SmartDeploy Reviews

4.8 (117) Write a Review!

About SmartDeploy

SmartDeploys unique layered approach enables single image management of Windows and applications.

Learn more about SmartDeploy

Pros:

In the realm of utilities SmartDeploy is a breath of fresh air in that it handily does the job it was designed to do in a straightforward and reasonable fashion.

Cons:

Lack of reporting features...which they are starting to add.

SmartDeploy ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.5/10

SmartDeploy has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 117 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SmartDeploy before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (117)

Jay
Jay
Divisional Computer Support Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Update the Drivers without Recreating the Image

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am amazed by how easy to use SmartDeploy. You have multiple options on how you can image a machine... Offline (via USB), Cloud or Remote deployment. Keep making us happy!!!

Pros:

I love the idea that the Drivers are separated from the image itself. I can use the image to different brands and model computers (except Mac) and just either download the driver pack (ppk) from SmartDeploy or create your own. I started using their Cloud Deployment, and it is amazing. A user can download the 600Mb payload to a flash drive, boot to USB and voila... SmartDeploy will pull everything it needs from your Cloud Service (OneDrive for me). They have forums and videos that are very helpful.

Cons:

I haven't seen anything I don't like about the product. No annoyance or instances that will scratch my head.

John
John
IT Systems Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sometimes you find something that just works

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: SmartDeploy does exactly what we need it to do and our deploy operations can be as basic or as involved as we want them to be. The system saves us a lot of time and helps us standardize and maintain our images.

Pros:

In the realm of utilities SmartDeploy is a breath of fresh air in that it handily does the job it was designed to do in a straightforward and reasonable fashion. IT would be a lot more fun if everything worked like SmartDeploy.

Cons:

In certain cases the components of a package get baked into the package and if a component is updated the packages containing that component have to be re-edited in order to pull in the updated component/content. There should be a way to dynamically "refresh" packages when there is a component change. This is a small complaint that is easy to navigate, and I am sure SmartDeploy will add the "refresh" concept I am looking for at some point.

Mike
Mike
IT Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good product, poor service

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: sub par!

Pros:

I like the cloud integration. The problem is that they don't really tell you how to finalize the cloud integration.

Cons:

I dislike the lack of documentation. Then when you try to get customer support, it takes forever to get an issue resolved. It feels like you have to explain the issue in multiple emails before you get a response that actually help.

Raheel
Software developer in Pakistan
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best imaging solution available

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: SmartDeploy offers a fine harmony among capacity, and convenience for workstation imaging and sending that is colossally gainful for more modest to medium size associations who don't have the opportunity or financial plan to devote to more mind boggling, oversaw arrangement and imaging instruments.

Pros:

SmartDeploy is extremely easy to set up and use, and there are numerous recordings and different assets on the off chance that you need help. It has an extraordinary UI contrasted with other imaging arrangements, and organizations are quick and practically blunder free. It is extremely easy to import pictures and make answer documents utilizing the implicit wizards, and you can set up custom or unattended organizations and reimage PCs distantly. Driver packs are refreshed routinely, which saves a ton of time since you don't need to find and import them all physically.

Cons:

The only real con is that it costs more than other solutions, but you definitely get what you pay for with this product.

Ryan
Software applications and systems analyst in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for all businesses, small and large!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: 10/10 I'll always use this product when I can and recommend it where I can. The support team was helpful every step of the way with every question I had along very fast response times.

Pros:

Ease of use is by far the best thing about this product. From start to finish, continued use and alterations, it's just so simple. Someone without a deep understanding of computers and how deployments work could pick up this product and create their first image with little struggle at all.

Cons:

The only con to Smart deploy would be creating a VM and capturing the first image. However, this was only a struggle because our current VM software was on the list that had special steps to take. But even that only was fairly simple if you set up VMs often and know a little about how they work.

Joe
Technology Assistant in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing Product!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: SmartDeploy is amazing for our small school. I am the only one who does the imaging in our two buildings. With roughly 250 workstations between two different schools, SmartDeploy makes it so easy and user friendly to image!

Pros:

I love that each model has a pre-built platform pack with all of the drivers included. It even goes so far as to flash the BIOS. What imaging software does that?!

Cons:

I really have no complaints. Once I saw what SmartDeploy had to offer and how easy it was to implement, I was all in.

Jerome
Helpdesk Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SmartDeploy Evaluation

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall this tool has helped our Helpdesk immensely. Less time is spent on image-building and upkeep with this product.

Pros:

Ease of use, Most Drivers updated automatically and the Imaging feature is very user-friendly. No need for additional software is a plus!

Cons:

Would like to see more Built-in Reports.

Samuel
Samuel
IT Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Constantly getting better!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall - Excellent. Support has always been great and I'm very satisfied with the product. Highly recommend!

Pros:

SD is always improving on their product. It's easy to use and the user interface is simple. The time it takes to image a machine is minimal. Even though we tell our users that it takes longer to image a machine - because then they'll just start getting demanding if it takes longer than 3 hours.

Cons:

I don't utilize it to it's full potential. That's more a con about me than the software. It may do this now, but creating a golden image from a live machine would be awesome. Or just being able to do an image of a live machine and then snaps. So if something happened to that computer, I could just reimage it with that backup image/snaps.

Derrick
Derrick
IT Systems Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great imaging software, it will make you forget about all of the others!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using SmartDeploy a little over two years now and continue to be amazed at the new functionality that continues to be released on a regular basis. They took the amount of time it used to take to complete a build of a new computer down drastically and we quickly had an ROI.

Pros:

This software was very easy to use and learn. The software walks you through everything to setting up a reference virtual machine to capturing that reference machine. The support documentation is great and if needed, you can always reach out to their amazing support team.

Cons:

No cons to add here, Smart Deploy continues to expand its capabilities and is always adding additional functionality. Most recently, cloud deployment options.

Patrick
Patrick
Lead IT Operations Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Deployments have never been easier!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I would recommend SmartDeploy to any IT professional as they have helped us with saving hours of IT overhead, saving costs and it's ease of use. I would choose SmartDeploy over again in a hearbeat.

Pros:

We have multiple PC Vendors (Dell, Lenovo, etc.) which all required different drivers and was a headache for us to manage and implement (especially with new refreshes). Smart Deploy's ability for us to image devices without having to worry about drivers and ease of use / understand was fantastic.

Cons:

There were a lot of pre-requisite software from Microsoft which we were required to install to get our SmartDeploy server up and running. We ran into some issues with software and compatibility, which was frustrating, however the Support team was very quick to respond and help resolve these issues very quickly.

Andrew
Hardware Specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Absolute time saver

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Time saving, we are a Medical Center that is continually growing by purchasing smaller clinics and offices around us. Each time we acquire a new location I have to go in and replace all of their workstations to bring them up to date. I can image 10-40 workstations in no time and ensure each system is configure exactly the same. Time = Money.

Pros:

I inherited this process from a previous employee who had left the company. Within just a short amount of time, having never used SmartDeploy before, I was able to update our VM and create a new image. It is awesome to be able to take a brand new computer out of the box, boot from a USB thumb drive and have our standard image installed automatically. Once our image is installed the PC is end user ready with all of the software they need to do their job. I can not imagine rolling out new computers without SmartDeploy.

Cons:

Honestly, everything about SmartDeploy works for me as I need it to.

Jim
Systems Enginner II/ Desktop Image Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best imaging software out there.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My experience with SmartDeploy has been great.
If I have an issue which is rare and it's always ends up being my fault because I did something wrong or stupid ( hahaha) they have ALWAYS fixed any issue I have had very quickly.
I have never worked with better support on a product!!
I am always praising the support when I am trying to get our clients to buy the product or if I am demonstrating the software.

Pros:

The ease of imaging computers makes my job so much easier, no hunting around for different drivers for each different manufacture we have. One image for all of our computers makes it simple, fast and reliable. I have some of our clients using it now due to me bragging about it constantly.

Cons:

I have no cons that I can think of. That is rare with most software.

Scott
IT Systems Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SmartDeploy Review

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Support has been very quick to help with any questions along the way. The cloud deployment was very slow when I set it up last year. After this webinar, I may need to revisit this.

Pros:

Easy of capturing images and deploying it to our clients.

Cons:

License count is an area that I struggle with. We are not supposed delete clients unless we are confident that the device has been decommissioned. Honestly, I cannot be certain that a support tech in another country will not pull an old client off the shelf and reuse.

Heather
Business Systems Specialist in US
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Imaging Software for Large Deployment

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I think this is a great imaging software. It is easy to use and very clean looking. It is a great product for a mid-size company and certainly is more than acceptable for our needs of nearly a 1000 machines.

Pros:

This is a decent product for a mid-size to large company. If you run your company on just a few images, then this is the software you need. The pros are that it is very clean and simple looking and easy to use. Tracking of licensing, computers, and users are very easy. They provide frequent updates to keep up with constant Windows updates and the download client handles more than one user or admin.

Cons:

The major cons I have with it is that it often conflicts with antivirus software and drivers do not always apply or are available.

Benjamin
Network Administrator in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

SmartDeploy Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: SmartDeploy has made OS deployment a breeze and has freed up so much of my time that I can now apply to other projects.

Pros:

What I like most about SmartDeploy is the ease of use. Most everything is driven by an easy to understand wizard that also allows you to add addition tasks. You don't have to do major internet research to get an understanding of how it works or doesn't work. The provided documentation gives you all you need to get started quickly.

Cons:

What I like the least about SmartDeploy is that it can't fully replace everything I do with Symantec Altiris and that it is not completely cloud-based like Microsoft Azure. However, it perfectly replaced Microsoft Deployment Toolkit which was being used as our primary OS deployment tool. It also has the ability to deploy software and deploy an image over the internet.

Dave
Systems Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product for smaller companies/tighter budgets

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

SmartDeploy is super easy to setup, the pricing model makes sense and doesn't gouge you. The functions and features aren't hard to learn and I was able to implement Windows 10 to our desktops and laptops easily without too much frustration (typically user error). Overall it's a great product, especially when you have a small IT team/company and budget, but it will also scale very well with us.

Cons:

The application packs are still a bit flimsy, meaning I could have two .exe's with the same arguments that work great in CMD prompt, but in the application pack I have to tweak the executable location or argument within SmartDeploy. After doing a handful of them, I know what to look for now but it was a little bit of a learning curve.

Doug
IT Support in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Imaging Software out there!!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Works with all my OS platforms. Able to support all of my 150+ devices including mobile devices. Support is top notch.

Cons:

Price is all i can conplan about at this time.

Jeff
Computer Support Specialist in US
Professional Training & Coaching, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Smart Deploy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Big time saver

Pros:

quick ability to deploy employee systems

Cons:

taxes network resources when imaging multiple systems simultaneously

Alvin
Technology Manager in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very easy and simple to use

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, we have great experience with SmartDeploy. Very easy to use and a time saver for us especially with large deployments.

Pros:

SmartDeploy's best feature I think is the ease of building and deploying images. Our team have saved so much time and resource with our large Windows 10 deployments. Driver management is a great feature as well.

Cons:

We wish that we have more visibility and additional information into the status of a machine being reimaged on the console. Currently, only an icon next to the machine indicates that it is currently being reimaged.

ed
Network Eng in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

works and very easy to learn and use

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

plug and go I create the USB drives and my fellow techs are out about building new workstations

Cons:

the VM part was not easy to learn I am still at it

Nick
Systems Administrator in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Windows 10 Upgrade Made Easy!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We went from taking almost a full day to get a new PC out to one of our branches to imaging computers for an entire branch in just a few hours! SmartDeploy got our image onto our drives in 10 minutes! I was blown away by the speed of this program and how easy it was to use it. We trained our entire IT department how to use it in just minutes. Can't imagine doing this upgrade project without SmartDeploy.

Pros:

It is so easy to use once you get it configured.

Cons:

We had one small issue with the driver for our new PC's not having the PXE driver in the package we downloaded, however this was resolved by SmartDeloy in minutes after reaching out to them for help.

Andriy
Communications Systems Specialist in Canada
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool to have around

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We tried SmartDeploy three years ago and it turned out to be an invaluable tool. We had a group of 250 specialized, outside the domain computers that were migrating to a new OS version and SmartDeploy made this migration super easy. Before SmartDeploy, we used to maintain six computer images and we can't be happier to maintain only one now. Introducing new hardware into the mix is no longer an issue - just build your driver pack (or download prebuilt one) and start deploying!

Pros:

Ease of use; great time saver for your image maintenance and deployments.

Cons:

When SmartDeploy installation computer is sitting behind a proxy - it might have difficulties connecting to the internet to verify itself and get new updates.

Seth
I.T. Manager in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SmartDeploy Saves Me Time

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: SmartDeploy has saved us a tremendous amount of time. Especially since our environment is obligated to apply security patches frequently it allows me to update the deployment image effectively and efficiently. It really is a great product supported by a great team.

Pros:

The driver packs are put together for me. The answer file creation is simple.

Cons:

It has a learning curve but after that it is easy to use. We may be a little advanced in our needs as well.

Daniel
System Administrator in Costa Rica
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best imaging software!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Reduced the imaging time significantly and turned it into and easy process

Pros:

Easy to use and eliminate the common problems you usually have when deploying images, Smart Deploy is adding cool features that make your life and your work easier.

Cons:

No cons really, the customer support is good and they have good guides in the smart deploy website that solve the problems you could have.

Mark
Senior Network Engineer in UK
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The easiest way to deploy PC's and Laptops

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The ease in how to setup the image and then push it out locally or through the cloud service.

Cons:

None. No issues encountered during install or general use.