Sage 50cloud Accounting Reviews

3.8 (292) Write a Review!

About Sage 50cloud Accounting

Complete, out-of-the-box-desktop accounting software, with secure cloud and mobile access, for small & medium sized businesses.

Learn more about Sage 50cloud Accounting

Pros:

Sage has been the bread and butter of accountants across the UK for many years. Once you have learned how to use it, it is easy to use.

Cons:

The initial set up and everyday use can be a little intimidating and aggravation.

Sage 50cloud Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.4
Features
3.6
Value for Money
3.4

Likelihood to recommend

6.6/10

Sage 50cloud Accounting has an overall rating of 3.8 out 5 stars based on 292 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage 50cloud Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (292)

Dovid
Dovid
Controller in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My prefered accounting software

5.0 last year

Pros:

The best thing about Sage 50 is that it is very difficult for anone to make a mess of things. The controls are very tight, ensuring that an ignorant employee cant mess things up.

Cons:

It is very rigid and stodgy Most reports cannot be shown across fiscal years. Little ability to customize reports.

Pauline
Admin in Canada
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good but it needs improvement

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: It makes invoicing, payroll and statements etc, easy to create and nice forms are printed for each area.

Pros:

It is quite straight forward and easy to learn and use. The documents that it outputs are nice looking.

Cons:

The one thing I find non appealing since a few updates are the colors of some of the screens. Makes it hard on the eyes and not easy to read some things

Shelley
CPA in Canada
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

SAGE 50 Rips you off

1.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Horrible.

Cons:

Customer Service - When you cancel your subscription, they keep charging your credit card for Months! I've been charged for 6 months after I cancelled my subscription, I've called more than once, and they just keep charging. Very unprofessional, fraudulent behaviour in my opinion. Wouldn't recommend to anyone!

cindy
IT in US
Financial Services Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage is awesome and you get the most for your buck

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: It is awesome. The software is very accurate for Accounting professionals

Pros:

Very accurate, reliable ease of use, they are the best yet for small business owners

Cons:

The payroll module is a little expensive compared to others

Tammi
Tammi
Owner/Senior Software Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 50 US Edition - The Complete Accounting Solution for Small to Medium Businesses

5.0 last month New

Comments: We've used the software for over 36 years, starting with Peachtree Accounting. It's a solid accounting system that follows GAAP compliance, with great reporting capabilities.

Pros:

Ease of use. Ease of installation. Great add-ons available.

Cons:

No electronic/ACH payments available for Vendors.

Mark
Director in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good but could be better

3.0 4 months ago

Comments: It does the job. Can be cumbersome at times. Lagging behind the competition.

Pros:

Customer support is great. Always get through to someone who can help solve issues.

Cons:

Playing a bad game of catch-up in terms of features and being cloud based.

Biff
Ownwr in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Can't get up and running

2.0 6 months ago

Comments: My account isn't having any troubles but as the business owner, it troubles me that the program won't let me set it up in my computer.

Pros:

It's nice when it works but it doesn't work on all my computers.

Cons:

Getting it set up for a shared company is next to impossible. I've been working with support for three months now trying to get this to work. It still doesn't work.

Sylvain
CEO in Canada
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 50

5.0 last month New

Comments: I use Sage 50 on a daily basis for me and my customers as we are a bookkeeping practice. It is the best software for us to work with. Easy to use and to maintain

Pros:

Ease of access and use. Simple process to manage day to day bookeeping

Cons:

some limitation can be reach if the business is growing faster

Anthony
Anthony
IT Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The standard in accounting software

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall the experience of using Sage 50cloud Accounting is positive, their support is fantastic and hiring new accounts staff is made easier because most have seen and used Sage software somewhere in their career.

Pros:

Generally speaking, Sage 50cloud Accounting is easy to use, assuming you have an accounts background and know where everything is supposed to go. If you have never used Sage software before it will benefit you to take a short online course to learn the basics. It is easy to implement and setup, with no special requirements, and integrates well with our Order Management system, our banking and HMRC.

Cons:

I feel like the software really needs to make use of a SQL/No-SQL based database system rather than the flat file-based system that it currently uses. If you are a very small business then you won't notice but we sit just at a level where the next size up of Sage product is too big. Using Sage 50cloud is frustrating once the amount of data reaches a certain size as it causes issues with performance.

Helen
Financial Contoller in UK
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage accounting

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Everything you need to make daily finance tasks easier.

Cons:

No option to close monthly periods so postings can be made historically in error.

John
Owner in Canada
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good...But A Little Expensive

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use the Canadian version of the software. I suspect it's basically the same as the American version, except for sales tax and payroll, but I would check a review of that version for any American users.

Pros:

Sage 50 is an easy-to-use piece of accounting software aimed at SMEs (small and medium-sized enterprises), and it is one of QuickBooks' major competitors. It's fairly easy to find people who are familiar with Sage 50. That's a plus for small businesses looking to find an employee or outside service provider to take care of their books. If you are looking to do the books yourself, Sage 50 is relatively easy to learn. They have thorough tutorials available to walk you through the basics. Major transactions are grouped together under tabs on the left-hand navigation panel. The various workflows--receivables, payables, inventory and services, employees and payroll, and a 'company' category--are all shown graphically. Each task within a major area is represented as a labeled icon, making it is to start a new transaction from this screen. The 'company' link is a catch-all category, including general journal entries, the chart of accounts and tools for managing your data and accounting tasks. Virtually every report that a small business could need is available in Sage 50.

Cons:

I found Sage 50 to be glitchy in the past. I have spent too many hours on hold or on a call with their tech support. I use the payroll-included version of Sage 50. I also have a support package. In all, that's not competitively priced. If it weren't for the fact that some clients have been using this software for years and are reimbursing me for the cost of the software, I would not be using it. QuickBooks is a better value.

Heidi
Accounting director in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to use, nice reports; troubleshooting and updates can be a pain

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I used this software for really basic accounting functions and used a separate CRM and ERP software that I just journaled information from into Sage. It was great for that and for the everyday AP, payroll and GL. Overall I really liked it and it gave me few problems. The issue was that when there was a problem, it was really time-consuming to fix and I often had to bring in outside tech support when Sage couldn't solve the problem, so it cost a lot of extra time and money a few times a year.

Pros:

I loved this program in that it seemed to be made for accountants, unlike some software that seems to be made for non-accountants. There are a lot of great reports to choose from, and each can be easily formatted to whatever file type you need. The payroll is awesome and easy to use.

Cons:

Updates can sometimes cost you functionality, which can be a real problem if you are in the middle of payroll. Payroll information is only available for the current and previous calendar years, which is tough when you are undergoing an audit or due diligence. Some reports have limited time range parameters, so if you have a fiscal year that doesn't fit into those parameters, it can be annoying to run more than one report and combine the information. Also, there was one formula in the tax functions that didn't provide the correct number for some states, you had to enter it manually, which made us provide incorrect information and pay penalties because of it. I tried to do a data transfer from one company in sage to another, and several files were corrupted and didn't make it over. At one point, I needed to have two companies open at once, and the windows did not title which company was which. I literally had to go into the the menu drop down to figure out which company was which. They looked identical, so it was a real pain.

martinho
General Manager in Portugal
Executive Office, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I have been using the sage billing system for several years. I recommend

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is software that has been with me daily for several years, I'm already in tune with the program, the experience is fantastic

Pros:

Very intuitive, easy to perform everyday tasks , Has very important sales charts, In the main frame we have all the necessary information, we don't need to go around opening several menus.

Cons:

In my case, I cannot reconcile with my accountant , It is not easy to layout invoices is not a very easy process

Samantha
Director in UK
Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Has great potential but fails in it's execution

3.0 7 months ago

Comments: We have persevered with Sage because to change such critical software for a mature business of our size is not an easy task. The customer service is shocking. they simply aren't bothered that we having these issues. The software is not the cheapest but a switch isn't a cost saving exercise, it's a case of needing some software that functions the way it is supposed too!! We have lost all confidence in the system.

Pros:

The software on paper looks impressive, there are many features within Sage that assist the smooth running of the financial side of the business. The ability to run multiple accounts and currencies is ideal for companies that trade internationally. The bank reconcile is straight forward and effective. The reporting options are comprehensive and can be configured to suit the needs of your business.

Cons:

What really lets this software down is the implementation. We moved to cloud software to support more remote working and it has been an absolute nightmare. We have had daily issues. Data is continuously 'out of sync' which throws users off the system. We have found that we have lost data which for accounting is just unacceptable and not sustainable. We have lost quotes, invoices, bank reconciliations. Having to get staff to check their data entry and repeat work just defeats the point of having the software and undermines the principles of any book-keeping system.

Prof Cephas
Prof Cephas
Investment Manager & CEO in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super Integrated Cloud Accounting and Finance app

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I found this accounting software to be very useful mainly to small and medium size companies and to a limited extent, to some large companies. It performs all the basic accounting functions relating to accounts receivables and accounts payables, inventory management, cash management and budgeting and compiling and producing financial statements.

Pros:

1. Sage 50c offers user friendly navigation tools such as the menu bar, the tool bar, system navigation and function and shortcut keys. 2. The software has cloud storage 3. A user can easily create and setup a new company using the Auto Setup facility 4. One can also easily create and edit general ledger accounts, inventory categories/items, supplier and customer accounts, among others. 5. A user can easily import/export data from other sources. This saves a lot of time. 6. The software is integrated with other apps, for example, Microsoft emails and excel

Cons:

1. Sage 50c requires proper and adequate training. The training is expensive 2. On average, it is expensive to buy this accounting package. 3. The integration with other apps (accounting and non-accounting) is still limited. 4. Sage 50c does not run on some operating systems, for example, windows NT.

Chris
President in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 50cloud - Good Small Business Accounting solution

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Sage 50 cloud overall is packed with features to allow companies to managed their accounting needs from A/R to A/P, Inventory, Payroll, and even Job Costing. It is a versatile solution for business that have 1 user, all the way up to a business with 40 users.

Pros:

Sage 50 is rock-solid from an accounting perspective. It also has very good built-in reporting, as well as the ability to integrate with very customizable and advanced reporting tools

Cons:

It is not quite as user friendly for non-accounting professionals as other solutions, and the "cloud" functionality is not reliable.

Brandon
Brandon
Installation Manager in US
Package/Freight Delivery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 50 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage has always been helpful through online or phone calls whenever you need them. Find the right consultant for you, and you experience improves.

Pros:

There is alot of things that are already set up for you to just hit the ground running and a lot of items integrated into the system to help small businesses that need a solution but no time to customize a whole system.

Cons:

Sage 50 allows for minimal customization from their out of the box set up software. This plays as an advantage, but does not allow you to get the information you want in the view you want.

Iain
Mr in UK
Industrial Automation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tried and tested product with 1 foot in the cloud

5.0 last year

Comments: Used for 15+ years with minimal issues. Support were always great when needed. We 'outgrew' it not in terms of number of users or quantity of data but the ability to join up more business processes and to work in a more modern cloud-based way

Pros:

Accountants are very familiar with this - almost an industry standard. Core accountancy functions are strong

Cons:

Some aspects are hard for non-accountants to understand the terminology. Cloud implementation is only partial, Its a dektop product with uploads and synchronisation to other computers via cloud. We suffered several disconnects and issues that needed the remote stations to be re synced losing work. Some of the more peripheral aspects (Sales orders, purchase orders, stock management) had some limitations and there were several places where it was easy to accidentally mark every quote in the system as won if you did not have anything selected. No link to cloud payroll from sage - needed the much more expensive desktop software or manually enter payroll data into Line 50 every month

Amish
Accounting Manager in
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sage 50 Accounting

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Sage 50 Accounting is ideal for the small business that is looking for a comprehensive, customizable core accounting solution that includes: A/P, A/R , well developedBilling, Invoicing, Inventory Management and Financial reporting. Sage 50 Accounting integration with Microsoft Excel, Outlook and PDF are some of its other features. Sage 50 Acwell-developed program that is great for the small business to keep their books organized. Sage 50 Accounting recognizes that small businesses may not need some of the more advanced features that some of its higher versions have. This is why Sage 50 features are pretty basic, providing support for tasks such as project management, costing, invoicing, reporting among others.

Pros:

Easy to Use. Ease of implementation. The flexibility of financial reporting. A functional software for small uncomplicated businesses. Integration with core Microsoft applications like Excel makes a good product for analytics export into a spreadsheet.

Cons:

It is very basic. And also does not have many capabilities. Finding Transactions can be a bit Tricky. Check printing has its own set of problem. Need to have a fair level of accounting knowledge to use it correctly.

Randy
Accounting Manager in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Sage 50 'Quantum' Canadian is very stable but limited. No significant new features for last 4 years.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Pros:
- Sage 50 Canadian is very stable, any 'crash' is almost always a hardware or operating system issue.
- Vendor technical support is prompt and helpful.
- Uses a solid 'Enterprise-grade' back end database.
- ODBC is free, and included.
- Free SDK is available.
Cons:
- Response to bugs is to provide work-arounds
- No significant new features since 2011.
- Screen designs are stuck on 1988. Data entry fonts are unusably tiny on modern monitors, and can't be adjusted.
- Features and prior bundled software has been removed, no longer supported, or flat out disabled:
. web store integration,
. Crystal Reports,
. ACT! CRM integration
. Simply HR Manager
- Numerous limitations in the 'Quantum' version to prevent use by all but the smallest companies:
. no transaction reports show purchase order numbers,
. ship-to addresses are limited to 99,
. multiple vendor shipping addresses are not supported at all
. if using multiple 'locations', inventory reports are wrong due to wrong beginning onhand.
. Multiple shipments to / from a single invoice are not supported.
. No way to report on Purchase Order vs invoice purchase amounts or pricing.
. No reports

- Designed for Accountants, not for business operations.
. 'Job Tracking' will record what you put in, but not tell you what to bill out.
. Year end process is unnecessarily convoluted and cumbersome for the business.
. Inventory 'available' isn't displayed during invoicing, only 'On Hand'.
. Only 2 years of sales statistics are tracked - current and prior year. Since current is always opened before the prior year is completed, there is never any point in time where a comparative report is of any use.
. Canned reports are inadequate and can't be customized.
- Time Tracking to Invoicing only works if you never have separate jobs for a single client - and who wouldn't?
- Inventory statistics are broken - Quantities are correct, but adjustments rack up the statistics on number of transactions (one sale, adjusted two times will show as 5 transactions)
- Virtually all inventory, sales, and purchase detail reports show all adjusted and reversed transactions, but don't output any indicator that they are just dead, junk data.
- Few third party software integrations
- Other Sage software does not work with it AT ALL. (Asset tracking, Time & Billing, CRM)

Jason
CPA, CA in
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Used to be the standard for small business in Canada, but no longer.

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have recently discovered Xero and moved my accounting practice to this software. It is so simple with the convenience of being cloud-based. I now recommend Xero to my clients and given its simplicity (yet still very powerful) I can foresee clients taking charge of their own bookkeeping and getting rid of their existing bookkeepers.

Pros:

Sage 50 was the accounting program I used to recommend to all my small business clients. Stable program that has most of the simple functions needed for most small businesses. Most used small business accounting software among my clients and almost all bookkeepers in our area use and have experience working solely with Sage 50.

Cons:

It's not the most user-friendly program and has a reputation of being difficult for non-bookkeepers and bookkeepers alike to use properly. Sage has been slow to make it more user-friendly and were behind in moving to cloud options. Personal experience is Sage support is very slow to respond to queries.

Ishrat
Accountant in Malta
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Sage 50 to suit your business

5.0 last week New

Comments: As the business i use Sage50 Accounts professional for uses departments to analyze the income and expenditure I found Sage has definitely help with the production of the require analytical reports. The processing of invoices and receipts is so much easier to manage and process.

Pros:

I have been using Sage for over 25 years and have seen the improvements in the software. I would recommend this product for business finance management. I have always been able to produce all the required reports using the functions Sage have made available. The product is good for SME's. Can be used anywhere when on the cloud. Easy for your accountant to log in to complete your year end.

Cons:

Department features could be improved, I feel the reports are limited. Reports as in the nominal codes tab would be beneficial.

Sarah
Business Owner/Accountant in US
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It gets the job done!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The software is pretty self explanatory meaning I don't believe new users would require additional training in order to use the product. I think if they would develop a better adjustment scenario (ie. Journal Entry adjustments) I think this product would rate up there with QuickBooks. This product is definitely worth the look!

Pros:

The customer service at Sage is extremely helpful! I have had to call multiple times, and each and every time they patiently help me through my problem. I think it's great if you have a small to medium sized manufacturing business and want something to keep track of everything.

Cons:

Comparing the software to QuickBooks, I think there is a lack of efficiency in entering Journal Entries especially when you happen to find a problem that originated in a prior year. Other than that, I think the software is great for recording daily transactions and keeping track of inventory (for small to medium businesses).

Barry
Barry
Accountant in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

28 Years and counting

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Very good, have loved my interaction with some great cleint managers over hte years and we have all benefited.

Pros:

I have used this software for 28 years from DOS to version 28. Its always delivered when required and good support when needed.

Cons:

Recent prices changes have been a challenge and too much for some cleints.

Christine
Accounts Manager in UK
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My favourite accounting software by a clear mile - Sage is in its own league

5.0 4 days ago New

Comments: I love using sage, i use daily in our business, if ever i need assistance from a Sage expert they are available by phone, online chat, or you can jump in daily webinars that run all day for a quick bit of help/ advice. I would never use a different accounts programme, sage has no limitations.

Pros:

Its so user friendly, its so easy to teach people how to use it when they are new to sage. It has an incredible amount of detail in its reporting features - it is very clever, it links with outlook - you can get very inexpensive add ons to aide with credit control. Its so cheap compared to other systems yet so much more efficient. Sage will always be in its own league when compared to others.

Cons:

I have no cons to report, I have found zero issues/ cons whilst working with it for over 10 years.