15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Google Cloud

Cloud-based service that allows you to create anything from simple websites to complex applications for businesses of all sizes.

Learn more about Google Cloud

Pros:

The integration with other Google products is particularly impressive and makes it easy to set up.

Cons:

In case you have low Internet speed at your workplace, you will surely struggle with this platform.

Google Cloud ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Google Cloud has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 1,810 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Google Cloud before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,810)

Darien
Darien
Associate Pastor in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

GCP is a robust, powerful platform that offers simple cloud hosting for websites

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Google Cloud Platform allows our website to scale rapidly as needed, while offering a cheap and completely customizable hosting platform. While complicated, GCP allows power users to run very powerful websites for fairly cheap, and unlimited potential for future development.

Pros:

GCP is a very complicated platform, with unlimited potential for those who know how to use it; but once you learn how to use a specific tool - it becomes a very powerful and simple tool to use. I currently only use the Compute Manager (Virtual Machine), VPC Network (External IP) and Network Services (Cloud DNS) to run a cloud-based Wordpress site. Overall, once you learn the system, Google Cloud offers a very powerful solution for web management - giving unlimited potential for upgrades & sizes, allowing for localized solutions & access to the full Google Cloud network, and giving a (cheap) solution for powerful web hosting. With GCP, we spend only $7 a month (CAD), and our site runs significantly faster than it previously did on other hosting services. On top of that, GCP allows complete control over the backend linux server; which is a learning curve in itself, but offers quick & easy ways to manage every aspect of your website - the PHP version, specific file permissions, custom platform solutions (such as access to install different Google API's).

Cons:

Google Cloud Platform is an insanely powerful platform with incredible features, but it also carries a VERY steep learning curve and is not for the faint of heart. While other web hosting services provide a simple interface most people can learn quickly, GCP throws you into the deep-end; requiring deeper knowledge of linux code (for backend management) and an understanding of web hosting in order to operate properly. Fortunately, with numerous guides and support forums/groups out there, it can be easy to learn.

Prashanth
Python Developer in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Google Cloud VM

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: It is good to get started with Google cloud and especially when I use google speech to text subscription, I got very good results.

Pros:

It consists of Good Documentation. So one can easily get started with the Google Cloud. It have strong data analytics and storage.

Cons:

Some subscriptions are costly. If that cost is reduced, developer can easily access to new technologies. Limited choice of programming languages.

Sabrina
Systems Developer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Dependable Cloud Solution for Secure Storage

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Google Cloud has absolute confidence in matters storage, convenient accessibility and information monitoring.

Pros:

Google Cloud has a defined and accessible cloud space. The development of accessibility structures gives the software quality performance.

Cons:

Google Cloud has exceeded our storage desires without discouragement or challenges.

Moustafa
AI Researcher in Japan
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Google Cloud Review

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: My overall experience is not good as Google Cloud does not provide an easy interface and i have to do everything through the terminal. Also, it is a little bit expensive.

Pros:

I like the free credits that Google Cloud provides for researchers to explore the platform. Google Cloud is very good in services related to NLP/text especially the that it is supporting multiple languages for these services. Also, I like the dashboards that Google Cloud offers to track and monitor the services I am currently using.

Cons:

Google Cloud has a very limited service for AI comparing to other competitors. The interface of Google Cloud is not easy to use, and I cannot customize it as I want. Also, I do not like the pricing of some services on Google Cloud like the virtual machines, it is really very expensive.

Franco
Software Developer in Chile
Program Development, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

my experience

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

rewarding the experience of how simple and fast it is to operate different services

Cons:

the price in my opinion is quite enough

Destiny
RFSW in US
Human Resources, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Store Important Documents

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Secure tool. Does cost to enhance and increase storage. Assistance is also readily and easily available.

Pros:

I love Gmail so Google Cloud is easy to use with my Gmail. There is a LOT that Google Cloud has to offer so it can be intimidating at first trying to navigate and get a hang of the system. It is relatively inexpensive to pay to increase storage/services. Help is also easy to access if needed. The system is also great at protecting data. Very secure tool.

Cons:

Although it is inexpensive to expand Google Cloud it does cost monthly fees to enhance its full potential. Storage fees can add up though depending on how much you are attempting to store. It can also be intimating when first opened and can take some getting used to.

Luis
Luis
Data analyst in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Data analysis review

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: In general the software is very scalable, however I consider that the costs to be considered at each scale should be taken into account.

Pros:

For me the most important thing is the scalability that Cloud gives you, you can increase or decrease the capacity according to your needs. Another issue is security, which with data encryption and identity verification gives me peace of mind.

Cons:

The little control it offers us of the infrastructure generates limits, so it can not be customized, also the management of Cloud requires experience in this program as it differs somewhat from other analysis software.

Piotr
Chief Architect in Poland
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent cloud platform

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

* Kubernetes support together with their serverless offering (Cloud Run) is first class * Interoperability with other Google services through workload identity is A+

Cons:

You need to pay extra for a support - which isn't that great.

Tami
controller in US
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Cloud Storage

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I like that I can store all my documents in one place

Cons:

I don't like that it backs up photos when I try to remove them from the cloud the get deleted from my device

eva
psychotherapist in Belgium
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Trustworthy and practical

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Gives me peace of mind to know I have an extra backup of my most important files. Quite a lot of storage on the free plan too.

Cons:

That it isn't completely free or doesn't have more free cloud storage, but I wouldn't expect that.

Patrick
Photo Editor in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Speed Up You're Website!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I do website design and work with a lot of images and videos on customer sites so having a platform i can utilize to my the site more responsive is something my clients love as well as the visitors. lets face it, when you go to a site and it lagging you usually end up leaving and looking somewhere else and your client looses money. Having Google Cloud keeps people connected.

Pros:

Website speed is crucial of business as well as personal. With Google cloud you don't have to store those large files, video files and images all on your site which slows it down a lot. You can easily add it to google cloud and just copy and paste the links into your website so the load time of your site is improved up to about 80%.

Cons:

Google cloud offers a free version but you are limited to the amount of data and bandwidth and if you need a lot more space and bandwidth you could easy be paying well over $100 a month.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Public cloud platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are using GCP for years now. We have deployed healthcare, telecommunication, education and logistics business applications on GCP. All applications were migrated from on-prem. Deployments were not too hard. Even though the pricing model is bit complex this is still cheaper than most of the cloud vendors. No repatriations so far.

Pros:

+ Free tier available + Highly scalable + Security + Pay-as-you-go option ,so we have to pay only pay only for the usage. + Bring your own License capability. + Very easy to integrate with Google services.

Cons:

+ Less number of datacenters across the world comparing to other vendors. + Pricing is bit complex + Customer services and support services could be improved

Mihran
Software Developer in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fastest Cloud Platform out there!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Goofle Cloud Platform is one of the fastest cloud platform out there. Earlier our team was using another system and it was always giving us downtimes. Finally we switched to Google Cloud Platform even though the prices were higher. The system haven't disappointed us till date. They can improve a lot in customer support though.

Pros:

Speed, Ease of setting up a new instance, Pre emptive instances

Cons:

The pricing can be lowered. Also the customer support should be easier to get.

Jay
Jay
Institute Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Museums & Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cloud-Scale access to Google Apps, Storage, VMs, Renders, and Compute Engines

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've just started with Google Cloud Platform, bug they've been very generous in offering free small samples, trial offerings, and at that, the technology itself is inspiring, from the literature provided, and based on the descriptions. Essentially, a developer could scale an enterprise or computing task, or app at full Google thrust, at scale of course; yet it's not at all a paltry offering; significant and invaluable [previously] development tasks of an ad hoc nature are now, very simply put: offerings of tasty tidbits of modern day tech and lifestyle to-do; the results are visible, within a dedicated focused development session; connecting with the literature of the Google Cloud Platform app and the offerings therein will engender a deeper appreciation for how far Google's surfave-level apps have come, with the advent of Cloud computing and processing power, built on Google's rich foundation in logistics to carry out these tasks for the consumer, prosumer, developer, startup, and beyond.

Pros:

This software platform is much more than one single concept of software: it's the starting point for accessing all of Google's Cloud Computing services as well as the background APIs that operate at code and scripting level inside of shells and IDEs. Ostensibly, any common computer task, client, service, object, or node can be made in to a Google Cloud Platform instance, from virtual disks and machines, to process rendering, to gaining custom access to nuanced aspects of the individual Google Apps which are offered as the common App Store offering for everyone; yet as for full functionality, API access is necessary. In addition, there are very notable, special, cutting edge technologies that truly transform the concept of user interface and user experience in the context of all things Google: some of the language and visualization Cloud Platform offerings are very exciting, a heralding of a new age in computing, marketing, and IoTs to come.

Cons:

It's a vast expanse of software development to wrap one's focus about. That being said, a developer would be lucky to get some hands-on, real-world context of what the Google Cloud Platform Apps and APIs are fully capable of. There's not a whole lot to dislike; Google Developers on every Google product offering constantly update their literature and sites, co make sure that the content is presented well and that users have the means to learn by doing; going forth with the flow of context in development that pops up, from moment to moment; I suppose it [could] be more fluid, but then again, I am a common consumer developer and this is a beautiful array of modern computing leverage at my fingertips, potentially. I just have to learn to use it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Execute your workloads in fast, easy to use and quick deployment with Google Cloud Platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, GCP has provided a positive ROI to our organization leaving remarkable impressions, both from product and product service perspective. Therefore, I would highly recommend this platform for running your workloads in the cloud. Also, free trials are available with a bunch of credits which can help newbies to test and try out stuff before bringing production environment, on this platform.

Pros:

1. One of the best User Interface available for cloud services in Industry. 2. Evolving and always enhancing feature-set which can not be ignored. Anything that can be service-based and can be provided as a managed service, you will find it in Google Cloud Platform. 3. Below are some of the best and most reliable services you will be getting along with this platform: - Google Kubernetes Engine: is one of the best managed K8s engine. The availability of this tool is fabulous and configuring setting up clusters is done in minutes. Also, the performance of this service is amazing, be it in any region, across the globe. - Google Cloud Storage: Can be used for any sort of files, any format of any size is accepted. It is by far one of the best places to store your cloud workloads data and files. - Google Pub/ Sub: is basically publication/ subscription service, which is also fully managed. Provides blazing fast speed in delivering and receiving messages across this service.

Cons:

1. Free trial is a little low on duration. At the moment, the free trial provides 3 months of access, however, I personally feel this is a little less time for an organization to test out their workloads and decide on GO/NO GO decisions. 2. Cache's shall be better managed. At the moment, a very constant and high-speed internet is required so as to manage this platform. If caches can be managed and better utilized, platform laggy-ness due to fluctuating internet bandwidth can be reduced, which would largely impact the user experience.

Rony
Accounts Manager in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Powerhouse of Cloud Computing

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with Google Cloud has been overwhelmingly positive. The platform's vast array of services and tools has empowered our organization to harness the full potential of cloud computing. The scalability and flexibility provided have allowed us to seamlessly adapt to our changing needs. The robust security measures instilled confidence in the protection of our data. While the learning curve and occasional performance issues posed minor challenges, the overall reliability, performance, and feature-rich environment of Google Cloud have made it our preferred choice for cloud computing solutions.

Pros:

Google Cloud left an indelible mark on me with its outstanding features and capabilities. The scalability and flexibility it offered were unparalleled, allowing us to effortlessly adjust resources based on our evolving needs. The robust security measures implemented by Google ensured our data remained protected and gave us peace of mind. The wide array of services and tools available within the platform empowered us to tackle complex tasks with ease. The seamless integration with other Google products facilitated a cohesive workflow. Above all, the reliability and performance of Google Cloud solidified its position as our preferred cloud computing solution.

Cons:

While Google Cloud offers an impressive range of features, there were a few areas that fell short of my expectations. One drawback was the complexity of the platform, which required a significant learning curve to fully grasp and utilize its capabilities. Additionally, the pricing structure felt somewhat convoluted, making it challenging to estimate costs accurately. The customer support, although available, sometimes took longer than desired to address our queries. We also experienced occasional performance issues during peak usage times. Despite these shortcomings, Google Cloud's overall performance and feature set make it a compelling choice for cloud computing needs.

Giovanni
Giovanni
CTO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great cloud for those who want the fastest implementation

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I manage a small team, and GCP was the best choice, we also tested Azure, AWS and Oracle. I can say for sure that GCP will serve you better if you have a small team, as well as if you have a big team.

Pros:

I love how user-friendly and easy-to-use GCP is. Despite having no prior knowledge of cloud implementation, GCP's clear documentation and built-in automations helped me quickly overcome the learning curve. The platform's user-friendly libraries further simplified complex tasks, allowing me to focus on my project's core aspects.

Cons:

You have to be aware on how each feature will impact your expenses on cloud, even though you have ways of managing and limiting their costs, the way they bill the tools usage are not really clear, and you have to look out for every little feature that is enabled when you activate a new tool and the costs they bring along.

Ruhid
Ruhid
We are here to help everyone quickly! in Azerbaijan
Verified LinkedIn User
Motion Pictures & Film, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

in a confused mind - Google Cloud

5.0 last year

Pros:

It's a very useful system for developers. Along with its good aspects such as registration with google, many maps services, verification systems for your website or application, many necessary systems in the same place and no additional charges for development, which allows you to access everything whether on websites or in terms of application developers. it helps you to have a lot of experience.

Cons:

First of all, I need to talk about the confusion, for example, for the site developer or application developers to have all of them in one place, sometimes it takes a lot of time to search for something on the site and find something on the site, which is a situation we do not like about the site, although it is good on the google cloud storage side, the money issue is a bit excessive. It has been made more difficult to request more than platforms that provide the same service, such as yandex.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Office tools in Google cloud

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using Google Cloud on daily basis for like 4 years. Alot has improved over time with their individual programs like Word, Slides, Excel, etc. But some tools like Draw is still not able to compete with something Inkscape.

Pros:

The Office tools in Google Cloud are much better than Microsoft 365. The best part of G suit in Google Cloud is real time synchronization. When I work on reports with my remotely located colleagues, I can see them editing specific sections of a document in a real time. This helps alot in not repeating the work on the same section. Google Cloud shows all of this in form of different colors and small icons on top left of the document. When you click on the icon, the document jumps to the point where that person is working on. Other good feature is version control. In case if I am not happy with the new edits, I can revert the document to an older version.

Cons:

The only part which I dont like is their slow evolution. Google is very slow in adding features in their G Suit which means at the moment, it is unable to compete with the Desktop based MS Office. But I can see it coming very quickly and very soon, people may stop using Microsoft Office on their computers.. They may only use the online tools like Google Office. Another part where Google need to improve is their slides which is like Power Point from Microsoft. The slides from Google are still at their very early stage and need to improve.

Alex
Software Developer in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great solution for cloud storage

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Cloud storage and compute engine are very powerful tools that we have been happy with. We use these on top of firebase and it made sense to stick with GCP rather than AWS or Azure. The client-side cloud storage API is very easy to work with. We use compute engine to host a basic web server in a docker contains, and it has been a good experience overall.

Cons:

I have not figured out how and where to open a support case. Cloud console and the google issue tracker are one of several options. It can take several days to answer simple questions. Documentation is good, but spread out. For example, there is documentation for firebase functions and google cloud functions. The documentation is similar but not exactly the same, so it's unclear which we should be using. It would be nice to have more consolidated GCP documentation.

Solomon
Web developer in Nigeria
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

By far my most proffered cloud service.

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, my experience with Google Cloud has been mixed. On one hand, it offers a wide range of services for storing, processing, and analyzing data, making it a versatile platform. The user interface is user-friendly and easy to use. The built-in security features like access control and encryption are great for keeping data safe and secure. However, the platform can be difficult to navigate and find the specific service you need. Additionally, the pricing for some services can be quite high, which might not be suitable for small businesses or personal projects. Some of the services are not as advanced as the other providers in the market. But overall, it's a solid option for those who are looking for a reliable and efficient solution for their data needs, and willing to invest the time and resources to navigate and master the platform.

Pros:

I've been using Google Cloud for a while now and I am very satisfied with it. It has a lot of options for storing, processing and analyzing data which makes it very versatile. It's also very user-friendly, and I find it easy to use even if I'm not an expert in this field. I especially appreciate the built-in security features like access control and encryption that keeps my data safe and secure. I would definitely recommend Google Cloud to anyone looking for a reliable and efficient solution for their data needs.

Cons:

From my experience, I have found some downsides to using Google Cloud. One thing that I find difficult is the navigation through the platform, there are so many options and services that it can be hard to find the specific one you need. Additionally, the pricing for some services can be quite high, especially for small businesses or personal projects. Also, some of the services are not as advanced as the other providers in the market. Overall, while Google Cloud offers a lot of useful features, the high pricing and the complexity of the platform might not be suitable for some users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Data Engineering made Simple with the help of GCP

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Management of data is always critical to any organization, and it is not wise to have our own data center from a cost perspective. As a result of GCP, our operating costs have decreased. In addition to a number of free resources and new innovative products rolling out constantly, there are lots of free resources available based on the service. The dashboard, in particular, is simple and allows for all management to be done from one place. Taking a backup and restoring it whenever you need it is particularly convenient.

Cons:

The service is a bit more expensive than other providers, specifically the price tier varies according to the level of customer support. Therefore, any immediate fixes must always be followed by additional learning.

Efezino
Efezino
Software Developer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Security-centric

5.0 last year

Comments: Google Cloud Platform offers a strong and secure cloud infrastructure with a wide range of services and integrations. However, its pricing and user interface may not be suitable for everyone.

Pros:

One of the pros of Google Cloud Platform is its strong focus on security. It offers several security features, such as identity and access management, encryption, and network security. Additionally, its global network of data centers and edge locations provide fast and reliable performance.Another pro is its wide range of services and integrations with other Google products. This allows users to easily integrate their existing Google tools and technologies with their cloud infrastructure.

Cons:

Some users may find the pricing of Google Cloud Platform to be a con. It can be complex and difficult to understand, making it challenging to accurately predict and manage costs. Additionally, some users may find the user interface to be overwhelming and not as user-friendly as other cloud platforms.

Arif
Arif
Employee in Indonesia
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

leading cloud computing platform that offers a wide range of services

5.0 last year

Comments: Google Cloud is a great choice for businesses looking for a reliable, scalable, and feature-rich cloud computing platform.

Pros:

Google Cloud is a leading cloud computing platform that offers a wide range of services and solutions for businesses of all sizes. The platform is highly scalable and flexible, making it easy for organizations to adapt to changing business needs. Some of the key features of Google Cloud include virtual machines, storage, databases, analytics, and machine learning. The virtual machines are highly customizable and allow businesses to run a variety of different operating systems and applications. The storage options are robust and offer high durability and performance. Google Cloud's databases are highly available, scalable and secure. The analytics and machine learning services are powerful and allow businesses to gain insights from their data and build intelligent applications. The platform is easy to use, with a user-friendly web console and a variety of tools for managing and monitoring resources.

Cons:

i think is good, no complain about it. nice.

Nipon
Nipon
ED in Bangladesh
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

They offer $200 trial fund to every new customer! Get VMs, Servers, IPs FREE for months!!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

- Affordable pricing, Hourly billing - free $200 trial fund at signup - User friendly, Simple

Cons:

I used google cloud only for a Cpanel server, a cloud disc and a VM. The overall experience seemed perfect just as expected from Google