15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Sage 50cloud Accounting Reviews

About Sage 50cloud Accounting

Complete, out-of-the-box-desktop accounting software, with secure cloud and mobile access, for small & medium sized businesses.

Learn more about Sage 50cloud Accounting

Pros:

Sage has been the bread and butter of accountants across the UK for many years. Once you have learned how to use it, it is easy to use.

Cons:

The initial set up and everyday use can be a little intimidating and aggravation.

Sage 50cloud Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.5
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

6.8/10

Sage 50cloud Accounting has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 376 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage 50cloud Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (376)

Petter
Petter
Parish Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good, robust, accounting package

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I like the structured way the system is set up, and that it makes it very easy for seasoned accountants to work with the "nitty-gritty".

Cons:

I am not sure I would say there is anything I don't like, perhaps the one thing I find a bit complicated is the import function.

Veronica
CFO in UK
Music, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Why I love Sage 50cloud Accounting

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Sage 50cloud Accounting is very user friendly. I really like the look and feel of it and it is easy to navigate the various options.

Pros:

I love Sage 50cloud Accounting because its on the cloud and we can access it anywhere. We are a small business and it provides all the functionality we need to carry out our accounting needs.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike about Sage 50cloud Accounting

Sam
Financial Controller in UK
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product for a small entity - but you will outgrow

4.0 last week New

Comments: Good product for an SME but will outgrow it.

Pros:

Simple to use, flexible with ODBC connection possible.

Cons:

Not actually cloud based, connection to server can be slow.

James
Engineering Manager in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Major limitations for everything but the most simple operations

1.0 7 years ago

Comments: Want to do accounting? Sage 50 will do it almost as well as Quickbooks for a higher cost and with less support. It's also a lot harder to find an accountant that works with Sage and actually knows what they're doing. Want to buy and resell products? Sure, it'll mostly work. Want to use it for manufacturing/assembly? Forget it, Sage 50 can't do it properly and will cost you an incalculable amount in lost time and opportunity. No lot tracking, horrible reporting, no forecasting, only 5 user defined fields (none of which are very useful), no BOM variances, no part revisions allowed, no mass BOM update, etc.

Pros:

Better than chiseling on a stone tablet, though less reliable.

Cons:

Oh so many things: Database is SLOW No user workflows, cannot require approvals, checks, releases, etc. No ability to limit access to fields, or to require approvals on data entry Fields are not updatable in table views and require opening a screen for each item to update. Finding information in Sage is difficult, must search through multiple screens, reports, or excel spreadsheets to find date Order data exists in many separate views (SO, PO, WO, Invoice) without a single summary view of status. Sage50 items do not link – a line on a PO, SO, Quote, etc cannot be clicked to bring up the item card. The ID must be memorized and typed into another window, wasting valuable time Data import/export from/to Sage50 is time consuming and error prone Document templates are stored locally and must be manually updated per machine on change. One time use items or BOMs have to be added to part master to never be removed which clutters system, or have to be entered as a description items which severely limits usability. Cannot open multiple records when reviewing order history (or item cards, POs, Invoices, etc). Can only have one window for each type open at a time. No system discount levels Difficult to determine lead times for an assembly, have to start a pseudo work ticket and still can only determine current part availability that doesn't show when on order parts will arrive Sage can assign a user to a quote, but has no notifications to tell that user when the quote gets converted, updated, etc No material traceability, or lot tracking Routings do not exist – cannot track inventory moves from receipt to, inventory, picking, assembly, QA, etc Sage50 cannot record who received, assembled, tested, shipped, etc Cannot attach records or files to built items (final inspection reports, pictures, etc) Purchase planning is almost non-existent. Parts cannot undergo true revision. Changing the item ID results in changing entire system history Rev changes require creation of new ID and BOM update BOM changes are labor intensive BOM changes must occur individually and manually each time a part undergoes revision Variances are not allowed Cannot swap parts or revisions for a variance BOM, a complete new BOM must be created and all traveler paperwork reprinted When moving to a new revision, the old revision must remain in the BOM until consumed which results in Sage reporting the need to purchase the old revision instead of the new revision. Revision changeover must be manually watched and switched at point of consumption Sage has a field for “Preferred Vendor ID”, but no additional approved suppliers Single currency only Sage50 has updates that come out every year, but they only support the previous years version for another 6 months so you're forced into an upgrade if want any semblance of support (though it doesn't really count as support most of the time).

Jonathan
Jonathan
Head of Business Development in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Suberb Accounting Product for start ups/ SMEs

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Excellent product, great support, available to use anywhere
Highly recommended if you are looking for a blend of desktop/ cloud accounting experience.

Pros:

Ease of use Intuitive Great reporting suite Integrates easily into other applications Gives visibility into financial health and growth plans easily to allow us to focus on core business activities

Cons:

Need add-on's for customer management Need add-on's to get ready made dashboards and set kpi's

Dan
IT manager in UK
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

On premise title in a world of cloud-based products

3.0 last year

Comments: It used to be the only game in town, but nowadays, it needs a true cloud-based version which it doesn't have.As an on-premise software, it worked ok before we moved to work from home as everyone was in the office, so the connection to the server was made over the local LAN. Once WFH started, we had to move and use Sage Drive, an internet-based sharing tool. The data get out of sync fairly quickly. We now moved to a hosted solution but still used Sage50 as it's the only tool that can get the job done for us with our unique setup.

Pros:

That it's the only financial package that can transfer cost codes to our CRM system.

Cons:

The clunky thin server is called SagDrive.SageDrive is a service that allows sharing between a server and terminals via one central point (hosted by Sage). It is slow and gets quickly out of sync with the sage server.

Daniel
Accountant in Poland
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage slowly catching up with Xero, QuickBooks and others

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: It is definitely getting better and better but still lagging behind Xero or QuickBooks

Pros:

It now does most, if not all of the things expected from online software for bookkeeping and accounts.

Cons:

The feel is still old fashioned, not very intuitive, though for people coming from desktop Sage this should not be a problem. Still not many apps link with Sage, compared to e.g. Xero

Mark
Director in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good but could be better

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It does the job. Can be cumbersome at times. Lagging behind the competition.

Pros:

Customer support is great. Always get through to someone who can help solve issues.

Cons:

Playing a bad game of catch-up in terms of features and being cloud based.

Luiza
Manager in Romania
Newspapers, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cloud accounting

4.0 last month New

Comments: Very easy to use, overall Sage 50cloud Accounting is a great accounting mate.

Pros:

If you are used to Sage is very easy to use and setup. It includes a lot of helpful features and great reporting features. Support is great.

Cons:

Sometimes the loading speed is just awful (my internet connection is very fast, do not blame my side), slow loading. UI can be upgraded a little, but this is not a deal breaker.

Angela
Director in UK
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love Sage Accounting

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: It is an easy to understand software, account manger is always there as is the support team if you need them.

Pros:

Easy to use, Logical in the way it works, Great reports and brilliant support.

Cons:

I cant think of anything that would make me use another software

Aubrey
Accounting Manager in US
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Generally positive. Very easy to use. I've been using it for about 8 months and have found it easy to navigate.

Pros:

I like that you can delete journal entries if you posted it in error or need to make an adjustment. Other software would require you to do a separate journal entry to reverse the original entry. This software allows you to delete it as if it never happened. I like that because it helps keeps the GL looking clean.

Cons:

I wish there was a faster way to drill into invoices/payments that are tied together.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An Excellent product for SMB

5.0 last year

Pros:

Sage 50 is extremely easy to use and capable of adapting to most small to medium size business needs. Because Sage 50 has evolved there are also many partners available to help create custom reports, or extend the core functionality of Sage 50.

Cons:

Unfortunately, Sage 50 doesn't allow a lot of customization to workflows, data collection, etc. It also does not collect some key data that is imperative to doing business in today's age, such as Phone Numbers and Email Addresses when creating Quotes, Orders, and Purchases. This is critical data when working with customers. Sage 50 also limits the number of contacts associated with Customers and Vendors to 20? This isn't enough, and, why limit it?Lastly, Sage 50 offers a low Database Size before it becomes sluggish and somewhat unusable, forcing data purging.

Samantha
Director in UK
Pharmaceuticals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Has great potential but fails in it's execution

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have persevered with Sage because to change such critical software for a mature business of our size is not an easy task. The customer service is shocking. they simply aren't bothered that we having these issues. The software is not the cheapest but a switch isn't a cost saving exercise, it's a case of needing some software that functions the way it is supposed too!! We have lost all confidence in the system.

Pros:

The software on paper looks impressive, there are many features within Sage that assist the smooth running of the financial side of the business. The ability to run multiple accounts and currencies is ideal for companies that trade internationally. The bank reconcile is straight forward and effective. The reporting options are comprehensive and can be configured to suit the needs of your business.

Cons:

What really lets this software down is the implementation. We moved to cloud software to support more remote working and it has been an absolute nightmare. We have had daily issues. Data is continuously 'out of sync' which throws users off the system. We have found that we have lost data which for accounting is just unacceptable and not sustainable. We have lost quotes, invoices, bank reconciliations. Having to get staff to check their data entry and repeat work just defeats the point of having the software and undermines the principles of any book-keeping system.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Sage review

5.0 last year

Comments: fair enough for the job

Pros:

Is for small business and the accounting structure is perfect.

Cons:

Not all the adding modules are on cloud, some modules are only on Premise.

Andrew
Commercial Manager in UK
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and cost effective.

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been using Sage 50 for the past 4 year and I am extremely satisfied with the results. The software is user-friendly and easy to navigate, which has made it easy for me to manage and keep track of key accounts, income and expenses (PO’s)One of the things I like most about Sage 50 is the customisable dashboard, which allows me to see all important information I want at a glance. I can also create custom reports and track any metric I wish which has been extremely helpful.The software also integrates seamlessly with other tools and platforms, which makes it easy to share data with other team members.Overall, I highly recommend Sage 50 for anyone in need of a reliable and efficient accounting software. It has made managing the financial side of business so much easier and has given me the peace of mind to focus on growing the business.

Pros:

Easy to integrate and set up, updates don’t have an effect on the business and haven’t ever been detrimental to the “Day to day running”. Ability to add users as required is massively beneficial, raising orders, invoices and managing accounts/debtors is so simple.

Cons:

The frequency which it can freeze by trying to cancel an action, is very poor. Surly “cancel” should do just that.

Amish
Accounting Manager in
Philanthropy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sage 50 Accounting

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Sage 50 Accounting is ideal for the small business that is looking for a comprehensive, customizable core accounting solution that includes: A/P, A/R , well developedBilling, Invoicing, Inventory Management and Financial reporting. Sage 50 Accounting integration with Microsoft Excel, Outlook and PDF are some of its other features. Sage 50 Acwell-developed program that is great for the small business to keep their books organized. Sage 50 Accounting recognizes that small businesses may not need some of the more advanced features that some of its higher versions have. This is why Sage 50 features are pretty basic, providing support for tasks such as project management, costing, invoicing, reporting among others.

Pros:

Easy to Use. Ease of implementation. The flexibility of financial reporting. A functional software for small uncomplicated businesses. Integration with core Microsoft applications like Excel makes a good product for analytics export into a spreadsheet.

Cons:

It is very basic. And also does not have many capabilities. Finding Transactions can be a bit Tricky. Check printing has its own set of problem. Need to have a fair level of accounting knowledge to use it correctly.

Eric
Office Manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Save yourself some frustration and don't waist your money

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have uses Peachtree/Sage 50 for 22+ years. The cost of use has grown exponentially and the service is useless. Its imposable to find a telephone number for support. They route all support to their automated chat system that has no comprehension of actual problems. So, after 25/30 minutes of arguing with a computer trying to get a "real person", you may or may not get connected. Then you have to reverify all the same info you just gave to "Pegg" the computer. Once you finally reach a real person for "support", they will send you a link to a help article that you have already googled and tried. That's all the support you get! Good luck fixing it yourself.

Pros:

Hard to say. Its too expensive. Support is useless. Has lots of technical glitches. Backup is unreliable.

Cons:

tech support! Free tech support is included with the subscription. But if you can't talk with a real person, what's the point? When you get a real person, they only send you a "help article" that you can google.

Jason
CPA, CA in
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Used to be the standard for small business in Canada, but no longer.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have recently discovered Xero and moved my accounting practice to this software. It is so simple with the convenience of being cloud-based. I now recommend Xero to my clients and given its simplicity (yet still very powerful) I can foresee clients taking charge of their own bookkeeping and getting rid of their existing bookkeepers.

Pros:

Sage 50 was the accounting program I used to recommend to all my small business clients. Stable program that has most of the simple functions needed for most small businesses. Most used small business accounting software among my clients and almost all bookkeepers in our area use and have experience working solely with Sage 50.

Cons:

It's not the most user-friendly program and has a reputation of being difficult for non-bookkeepers and bookkeepers alike to use properly. Sage has been slow to make it more user-friendly and were behind in moving to cloud options. Personal experience is Sage support is very slow to respond to queries.

Holly
Director in UK
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great in depth accounting program for businesses that is super user friendly

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Its just a great tool, I have used other accounting software that no way near match up to Sage and cost more. I would highly recommend.

Pros:

I love how in-depth the data/ reporting is, whilst still being so user friendly. It is such a great tool for everyone at every level in the accounts department. I also love how good the support is, there are so many different ways to contact them for their expert advice.

Cons:

I don't have any negatives, Sage keep on top of things, offer upgrades/ updates when needed and also keep everyone in the loop if there is new legislation/ information coming out, all free of charge.

Karen
Head of Finance in UK
Professional Training & Coaching, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A very happy customer

5.0 last year

Comments: Our overall experience with Sage50 Cloud Accounting is very good. We have been using this software for many years and have never considered changing to an alternative. The software meets our companies needs and we are a happy customer.

Pros:

The product is very easy and straightforward to use and meets all our business needs.

Cons:

The overall visual look of the software changed several years ago, with the headers etc. changed to a basic grey colour. I personally found this extremely difficult on my eyes, especially when working on the software for several hours a day. This was definitely not an improvement in my opinion.

jscottu
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Sage Peachtree is better...not easier

4.0 11 years ago

Comments: I have used both for several years. There is no question that Sage/Peachtree is not as "user-friendly" as Quickbooks...at least for the first month or two. But as you begin to actually understand accounting and your bookkeeping goes on and on you discover some very frightening things about Quickbooks. They put everything onto one, big, gigantic database-unlike almost every other accounting system in the world. That has several disadvantages but the biggest is why quickbooks has a nickname..."slowbooks". If you complain loudly enough they will recommend you "start over" after a year or two by opening a new company for the new year. Their constant ads are something you can live with. But what if you've had quickbooks for 4 or 5 years and you want to put it on another computer because your older computer blew up? Sorry. You'll have to get the latest version. At least with peachtree that is not an issue (if you saved all 3 of the registration numbers needed). My biggest complaint about quickbooks, though, is that it lets you do anything you want. That sounds good for somethings. It's not good for accounting. Peachtree makes it harder to go off track (although you can certainly mess up your peachtree books as well). Another thing I like about peachtree (for me) is that the fonts are bigger and they don't try to put everything on one page. Quickbooks has tiny font but you can certainly see lots of stuff on every page. I really dislike quickbooks reports which also have tiny fonts but that is personal preference.

Pros:

Usually lower in price. It doesn't try to hide the "debits and credits" as much as quickbooks does. In the long run that is a good thing. You will learn real accounting much quicker with peachtree than quickbooks (and you should learn it anyway).

Cons:

Peachtree is not as popular as quickbooks so there are not as many "3rd party add ons" available. If there is some particular 3rd party add on you need to use and only quickbooks has it then the decision is made for you.

Omolayo
Business Consultant in Nigeria
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My experience with Sage 50cloud Accounting

5.0 last year

Pros:

Sage 50cloud is affordable compared to other accounting softwares. It is also very easy to navigate. I recommend for small business owners without accounting background.

Cons:

There is room for improvement. There should be a way to record invoices as partly or fully paid. Also no purchsse order and credit note functioning module.

Rachel
Partner in US
Airlines/Aviation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software if you know what you are doing

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Once I became familiar with this software and how to work my way around it, it has remained an integral part of our business accounting. The longer we use it, the more valuable it becomes. The sheer magnitude of accounting and business tracking capabilities is incredible.

Pros:

Sage is regularly updating and improving their software. There are many ways that you can make mistakes, but if you know what you are doing it is generally easy to fix said mistakes. The reports are a life saver when it comes time to do taxes or if I simply need to review something on an account.

Cons:

You will want at least a very basic accounting knowledge before trying to use this software if you are starting from scratch.

Diane
Bookkeeper in US
Computer Networking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 50cloud software review. Formally Peachtree

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Love it!! My preferred software program. Used Peachtree Software since the 90’s and then
went to this program with no problems.

Pros:

This software is very user-friendly. And pretty much walks you through every step. You have numerous chances to go back and edit before you submit. If you ever make a mistake it can always be fixed. This software is very easy to teach temporary workers or new employees.

Cons:

I am not real good with general ledger but it is hard to set up but once you do things work very well.

Sean
GM in Canada
Farming, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Beware the overpriced subscription! Use something else!!

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Terrible! I haven't felt as ripped off by anything to this level in years. I'm sure it's not legal what they are doing but am not a lawyer and not interested in the hassle. This leave me and probably many people like me to have to continue to be bullied into paying outrageous subscription costs because office staff are "used' to using it

Pros:

The accounting is fairly easy to use, accountants like using it

Cons:

The subscription model they have gone to is criminal! They literally disabled functionality in the software I paid for years ago and require a subscription if you want to use it.