Canada Local product

Trolley Reviews

4.7 (36) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Trolley

Next-generation API-first payouts platform that enables businesses to send payments to any individual or company.

Learn more about Trolley

Pros:

This provides you a free trial period and online training to how to use the software.

Cons:

The time it took to pay people in other countries.

Trolley ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Trolley has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 36 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Trolley before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (36)

Jordan
Jordan
Chief Financial Officer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Active Client - Construction Marketplace

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am happy with how Payment Rails has assisted in the growth of our company. The reliability of funds being deposited into our customers accounts on a weekly basis has only being getting better. After a few rough weeks with payment batches being delayed, the Payment Rails customer success managers have really stepped up and made sure those issues didn't repeat themselves.

Pros:

Ease of use for our customers to log their direct deposit information through the PR plugin, CSV upload for payout to customers (no more manual logging of individual's payout), and (now most recently) customer access to view pay history.

Cons:

Inability to know if funds have been deposited or not into a client's account. Which is a universal issue on all payment platforms.

Verified Reviewer
COO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PR supported us through many transitions and every step of the way

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, our experience has been great. The team is responsive and supportive to our many demands and questions. They're knowledgable and always eager to help. They've updated things and helped us address issues. Great group of folks that go above and beyond to help us get started - I highly recommend their services.

Pros:

Payment rails makes payments easy with a robust API that works across borders. They also handle tax compliance and have a knowledgable team that's always ready to help. They've helped us multiple times throughout the two years we've been working together. We went from being a customer (and a demanding one!) to a partner who's constantly referring leads. It's been a long ride but PR really stuck with us and helped us through thick and thin. Work with them if you have a chance!

Cons:

Compliance but it's really not their fault. Financial services is a regulated industry. PR did what they could but compliance requirements are unique by industry. If anything, we're very grateful to PR for helping us through the legal whenever possible.

Gilles
CTO in Cambodia
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good but can become better !

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The features like the tax form or the widget !

Cons:

Reliability, we still find bugs but their customer support is on top to fix them

Emre Utku
Software Engineer in Turkey
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Advance API for payouts

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Trolley has unique API that enable development of internal payout management system for companies.

Cons:

Trolley needs to have a better API documentation for development of mobile based payout management apps.

Verified Reviewer
Revenue Operations in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great system - easy to use!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We pay content creators at mass and Payment Rails helps us do so easily.

Pros:

Super easy to use and the interface is very customer friendly. The customer support team is very friendly and helpful.

Cons:

We were a beta customer and experienced a lot of hiccups in the beginning. There were many issues with payments not being received on time or not sending but over time, we were able to iron out these issues as the product got better.

Jonah
Jonah
Director in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for sending payments across the globe

5.0 last year

Comments: We saved time using Payment Rails compared to our previous methods, and also solved challenges sending payments to more countries across the world (which was really important as our online lesson offerings scaled up to include students and teachers in more countries).

Pros:

Once set up, it was easy to use. Dashboard/interface is great and user friendly. The API met our needs to integrate with existing systems, and automate our payout process.

Cons:

We weren't able to integrate PayPal. This was due to limitations on PayPal's side for non-US PayPal accounts, though it would have been helpful to have more transparency/support from Payment Rails with this during the sales pitch and initial onboarding.

Harp
Harp
Chief Technology Officer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Modern Payment Solution

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Payment Rails was very easy to integrate into our current tech system and simple to deploy as a widget in our mobile apps. It is a huge improvement over the old, outdated payment solutions that are available in Canada. The dashboard is very modern with great UI/UX. The customer support team has been very helpful when needed.

Cons:

There have been a few hiccups with a few payment transfers to some users but this has only happened in very rare circumstances. The support team has always been quick in helping resolve any issues.

Payment Rails Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the review, Harp!

Verified Reviewer
Principal in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid platform, thoughtful UI, great support.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease to enter information for a payee, easy to track all your payments, export functions, allowing multiple users (auditor, collaborators), two-person process for payouts, easy process to pull money into the platform, email receipts for payees, payment status are golden, easy user role and permissions.

Cons:

I haven't encountered any down side really. Maybe the debit transfer (pushing money rather than pulling) could be better but this is not their problem really, mostly a great way around to help their clients.

Verified Reviewer
Growth Hacker and Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Payment Rails is a fantastic platform

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I've had a great experience with Payment Rails from the onboarding team, the product and their customer support.

Pros:

Ease of use Pricing! API Country Coverage

Cons:

I am eagerly awaiting their Quickbooks integration which is coming soon.

Payment Rails Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the great review! Our native Quickbooks integration will be ready in Q1 2019. At the moment, you can leverage our Zapier integration to connect your Payment Rails account with your Quickbooks account! Reach out to us if you have any questions, or would like to set that up!

Akshay
CTO in Canada
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: When we started using Payment Rails we were experiencing a huge business problem. The sellers on our platform were unable to redeem their funds in a timely manner. Other options were either too costly or they took too much time and hassle to setup. At that moment we had to manually process all transactions at the end of the day which was extremely unscalable. With Payment Rails, we were up and running within literally 2 days. It was so easy to setup and the flow was perfect for us. The team helped us get up and running responding to questions within the hour. We are very excited to continue using Payment Rails.

Pros:

Payment Rails is amazingly easy to use, and extremely quick to setup. Further more the team is incredible and have always been available to help out with any issues.

Cons:

This software feels like it was built for us. We don't have any concerns about it.

Luis
Node JS developer in UK
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Payment Rails Beatchain

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

What we liked the most is the ease of use of their APIs and specially their widgets which are super easy to integrate with and set up.

Cons:

The documentation could use some improvements. It would have helped to have some more higher order docs around payment and recipient status and the different possible flows that we could encounter. The webhooks portal could also use some improvements like a more granular selection of events to listen to, a UI to be able to test the different webhooks that can be trigger and its payloads, and some reporting tools to be able to monitor them.

Jeremy
Co-Founder in US
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Payment Rails

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our experience with Payment Rails has been 100% positive and I would recommend the platform to anyone looking to process international payments at scale.

Pros:

Payment Rails has a UI which is very easy to use if you are doing manual payments within the Payment Rails platform, but they also have a fantastic API which we were able to integrate into our proprietary platform so we can make payments without our existing workflow. Everything else has been super easy because of the rep and their commitment to providing a high-quality level of service (and that has been from the first demo through to our daily use as current customers - the service has been very impressive).

Cons:

I have been informed that Payment Rails is working to solve this problem, but you currently have to maintain a balance in your account, and it takes approximately 5 business days to process a direct-debit. So when you are doing large volumes of transactions, you have to keep topping up your account with direct-debits that are on a 5-day lag (you can do a wire transfer, but incur higher costs as a result).

Verified Reviewer
Product Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Solid and reliable payment processing

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Payment Rails is one of the most reliable solutions I have used to handle transactions from customers. Whether it be to process a payment from customers or send payouts to our sellers, the system is solid, automation works like a charm, and the implementation was pretty easy.

Cons:

The backend interface could use some improvements ; it can sometimes be difficult to find the information you look for.

Locke
Lead Engineer in US
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Top-notch payments platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Payment Rails support is exceptional, they typically respond to requests within minutes. All issues we have encountered have been addressed quickly and professionally. Our overall experience has been one of delight after dealing with other platforms in the past.

Pros:

The Payment Rails dashboard is best-in-class. We've used a number of third party payments platforms and as something we spend a lot of time using it's important for it to be modern, usable, and fast. The UX is by far the best we've seen among all payments platforms.

Cons:

Bulk importing of tens-of-thousands of recipients was slightly tedious. We had to break our list up into groups of around 1000 recipients each to avoid issues. Since this was a one-time event (at least for us) it worked out fine.

John Christopher
sales in Canada
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Product!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: payment rails has been great no complaints!

Pros:

Easy to set up and use. Payment cycles are fast for Canada.

Cons:

Everything about the platform has been great so far

Payment Rails Response

4 years ago

Thanks John for the great review. Always a pleasure working with Faber!

Mark
VP Finance in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very easy to integrate API

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have had a really good experience with the payment rails team and platform so far. Highly recommend it to other businesses.

Pros:

- Easy to integrate, especially their widget, took about 60 minutes. - User interface is easy to use. - Saves a heap of time compared to other options.

Cons:

- Would like to have some other integrations available, but I understand they are about to add them very soon.

Payment Rails Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the kind words, Mark. We will begin to roll out more native integrations in Q1 2019. We have soft-launched a Zapier (www.zapier.com) integration, which allows you to connect Payment Rails to over 1000 different software applications without any code. Reach out to us to give it a try!

Nathan
Vice President Logistics in Canada
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

You won't be disappointed!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The UI is very easy to navigate! The reason we moved to Payment Rails was initially for the wire rate we were getting versus what we were paying through the bank for US to US transactions.

Cons:

Some sections have some small bugs but these are fixed within 24-48 hours of reporting them to the PR team.

Payment Rails Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the great review, Nathan! We work hard to be responsive to any issues that arise, and it's great that you've noticed our dedication and fast responses.

Oleg
Developer in Russia
Arts & Crafts, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Useful Service for Different Countries Payouts

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are sending money to a group of users every week and Payment Rails allows to automate it.

Pros:

- service provides Widget that helps to set up customers - support responses fast enough - API documentation - useful dashboard - can send payouts to a lot of countries and banks - supports both PayPal and Bank Transfers

Cons:

- errors during payouts creation (seldom but still) - hard to get what was going wrong during payout creation - timeout errors

Abby
Account Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Tool!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have had issues with vendors of ours not being paid on time/issues with payment information. Payment Rails has allowed us to monitor when the payments are being processed, what errors we have on our end if the payments fair, and help to fix this if we need.

Pros:

Payment Rails has been so very helpful in ensuring that we are able to pay our vendors properly and on time.

Cons:

Nothing - the software is phenomenal! Took some getting used to at first, but now that we have it's great.

Verified Reviewer
Accounting assistant in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Payment rails

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This provides you a free trial period and online training to how to use the software. I highly recommend it

Cons:

There are no cons to it really except for being just for accounts payable

Payment Rails Response

3 years ago

Thanks the great review! You're correct in saying that accounts payable is our focus. We're laser-focused on solving problems related to accounts payable! We'd love to hear what kind of other feature suggestions you might have. Talk to us on Intercom in the dashboard, or at [email protected]

Beth
Vendor Partnership in US
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Customer Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: When the above mentioned happened, the clients bank kept telling them they had rejected the payment. Payment Rails showed they indeed had not. Payment Rails associate helped us contact the bank and get the money back and into the proper account. Lifesaver!

Pros:

That the UI page is easy to read and understand the status of a payment transfer.

Cons:

Trying to track down a payment that went to a closed bank account for a client. Took a couple weeks to resolve.

Sebastian
Sebastian
Co-Founder & CEO (We're Hiring!) in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Payment Rails Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good busniess, great support only thing is I want more knowlege into why a payment is late

Pros:

Easily in the background of our system. Easy widget. Mass payout funtions are helpful for scale

Cons:

Unsure about payment status beyond sending it out. Too many angry workers not sure where their money is and not being able to know why it isnt in their account if there was an issue.

Rob
CEO in US
Translation & Localization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Smooth and efficient payment service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great experience overall. We pay translators, interpreters, and other linguists worldwide using the platform.

Pros:

The user interface is clean and well designed. The platform works very well for us; we pay translators worldwide using it. The occasions where we've had a minor issue, their support team and developers have been very helpful and quick to resolve it. They love hearing feature requests and feedback. The setup was a snap, and the technical support and guidance during the process were superb. I'm a fan!

Cons:

No complaints. The few issues we've experienced were resolved quickly.

Payment Rails Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the fantastic review, Rob! I'm glad our support team and development team is meeting you needs! We really do appreciate your feedback!

Ryan
Bookkeeper in US
Market Research Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty good overall

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use. We recently switched to Payment Rails, and it has been better than our previous payment processor so far. The customer service is quite good and prompt. The company seems receptive to the transitional issues we've experienced. You can tell they want their product to be as good as it can be.

Cons:

There is not currently a way to download a monthly statement. I have to go to 3 or 4 different screens to view all of our transactions. As a bookkeeper, this makes doing a monthly reconciliation difficult. However, I contacted their customer service and the informed me that statements will be available soon.

Erica
Sales Support Manager in US
Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

User friendly, helpful staff

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The staff at Payment Rails has been so helpful in helping to implement this technology at my company. It has given us greater visibility into payments and has helped us gain a lot of efficiency.

Pros:

The software is very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons:

works best with Chrome, which is not my favorite browser