15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About QuarkXPress

QuarkXPress is powerful desktop publishing and page layout software.

Learn more about QuarkXPress

Pros:

QuarkXPRess can help you create newspaper and magazine layouts and make your work easier.

Cons:

Some of the shortcuts codes involve three or more buttons, which can be difficult to remember, thus nullifying their purpose.

QuarkXPress ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
3.6
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7.1/10

QuarkXPress has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 91 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used QuarkXPress before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (91)

Melanie
Melanie
Content Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Go to Print Layout Choice For Years

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've been using Quark for so long now that I find it hard to imagine using anything else. At a client's encouragement - and because they owned the software - I did try Scribus but for me it just did not have the same feel or great function that Quark has so after a few hours experimentation I politley delined to keep using it and went back to what I know (and achived excatly what they were looking for anyway)

Pros:

Since I first used this software in college (which was more than a while ago) although it has changed and evolved in my opinion it has never stopped being the best layout creation tool there is. I've used it over the years professionally across all kinds of projects and niches and even personally to create materials for the kids' soccer teams etc. And customer service always has been truly top notch, something that is increasingly rare these days.

Cons:

The newer Adobe integrations can be annoying and for my purposes not that helpful. Yes, there are days when I wish it had never happened but not to the point that I will actively go looking for something else as an alternative.

Aleksandar
Aleksandar
CEO in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Old-timer in prepress industry with interactive make-up

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: In general I am satisfied. It works very stabile. Output - pdf output - is perfect for prepress, HTML5 site of publication is excellent and work as soon as you drop it on ftp server.

Pros:

If you work on book, or you need HTML5 or android/iPhone version of your publication, without additional costs, choose QuarkXPress. In one program you can do everything you need to satisfy your publishing needs. But, if you need more "artistic" look of your publication, Adobe and Affinity suites, even Corel, are better solutions.

Cons:

It is slow as slow as you hardisk, not your CPU or graphic card. QuarkXPress use too many time more hd than memory cache. Second "least" is price, and it cost too much, and there are no upgrade for 50% or more offs.

Russell
Russell
HR Compliance Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quark is bittersweet but can’t compete with Indesign

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: I’ve used quarkxpress for over ten years, longer than any other single piece of software. I converted to indesign kicking and screaming because of how different the workflow was because I was so picky. If you’re just starting out, I’d suggest you look at indesign. If you’re picking up someone else’s work, you can almost everything indesign can do quark can do too.

Pros:

After Apple’s Pages application, it is the easiest and simplest major print design software out there that you can use fairly intuitively if you’ve used a computer graphics program before. Just watching some tutorials online you can easily edit other people’s work fairly easily without much training. The second best feature of quark is the powerful xtentions that exist out there on the market. Other programs had this too but quark was the first to do this. Xtentions really streamlined and automated a lot of repetitive design tasks like updating prices and phone numbers (xcatalog).

Cons:

It lacks full transparency gradients and doesn’t have adequate photo layering capabilities like opacities and layer modes. It also lacks a wysiwyg font menu so you can’t see they style of the font you’re using until you select it and enter some type. Quark is also a bit unstable at times. Prone to crashes.

David
Art Director in US
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great program for page layout

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I really like using Quark for text input. It is a much more enjoyable experience than inputting text in either Illustrator or InDesign. It certainly blows programs such as Microsoft Word out of the water. It does suffer when you have to move to packaging design and layout.

Pros:

I like that Quark allows you precision control over text input in documents. It is especially useful in art projects that are text intensive. I like it best for direction labels, books, pamphlets, magazines etc.

Cons:

I don't find that Quark is near as useful for laying out package design projects. It suffers when compared to Adobe Illustrator for setting up art for boxes, product logo labels or flexible packaging of various types (multi-wall bags, form and fill bags, pouches, etc.). It just is not functional for package design and I have found it is limited in its post script adaptability.

Quark Software Response

2 years ago

Thank you! Your review is much appreciated!

Loren
Web Designer in US
Graphic Design Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Why I chose QuarkXpress

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: At first it took me a while to get used to the software, but after a while i got the hang of it after a few tutorials and projects i don't use any other.

Pros:

At first it took me a while to get used to the software, but after a while i got the hang of it. the workspace layout is great. It also has a lot of functions and tools to use.

Cons:

I really have no cons as of yet. So far i love this software its my go to for all flyers, cards, brochures, and model comp cards.

Quark Software Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your review. Your review is appreciated!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good for the Money

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: So far so good. Have been using it for 7 years and plan to continue using it for the foreseeable future.

Pros:

Quark is relatively simple to learn and can be quick once you're used to it. It can be used to build and implement templates for multiple uses. Older versions can be a great value for the money.

Cons:

Can crash and has features that appear outdated compared to similar Adobe products.

Quark Software Response

6 months ago

Thanks for your review! We appreciate it.

Chadsey
Chadsey
Marketing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I wish it were like it used to be, simple...reliable...the best.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Good sleep, less stress, a peaceful work week..... Oh I thought you said benefits from using this software.

Pros:

First, their customer support for this product is incredible. Hands down some of the best people working with this company, and knowledgable. There is also an online community behind this software that is wonderful and can usually get you where you want to go if you need help. Also the facebook group continues to grow and thrive and the company is pretty involved with keeping the quark world up to date on progress and resources. Ok the software is pretty wonderful and through the years we continue to choose Quark for book/media publishing over other products that we use more frequently day to day with other media because Quark just has always gotten the job done and done well. That still is the case for a couple specific purposes, like brochure and booklet printing, we use Quark for because most of the tools throughout the years have remained the same. And they make simple what other products cause hair-loss over. Quark not being a subscription based media creation software is the bee's knees!! And the ability and power of all the software can do for the price is pretty great!!

Cons:

Over the years, they have tried to do too much in too little of time to compete but they have failed short. In the past Quark was an incredible software and the value was through the roof, but sadly that is not the case anymore. Focusing on becoming a software for producing cross-platform media and new media has taken away from their bread and butter of being the go to software for book and print media publishing over the years. The tools available, advancements and attention to their original staples of print publishing have lacked. PDFs are an area serious attention needs to be given, without having to purchase or use 3rd party integrations. Yearly updates should not have to be purchased or at least discounted much more significantly, especially considering the incompatibility of working between different years of Quark. Saving to a previous version is a must, that I which would come back, without expensive 3rd party software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Desktop publishing With QuarkXpress

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use Quarkexpress in small projects because of its user-friendly features.

Pros:

Ever since it was released in 1987 QuarkXPress has dominated the Desktop Publishing. I use Quarkexpress because when its come to page layout it is the best one out there because of its simplicity.its text tools are very user-friendly and lets you get the job done very quickly and efficiently. Also, QuarkXPress supports more printers than any other desktop publishing software.

Cons:

There is not much not to like about QuarkXpress. Maybe PDF exports could be easier in the future

Angel
Angel
Graphic Design Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

QuarkXPress

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: QuarkXPress is a great product. I would recommend it to anyone working in the creative field. It can be use for print and digital design. I use the product to create advertisements, collateral, packaging, flyers, success stories, white papers, guides, spec sheets, interactive PDFs, and so on.

Pros:

Easy to use. Has lots of features. Integrates well with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. Love that you can create digital and interactive files.

Cons:

Some features are hard to find. Would like to see more training available.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

QuarkXPress: An industry Pioneer, but loses the race when compared with Adobe InDesign

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, not unhappy but each of my project experiences left me wanting more ... design options, layout options, integration with other software I use.

Pros:

It's a page layout powerhouse and does what it is intended to do. It's fairly user friendly and easy to learn the ins and outs.

Cons:

Because Quark is a stand alone software, it loses any integration options with other programs that designers use on a daily basis. For this reason alone, it's difficult to rationalize using Quark instead of InDesign, which has so many crossovers with Illustrator, Photoshop and Acrobat.

Quark Software Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback!

Simon
Designer in UK
Graphic Design Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Still number one in my opinion

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Having used Quark since version 3, (that's early 90's on a IIx) I've grown up with it. Does pretty much everything I need it to do as a final platform for print. It's ease of use and the fact they haven't diddled around too much with its core functionality is a blessing. Never had any problems with getting work printed using Quark. Over the years I've used multiple platforms, individually and combined, in designing specifically for print. Have used Indesign. It's OK, but see no reason to change. Try to avoid subscription software these days. Now use Affinity Photo and Draw in place of Adobe stuff which quark works with without issue.

Pros:

Does everything I need it to do in design for print. Accurate, fast, reliable and a very powerful bit of kit and that's all that matters in my book.

Cons:

Not many. The tables function could be a bit more friendly regarding basic editing. Updates are a bit expensive for the frequency which they offer them. I miss the little alien, they could bring that back, a little bit of stress relief I miss!

Robin
Owner in US
Graphic Design Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If Quark were a man, I'd marry him.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have used Quark for everything from business card design to websites. I especially like using it for layout on coffee table books.

Pros:

I love everything about QuarkXPress. I've been using Quark since 1990 and also taught Quark for a few years. There is an elegance to the way Quark works that is missing in other page layout software. It was set up by graphic designers for graphic designers. Even though I own Adobe Creative Suite, I prefer to use Quark for print and web projects.

Cons:

There is nothing that I dislike about Quark. Even if I run into a snag or problem I am able to find a solution easily with the Quark HELP feature or on their website.

Meshell
graphic designer in US
Publishing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quark after using InDesign for about ten years

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Laying out ads and pages for our newspaper is very easy in Quark.

Pros:

Very easy to transition to after using InDesign for about ten years. Layout is very easy. The keyboard shortcuts are easy to learn as well.

Cons:

There are times that files imported from Illustrator do some strange things when you export the Quark file to a pdf.

Thomas
prepress operator in US
Printing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

QuarkXPress -- Behind the Times

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've used it on and off for over twenty years now. It's ease of use made it the industry standard back in the day, but it's been eclipsed by Adobe and the excellent integration of their multiple software products. And Adobe was always very flexible with pricing -- Quark would never budge on price, and many corporate users chose to jump ship and go with upstart Adobe, which has proven to be a fortuitous move in the design and production industry. I still use it periodically -- there's always that dinosaur client who refuses to move into the twenty-first century. Too bad, Quark!

Pros:

Not Much. QuarkXPress USED TO BE the industry standard in page layout programs. That is no longer the case.

Cons:

Everything. It's totally behind the times when compared to Adobe InDesign. And it's overpriced as well.

Alexis
ECommerce in US
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for Layouts if this is your only program

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: If you are simply doing layout, Quark is the way to go; however, if you need to incorporate images, links, etc. then stick with Adobe Creative Cloud and InDesign so you are not paying for two software formats.

Pros:

Quark is absolutely fantastic for multipage spread layouts or any multipage project that requires standard margins, guides, templates etc.

Cons:

If you are a fan of Adobe for your art work and work as a graphic designer it's just much simpler to use Adobe's InDesign as it ties in with all the Adobe programs.

Jodi
Jodi
Creative Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quark is fine, but InDesign is better

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use Quark occasionally, when a client only works in Quark. I find it feels antiquated compared to Adobe Creative Suite.

Pros:

I don't really see any features that beat out InDesign. This used to be the industry standard, but less and less do my clients use Quark. Only in publishing and they are moving away from that.

Cons:

It's not the standard and converting files to InDesign is not always seamless. Quark is outdated in my opinion.

Abdiel
Abdiel
Independent Business Owner in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My first software for diagraming magazines

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use, multiple options to export and make impressive presentations such as HTML5, very complete and elegant typography tool, compatibility with other similar programs.

Cons:

I can not open INDD extension files, I must ask the sender to export the files in an IDML extension, it is a bit inconvenient but nothing impossible.

Jose
Social Media Director in Mexico
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple to use and ton of features

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Saves a ton of time

Pros:

Another reviewer Chadsey really nailed all the pros and cons of this software. It's great that it is subscription based and anytime you need help with something, their customer support is quick to help.

Cons:

I think once a new update comes out, the owners of the previous version should get to upgrade for free or at the very least at a significant discount. Not knowing when the new version will come out can prevent you from buying the current version.

Yuliya
BOM coordinator in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Professional software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The best part of the QuarkXPress is the variety of different functions that will allow user to work on either small of big scale publishing project. I used it for 4 page marketing booklets and over hundred pages product catalogues. Love it.

Cons:

You have to wait before it will run, the software is huge.

Rex
Rex
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software for any kind of Publishing!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Good! Highly recomend for anyone publishing on a regualar basis. Software is easy to use if you have used other professional publishing software.

Pros:

QuarkXPress is very easy to use if you have used Adobe InDesign or CorelDraw. The user interface has a good flow and everything can be spreadout with multiple monitors. Using it for publishing booklets was easy and the printer had no issues with the files.

Cons:

Costs are a lttle steap for what I use it for. Would like more customization of the user interface. Overall no cons that would deter from considering for those that publish to the web or print on a regular basis.

Nicole
Nicole
Account Executive in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software for an someone who is not a graphic designer

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy design software for someone who is not necessarily a graphic designer by trade. This software is easy to teach yourself to use.

Cons:

Not as advanced as some of the other software programs out there. Some of the tools are harder to maneuver around.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I used QuarkXPress to create books & versions of ads. It is fantastic with typography & layout.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: This was an easy to use layout tool. I could easily lay out newspaper pages, version multiples of ads, create books or flyers easily. It was easy & fun to use.

Pros:

It was really easy to layout a design in Quark. The link system allows your files to be small & agile. And it's Packaging functionality allows you to esily

Cons:

I use primarily Adobe products, so the tools are different, look different and/or are in different places, so it takes a little bit of time to get used to.

Corina
Marketing Manager in Canada
Business Supplies & Equipment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Desktop Publishing Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent overall experience with Quark Xpress. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Pros:

I found Quark Xpress very easy to learn once I got started playing around with it. It gets the job done and is reliable.

Cons:

It isn't quite as good as InDesign for desktop publishing projects but has the majority of features one would need.

Alexander
Production Coordinator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I've been using Quark over 16 years. It needs mayor improvements to be the industry standard again.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This program it is very precise, measurements can be exact and the dialog box for PDF output selection is also very detailed. Also outputting linked files and fonts into one location is easy.

Cons:

The need to purchase 3rd party plugins to get many things done. Quark should address those needs in their next version.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nice page layout software

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Its easy to use for beginners learning desktop publishing

Cons:

Outdated - doesn't work as well with other Adobe products