Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Hi5

Simple cloud solution that lets employees recognise and rate each other. Hi5 measures Appreciation, Goals, Culture and Happiness!

Learn more about Hi5

Filter reviews (146)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Hi5 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (146)

Michelle M.
Michelle M.
Campaign Strategy and Management in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Team spirit

5 2 years ago

Comments: Using Hi5 encourages healthy growth and development, and generally, our team is happier and more productive as a result.

Pros:

Integrating ratings into the software enables team members to have an accurate understanding of true value. Using Hi5 has also elevated team spirit and encourages team members in areas of growth and development.

Cons:

Self-ratings. But that is more to do with the fact that one has to self analyse value, rather than the software itself.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Michelle! Wow, we love what we're hearing - it's great news that your team is happier and more productive since using Hi5! When it comes to self-ratings, it's a great way to reflect on your personal growth at your company. With our new Pulses feature Admins can toggle Self-ratings on/off. Please feel free to reach out again if you have any more feedback for us! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Frederick C.
Frederick C.
software developer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Overal review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

- you can motivate your co-workers by giving them good reviews and comments in the form of a 'hi5' whenever they do remarkable work. - Let the rest of the organisation also know of other departments' good work in the form of hi5's

Cons:

- none actually i use the software mostly towards month end to rate my co-workers' work based on the month's work

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Chigwasa! Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to know that you enjoy using Hi5 and you're finding value in it! Please let us know if there are any other features we could add that would make you want to use Hi5 every single day? Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Verified Reviewer
Company Secretary in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5 is the glue of our team

5 2 years ago

Comments: I enjoy the application immensely but will say that there needs to be a constant effort in terms of how we engage and at what points. I find that sometimes I forget to put a high5 on the platform and then weeks go by without taking the time to acknowledge a colleague. Perhaps the app can start to grow out into integration on Gmail and other platforms to make it easier to give praise quickly and seamlessly within the workday.

Pros:

The best part about High5 is that it actively promotes feedback and recognition in the workplace. This has proven benefits to team morale and positive culture. High5 makes it easy and entertaining to make sure you visit the platform regularly! Its visually dynamic layout brings a welcome break to the average day on the desktop, I find myself sometimes revisiting old High5's just to get the boost again.

Cons:

The software is still being developed and it is sometimes a little bit cumbersome to look at or get around. There can be an improvement in the 'flow' from screen to screen. Some times the GIF function does not work and it only displays partially on the wall.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi there! Thank you for leaving us a great review :) Please reach out if you ever need some help! Email [email protected] Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Alex F.
motion Graphic Designer in South Africa
Media Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5 review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

I like the fact that it gives everyone in the company the ability to review each other and see who is delivering on being a Hi5 worthy employee. It gives the people who would otherwise fly under the radar for their achievements an opportunity to be recognized for their efforts.

Cons:

the recognition is departmentally based. What I mean by this is that only the people that you interact with on an everyday basis have the option of giving you a Hi5. This makes it easier for employees who are interacting with multiple departments across the company to get Hi5's, no matter how hard the 'limited' employees may try to get Hi5's, it all depends on the people they are in contact with. This has the possibility of having the adverse effect of the softwares' aim by decreasing morale as the effort would not reflect as the employee would hope.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Alex! Thanks so much for leaving your review of Hi5! We'd love to chat more about what you're experiencing regarding Hi5-giving? There is no limitation on who is allowed to receive & give Hi5's in your company (Everyone can give recognition on Hi5!). You can Hi5 anyone in your company who has activated their account (if you can't find them easily on your list, try searching by name). If this person hasn't activated their account yet, you will be able to send them a reminder to activate (invite via Desktop only), but will only be able to Hi5 them once they're active. Please reach out to us at [email protected] so we chat about this :) Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Dielah J.
Admin in South Africa
Accounting Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

very good

5 2 years ago

Comments: they will always remind you

Pros:

when you can compliment someone and get feedback back

Cons:

nothing they are good the way they are they must not chances

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Dielah! WOW thanks for your stellar review! We really appreciate your feedback. Please hit us up at [email protected] if you ever need some assistance. Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Cristelle S.
Head of Content, Social & PR in South Africa
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

What a great way to share appreciation

4 2 years ago

Comments: Hi5 is a great tool for improving internal communication and building team morale - it's inspiring to see deserving team members being recognised for their hard work!

Pros:

I love how Hi5 encourages team members to share appreciation on everyday tasks - what a great way to motivate each other! I also enjoy reading team updates on the platform rather than sending emails - all company news is now kept in one one central place. Thanks Hi5!

Cons:

On my android phone I can't add GIFS when I Hi5 team members - I know my colleagues with iPhones doesn't have the same problem. Please fix that! :)

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Cristelle! WOW we love what we're reading - deserving co-workers getting recognition for a job well done If you're unable to add GIFs on your Android app, you may need to update to our latest version! Please go to your Play store > My Apps, then tap on Hi5 and Update. Reach out to us at [email protected] if you're stuck! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Alison K.
HR Administrator in South Africa
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hi5 is really easy to use and the SUPER easy to implement and train the team on.

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use Its different from any other performance management systems Instant recognition Builds team morale

Cons:

I can't think of anything negative about this product. It really is very simple to use and implement in the business.

Hi5 Technologies Response

3 years ago

Hi Alison! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate your feedback! Please let us know what we can improve on? Warm regards, Sharné Hi5 Hero

Thami D.
Learning and Development Manager in South Africa
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for launching

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The software is great for creating awareness, and gets a lot of activity and engagement form the employees. I found it very easy to access and use.

Cons:

I am not sure how much training was done to ensure that the communication around the system complements it. if maybe the administrators of the system can be assisted with some guidance of how to incorporate the system to a bigger change process, be it culture or values, but it can't be a stand alone, neither can it be regarded as a culture change system.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Thami! We really appreciate your review and the feedback on training Admins on a change system as a whole, with Hi5 as a tool to facilitate this. We have Hi5 partners all over the world who can assist in implementing culture change and growth in larger companies like Kia. You can check them out at www.get5.io/partners-directory Please reach out to us at any time if you have more juicy feedback - we love it! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Aqeela H.
Talent business partner in South Africa
Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5 for Hi5

4 2 years ago

Comments: Great, I really enjoy the programme and I feel that it has made a great impact in our area.

Pros:

I enjoy the interaction and the ease of access. I love that it has so many different feature even though we do not make us f it all

Cons:

Sometimes I feel that the prcess to navigate is a bit tedious

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Aqeela! Thanks so much for leaving us a great review! We hope that with our upcoming updates you will find Hi5 much easier to navigate (and more fun to use!) Warm regards, The Hi5 team

Verified Reviewer
Office Manager in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Impressed!

4 2 years ago

Comments: I enjoy it. I think it brings strangers closer

Pros:

It creates a sense of unity in our company, which is important considering how scattered we are. It provides a new and less formal platform that email to express feelings.

Cons:

It can create some competition and deceitfulness if the results are used for salaries. It also excludes people who may be doing great work but aren't as social/ well known by others :(

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi there! We're absolutely over the moon to hear that you're impressed with Hi5! The cons you listed, sounds like a culture problem - Hi5 is a tool to facilitate conversations around feedback and recognition, in order to bring a positive change to your culture! Please reach out to us at [email protected], then we could look at helping you out with this! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Verified Reviewer
Associate in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Matter

5 last year

Comments: The benefit is that people can have a say about what they think - they probably wouldn't do that otherwise and it can lead to fruitful conversations.

Pros:

It is very easy to use. Getting feedback about what people think is helpful.

Cons:

It relies on people remembering to do it. The email can be buried under others in the inbox. An auto SMS reminder might help.

Hi5 Technologies Response

last year

Hi there! Thanks so much for leaving such a great review of Hi5! We love your suggestion of SMS notifications, but have you tried our mobile app? You can get app notifications straight to your phone! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Mamaidi M.
Consultant in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5 - Review

4 2 years ago

Comments: encourage co-worker recognition and feed into performance reviews.

Pros:

It was my first time hearing about this s/ware and also the first time I used it. The app is great to get colleagues engaged. It captures peer to peer reviews that could have otherwise gone unnoticed or unspoken. I also like the fact that there are reports that the organisation can generate

Cons:

it will great to increase the Hi5 limit per week.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Mamaidi! Wow, we love what we're hearing here: we want all companies to benefit from more engaged employees! At the moment, you're only allowed 5 x Hi5's per week so that each Hi5 can carry more currency and really matter. Hope this makes sense? If you've got questions for us, reach out to [email protected] Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Jake W.
Account Manager in South Africa
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5's are for free

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Boosting company morale and recognising colleagues efforts

Cons:

That there are no cons to write about in this review

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hey Jake! We love your sense of humour ;P thanks for the great review. If you ever do find some cons to Hi5, please let us know so we can keep improving! Email [email protected] Sincerely, The Hi5 Team

Prabir S.
Intelligent Automation Engineer in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5 as a company recognition tool

5 2 years ago

Comments: Very positive. The tool really makes it easier for me to give recognition to my colleagues when they deserve it. Previously there was no way to track this, generally would just be a pat on the back.

Pros:

Ease of use and the ability for anyone in the company to leave a recognition comment out for you. Having an app available makes it easy to do this at any time of day and wherever you are

Cons:

Minor issues with the app that I am sure will be addressed.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Prabir! Wow we are so glad to hear that Hi5 is helping you give recognition at Digiblu, which was not being measured before. Please reach out to us with any minor issues you may experience, so that we can continue making Hi5 better! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Jacques L.
Director in South Africa
Accounting Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Facilitating a culture of gratitude

3 2 years ago

Pros:

Having a trendy and fun to use a platform to encourage and acknowledge great performance. The platform helps to facilitate a culture of gratitude.

Cons:

It would be great to be able to "bank" Hi5's if all Hi5's for the week has already been used in order to use it the next week.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Jacques! Thanks so much for your review, as well as your suggestion to carry over Hi5's. The reason why we limit it to 5 x Hi5's per week, and give a fresh batch each week, is to promote better quality Hi5's as the limitation adds some currency to recognition-giving. If you have any other suggestions, please send them to us at [email protected]! Sincerely, The Hi5 Team

Verified Reviewer
Software Developer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Happier Employees

5 2 years ago

Comments: It promotes recognition of everyone in an organisation. People often put in a lot of work which goes unnoticed and Hi5 changes that. It integrates into other applications using Hi5's software APIs.

Pros:

It allows recognition and helps screen data of how an entire organisation is performing through the input of everyone. This is beneficial for improving company culture.

Cons:

Not much can be disliked about Hi5 other than that the graphical theme and elements can be improved.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hey there! Thanks so much for leaving your stellar review! If you ever need some help, please reach out to us at [email protected]

Grant V.
Operations Manager in South Africa
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Grant Villet SNC-Lavalin South Africa

5 2 years ago

Comments: We used the Hi-5 happiness survey to baseline our staff's happiness factor within the business. This enabled us to focus on key areas, some which we were not aware of. It was also encouraging that is some of the areas where we thought we were lacking we were actually doing quite well

Pros:

Easy to use. The app has a real people purpose. People need recognition. A little goes a long way.

Cons:

Nothing comes to mind. The software is extremely user friendly

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Grant! Thank you for leaving a 5-star review of Hi5! Please let us know if you ever get stuck or have some suggestions: [email protected] Warm regards, The Hi5 Crew

Chantel V.
HR Systems Administrator in South Africa
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5 for Hi5

4 2 years ago

Comments: I am using it as a platform to acknowledge staff members that participate in CSR initiatives. This will hopefully encourage other staff members participation.

Pros:

Great way to quickly and easily acknowledge a colleague.

Cons:

Installing software on different platforms a bit cumbersome. Only works with certain browsers etc.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Chantel! Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear you have been struggling with using Hi5 on your browsers - have you tried our Mobile/Desktop apps just yet? Check them out at www. get5.io/app and let me know what you think! Sincerely, Sharne Hi5 Hero

Darlene M.
Intelligent Automation Engineer in South Africa
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hi5

4 2 years ago

Pros:

I liked how easy it is to recognize colleagues in the form of a Hi5 and being able to view other peoples Hi5's and being able to comment on those.

Cons:

Being able to give only 5 Hi5's a month. I wish I could recognize more team members every month.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Darlene! Happy Thursday! Thank you for leaving a good review of Hi5! Regarding the amount of Hi5's you get, you are able to give 5 x Hi5's per week (not month)! If you're still unsure or need help, please mail us at [email protected] Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Marele F.
Head of Operations in South Africa
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hi 5 feedback

3 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a great tool, and is working for what we need it to.

Pros:

Great tool for receiving compliments and feedback from internal staff. We have been using this as a monthly review tool to incentivize staff members who have performed well.

Cons:

Slow when giving high fives, and wanting to give another.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Marele! Thank you for leaving us a review! We're excited to see that Hi5 is helping WiGroup get better! We're aware that some users experience Hi5 to work a bit slower - there could be multiple reasons for this, so please reach out to us so we can help you troubleshoot and solve the issue. A Hi5 Hero is always ready to assist at [email protected] Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Francois D.
Teacher in South Africa
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very Interactive and Supportive

5 last year

Comments: Still learning but seems like a fun and productive app

Pros:

The look and feel of it, it is vibrant and interacts a lot with its customers

Cons:

Less intuitive than desired, the menus and navigation seems vague.

Hi5 Technologies Response

last year

Hi Francois! Thanks so much for leaving your review! We really appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to get better! If you ever need some help, please reach out to us on the in-app Support chat or email [email protected] Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Kash A.
claims and underwriting in South Africa
Insurance Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

remarkable contribution

5 3 years ago

Comments: the impact it had on our team is phenomenal , it added value to our department and we have been the cause for this program being available to our entire company so thank you

Pros:

its easy to use and the customer support is speedy and effective and they also follow up

Cons:

everything is great keep up the good work

Hi5 Technologies Response

3 years ago

Hi Kash! Thanks so much for leaving your wonderful review :) please let us know if you ever run into problems with using Hi5 and we'll be more than happy to help you out! Warm regards, Hi5 Hero

April M.
Talent Acquisition Admin in South Africa
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

HI5 User App

4 2 years ago

Comments: Hi5 is a great platform for us to appreciate and recognise individuals or colleagues when they have excelled in a certain task.

Pros:

i like that you are able to give a colleague or a group a Hi5 to highlight the effort or achievement that has been accomplished

Cons:

There is more we can do to create a better interface

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi April! Thanks so much for your feedback! We really appreciate it. We're always looking at ways to improve the usability of our app, thanks so much for bringing it to our attention. Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Robin T.
Offsite Technician in South Africa
Broadcast Media, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Positive feedback

4 2 years ago

Pros:

Its very easy and convenient and quite easy to explain to other how we can go about helping each other improve our work environment.

Cons:

That it doesnt always provide us with the necessary information.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Robin! We appreciate your review! Please mail us at [email protected] to elaborate on the con you listed: "it doesn't always provide us with the necessary information" - we'd like to know how we can improve! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team

Marnus V.
Technical Trainer in South Africa
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Android app

5 2 years ago

Comments: Hi5 creates a culture which allows us to comment on specific employees actions.

Pros:

Easy enough to use. Great layout and features

Cons:

The App is really slow to load up. Might use it more if the App was quicker.

Hi5 Technologies Response

2 years ago

Hi Marnus! We really appreciate your feedback. We're checking out what the issue might be with the speed, thanks so much for letting us know. Please feel free to reach out at any time you're stuck to [email protected]! Warm regards, The Hi5 Team