About Trimble TMS

From order entry to settlement, make managing your fleet easier and more profitable.

Learn more about Trimble TMS

Pros:

They offer a hosted solution and have an *expensive* but semi integrated add on CRM module. Most legacy users are still server/premise based however.

Cons:

I have been in thetranportation industry for over 30 years worst system ever used. Way too many pop ups and the speed is seriously slow trying to keep up.

Trimble TMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.3
Customer Service
3.8
Features
3.2
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

6.3/10

Trimble TMS has an overall rating of 3.6 out 5 stars based on 27 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Trimble TMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (27)

Joe
Dispatch in US
Industrial Automation, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great system with lots of info

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great system to use for daily dispatch, easy to keep track of all load, and equipment info, lots of great customizable features to make your dispatch job easier.

Pros:

Easy to learn, and can keep track of almost anything that you need to know on every truck / trailer / load you have.

Cons:

I can not think of anything bad to ay about the system, it works perfectly for me dispatching a 20 truck fleet.

Matthew
Safety director in US
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Truckmate Dispatch

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like that it is easy to track not only the trailers but drivers as well. Easy to set up routing and locations. It is easy to move around from dispatch to payroll and most of the time it is a quick fix when someone gets button happy. We have the option to send the loads directly to the driver and the system will track there movements, but we found it easier to manually move our OTR drivers. During the time of our transition from 2012 version to 2018 the problems we have encountered have been quickly fixed by the Trimble groups support team.

Cons:

No back button when the person who is manually moving the drivers and equipment gets a little to quick on the buttons. We updated our system and did some testing before going live and some of the hiccups we caught and thought were fixed carried over to the live version. We are a Intermodal trucking company and our original version from 2012 had custom moves that are not able to brought up to 2018.

Verified Reviewer
Client Support Representative in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Basic TMS System

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Basic TMS system, but crashes so often and has limited technology. Our company is getting rid of TMW soon and getting a new TMS system.

Pros:

Allows you to do most functions needed for brokering a load. Very basic and easy to understand the basic uses of Dispatch, Order Entry and File Maintenance.

Cons:

Crashes constantly and kicks you out completely, almost daily. There are constant issues with sending documents or retrieving data like Lane History.

Ryan
Fleet Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Essential for life

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As a transportation specialist and Fleet Manager, TMW Systems is my lifeline. I would not have a job without it.

Pros:

Easy user interface, straight forward, no bugs or glitches, TMW does everything I need it to to complete my work.

Cons:

There is not anything that I would recommend to improve. TMW Systems has been a reliable software program for the 3+ years that I have used it.

Fidele
Project manager in Mexico
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback for installation of TMT

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: My experience with TMW Systems,it's good,i like the support and consulting that he have with the customers.

Pros:

I begin with this software,and i don't know more functionality but about the warrantly management and trucks loads,i like.

Cons:

Seriously,I don't begin to work with this.

Darold
Maintanence Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not Impressed

2.0 4 months ago

Comments: The support team is great, but they need some brains in the developmental department. They have made the software too cumbersome, click back and forth through several windows for parts orders and work orders. I have been using software since 1997 and this is the worst.

Pros:

The support team does a pretty good job. Wish I could say the same for the rest.

Cons:

If you like clicking through a lot of windows to complete 1 task, go for it. This is the software for you. Make a mistake, it erases your entry instead of letting you go back and correct it. You get to re-enter it. The big one for me is that the development team has been working on the month end report all year (it is not August) and we still have not had a correct report. This is a critical report for our organization.

Brittany
HR in US
Automotive, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great when working. Needs allot of bugs worked out

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use once you have worked with it for a little bit. Can be used for multiple things needed for logistics management.

Cons:

Tmw shuts down allot. It takes a little bit for the customer service to get back to you. Needs some major bugs fixed.

Chris
Relationship Builder in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Barley adequate

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: None that I have figured out today, about as bad as Mcleod.

Pros:

They offer a hosted solution and have an *expensive* but semi integrated add on CRM module. Most legacy users are still server/premise based however. Their tech support gets an 'A' for effort but 'F' for functionality and follow through.

Cons:

Very antiquated, this technology has been around since the 80's, nothing *cutting edge* about TMW, and their suite application requires a dozen modules that are each a stand alone program. So you need 4-5 different applications/modules open at all times to do you job. Buggy, has daily glitches that require you to duplicate your work.

Cody
Dispatch in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

TMW Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: TMW makes dispatching so easy with it's ability to streamline the paperwork and order entry process. It has helped tremendously.

Pros:

I like that TMW allows easy access to search previous orders and copy existing to streamline paperwork

Cons:

Sometimes TMW can be a little slow and glitchy, but it usually is just when you first open it up to use it

Beth
Contract Carrier Sales Specialist in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Tmw

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like that I can open the program multiple times to use more than one load screen and other tabs as well to keep things separate.

Cons:

You have to manually refresh. The history for previous loads does not include the load number so that is kind of useless.

Anweiler
Project Manager in Canada
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Have implemented TMW at two companies since 2000

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This is the only Dispatch Software I have seen that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to any company.

Pros:

Reportability. Data & tables are organized and provide easy downloads or reporting through Crystal reports.

Cons:

Even though we have now integrated mobile communications with TMW. I found their support some what lacking knowledge when it came to the mobile communications module.

Zach
Transportation Systems Analyst in US
Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Industry leader

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The versatility of this product is above and beyond its competitors. Best bang for your buck period! From dispatch to back office to EDI, TMW is a one stop shop for all your transportation needs.

Cons:

Because the product is so vast and immersive, enhancement requests seem to take a bit longer, but it’s worth it in the end

mike
credit coordiantor in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great software for the industry

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: never a problem always great program any user issues are quickly solved and resolved

Pros:

very user friendly great ability to use over mult platforms. no glitches frequently updated and always is relaible

Cons:

at times the work arounds add ons can be a pain but with training the ease of use is better

AMY
safety in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TMW is great software for all your transportation needs!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Dispatch. Dispatching of drivers with safety issues.

Pros:

Easy to use. Easy to navigate. Very little issues. Makes tracking safety related issues very easy as well!

Cons:

It's a good system. I used it with my previous company for 2 years and still recommend it to others in the industry.

Matthew
System Administrator in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TMW Admin

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

SQL driven and highly customizable to output to various programs.

Cons:

A lot of the customization has to be done by TMW tech support. Some parts are still developing but we paid full price.

Russ
Warranty Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

My Experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: All that I have worked with at TMW have been great.

Pros:

The support team is great to work with. Good software, with ease of use. They take suggestions for development and most time use them. Interfacing with other companies software is a great asset.

Cons:

Time it takes for development, I know it takes many hours to make repairs. Some processes you see from other companies would be great within this software.

Verified Reviewer
Shift Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Archaic, difficult, and buggy

2.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like that the Dispatch board allows the creation of multiple boards; this has made keeping track of certain lanes' operations (such as during peak season) much easier. It also lends itself well to creating reports. Entering loads in Order Entry is relatively simple as well.

Cons:

The interface is reminiscent of Windows 95, and not in a good way. It's unattractive and the layout isn't the most intuitive, either. Everything is very clustered together, which can make it difficult to find what you're looking for. Additionally, it's prone to freezing and crashing on a fairly regular basis, sometimes not even allowing a user access for up to an hour or more. It's been my least favorite software to work with, unfortunately.

Jonathan
Ops/IT in US
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Solid performer

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Over all great product, highly recommend.

Pros:

The customer support, over the years they have been consistently great. When we need support they are there.

Cons:

originally DOS based some features still have some old traits and limitations, but newer builds continue to improve.

Abdo
Carrier Manager in
Industrial Automation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

not for fast paced work environments

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Bottom line with the software is:-
if you running large amount of fleet, booking large amount of freight, fast paced work environment where each operator constantly on the phone multi-tasking between 1 – 3 monitors/computers. I would never recommend it. This will change your attitude as the software will decrease your production ability. It’s made to make you Serve it.
if you small operating company with small amount of fleet, and if its priced right for you, I would recommend it.

Pros:

visual. colorful. Teach extra high level of patience.

Cons:

Slow Motion. Excessive unnecessary technical errors. Excessive amount of steps. Cannot utilize the software to serve YOU, the Software utilize YOU to serve it. “It’s like creating the beast that have no control over it”.

Shirley
Sales manager in US
Industrial Automation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A smart tms system

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is cloud based, so no need to worry when you forget to save before exit. It also connects with multiple loadboards, so our trucks get exposed to a lot of market place, easier for dispatch to get loads.

Cons:

We are a freight consolidator, so far we have not yet found any kind of software specialized in this funtion, including this software. It will be of great help if we can have some analysis function that can sort out LTL freights to the same destinations, right now we are doing by our own with human brain.

Jon
Terminal Manager in US
Food & Beverages
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Will make a person throw computers out windows,,,glass windows!

1.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I don't believe I like anything at all about this program

Cons:

Having to put the date and time for a function in 4 different places for each function. If each load has only three stops you have to enter times and dates in 12 different times. this adds up to lost revenue having to pay for all that time adds up at the end of the year

Stephen
Manager in
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Worst system

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: I would not recommend this sytem to any carrier as it is not support and not very functional.

Cons:

I have been in thetranportation industry for over 30 years worst system ever used. Way too many pop ups and the speed is seriously slow trying to keep up. Support is minimal.

Jake
Director of Vehicle Maintenance in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Been using it for a month and has become easier to us every day.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like being able to see what I have on hand in my inventory along with how much cost it is. It's nice to be able and see what tech is working on what unit live time also.

Cons:

So far the only complaints I have got from my techs is having to hit the post button every time they do something.

Bill
IT Director in
Package/Freight Delivery, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Software for the future stuck in the past

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: A 32 bit single threaded application based upon Borland code written in Powerbuilder that needs as much CPU cycles as you can give it just to run at a normal pace. The UI is confusing, boring, and does nothing to lead a dispatcher from one logical point to another. Because they are trying to sell to every tyupe of trucking out there, it performs equally poorly for all, and requires a year of consultants tweaking it for your business- a process I believe they do to generate revenue per hour.

Pros:

It ties into the accounting software and imaging software.

Cons:

Every other aspect of this is bad. It takes users a year to learn it. If you want your dispatchers to stay on paper give them this. Tech support is slow getting back on issues.

Miranda
Operations Manager in
Package/Freight Delivery, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

You get what you pay for

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: If you are looking for a program that gives you the basic, then this is it. Reports a basic and limited but if you are able to get everything in order from the get go then you will be good but if you don't start out on the right path it is hard to get things straight.

Pros:

Simple.

Cons:

Too Simple.