Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About HSI

HSI is the leader in safety training, workforce development content, and compliance solutions.

Learn more about HSI

Showing 50 reviews

Ben L.
Safety Director
Utilities, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-07

"Online Training"

Comments: We have been users for years and will continue moving forward.

Pros: This training allowed me to track all of our compliance training to ensure we were meeting the requirements. It also allowed our employees the flexibility to take the training when it worked best for their schedules.

Cons: At first it did not work well with tablets but now there are very few issues.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-08

Hi Ben, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-07
Bryce H.
Corporate Environmental, Health and Safety
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-21

"Vivid Learning Systems Safety Training Review"

Pros: I like the fact that the training is interactive and keeps the users engaged.

Cons: We have had issues over several years with certain training courses loading properly in order for users to complete the training. We have followed the recommendations that we are able to complete on our end. Vivid has taken no action to correct the problem on there end even after bringing to their attention on multiple occasions.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2021-05-24

Hi Bryce, thanks for leaving us a review. We've notified our success team about your concern for further investigation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-21
Rich L.
Safety Coordinator/Shop Supervisor
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-08

"VIVID/Pillar computer-based safety training"

Comments: Overall experience with HSI personnel has been excellent.
Very personable and willing to help. Support has always been prompt.

Pros: Functionality is flawless; not glitchy at all. Ease of use for students is very good; even my less PC savvy people have no issues. Ease of use from an Admin standpoint is a little more involved. There is a somewhat steeper learning curve with the refreshed software.(Pillar) Most of this is due to the level of options available to you.
You can report on virtually every facet of the program, and configure it in every way imaginable.
While this is great from a flexibility standpoint, until you figure out exactly what you need and what you don't, it can be a little daunting. Overall though, very well laid out and easy to navigate.

Cons: There are almost too many features now, if that can be considered a negative.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Rich, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-08
Katie M.
Safety & Insurance Coordinator
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-08

"10/10 Recommend"

Comments: HSI has helped my company increase safety training compliance. My team is so much more willing to complete the HSI classes than the online classes we had used before through a different program. The amount of classes and the variety of topics covers everything we could need for our diverse workforce.

Pros: I highly recommend HSI. My company started using this software for our monthly safety training classes about a year and a half ago. The product is great - the classes are interactive, interesting and easy to digest. The site is very user friendly. The customer service team at HSI is also phenomenal. Anytime I have an issue or a question, they have been responsive and extremely helpful. They made the transition to this software easy and painless.

Cons: In the initial rollout there were a few bugs in the software. The team at HSI actively worked to resolve those though and everything is working fine now.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-10-11

Thanks for the review, Katie! We're happy you've had such a great experience since switching to HSI!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-08
Richard S.
Training Director
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-15

"HSI OSHA"

Pros: My experience with HSI has been great. We were not able to hold in-person OSHA 10 and 30 classes so we were in need of a trustworthy online host. HSI has the pricing and service that our electrical apprenticeship needed. Kudos HSI and thank you!

Cons: There were no issues that I would report as unsatisfactory

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Richard, thanks for leaving us a great review! We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-15
Danella P.
Compliance Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-22

"Great product"

Pros: We have been using HSI for 3 years now, the platform for training their chemical database are very user friendly and easy to navigate. Their customer service team works quickly to resolve any issue that may arise.

Cons: Training videos could be updated, but they serve the purpose we need them for and are interactive.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Danella, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-22
Dominic D.
Corporate Safety Manager
Wholesale, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-07

"Corporate Safety Manager"

Comments: HSI (Vivid Learning) has been excellent in providing me with helpful information and suggestions on training content for our employees. This include materials outside of our package content, at reasonable prices. Their customer service people have gone above and beyond my expectations.

Pros: Topics are current and meet todays training and educational requirements. Because we are able to load them onto our own LMS site, student/employee access is convenient and makes it user friendly.

Cons: We do a lot of classroom training at our DC's and sometime the classroom (handouts) are a little sparse.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-08

Hi Dominic, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-07
Brandy B.
Corporate Environmental and Safety Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-08

"Great Safety, HR, and Computer Training"

Comments: Saves the EHS professional time for in-person training (minimizes this). It is also a great way to track all trainings and a leading indicator.

Pros: The software allows new employees to be entered into the system quickly to get their training started immediately. The software is user friendly. If the users have problems, customer service great at helping. The content is accurate and is updated often. The storylines and animation are also great. From an admin side, the software allows reports to be run, and makes a leading indicator easy to have (the % of people who are in compliance with their training). It helps decrease the number of working hours that the EHS Professional or Supervisors have to put in for training, because this system does it. They also track any other trainings that you want to have (live events) that are not included in the software. I would 100% recommend this training software to companies.

Cons: It would be nice to send an email out to all delinquent users (they may already have this and I do not know of it). I know the email goes out for 1 day overdue, 15 days overdue, etc, but I would like to make my own and send it out.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Brandy, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-08
Kevin P.
Administrative Captain
Public Safety, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-20

"New User"

Comments: Very good.

Pros: Professional video production and wide variety of training topics.

Cons: Unable to list any areas for improvement due to only using the software for a short time.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Kevin, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-20
Kristine S.
Claims Manager/Corporate Paralegal
Environmental Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-20

"Review of HSI"

Comments: The website is easy to use, and the HSI staff are always available to assist with any questions.

Pros: Ease of use; depth of information available

Cons: Unable to export a list of employees certified to teach CPR/FA

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Kristine, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-20
Suzanne S.
Operations Manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-08

"Helpful"

Comments: Love the customer support, they are always very helpful and quick to respond. We find it very useful when trainings are needed for our clients.

Pros: Ease of use when signing up for trainings. Easy to navigate around the website.

Cons: We have experienced difficulties with the Part 48 New Miner training and the online virtual training. Part 46 & 48 certificates are a poor design with the need for more information on them.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-10-11

Thank you for the review, Suzanne. We're so happy that you love our support team as much as we do! We'll pass along your information about parts 46 and 48 to our product team as we're continuously focused on improving our content. Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-08
Jeff O.
Corporate Safety Manager
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-09

"My experience with Vivid"

Comments: My Sales Rep is great and has been great at asking and answering questions. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been great! I have a Customer Service Rep that is both knowledgeable and responsive. He also knows how to ask the right questions without being condescending. He is a know-it-all, but doesn't act like one.

Pros: The ease of use and the quality of the graphics and animation

Cons: I'd like more lessons, but I don't think I like anything the "least"

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Jeff, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-09
John T.
Operations Manager
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-04

"HSI is the choice to use for LMS training"

Comments: It has been fantastic!

Pros: Very easy to set up to get people the training they need. They update the training, so it does not become stagnant

Cons: Some reports are not exactly what I need....but one call to customer service and they will run it for you

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-07

Hi John, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-04
Johnny G.
Mentor Recruiter
Individual & Family Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-27

"Fast and convenient!"

Comments: Great product, would recommend.

Pros: It's easy to use and convenient, the information is clear.

Cons: A better way to track student progress without having to provide an email address.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Johnny, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-27
Jerod L.
Administrative Assistant
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-08

"Excellent Customer Service"

Comments: HSI is an excellent training platform for our organization but the outstanding customer service is the primary reason I would recommend HSI to others. Great communication, product knowledge and service from the HSI staff members.

Pros: An effective and user friendly platform for staff training. Reports are easy to read.

Cons: Site navigation could be improved in a few places.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Jerod, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-08
Courtney L.
Cross Connection/Safety
Utilities, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-15

"HSI Safety Helps small utility"

Comments: A good investment

Pros: Ease of installation, use, and customer support

Cons: Integration was seamless and use is easy for all.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Courtney, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-15
Chris B.
Safety Manager
Utilities, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-21

"Product review"

Comments: Good

Pros: It was easy to navigate once in place, people were accessible for assistance when needed even with time differences. curriculum was good, easy to follow

Cons: It would nice with a bit more current videos, be able to include some of the OSHA courses without extra $$$

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Chris, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-21
Samantha C.
Controller
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-29

"Thanks for all your help and service"

Comments: GREAT!

Pros: Customer Service ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) has always been so quick to help and respond to any needs AUS Diving has needed.

Cons: NA - nothing

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Samantha, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-29
Carlo C.
Fire Chief
Public Safety, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-26

"Very Satisfied"

Comments: Our overall experience has been very good. Our questions are always answered in a timely manner.

Pros: The software is very easy to navigate and the customer service is great. It is a great value for the price we pay.

Cons: I have yet to run into something negative in our experience with this software.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Carlo, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-26
Randi P.
Occupational Health and Safety Specialist
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-04

"Great Out of the Box Software"

Pros: The HSI software allowed our institution to immediately get necessary training into the hands of our employees, and was invaluable especially at the beginning of the pandemic

Cons: I would like to use the 5 minute library outside the LMS, but the content is still great.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-07

Hi Randi, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-04
Erik C.
B.S.T. Coordinator
Public Safety, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-10

"HSI and VIVID"

Pros: We used this software for our university training, both for OSHA and Lab safety.
It is an amazing product and easy to implement and use. We are required to bid this every five years. I hope to get this vendor every bid cycle.

Cons: I don't have any to mention that are large enough to worry about.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Erik, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-10
Linda T.
HR Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-27

"HSI is Great!"

Comments: HSI is great! I am really glad we switched over to them. Not only do they provide a great level of support but they saved our company a lot of money.

Pros: I really have enjoyed using the HSI platform. It makes it easy for me to administer our First Aid/CPR program for all of our employees and instructors. If I have any questions, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and her team at HSI are so fast and responsive about getting back to me. They are a joy to work with.

Cons: It took me a minute to learn it and some of the options are not in the most obvious of places. But once I learned the program, I can now use it easily.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Linda, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-27
Walter G.
Sr Development MGr
Commercial Real Estate Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-08

"Diverse National Training achieved"

Comments: Have been able to deploy National training for various different teams to achieve overall improvement in training quality and delivery, improved compliance, and improved ability to report on training.

Pros: Content, ability to add content, and flexibility

Cons: Course assignment and on-going changes are a bit complicated (but plenty of support from the team)

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-12-22

Hi Walter, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-08
Sue O.
HR Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-14

"Vivid Software Review"

Comments: The team is very quick to respond when any issues or questions arise and offers good suggestions to facilitate changes, user experience, etc.

Pros: The software is easy to deploy, track and create reports with.

Cons: There's 3-4 weeks of downtime as you're moving into a new calendar year while the team makes the training updates. There have been a few glitches where the software can't be programmed to accommodate individual company training needs.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2020-11-03

Hi Sue, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-14
Shirl W.
VP of Quality and EH&S
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-23

"Elevating Training Program"

Comments: The level of customer service provided by HSI/VIVID Learning Systems has been exceptional. I appreciate their level of commitment to helping us solve training challenges and provide new tools and materials, on a regular basis.

Pros: Employees at all levels of the organization were able to adapt to the user interface quickly. The EH&S training material that is an integral part of the licensing agreement added a lot of value by ensuring continuity in training, flexibility for employees, and compliance to regulatory and other legal requirements.

Cons: The reporting features need to be more robust, including having a dashboard that shows performance to planning real time.

Vendor Response

by HSI on 2021-02-03

Hi Shirl, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-23