About Samsara

Streamline your fleet operations and reduce costs with Samsaras all-in-one platform for GPS tracking, safety, ELD compliance and more.

Learn more about Samsara

Pros:

It is the best integration I have seen so far.

Cons:

Also could not post a route larger than 20 stops, that is the limit built into Samsara, we can have routes with up to 30 stops in a day.

Samsara ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Samsara has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 253 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Samsara before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (254)

L. Houston
L. Houston
Fleet Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samsara is an excellent Fleet Management software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am pleased with Samsara overall. It has shown us how to take our business to the next level. As we've evolved, our requirements of Samsara have as well. Although Samsara could not anticipate this, I am eager to give helpful insight on how to help Samsara go even further!

Pros:

I enjoy having the insight that it provides us. Literally, with what I can see on the road, and all of the back-end data it can provide us. Samsara helps us remain compliant in our industry. So its routing functions are a leading example of what vehicle tracking should look like. Lastly, the driver app is what comes in the clutch to wrap it all up. Our staff finds the app very intuitive, simple, and it rarely faults. It is official and its documents function help us log valuable information that we turn into presentable data!

Cons:

The system is buggy, and I find myself having to call in every so often to inquire about why I'm not seeing certain stats or images on my vehicles from their dashcams. The Driver app sometimes force quits and will sometimes refuse my drivers to log information.

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect and Fleetio

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: Samsara is robust, very user-friendly, and is scalable.

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: Capterra reviews!

Jonathan
President in Canada
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Frontier

5.0 last month New

Comments: We originally switched our dashcams to the Samsara Dashcam as our prior providers product was having issues being connected and recording when it was needed. The switch was easy and the product was excellent, through that we were able to get a preview of the other features available from Samsara. When we decided to make the switch for all of our telematics it was easy and straightforward. I was surprised at how effortless it was to connect our TMS software to Samsara.

Pros:

The ease of use for both the driver and for the operations team is what stands out the most. Our drivers were able to pickup and use the Samsara ELD with little to no training as it is very intuitive.

Cons:

I would like some more integration options with 3rd party vendors that integrate directly into the driver app and not require another app to operate (Navigation, scale/toll bypass).

Alternatives Considered: Motive

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: At the time we decided to make the switch, Zonar was not yet approved for ELD by the Canadian Government and the ELD deadline was approaching and we wanted to have an approved product in place with enough time to work out any bugs/issues prior to the Canadian ELD deadline.

Switched From: Ground Traffic Control

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: We had already had experience with the dashcams and I had some good reviews from some other companies that had been happy with Samsara.

Arturas
Owner in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Small fleets look elsewhere

1.0 last month New

Comments: very negative

Pros:

no pros, there's nothing to it, never got to try it,

Cons:

never got to try it since they basically do not care about small fleets, it was impossible to get a hold of anyone. I have friends that are using the software, and they gave me contact info for Samsara and after getting a hold of those multiple contacts we kept getting told that it is a self service for small fleets. So we filled everything out on their website and got an answer after a long while. In a meantime started using a competitors product, whose customer service where more than happy to assist without any delays.

Alternatives Considered: Motive and STAR Road

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: I didn't. Samsara made sure I choose competitors over them

Daniel
Public Works Supervisor in US
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Samsara Review

5.0 last month New

Comments: Samsara has been a great service so far. I find much more value with this service than past providers. I also expect that we may begin using some of the additional features when we get time to work with them.

Pros:

Samsara is very user friendly, it seems to have endless features you can use. We like the cameras they offer and have them on all of our route service based vehicles to be able to confirm missed trash collections or confirm issues with why carts may have not been collected.

Cons:

Pulling the camera footage can occasionally be difficult just because the points on the map do not always align perfectly with the footage. This is a simple problem to fix, I just expand the amount of footage I pull.

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: We had Verizon Networkfleet which was still running on 3G so we had to either upgrade or find a new provider.

Switched From: Verizon Connect

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: Samsara had real time tracking and no bread crumb trails. The past service we used had bread crumb trails which could be difficult to decipher. Samsara also has much better customer service.

Wendy
Safety/Admin in Canada
Translation & Localization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Safety

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: not bad

Pros:

reports for idling, camera views, maintenance reports and tracking.

Cons:

location on log book is not as exact as could be. we travel northern canada and gps and logs does not state the locations

Mihail
Owner in Canada
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samsara User

3.0 12 months ago

Comments: Customer service it's very poor. I takes forever to fix simple problem. In case if app quit working or something went wrong and driver gets an violation because of the app customer service refuse to fix or remove that violation. Be careful with contract. They hook customers on service agreement ,in case if you cancel before term they will ask for return the device back plus pay the rest of the term left.

Pros:

Manager dashboard it's really good developed, and easy to use. GPS its accurate and camera works great and fast.

Cons:

Driver app its hard to use and it's slow. Hard time to edit logs. Crossing border glitches. Doesn't give warning to driver in case if driver forget to do DVIR.

Alternatives Considered: Motive

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: Because they don't have camera option and it's expensive.

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: I thought it's great customer service and great app for drivers but I was wrong. After so many cases open with technical department I decided to move.

Richard
IT-safety in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samsara The Best Product on the Market, Above and Beyond!

5.0 last month New

Comments: Samsara is next gen top of the line. We have saved millions on non-accidents due to the high quality video and camera stills. The lack of down time has saved us uncountable dollars. Very easy to setup, configure, and implement. I was able to order, receive, program, install, and have 400 trucks working in 3 months, all while taking our time. Service is the BEST I've ever dealt with, quick to reply, always answer the phone. Lifetime warranty on hardware. I could go on for hours...

Pros:

The camera will send you video when an event happens, no waiting for a driver phone call, or not being aware of an incident/accident. Has saved us millions in the first 6 months of use. The driver ELD app is customizable (workflow) and VERY EASY for drivers to learn and use. Equipment install is 5 minutes, driver training is 15 minutes. After 400 installs and driver training this time savings is enormous. Over 400 cameras, vehicle gateways, 600 trailer trackers, and ZERO hardware failures. Plug it in and it works! With no formal training I was able to unbox, program, install, and use the hardware/software the first day.

Cons:

The driver app has a few pages where there is no next or advance button, you have to use the upper left back arrow ( <- ) on some pages to go back or exit a page.

Loren
General Manager in US
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Two years of Use

5.0 last month New

Comments: Helping to establish better driving accountability.Better maintenance of the fleet.Keep accurate track of mileage travelled on a daily basis for cost tracking.

Pros:

Real Time Tracking is helpful in our business to have our vehicles location for giving delivery times to customers that aren't present when the deliveries are made, giving the time/date and a picture of our vehicle at their facility helps with proof of delivery.Maintenance tracking is helpful for keeping vehicles service intervals to be done on time with the alerts to show up before mileage has been reach.

Cons:

Following distance notifications can be annoying when driving in heavy traffic because the settings are fairly sensitive.Downloading footage from cameras can very slow at times, not sure if that has to do with the cellar service or if there could be an update to improve that retrieval.

Ricky
Owner Operator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Disappointed and Unsupported

3.0 last year

Comments: Crap

Pros:

The control and data entry portion of the daily log is good and easy enough to understand.

Cons:

This list will be lengthy.... 1. Random duty status changes for no apparent reason and into statuses that shouldn't be possible. For example while driving it puts you into ON DUTY NOT DRIVING or just the opposite. 2. While driving it will switch to you co-driver and start logging on their log. 3. Won't track and will enter wrong locations in completely other states. 4. Will lock you out and not allow entries... their answer... uninstall and reinstall. Like I have tome for this especially in low data signal areas. 5. Day / Night mode is at set times which don't cha need bases on time of year so you have this huge bright white screen staring at you while driving at night in rain and snow. Not a problem if you aren't close on time monitoring it. 6. Message system is pure crap... no DELETE an no MARK AS READ options. 7. Often will not detect driving or motion of the vehicle and must be entered manually which means I have to pull over and stop on busy highways to do this... that's safety.

Samsara Response

10 months ago

Hi Ricky - Thanks for providing this feedback on our product. We've shared it with the team and hope to make improvements in the future.

John
Operation Manager in India
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of a kind experience, best in class software experience

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

The intuitive and speed of application. Option to create document upload formats with custom fields and Roll out to organization user where driver / employees can submit expense receipts, bols or any other document with input fields. Live updates in GPS tracking, no delay at all and snail or history view is excellent. If you have camera installed, you can see the images of their halt place.

Cons:

Couldn't remember any needed figure missing.

Bruce
Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Asset

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Over all a great system for the money. Drivers take to it easily, dispatchers like the flexibility and versatility of tracking the trucks and seeing what is going on. It would be nice if you could hover or select a driver and visibly see something that tells how long they have been sitting rather than having to going into the trips and just see a paragraph that displays time.

Pros:

Very easy to maneuver and learn features on the dashboard. App is easy to learn, even for our older non-tech drivers. Cameras have paid for themselves in the first year by being able to download and utilize for accidents.

Cons:

App updates constantly, which is good that features are added. Most times though updates slow the app down if the update does not take automatically and locks up app. Since everyone has begun working from home and remotely, customer service has suffered and response time from email is very lacking, and when they do its the same scripted reply's. Initially someone would work through an issues with you on the phone, no so much anymore.

Nicholas
Operations Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Samsara Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The total experience has been far superior to any of the other ELD or GPS companies we've worked with in the past.

Pros:

Customer fueled app and software updates.

Cons:

The company is growing so fast that you lose grasp of your initial contact people to newer roles and have to revert back to their support email. Responses are still handled in a more than sufficient time frame though so it hasn't been a real issue.

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect, Motive, Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR and Rhino Fleet Tracking

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: Fees for equipment AND installation. Installs needed the trucks blocked for days costing $. Software was nothing special and customer service was a nightmare.

Switched From: Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: Combination of Corporate options/pricing and ease of use

Tate
Director of technical operations, growth, and development in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The smart, do everything, connected vehicle solution.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Samsara has been a great tool not only in organizing and managing out vehicles and assets, but has allowed us to successfully defend against false claims. Samsara is such a value additive software, that it dampens my frustration with the many bugs and problems evident in rushed development and poor testing for certain features. I honestly can not say this for any other software I use.

Pros:

Everything you need is included, and in one place. Fleet tracking, cameras, HOS, safety, performance, and dispatch tools all live in one place. Additionally, the team is very responsive in creating one-off or custom integrations should you need them.

Cons:

The cameras, the logic by which they record, and the dashboard for viewing them could use some work. You're unable to retrieve segments more than 60 seconds in length at any one period of time. They offer a "hyperlapse" mode, but I find this to be a useless gimmick as the compression effectively omits frames making it difficult to identify incident times.

Erika
Logistics Coordinator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy ELD program

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We analyzed about six ELD programs before making the decision to go with Samsara. It has been an easy transition from paper log books to ELD for most of our drivers. The additional data we get on the truck performance is invaluable. We have been able to extract information to improve business performance over many categories. In addition, Samsara support has always been very quick to address our concerns or fix issues we find.

Pros:

This program offers a lot of features and has allowed us to extract data that our small company did not previously have easy access to. Managing HOS, fuel usage, IFTA and more are easier now that we use Samsara. In addition, it is easy to use and even our least tech-savvy drivers have been able to use it without issue.

Cons:

There are a lot of tweaks to the system on a regular basis, which sometimes affects the interface of the product. This confuses some of our drivers and is difficult to keep up with for those without much technical/computer knowledge.

Alternatives Considered: Omnitracs, Motive, IntelliRoute and Fleet Mobility

Switched From: Omnitracs, Motive, IntelliRoute and Fleet Mobility

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: Samsara seemed to be the most cost effective and user friendly product overall. We like that it also includes temp probes for our reefer trailers and we were able to purchase tablet interfaces instead of needing a specific device. The drivers can have the app backed up on their phone in case of incident and the tablet can double for them to watch training videos, access emails and messages and more.

Andres
Operations Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Next level tech.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Love it. We have a screen on the wall in our office, every time we have a customer that come to visit us they like the way it looks and we always get complements of what we can track with the software.

Pros:

*Easy to use *Can be used on different platforms *Looks very high tech

Cons:

On the maintenance section-When you create a schedule for any particular unit you have to create multiple for each unit. On an our previous software we used to use before you only have to select a unit and then select what you needed to track ea. PM, DOT inspections etc.

Alternatives Considered: GPS Fleet Management and USFleetTracking

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: *The software was not to standars *Customer service was bad. Always took a long time to get someone on the phone for help and when you got one very rarely they could help you with the issue.

Switched From: Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: have more features and have E-logs, GPS, Cameras all integrated.

Patrick
Head of Applications in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The top of the line loaded with features, if you can afford it!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Samsara is the big dog in the industry and has this down to a science. The solutions are scalable for large fleets down to smaller delivery or transportation customers. The up front costs were high for us and the return on investment took time. Users were easily trainable and the feature rich web platform and cloud based video system was exactly what we needed from a safety stand point as it did most of the work for us. The alert system and AI systems were very good and came in handy in terms of driver training coaching and reprimanding. Samsara has paid off on more then one occasion by saving the company from costly or preventable accidents due to poor driving.

Pros:

Very slick platform, loaded with features, reporting, cameras, video clips, alerts etc. Everything you want in an ELD/driver fleet management platform.

Cons:

You get what you pay for, its very pricey to operate and is the best out there but hard to justify the costs when there are so many other players in the same market.

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: The camera system and ease of use is what really drove us towards samsara. It had the most features and a roadmap of new features that impressed our team.

Brandon
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Has Potential

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: There's so much potential with this company. I was extremely happy when I first signed up with them and had an excellent experience the first year and a half. It wasn't until I ran into my first issue and need help from customer service and accounting. My business is not valued at all. Another 1 until my contracts are finished and I will find another provider for my GPS and ELD services.

Pros:

Very user friendly. Accurate and up to date latest information.

Cons:

Absolute worst customer service I think I've ever dealt with in my professional 10 year career. You can not get a hold of them by phone. No matter how many voicemails you leave, no one ever returns your call. 2nd option is email. I don't know how many I've sent over the last few months to address one issue. No one responds or cares.

Samsara Response

2 years ago

Hi Brandon, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us we always aim to put our customers first and are very sorry to hear this has been your experience. A manager from our Support team will be giving you a call so we can help address your concerns.

Jason
Business Development in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best option that continues to improve

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The product is great and many others are as well. The team behind it has been as impressive which puts them in the lead.

Pros:

The setup and configuration options are very user friendly. The ability to share live links is very helpful. The Time on Site report is a great tool to share with shippers and consignees.

Cons:

There were a few features that were missing in the beginning but have since been added so nothing comes to mind.

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect, Motive, Fleetilla Trailer Tracking Solution and Geotab

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: Omnitracs unwillingness to allow for integration and their very poor customer service.

Switched From: Omnitracs

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: It was clear early on that the Samsara team was more responsive to questions and willing to discuss flexibility of their system.

Christopher
Christopher
Program Manager in US
Environmental Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samsara - Perfect Balance of Features, Function and Design

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Samsara allows us 100% visibility of our fleet, plus diagnostic info regarding our trucks, including fuel level and DEF level!

Pros:

Samsara offers a simple yet stunning UX. The dashboard is subtle yet robust. What I love is that nothing annoys me about the interface. Things are where I would assume I should find them. There is just enough functionality without introducing options I'll never use. So far Samsara is super durable and stable. Reporting is quick and accurate. The hardware options surpass the competitors. So far we are very happy with our choice.

Cons:

The maintenance feature doesn't allow uploading files such as receipts.

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: Our previous provider didn't offer real-time vehicle diagnostics via OBDII port.

Switched From: FleetLocate

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: The user interface was superior as well as the hardware options.

Dave
Logistics Administration/Operations in US
Automotive, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Better Way of Doing What We've Always Done

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Safety policies have been easier to monitor. We love the camera placements in our equipment.

Pros:

Intuitive navigation for the dashboard user as well as for the driver.

Cons:

The dashboard is just a little boring with the lack of color. Maybe needs just a little splash of color for visible interest.

Alternatives Considered: Omnitracs

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: We didn't want to upgrade our Omnitracs with an inflated price after having been a customer for so long. Our IT director is highly respected in his field. His recommendation, after looking at just a few alternatives, was to choose Samsara based on the quality of the software.

Switched From: Omnitracs

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: Better price and better technology.

LeRoy
Safety Director in
Building Materials, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very satisfied Customer

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been very happy with Customer service. The Cameras are very clear with good night vision as well.

Pros:

Samsara has been an eye opener for us, not just in Compliance, but in aspects of safety as well. It has a built in accountability for each driver, and allows the Safety Director to access driving behavior as well. Speed, harsh braking and AI technology at stop signs has become a positive peer pressure for the drivers, at the same time reducing operating and maintenance costs per vehicle.

Cons:

We are very happy with the software. It is meeting our expectations

Elmo
Vice Pres in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samsara vs Teletrac

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the product is very reliable, the company is very proactive in checking on units and sending out new ones when tracking unit does not even show us a problem. they are very quick to send out add on units. customer service is GREAT !

Pros:

Very comprehensive. There are probably more thing built into the software than we actually loose.

Cons:

would like to see mile markers easier on the map search when looking at trucks.

Alternatives Considered: Truckers Helper

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: teletrac has NO customer service what so ever, or at least did not at the time we were having issues

Switched From: Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: customer service and reliability as recommended by the rep

Ajneel
Safety Director in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAMSARA ELD, DASH CAM AND TRUCK TRACKING

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I HAD SMALL ISSUES WITH DEVICE GOING OUT, IT WAS QUICKLY RESOLVED BY SAMSARA TEAM BY THEM SENDING ME ANOTHER ONE IN 2 DAYS.
I HAD ISSUES WITH THE WIRE THAT BROKE AND THEY REPLACED THE WIRE IN 2 DAY'S FREE OF CHARGE.
WHENEVER I CALL THEY ARE ALWAYS THERE TO HELP WHICH I LIKE. PHONE CALLS WORKS AND EMAILS WORK ALSO. THEIR PRODUCT IS A GOOD PRODUCT TO HAVE AND UTILIZE FOR A COMPANY WHO LIKES TO SEE REAL TIME TRACKING. AS FAR AS DASH CAM THIS IS THE BEST PRODUCT YOU COULD EVERY HAVE. OUR TRUCK WAS SIDE SWIPPED WITH A CAR AND THE CAR CALLED CHP TELLING THEM IT WAS OUR TRUCK WHO HIT IT. LUCKILY DASH CAM WAS THEIR AND BEING A WEEKEND I CAN REMOTE ACCESS IT FROM HOME AND SHOWED CHP WHAT REALLY HAPPENED THEY LET OUR TRUCK GO AND GAVE OTHER PEOPLE TICKET AND TOWED THEIR CAR.

Pros:

EVERYTHING WORKS THE WAY IT SAYS IT WILL WORK.

Cons:

SO FAR WITH ALL THE EXPERIENCE WITH THIS PRODUCT THERE IS NO ISSUES

Hope
Fleet Manager in US
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our telematics and GPS tracking have greatly improved since switching to Samsara. We have had an excellent experience with our assigned representatives and appreciate the constant (automatic!) software updates and Samsara's dedication to meeting DOT compliance as it changes.

Pros:

Quick response to questions and recommendations. Constant updates. Great follow through. Incredibly accurate location and telematics.

Cons:

A bit pricey compared to others I tried, but I feel it is worth it for the quality of service and accuracy.

Alternatives Considered: Geotab

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: OCC was very sporadic and inaccurate. Anytime I went to look for a truck having trouble, it wouldn't register on the map and I couldn't find its location. Also, telematics were reactive rather than proactive (on the rare occasion that they worked at all). Despite the increase in monthly service fee, I have no doubt Samsara has helped save us on predicting potential breakdowns before they cause lost time.

Caira
Terminal Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Samsara Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: works fine

Pros:

Easy to use. Easy for drivers to also use

Cons:

takes too much to get equipment replaced

Alternatives Considered: Verizon Connect

Reasons for Choosing Samsara: Easier to use

Switched From: FleetFACTZ

Reasons for Switching to Samsara: Easy to use