15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Google Cloud

Cloud-based service that allows you to create anything from simple websites to complex applications for businesses of all sizes.

Learn more about Google Cloud

Pros:

The integration with other Google products is particularly impressive and makes it easy to set up.

Cons:

In case you have low Internet speed at your workplace, you will surely struggle with this platform.

Google Cloud ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Google Cloud has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 1,855 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Google Cloud before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,854)

Samuel
Samuel
Founder and CEO in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cloud Service for specific workflows and client needs.

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Many services have free plans. Easy to use. Value for money. Can add collaborators. Cost tracking. Free tutorials and documentation are available. Community support is available.

Cons:

Might have steep learning curve. The User Interfaces might be congested at first. Some services mightbbe expensive.

PHYLLIS WANJIKU
Data Scientist in Türkiye
Furniture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Honest Review of Google Cloud

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: It's got everything I need for cloud storage, computing, and all the fancy AI bells and whistles. Taking some courses can help navigate this platform which is offered in Google Cloud Skills.

Pros:

The wide range of services Google Cloud offers, from storage and computing to Vertex AI and machine learning tools, makes it a versatile platform for all businesses.

Cons:

The pricing structure can be complex and difficult to predict without the help of an expert.

Chris
Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Free Trial - Seems Great but Need Trainign

3.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

I like how many things you can do in Google Cloud. I have a lot of exploring and testing to do. This looks intense and filled with possibilities.

Cons:

It's not quite as easy to use right off the bat like when I've used other products such as Azure, VMware, etc. This is a little more complicated and I feel like I definitely need to go through more tutorials and training just to spin up a Windows 11 VM.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Most secure drive

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: The ease of use of this platform makes it the best choice for me. It supports many data formats. For upgrades it does not require downtime. Customer support is quite good.

Pros:

It stands out for its ease of use, with intuitive configuration and management. Really easy to use. Customer service is fast and efficient. I use it on a daily basis for office and personal work. The feature set is extensive and comprises much more than a database, with seamless integration into existing workflows. Its simplicity ensures smooth business continuity. Google Backup & DR is a very good decision and investment. Set it and forget it, knowing that your data is safe.

Cons:

Limited free storage can be quickly depleted with large photos and files, forcing you to pay for more storage. I still find it invaluable.

Ericka
photography in US
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

google cloud review

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: So far my experience with Google Cloud has been nothing but good. I can't say enough how it has helped me in life-saving things on my computer or phone onto a cloud for safe keeping.

Pros:

What I like about Google Cloud is how much storage you can get at a good price. I like how I can store my stuff automatically and it just goes right to my cloud for safety. It is also great when you transfer items to places it is easy and good.

Cons:

What I like the least about Google Cloud is finding another way to get on your cloud if you misplaced your password.

Hector
System Engineer in US
Computer Hardware, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Scaling with Google Cloud

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Based on my experience as a Google Cloud user, it has been very satisfactory, learning more every day and making my work much more efficient thanks to its robust and scalable infrastructure allowing companies to be at the forefront of technology.

Pros:

Google Cloud Platform offers a wide range of benefits that make it an attractive option for businesses of all sizes looking for a secure, scalable, innovative and competitively priced cloud platform. Another key aspect is the commitment to operate sustainably and reduce its environmental impact.

Cons:

It is somewhat complex for inexperienced users, as it has a wide range of services and configuration options, costs can increase rapidly if high performance services are used or large amounts of resources are consumed, and companies become dependent on Google's infrastructure and services

Zack
Zack
Project Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The useful extra storage

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The ability to upgrade for more storage.

Cons:

Has issue with technical difficulties in verification of I am a human not a robot.

Matthew
Director in UK
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Google Cloud Review

5.0 last month New

Pros:

We like the simplicity of Google Cloud, it's cross platform and so far has been pretty robust.

Cons:

We believe Google scans our content to provide additional "useful" services, this was evidenced by a pop-up reminder to leave for the airport and the only way that could have been known was if Google scanned attachments sent in Gmail. This happened many years ago but we switched to OneDrive for our storage to ensure privacy.

Candace
Assistant in US
Fishery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing storage

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I like how i can storage my pictures and other data from job as much as i want. Plus not having to worry if someone trys to get into my account cause it has so much security features.

Cons:

If you over put data it does cost money to add mors storage. I just wish they didnt charge.

Jared
Jared
Handyman in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Jareds google cloud

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I have had a wonderful experience with google cloud and recommend it to everyone.

Pros:

It gives you plenty of storage even in the free version.

Cons:

Honestly there isnt anything that i disliked about google cloud.

Patrick
Photo Editor in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Speed Up You're Website!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I do website design and work with a lot of images and videos on customer sites so having a platform i can utilize to my the site more responsive is something my clients love as well as the visitors. lets face it, when you go to a site and it lagging you usually end up leaving and looking somewhere else and your client looses money. Having Google Cloud keeps people connected.

Pros:

Website speed is crucial of business as well as personal. With Google cloud you don't have to store those large files, video files and images all on your site which slows it down a lot. You can easily add it to google cloud and just copy and paste the links into your website so the load time of your site is improved up to about 80%.

Cons:

Google cloud offers a free version but you are limited to the amount of data and bandwidth and if you need a lot more space and bandwidth you could easy be paying well over $100 a month.

Cengiz Barkın
Game Developer in Bahamas
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Google Cloud: An Unforgettable Experience

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Google Cloud was excellent. The setup process was streamlined and the customer service was top-notch. My data was secure and I was able to manage my cloud environment without any issues.

Pros:

Google Cloud provided an intuitive, user-friendly experience that made setting up and managing my cloud environment a breeze. The support team was knowledgeable and always available to help answer questions. The cloud platform was reliable and provided a secure environment for my data.

Cons:

Google Cloud is not the most cost-effective option, as there are cheaper alternatives available. There were also some issues with the user interface being a bit clunky at times.

Cody
Production Associate in US
Warehousing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Google Cloud review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's been a superb experience using the platform.

Pros:

I like that it's a very smart,safe, secure, easy to use, and inexpensive software that my company uses daily.

Cons:

Dont know of anything that I don't like about the software. I really like and appreciate it.

Nolan
Nolan
Teacher in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Gold Standard of Cloud Platforming

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Google and their cloud platform has been, in a very real sense, life-changing.

Pros:

Google Cloud has made my job so much easier. As a teacher, I have to store my data, assignments, and everything else digitally. I tried other platforms but they all were clunky, difficult to use, or non-compatible with other services. Google fixed all of that. All of my data is at my fingertips and, as an educator, I will never leave this product.

Cons:

Since everything is connected through Google, there is sometimes some overlap in different apps that do similar-but-technically-different functions. It can be a little frustrating to work in one thing and then find that a different app does it much better.

Kamal
Technical Support in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cloud computing made easy

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's the best cloud computing platform I've used.

Pros:

The GCP has made the deployment of development practices easy. Creating and Launching virtual instances is very fast. You are billed only when instances are running. The free trial credit makes it superb and standout among others.

Cons:

The only disadvantage is that it assigns a USA IP address for every instance created. Even if the location of the instance is India, London, South Africa, you'll be given a USA IP.

Jay
Jay
Institute Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Museums & Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cloud-Scale access to Google Apps, Storage, VMs, Renders, and Compute Engines

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've just started with Google Cloud Platform, bug they've been very generous in offering free small samples, trial offerings, and at that, the technology itself is inspiring, from the literature provided, and based on the descriptions. Essentially, a developer could scale an enterprise or computing task, or app at full Google thrust, at scale of course; yet it's not at all a paltry offering; significant and invaluable [previously] development tasks of an ad hoc nature are now, very simply put: offerings of tasty tidbits of modern day tech and lifestyle to-do; the results are visible, within a dedicated focused development session; connecting with the literature of the Google Cloud Platform app and the offerings therein will engender a deeper appreciation for how far Google's surfave-level apps have come, with the advent of Cloud computing and processing power, built on Google's rich foundation in logistics to carry out these tasks for the consumer, prosumer, developer, startup, and beyond.

Pros:

This software platform is much more than one single concept of software: it's the starting point for accessing all of Google's Cloud Computing services as well as the background APIs that operate at code and scripting level inside of shells and IDEs. Ostensibly, any common computer task, client, service, object, or node can be made in to a Google Cloud Platform instance, from virtual disks and machines, to process rendering, to gaining custom access to nuanced aspects of the individual Google Apps which are offered as the common App Store offering for everyone; yet as for full functionality, API access is necessary. In addition, there are very notable, special, cutting edge technologies that truly transform the concept of user interface and user experience in the context of all things Google: some of the language and visualization Cloud Platform offerings are very exciting, a heralding of a new age in computing, marketing, and IoTs to come.

Cons:

It's a vast expanse of software development to wrap one's focus about. That being said, a developer would be lucky to get some hands-on, real-world context of what the Google Cloud Platform Apps and APIs are fully capable of. There's not a whole lot to dislike; Google Developers on every Google product offering constantly update their literature and sites, co make sure that the content is presented well and that users have the means to learn by doing; going forth with the flow of context in development that pops up, from moment to moment; I suppose it [could] be more fluid, but then again, I am a common consumer developer and this is a beautiful array of modern computing leverage at my fingertips, potentially. I just have to learn to use it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Execute your workloads in fast, easy to use and quick deployment with Google Cloud Platform

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, GCP has provided a positive ROI to our organization leaving remarkable impressions, both from product and product service perspective. Therefore, I would highly recommend this platform for running your workloads in the cloud. Also, free trials are available with a bunch of credits which can help newbies to test and try out stuff before bringing production environment, on this platform.

Pros:

1. One of the best User Interface available for cloud services in Industry. 2. Evolving and always enhancing feature-set which can not be ignored. Anything that can be service-based and can be provided as a managed service, you will find it in Google Cloud Platform. 3. Below are some of the best and most reliable services you will be getting along with this platform: - Google Kubernetes Engine: is one of the best managed K8s engine. The availability of this tool is fabulous and configuring setting up clusters is done in minutes. Also, the performance of this service is amazing, be it in any region, across the globe. - Google Cloud Storage: Can be used for any sort of files, any format of any size is accepted. It is by far one of the best places to store your cloud workloads data and files. - Google Pub/ Sub: is basically publication/ subscription service, which is also fully managed. Provides blazing fast speed in delivering and receiving messages across this service.

Cons:

1. Free trial is a little low on duration. At the moment, the free trial provides 3 months of access, however, I personally feel this is a little less time for an organization to test out their workloads and decide on GO/NO GO decisions. 2. Cache's shall be better managed. At the moment, a very constant and high-speed internet is required so as to manage this platform. If caches can be managed and better utilized, platform laggy-ness due to fluctuating internet bandwidth can be reduced, which would largely impact the user experience.

Sharmin
HR in Bangladesh
Food Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A comprehensive review

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, my experience with Google Cloud has been very positive. As someone who is happy with using Google Cloud, I appreciate the scalability, security, reliability, cost-effectiveness, and integration of the platform. While there may be a learning curve and some complexity involved, I believe that the benefits of using Google Cloud make it a worthwhile investment for businesses looking for a robust cloud computing solution.

Pros:

Scalability: Google Cloud allows for scalability, which means you can easily expand your infrastructure as your business grows.Security: Google Cloud has built-in security measures, including encryption and identity management, to keep your data safe.Reliability: Google Cloud offers high availability and reliability, with a guaranteed uptime of 99.95%.Cost-effectiveness: Google Cloud offers competitive pricing, with pay-as-you-go options that allow you to only pay for what you use.Integration: Google Cloud integrates seamlessly with other Google services, including Google Drive, Google Docs, and Google Sheets.

Cons:

Steep Learning Curve: Google Cloud has a steep learning curve, and it can take some time to get used to the platform and its various features.Complexity: Google Cloud is a complex platform that may require additional resources, such as training or additional personnel, to fully utilize.Support: Google Cloud support can be limited, and it may take some time to get assistance when needed.

Giovanni
Giovanni
CTO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great cloud for those who want the fastest implementation

5.0 last year

Comments: I manage a small team, and GCP was the best choice, we also tested Azure, AWS and Oracle. I can say for sure that GCP will serve you better if you have a small team, as well as if you have a big team.

Pros:

I love how user-friendly and easy-to-use GCP is. Despite having no prior knowledge of cloud implementation, GCP's clear documentation and built-in automations helped me quickly overcome the learning curve. The platform's user-friendly libraries further simplified complex tasks, allowing me to focus on my project's core aspects.

Cons:

You have to be aware on how each feature will impact your expenses on cloud, even though you have ways of managing and limiting their costs, the way they bill the tools usage are not really clear, and you have to look out for every little feature that is enabled when you activate a new tool and the costs they bring along.

Jordan
Jordan
Marketing Analytics Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Affordable Cloud Service For Marketing Analytics

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Nothing but positive. I come more from an analytics background, but it's always easy for me to do the work of a data engineer in the platform.

Pros:

Like all cloud software, I love how easy it is to import data and incorporate it into my work-flow for spinning up marketing dashboards. I specifically like Google Cloud Platform for its multiple integrations into Google Data Studio and other platforms, such as Datorama.

Cons:

Like most Google products, I wish it was easier to integrate into third-party (non-Google) products.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

In The Driver's Seat With GCP

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Being an ever-expanding firm, we design mobile apps for both small businesses and for our own PC video games. We always employ various Google Cloud solutions such as Google Drive and Firestore. We use Google Cloud Console to keep track of all of our cloud services from a single interface. We also use it to increase and decrease the number of servers as needed to meet the demands of our various applications and large-scale games.

Pros:

One of the most modern cloud service providers provides a cloud console that makes it simple for users to interact with a wide variety of cloud-based services. Navigating the menu is easy because each service is broken down into a number of distinct categories. There is a cloud shell capability that allows you to use a command line interface to interact with the cloud as well. There is no need for everyone to travel to the company to participate in the development of our video game projects because we can publish and manage them online. It's a cinch to set up.

Cons:

Everything appears to be in fine working order. You can manage, administer, and monitor cloud resources without experiencing any delays by utilizing the GUI. It appears to me that there is significant room for improvement in the user interface in order to provide a more engaging user experience.

Athina
Product Manager in Greece
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for big global corporations

4.0 last year

Pros:

I really like that Google Cloud gives to me and my team a full suite of services for data management, from storage to reporting and analytics. The platform is cost competitive in comparison to other similar resources, and allows us to manage our very complex data efficiently. There are frequent updates and new features, ensuring that we always have access to the latest technology while maintaining a high level of security, automated backups and data storage.

Cons:

Customer support is the biggest issue for us since any time we were in need, responses were so slow! Even on very urgent matters, things were not expedited enough.

Franco
Software Developer in Chile
Program Development, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

my experience

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

rewarding the experience of how simple and fast it is to operate different services

Cons:

the price in my opinion is quite enough

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Google cloud is a winner for me

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, it solves my business's problems of having our infrastructure managed in a cloud platform well.

Pros:

Integrating with google cloud is very straightforward and it's fantastically easy to use compared to competitors such as AWS. The capabilities are comparable with the biggest players in the space but google cloud is much easier to use.

Cons:

Something to be wary of is pricing as it can ramp up quickly depending on which services you utilize. The customer support is also not quite where it should be for a company of this size.

Efezino
Efezino
Software Developer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Security-centric

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Google Cloud Platform offers a strong and secure cloud infrastructure with a wide range of services and integrations. However, its pricing and user interface may not be suitable for everyone.

Pros:

One of the pros of Google Cloud Platform is its strong focus on security. It offers several security features, such as identity and access management, encryption, and network security. Additionally, its global network of data centers and edge locations provide fast and reliable performance.Another pro is its wide range of services and integrations with other Google products. This allows users to easily integrate their existing Google tools and technologies with their cloud infrastructure.

Cons:

Some users may find the pricing of Google Cloud Platform to be a con. It can be complex and difficult to understand, making it challenging to accurately predict and manage costs. Additionally, some users may find the user interface to be overwhelming and not as user-friendly as other cloud platforms.