills, Relias offers video tutorials on that subject. The videos are high quality, and most are interactive.

Cons:

The videos can be a bit dull and monotone in nature. This is the nature of the beast as the topics are usually dull anyway. Though, they are necessary.