ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.2 /5

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Help Desk Support Software and Asset Management Tool includes, Knowledgebase, SLA Management, Ticket Tracking, Inventory Management.

Learn more about ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Showing 157 reviews

Leia P.
NETWORK TECHNICIAN
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-02

"ManageEngine has Streamlined our Helpdesk!"

Comments: We were previously on BMC RemedyForce and it would take me an entire day to configure a simple ticket template. It takes me mere minutes with ManageEngine. Their support staff and developers are the best in the business and I can't say enough good things about my experiences working with them.

Pros: It's easy to use and configure! Their support staff and community are absolutely incredible. They even have FREE master classes to help you learn more about how it works, and user conferences where the actual developers give you hands-on training, so you find out even more about administering it. You get a head's up about new features coming down the pipe. I just can't say enough good things about it!

Cons: The feature requests sometimes take a while to come through, but that you can put them in at all is a definite pro. They listen to their users!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-02
Verified Reviewer
Senior Systems Engineer
Machinery, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-10

"A bit separated but getting better"

Comments: Overall, we've seen our share of good and bad days with SDP. Keeping up with their constant updates requires a lot of diligence, but the ability to expand the application and the number of other applications they are integrating with works really well for the price.

Pros: In general, if you're just looking for helpdesk software to get started, but something you can expand later, this is a great option.

Cons: Some of the options are not fully integrated and it's obvious they were completed by different design teams. For example, the Change Log and Project management sections don't seem to flow with the rest of the ticketing and service sections.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-10
Basil M.
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015-12-03

"Exactly as they advertise. Big 4's are a pain."

Comments: We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope in finding good helpdesk software with ITIL compliance. We even considered building a home-made application. For two years, BMC Remedy gave us a hard time from a usability and performance perspective, in addition to their highly priced customization bills. Until, one day, a decent consultant forwarded a link to ServiceDesk Plus. ServiceDesk Plus breaks the myth that 'java server applications are slow' and really shows that a high quality product with good efficiency and performance can be built using Java. It's all up to the engineers (and when it's slow, its all their fault). One thing I learned from ServiceDesk; don't blindly trust Gartner reports when searching for good software. At the time of searching, Gartner Quarterly reports listed BMC at the top with no mention whatsoever of ServiceDesk Plus. I'm not blaming Gartner for corrupt information, I'm sure they have their criteria in place, but at the end, they're humans, they have their mistakes, biases, misinformation, etc.

Pros: 1. Light-weight and highly responsive. Intuitive interface.
2. Wonderful 'Solutions Knowledge Base' side feature based on articles and with an excellent search functionality. (We no longer use Media Wiki, however I'm doubtful about dropping MediaWiki).
3. The ServiceDesk API gives you unlimited abilities to automate and integrate with other applications. For example, we were able to integrate Nagios Network Monitoring tool so that a high priority alarm could automatically open a ticket on ServiceDesk Plus.
4. I admire the effort they placed on their online documention with their and searchable online you'll hardly need to contact support.

Cons: Nothing major, but would like to see improvements in the following areas:
1. Provide a visual view of all entities in the system. Virtual Machines, Routers, Physical Servers, etc. using graphing tools.
2. Provide a searchable menu. For example, if I type "LDAP Authentication" this would show me the "Domain Controllers" in the setup menu (Similar to CPanel's menu search feature).
3. More help notes & tips on 'what to do next' and on 'keyboard shortcuts'.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015-12-03
Verified Reviewer
Systems Support Engineer - Managed Services
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-13

"Best Service desk Software"

Comments: We have implemented ServiceDesk Plus as a part of our customer relationship management. It is also used for internal auditing purpose. ServiceDesk allows managing all the IT services seamlessly. We have been using ServiceDesk for years for all our help desk, facilities, and reporting needs. It also allows to quality management of the help desk agents. Its reporting tool facilitates to monitor and report helpdesk team progress in a visualized way.

Pros: So far, this the best ServiceDesk solution in the market. It is bundled with almost everything that can be expected in these kinds of solution. Actually, we have never used some of the features included with this. However, we are privileged to receive updates from the vendor itself. We are extremely satisfied with the overall product capabilities, comparing verdict solutions. Following are the most impressive features of the Service Desk + Easy Cloud integration
+ Best Asset management tools.
+ Best Reporting Tools.
+ Quality management capability of the staff

Cons: + Hard to implements
+ Lack of administration documentation
+ Quite Expensive( but worth for money)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-13
Ryan C.
Network Engineer
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-19

"ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus (MSP)"

Pros: Starts at Free......Need I say more? --- I suppose i do, lol. It was a nightmare to find a ITIL compliant helpdesk software that was easy enough for my users to use, but flexible enough to flex and grow with our needs. With the basic free version covering most of the basics with no user limit, is a pretty good deal.

Cons: Sometimes it can be a pain to work with. Some of the 'workflows' or 'features' don't seem to work properly. One that sticks out is the 'on behalf of' feature when putting in tickets on behalf of another user for say a password reset. In order to get that particular function working, i actually had to go into the CLI on the host machine and enable it myself. Shouldn't need to do that. The support and documentation can also be a bit lacking on details.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-19
Bill O.
IT Operations Manager
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-31

"ServiceDesk Plus brought organization to the chaos that was our ticketing system."

Pros: Ease of use, and intuitiveness of the software makes training significantly simplified. Additionally, I enjoy how project management, service catalogs and asset tracking all tie together nicely.

Cons: Cost. As much as we love SDP, some of the features we would like to implement are simply too costly . As mentioned in the "Pros" section, we would love to incorporate CMDB, change management, project management, but the modules are simply too expensive for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-31
Kevin K.
Network Admin
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-08

"ServiceDesk Plus Works and a great price"

Comments: They are ol' reliable and they get the job done. I'm happy to continue to use them.

Pros: It works great for our help desk needs. There are plenty of other features that we still need to explore such as creating multiple groups to add in departments.

Cons: Some of the features can be a little better such as the contracts section. That being said I haven't found a great contracts section for any of the products I have used.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-08
Verified Reviewer
Executive Support
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-25

"Tracking Your Progress"

Comments: Overall, my experience with servicedesk plus has been great and i would recommend it to any other company i work for

Pros: ServiceDesk is a great tool to manage the tickets you are working on, as well as, keeping a track of all the assets within your company. This provides great audit trail for all of the work that we do

Cons: I am not too fond of the general user interface but it gets the job done nonetheless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-25
David A.
Director of IT infrastructure
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-05

"One of the top helpdesk ticketing platforms."

Pros: Upgrades are easy, the GUI is VERY fluid and easy to use. Support is pretty good also but definitely not a TAC type support, but still good. Pretty much anything you need is on their website somewhere.

Cons: I wish there was a better alerting platform which could alert you when a ticket becomes expired or has been open for X amount of days.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-05
Verified Reviewer
Sr. IT Infrastructure Engineer
Maritime, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-02

"Maybe the best ticketing system in the market. Great way to organize multi-located teams."

Pros: Reliable, yet easy to use ticketing system. Provides great configuration options, get hold of open requests, tasks, projects. Great way to organize teams.

Cons: Projects module still leaves a lot to be desired. Good for basic stuff only, although it is not meant to replace more complete (and expensive) project management solutions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-02
Kiran K.
System administrator
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-27

"Its just awesome"

Comments: This save my time a lot

Pros: user friendly and I am getting what exact output I want. Especially with SDP I just love it the way it is designed and the outputs are just awesome.

Cons: Office 365 I expected a lot of reports but unfortunately i didnt get the exact report structure that I need, which was a sad part for me with this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-27
Majid I.
SR. Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-29

"one solution for operatons need"

Comments: complete one stop solution

Pros: single software for complete operations need, cmdb, purchase, change management integration with other manageengine softwares

Cons: Asset inventory part needs improvement. currently if we format it detects 2 devices there should be some eay that it detect same system even tho we change OS

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-29
Simon W.
IT Manager
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-22

"Great service desk product... Feature rich, easy to use and excellent value for money."

Comments: Reduced cost and greater efficiency within the ICT support process.

Pros: - Easy asset management and auditing.
- Simple service request process.
- Fantastic business process automation.

Cons: - Frequent software updates.
- Licensing limitation on assets.
- Remote control doesn't work for all platforms

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-22
Eric G.
System Engineer
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-27

"Kill in yourself an individual, a slave of standards"

Pros: For those who love beauty and order in everything. Ideally correct system, it is normal to work with which I simply did not work. Sometimes I want to, well, at least something was not like everyone else. To make with this package something individual it is possible to advise only to the masochist. In general, the product is strong on the amateur.

Cons: Suggests not to find a solution for my problem, and my problem is to adjust to my decision. Those who want at least a little stand out and keep a part of themselves in their project, strictly do not recommend it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-27
Verified Reviewer
Senior Operations Manager
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-23

"Works well for us."

Pros: Very easy to manage, when purchasing email to ticket was a big feature for us. However, many other options now have that too.
Like the ease of use for users.

Cons: Tried the asset management and didn't really work for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-23
Zia K.
Technical Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-12

"Value for Money"

Comments: I have been with SDP more than 5+ Years
They have very good features like Incident and Change Management.
End Less Custom Integrations can be done using Custom Triggers.

Pros: More advanced Features like Field and Form Rules

Cons: UI, Less API

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-12
Thomas B.
TIer III Support Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-06

"Used as the main incident ticketing tool"

Pros: What I like most about the application is it had customizable fields for ticket input data. Also the application provides details analytics.

Cons: The first issue that pops in my head is the trouble we went through migrating all of our old data from our old ticketing system to the new ticketing system. However, if you are starting from nothing the set up is not complicated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-06
Alex S.
IT Project Coordinator
Management Consulting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-04

"Lots of useful features; But counter-intuitive and clunky overall"

Comments: We migrated from Spiceworks - a freeware ticket system to - ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus. While it is better than Spiceworks, I definitely think we bought the wrong solution. Implementing and customizing ServiceDesk took over a year. Support is absolutely terrible, it's all based out of India so there is a timezone difference and a major language barrier. It was very often that they would not reply at all. There are major flaws and shortcomings with the software and the developers are showing no interest in fixing them. The project management piece is an absolute joke. The contracts and purchase orders are very hard to navigate and do not serve as great tools. Asset management also feels very clunky and hard to set up. The helpdesk ticketing module is useful and better than Spiceworks. Wish we would have bought something else.

Pros: Advanced Customization, in-depth reporting, lots of add-on tools (more than just a ticketing system)

Cons: Everything is counter-intuitive and not user friendly. The support is awful. There seems to be no application development to fix their shortcomings and flaws.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-04
Glyn A.
Senior DBA
Insurance Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-20

"Great service management software"

Comments: Generally good.

Pros: Great system for tracking changes, incidents, bugs etc and associating change control with processes.

Cons: The user interface can sometimes feel a little clunky, otherwise it's a fairly good product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-20
Tyler S.
System Administrator
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-20

"Mange Engine Review"

Comments: Worked very well, I really liked the tracking information and the data on how many tickets are done by each person

Pros: I really like the easy ability to assign tickets to different users. I also like that it is very easy to email the person who put in the ticket right from manage engine.

Cons: I wish it was easier to see what tickets other people have in their que.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-20
Othman D.
IT Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-04

"I have been using Service Desk for over 3 years now. It is easy to use, nothing complicated."

Comments: This is an essential tool for our operations.

Pros: I like so many of the features available in the system for managing the ticketing system and integrating with Office365. I like to ability to manage change control, incidents and assign tasks, drop notes.

Cons: Searching is not as good as I like it to be. sometimes it is not easy to search for a previous incident by keywords.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-04
Inés P.
Service Manager
Telecommunications
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-08

"I am very satisfied"

Pros: Great, I am very satisfied with the service provided by ServiceDesk Plus, there is no doubt that really knows what your client wants and needs and knows how to achieve, one of the top companies in the area of helpdesks, it shows who works for us, as a client I am highly satisfied with what I have obtained.

Cons: I really do not have any complaints to give, this company has been commissioned to leave me only good opinions and a good impression. 100% recommended.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-08
Stephen H.
IT Infrastructure Manager
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-20

"Not impressed"

Comments: Again, this was not a pleasant experience.

Pros: Fairly easy to configure and the workflow makes sense.

Cons: Support is non-existent and management shows no interest in retaining customers. Updates will wipe out data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-20
Verified Reviewer
Computer Science Teacher
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-24

"My Problems Solved Quicker"

Comments: ServiceDesk Plus is a great tool to use internally for support calls

Pros: I like that I can track progress being made by IT through email notifications. I can also easily submit a ticket through the online portal

Cons: Nothing. Service desk has allowed us to get transparent support from our IT techs and this has solved a lot of headaches.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-24
Zolyn G.
Student
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28

"It is a very good experience for me with service desk plus as it is easy to use"

Pros: I like the fact that service desk plus is so simple and easy to use. For someone like me that takes a long time to learn stuffs i was able to learn how tp use this in a short time.

Cons: There is nothing that i like least about the service desk plus as all the features are awesome and well done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28