15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Total ETO Reviews

4.6 (20) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Total ETO

Total ETO is an ERP/MRP, providing better collaboration, efficiency, and accuracy for Custom Machine Builders. $7,500/year for 5 seats.

Learn more about Total ETO

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

Total ETO ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Total ETO has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 20 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (20)

Sort by

Have you used Total ETO before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Gary
VP of operations in Canada
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TOTAL ETO --Satisfied customer

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: we are able to view and monitor real time, Engineering,procurement and manufacturing using this software

Pros:

The software is user friendly with reports that give you data that matters.

Cons:

We did not have anything negative to report.

Alternatives Considered: JobBOSS²

Reasons for Choosing Total ETO: The software had many glitches and was NOT ready to be released for production.

Switched From: JobBOSS²

Reasons for Switching to Total ETO: We went with ETO based on the fantastic reporting and ease of use showcased during the demo before we purchased it.

Taylor
Mechanical Engineering Lead in US
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great ERP for mid-sized Custom Machine Builders

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The team at TotalETO was extremely helpful with implementation. Making the switch to TotalETO required us to rethink our job-flow. Their team was eager to offer suggestions, answer questions, and help improve our process to use TETO to its fullest!

Pros:

BOM integration with our CAD software (SolidWorks) is a huge time saver. I can release the BOM for a very large assembly (1000 different manufactured / purchased parts) in less than 5 minutes. Total ETO makes job tracking from the quoting stages to the closing very straight forward. Costing and profits margin can be tracked the entire way.

Cons:

An updated web-version with Data Dashboards would be nice - but last I heard their developers are working on this. They already have an online platform for Time-entry, so I suspect they will build from there. Very excited to see this grow!

Daniel
Daniel
Panel Build in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Industrial Automation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super flexible, almost too much so

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Love it and it definitely makes our jobs easier. However I do wish the different levels of access had a more tailored system in front of them based on that access level. Get rid of the things a user can't use. And organize things better for each users access level.

Pros:

I love being able to find all the information about parts, purchase orders and materials through our use of the BOM features. Tracking items the purchasing group has on order, delivery times to our floor, and then managements expectations of the final product going out the door all can be seen.

Cons:

It is almost too flexible and offers almost too many features. From a user perspective, I almost wish I couldn't see all the things that I don't have access to. It muddies up my user experience to see all the other options, reports etc that I can't run myself.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Managing Project Software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As a QA Manager I have been using various export functions, especially, exports to excel, which helps me to monitor NCR trends, supplier performance and easily generate presentation graphs and diagrams.
Overall it is a good software, works well with SolidWorks, easy to use, and satisfies all engineering, purchasing and administrative needs for our company.

Pros:

Questica is good for managing projects and keeping track of items used on each project. The search functions work very well to identify past projects or parts orders which is a great help in correctly quoting parts. The reports are also very detailed which aids in many tasks such as looking up costing to quote a similar project. When you get familiar with it you get all the info you need. It’s very user friendly in terms of entering info and very forgiving if you need to correct something. Most of the functions are fairly intuitive and the available reports give you several different options for disseminating information depending on what you’re looking for.

Cons:

Improvements I would like Ability to link documents in areas other than sales order (i.e. Purchasing – link quotes to PO’s) Ability to create simple parts quotes

Stefan
Controls Engineer in US
Industrial Automation, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Industrial Automation Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is better than other tools I have used in the past for the same BOM management work. Sure there is room for improvement but the base structure is much better than the competition.

Pros:

It's ability to manage the master BOM of released/unreleased material is very helpful. Having used other BOM management software I was very happy to switch back. The parts database is easy to use. Creating new parts is very quick and easy.

Cons:

It's ease of use and flexibility can be a weakness if the permissions are not used appropriately. Manufacturers with easy to mistype/misspell names can end up in the system 3 to 4 different ways. (AKA Allen-Bradley, Allen Bradley, AB, etc.) The new security settings may prevent this in the future.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Industrial Automation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great ERP system for Engineering Companies

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are so much more efficient in our project BOMing, parts order estimates, purchasing, receiving, job kitting, etc. There are lots of great administration tools for management for Time Cards, cost tracking, quoting etc.

Pros:

This software enables our Engineering company and Procurement departments to connect fluently. Before ETO, we battled synchronization of BOM updates and requirements of purchasing. Parts quotes, packing slips and Purchase are very quick and simple. We love the SolidWorks Import add-in from the Engineering perspective. The customer service is excellent and response time for questions and customizations is miniscule. I appreciate that ETO is open to improvements and suggestions that are tailored to each company's needs.

Cons:

It's Microsoft Access based and it takes a little bit of time to get used to. Once you are accustomed, it works very well for our needs.

Gregg
Engineering Manager in US
Industrial Automation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Engineering Manager

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very please with this product, like the filtering ability and glad to see the latest updates\fixes and look forward to learn more about the Barcode scanning.

Pros:

The ability to customize to meet our requirement both with Inventor and Microsoft Projects add-ins. ETO was able and willing to customize the MS-Project to work in a way that worked to meet our requirements

Cons:

CRM or there lack of to have a complete all in one Office support system

Jim
Mechanical Engineering Manager in US
Machinery, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Over 10 Years Using Total ETO

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall very positive. The support is what sets them apart. I have used it at three different companies - all have utilized Total ETO staff to write custom reports and come up with unique solutions to problems. It's a mature product with mature support - very easy in that regard.

Pros:

It's consistent from release to release. They work on improving background or adding functionality, but the core product stays the same. You don't have to relearn things - or re-document procedures.

Cons:

The only thing that bugs me is my natural tendency to treat any entry cells like an Excel item. Since Total ETO is on a database, some typing steps need to be focused on as such. Not a show stopper once you are used to it.

Rob
Partner, VP Operations in Canada
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ETO - Easy To Optimize

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been using Total ETO for over 8 years. Our overall experience has been great! New employees quickly learn the software and the support desk is highly responsive. Total ETO is feature rich at an affordable cost.

Pros:

Total ETO gives us the management we need with controlling the inputs and outputs necessary for our engineered-to-order projects. It has been an invaluable tool for our Supply Chain (materials procurement), Project Management (job costing) and Applications Engineering group (legacy data), in streamlining data flow and data sharing. New releases are easily and successfully implemented with minimal IT assistance.

Cons:

We currently use a third party TMS software to manage labour tracking electronically, due to the nature of our business. Though this was easily integrated with Total ETO, I would have preferred it to be a native feature to the software.

Stan
Mechanical Engineering Manager in Canada
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Total ETO (Questica)

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great product with a great team at Total ETO. We were up and running in several weeks. Gives us reporting and traceability on projects we never had before. It's cut purchasing time in half. Integration in Solidworks works well.

Pros:

Ease of use, quickly find information, reporting, Item master and BOM are easy to use. Setup was quick to do. Administration straight. Technical support is quick to respond and always have a solution.

Cons:

Not really much to say here - software does what it supposed to do. Very few problems that were solved with technical support

Jim
IT Administrator in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding Engineer to Order solution

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Total ETO has vastly improved our efficiency by streamlining our entire process flow, from first contact with the customer all the way to shipping the final product and every step in between. All the information is available, accessible, and organized every step of the way.

Pros:

From an administrative standpoint Total ETO is the most admin-friendly software we've dealt with. Installation, configuration, and client roll-out are straightforward processes and once it's up and running it just works. The software does what it's supposed to do, it's easy to use, logically organized, and their support team is outstanding.

Cons:

Truthfully, there really isn't much to say here. Every issue (all of them minor) that we've come across and even suggestions we've made have been resolved immediately or incorporated into the next release.

Lucas
Lead Mechanical Engineer in US
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lucas Resch Review of TotalETO

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience is has been plesant with TotalETO. There is a learning curve that somes with the software, but once you know how the software works, it is pretty user friendly.

Pros:

I like the integration with the 3D software. When it is set up correctly, it can really reduce the amount of time that it takes to release a project.

Cons:

TotalETO does a good job handling parts, but it does a poor job with handling Standard Assemblies and Assemblies within the BOM structure. There should be a better way to customize the behavior of SAs and Assemblies when it comes to procuring them.

Lisa
Purchasing Manager in Canada
Machinery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Total ETO

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been using Total ETO since 1999. We have been very pleased with the support over the years, and have always been helped when needed.

Pros:

Everything we needed was under one software for our Manufacturing of custom built machines. It integrated smoothly with SolidWorks, and QuickBooks.

Cons:

It would be nice to have accounting capabilities like QuickBooks, built in, to eliminate the need for any other software. But even though it didn't, it was integrated smoothly.

Jill
Mechanical engineer in US
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pros and Cons

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Generates reports, can find any part number that has been used elsewhere.

Cons:

Sometimes the release button is grayed out for unknown reasons. Other colleagues can release the same station, or sometimes restarting ETO allows you to release again. If you switch network connection (wired to wifi, different network, etc.) and have ETO open, it logs you out.

Josh
Mechanical Design Engineer in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mechanical Design Engineer Review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like how easy the product is to use. It is pretty straight forward for pretty much anyone to use!

Cons:

I believe we are not utilizing it to its full capability. One thing I would like to see within our company is part management. I.e. shipping and where the part is currently located. We do not keep track of this and I think it would be beneficial.

Chris
Service Coordinator in Canada
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for running both large and small projects

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is great. I always know how my projects are progressing in high level detail.

Pros:

I can review every aspect of every project smoothly and efficiently

Cons:

Formatting can improve when opening new panes.

Madison
Purchaser in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Total ETO - Easy to use software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Total ETO has helped drastically from a purchasing stand point. There are many tools to help track cost as well as delivery on all material.

Pros:

Very organized user friendly software. Easy to track all stages of every project. Questica ETO is always open to suggestions and ways to improve to fit your specific needs.

Cons:

I have not noticed any issues with this software.

Cruz
Project Manager in US
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Project management stand point

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: we have solved tracking hours of employees and what jobs they were clocked under

Pros:

the various tools that are available are very helpful.

Cons:

its a little tricky to understand where everything is at but once you understand it and have your favorites set up its easy.

Kevin
Coop Student in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Questica ETO is a powerful and reliable assistant for project management.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Questica ETO is used to expedite, enter new projects, and track costs and project dates.

Pros:

It is easy to track all the projects that I have been assigned to enter and expedite. I can reliably search for parts as I enter BOM's while not even having to leave the BOM entry screen. I also like the option to have multiple BOM's open at a time.

Cons:

There has been nothing to dislike so far. If anything it would be speed, however I am on an old laptop and it is most likely a hardware issue instead of software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intern's review on Total ETO

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: With my short time in engineering, Total ETO has been a very positive experience. It's easy to understand and learn once you open the program and start using it for a couple of days.

Pros:

As a young new engineer, the total ETO platform provided a quick and easy way for me to edit the Bill of Materials for our projects. I like that it automatically saves part information across projects when it is entered the first time. This saves time and confusion for me because most likely a part that I need has been used on another project before. Another great feature is the ease of creating assemblies that make a group of parts that can be repeated as much as needed.

Cons:

With my experience so far I think the only con I have is from slow loading speeds which are most likely a network issue on my end.