15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About IT Glue

IT Glue is documentation built for IT professionals. Track, find and know everything in under 30 seconds.

Learn more about IT Glue

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to share information inside our team.

Cons:

They just added the one thing i always complained about.

IT Glue ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

IT Glue has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 248 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used IT Glue before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (249)

Chris
Chris
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ITGlue

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Very good has added efficiency to our business.

Pros:

Integration and automation of our documentation and platforms we use.

Cons:

Integration challenges every integration comes with its own issue, but often we need to jump thru hoops to make the information appear congruent, and avoid duplications.

Brian
Systems Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Consolidating systems into one with IT Glue

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Combining all of our IT documentation that has been saved over the years in personal folders, network share folders and invidvidual application knowledge bases into one go-to location. This saves a ton of time when onboarding new technicians so they don't have to learn where all the varied locations for help.

Pros:

The biggest value we have gotten out of IT Glue is gathering all of our documentation, vendor contacts, assets and passwords into one platform. We no longer have to scour multiple network share folders to find support documentation on a particular application or send out a message to the team about who has the contact info for XYZ vendor. We have also seen a reduction in our budget spending by eliminating the need for a separate asset management tool, password vault and knowledge base platform. All 3 of those functions have now been consolidated into IT Glue for one go-to location for all of this information.

Cons:

Importing existing data into IT Glue has been the most challenging piece in two ways. Because it is cloud based, the amount of time it takes to upload data by csv for example can vary greatly depending on where your upload lands in their "queue". I have had a single csv with 2 total lines of password data take upwards of 20 minutes to get the confirmation that it has been uploaded but then a second csv with 50+ lines upload within seconds. There hasn't been a way to import passwords directly into a user's personal password vault. We first have to upload them to the shared password root folder and the user has to modify them to be visible to only themselves. This leaves their personal data to be briefly open to anyone with access to the password module to click on those entries until they are moved to their private folder.

Joel
Joel
Founder in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Overall disappointed

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is regrettable that there is so little competition in this area. Because of this the product is expensive and the service poor. If there were more options we likely would have gone with a different solution. Hopefully there will be other players in the game by the time our agreement is up. Overall, we are disappointed in the value of this product.

Pros:

The main feature of the product is document storage and it does this well. For storing configurations about your client's technology, expiries and passwords, I do give it high marks. The permissions are very granular so you are able to allow many users (and even clients) appropriate access. Whatever information you have for your client, there is a spot to store it. The offer a lot of integrations with RMMs, PSAs and other IT vendors.

Cons:

The granular permissions come at the cost of a learning curve in understanding how the permissions work. IT Glue tries to incorporate a lot of functionality to make it a more useful and all-in-one tool, but much of the functionality is just not good. For example, you can create checklists that can be reused on different sites but it is very basic. We use Process St for checklists and couldn't imagine moving to such an inferior product for a bit of convenience. The password manager is about where other mainstream password managers were 10 years ago. We were embarrassed to offer it to our clients. The website is not aesthetically pleasing and the app has only limited functionality. I have found the customer support to be terrible.

Iana Crystyn
Product Expert and Knowledge Base Specialist in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ITGlue: Multifunctional and Very Easy to Use

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

ITGlue is so multifunctional that it can help centralize the storage of your documents, SOPs, Passwords and such. It also helps in storing asset and vendor info. Collaboration is also simplified in this platform so even if your colleagues is from another country, you are sure that you will be able to share with them the info they need in a very secure manner.

Cons:

The platform can do better when it comes to personalization such as letting the admins personalize the welcome email they send to their new users. Access permissions can be expanded to have a much customized access delegations to every user.

Alex
Cloud Solutions Manager in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Never looked back after switching to IT Glue

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: IT Glue has been a tremendous add to our stack.

Pros:

- Integration with our RMM and PSA works seamlessly - Flexible assets that are ready for import have a great amount of coverage. - Reputation offers a way to motivate employees to engage with documentation

Cons:

- There is not much I don't like about IT Glue, but if I had to choose something it would be the ability to have a templatized environment for different typed of clients.

Paul
Snr Ops Engineer in UK
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: ITGlue is a fantastic tool that we truly haven't had many issues with. We are an MSP, so we rely on the platform for keeping device configs, passwords, user docuemtnation, company SOPs etc for each and every client. Its really easy to find everything, update and share. It also integrates with a lot of the other Kaseya / Datto products, so this combined it all into an 'almost' single pane of glass.

Pros:

Its a straightforward interface, easy to navigate and update. Every aspects can be secured and shared with only those who need access.

Cons:

Support is OK, could be better in terms of knowledge and speed of resolutions

Nick
Customer Success Specialist in Canada
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

IT Glue helped us manage our documentation

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

The integrations with other tools and documentaiton

Cons:

The amount of time it took to import our data from SharePoint

Craig
Service Manager in New Zealand
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Glue-ing IT together

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Really good - consistent documentation templates are available, standardising customer info for the engineering and service teams.

Pros:

Brings all the critical info together into intuitive and easy-to-use screen. Easy to setup users. Integrates well with the suite of products.

Cons:

Little bit tricky to configure the customers into groups when they require higher authorisation of staff accessing the information. MyGlue pricing is quite high.

Micheal
Marketing Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

IT Glue Is a Reliable IT Documentation Software

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

This IT documentation system has been so reliable. I like the efficient features of IT Glue.

Cons:

No cons about IT Glue. IT Glue has amazing features.

Donnie
Network Tech in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Tech Review

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Keeps, Serial numbers, and Mac addresses of all your devices that you have deployed. That is has special features like, equipment password keeper, and one time pass code to view those passwords

Cons:

I have not found anything that i have not liked yet

Chris
General Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

IT Documentation and credential management

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easily handle large amounts of customer documentation, credentials, and other IT information. Our customer accounts are automatically added by integration with our CRM, further reducing time spent on data entry. Credentials for new clients are easy to import.

Cons:

There have been a couple of outages which affected our business the the past few years, but overall service is highly reliable. As with any online service you should have an offline backup kept up to date just in case.

Ewan
Senior Solutions Consultant in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic object to object documentation

5.0 last year

Pros:

The key selling point of IT Glue when we came onboard in 2018 was the fact that any object can be linked with any other object. This means that we can have a configuration for a server, with a linked password, a linked knowledge document, a linked flexible asset explaining the SLAs. The fact that all knowledge can be linked to other relevant knowledge without having to search constantly has been a revelation.

Cons:

There are certain inflexible things in IT Glue - the core assets have always been this way. One example of something that is more complicated than it needs to be because of legacy code is the Documents area. There is great potential here to have something similar to Sharepoint document storage with links to live documents in Office Online. It's definitely improved since we came onboard but it's not quite there yet. You are unable to delete non-empty folders as an example.

Aaron
IT Technician in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Useful tool needing minor fixes

4.0 last year

Comments: IT Glue allows us to save our clients' passwords, SOP, and site information. Because of it, the console is an essential tool in our product lineup. When a user forgets a password, when we need an admin password, or looking up procedures for specific problems, IT Glue is the first place we look.

Pros:

The most valuable part of ITGlue is its intended function. It stores passwords, documents, and other mission-critical information. Their competitors' products are similar. However, some of them have been suffering from security compromises.

Cons:

There are a couple of things that have hindered my experience:-The quick search text input does not clear when switching between different searches (specifically from password quicksearch to organization quick search).- Searching in the documents only searches the documents in the current folder instead of the content in all the folders. Because of this, my company does not use the folder feature.- Password quick search results menu needs improved user feedback. When clicking the copy field button, there is no pop-up like when using the usual console. It leaves the user unsure whether the button worked.- The copy button takes a while to apply the copied field to the clipboard. I have experienced the copy failed message much more than I would like using this product.

Aaron
Systems Consultant in Jersey
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Glue that holds the team together :)

5.0 last year

Comments: We have managed to combine a central area with clear documentation and asset and password access. Before we were busy fools hunting for information and saving information in lots of different ways. IT Glue has streamlined this providing ease of use and consistency for our day to day operations and helped to support clients quicker and more efficiently.

Pros:

IT Glue is a breeze to implement. The most beneficial aspect of the product is the integrations by far. Being able to sync information and map key aspects of data to both devices and contacts is key for the day to day success of our support. Before using the product technicians would spend too much time on tickets hunting for information. Now all the information they could possibly need is at their fingertips. It really is the Glue that ties these portals together.

Cons:

The fact that documents do not have versioning. Users of the documents if edited have no way to roll back a document or see what attributes have ben changed and by which user.

Alex
Systems Engineer in UK
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Safe storage for all your important passwords

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Having a safe offsite location that we can all access at different levels of access for all our critical passwords, contact data, disaster recovery planning and more is such a fundamental key part of any IT infrastructure. IT Glue provides exactly that, and does it very well.

Cons:

It is not the cheapest solution but its the best for a reason and you'll be glad you used it if the unthinkable happens and you find yourself in disaster recovery scenario

Jere
ADMIN in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ITG is good for documentation

4.0 last year

Comments: So far we're pleased with ITG. No major complaints after almost 3 years.

Pros:

Easy to use, wide variety of integration options

Cons:

The flexible assets feature for billing could use some improvements.

Alyssa
Service Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

IT Glue is needed for everyone!

5.0 last year

Comments: Our account manager is awesome and is very responsive with any and all my questions. It has helped us with lost time trying to remember what documentation is where or passwords for that matter. It is a go to spot that our whole team uses . I am very happy with this solution and am at a point we are now going to offer MyGlue to our clients .

Pros:

I like the granularity of permissions, the auditing it has, and how much more productive our team is have one location to go for passwords,how tos, licensing, etc. We especially like the OTPs in the passwords because then we do not have to track down who has what MFA and can get in easily.

Cons:

Setting up ITG was somewhat difficult and however once you get the feel for it , it starts to make more sense. once you are using it

Todd
President in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ITGlue set our business up to truly Scale

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall, documentation is the foundation for any MSP and ITGlue is the best way to build that documentation in a way that helps an MSP scale.

Pros:

ITGlue was the first platform we used to centralize our knowledge and build data and documentation in a way that could scale with a growing company.

Cons:

Searching in ITGlue requires training and is unintuitive. User permission management has evolved but is still silly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

This software launched our company into an age of Better documentation

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

What this really has going for it is the ability to link items, a SOP can be linked to other procedures and documents allowing you to hand off documentation and have all the related materials linked to the one Item. I also like that their team does not seem to be resting on the product as it is, there are continual improvements and exciting things roadmapped for the future.

Cons:

The platform lacks the ability to archive passwords that are no longer in play for former employees and the like. This has been on the community wishlist for quite some time with no indication of when or if it will be released. Another gripe is that core things in the software change FREQUENTLY without any prior warning explanation. Some of the changes have left me scratching my head as to what possible benefit or reason there is to changing things? So I find myself relearning certain aspects of how to use the software which can be particularly frustrating when trying to get through a work day.

Edward
Chief Operating Officer in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

IT Glue - Quality platform for MSPs

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Pre-Kaseya acquisition, IT Glue was awesome as a company. Since then, there has been a lot of churn from a people perspective, but the product continues to be very good.

Pros:

IT Glue was easy to set up overall, the most time we spent was entering existing data. My team liked the functionality and how items could be linked to eliminate searching around for documents and then credentials, etc.

Cons:

Feature-wise, I think IT Glue is great. Unfortunately, our account reps change constantly and seem to be most interested in upselling or cross-selling over promoting new features.

Alora
Chief of Staff in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall a solid product useful for keeping everyone on the same page

5.0 last year

Pros:

IT Glue is really useful for keeping the entire IT team on the same page. It often serves as a single point of truth for a lot of internal and external documents and processes. We use it for our own data as well as client data. We reference IT Glue on a daily basis across the organization. The phrase "let me check IT Glue" is frequently uttered.

Cons:

Their customer service could stand to be a little more consistent. Sometimes it can be hit or miss depending on what rep you are routed to. For the most part, our issues are solved in a timely manner. From time to time we experience outages, which can be frustrating, but we have our most important items located in other accessible locations.

Nick
Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Glue

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been using ITGlue for a few years now and have grown to love it! One you get the hang of the user interface, it becomes second hand nature. Anything and everything important goes into ITGlue!

Pros:

This web based platform is a one stop shop for all of our critical client information. If we need to know something about one of our clients, it always ends up in itglue! I personally love how everything is organized into clients and categories so I can easily find exactly what I'm looking for!

Cons:

The one thing I think could use improvement would be uptime. I will rarely see that ItGlue will become non accessible due to issues or maintenance . This doesn't happen very often but causes a big impact when it does.

Andrei
User support administrator in Estonia
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

IT Glue is a great solution to manage documentation, assets and keep track of inventory.

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: With the usage cases mentioned in this review had pretty much no problems, with some exceptions mentioned previously.
Overall an amazing solution that I truly recommend.

Pros:

Documentation, asset and credential management is great, how everything can be linked with each other. Also a great solution to keep track of inventory in your company.

Cons:

Documentation migration from previous solutions didn't go as flawlessly originally, some content did not copy over seamlessly, like pictures and attachments.

Lawrence
R&D Manager in UK
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My recommended, go-to documentation solution for any IT department/company!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall, ITGlue is great, the solution allows us to standardise our IT documentation but also share it with our customers via MyGlue

Pros:

The integration with 3rd party solutions, along with Kaseya's massive product stack. The easy to use UI, making it even easier and less daunting when it comes to documenting our customer's IT setup.

Cons:

Even though it's easy to use, I think it could be even more user friendly when it comes to access permissions both for ITGlue and MyGlue.

Cheryl
EDI Coordinator in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ITGlue has helped us organize and consolidate our critical documentation

5.0 last year

Comments: Onboarding and Offboarding Users

Pros:

We are not an MSP, but IT Glue has provided us with a central repository of our critical documentation for systems and software. The customization of flexible assets is just what we needed to consolidate different information from many different sources. We use custom checklists for onboarding and offboarding our users and the ability to relate information is very useful. The audit logs are a big help to keep us on track, We love the product and highly recommend it to our partners.

Cons:

There are no dislikes about the product.