15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Limelight Reviews

4.6 (34) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Limelight

Limelight is cloud FP&A software for CFOs and their finance teams to drive growth, agility and critical business decisions.

Learn more about Limelight

Pros:

The workforce planning tool has been the biggest improvement to our processes, providing insights and projection accuracy that we didn't have previously.

Cons:

There isn't much that I don't like about the software.

Limelight ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Limelight has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 34 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Limelight before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (34)

Kyle
Kyle
Director of Applications in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best reporting solution for your budget!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Limelight has been a tremendous partner that we are extremely grateful for. They listen, execute and advise on best practices to fulfill our reporting needs and goals.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to use, create, administer and maintain all functions around the reporting. We find it a breath of fresh air with a dramatic leap forward from previous solutions and competitors. The people and service was truly the key as they tailored it to our liking. They are truly a partner that listened and executed well to fulfill our vision.

Cons:

There are only minor enhancements that we would like for the software however, the limelight team listened well and already have those improvements in the roadmap in the very near future.

Sami
Sr. Director, Finance in US
Media Production, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent and Flexible Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: While our implementation had been a bit rocky, I have been very pleased with Limelight since they. They continue to add features to the product and make it more valuable. Their customer service has been very responsive any time I do have an issue. Our [SENSITIVE CONTENT] also loves being able to see the reporting by just logging in.

Pros:

The automatic import of data from our accounting system is invaluable for reducing work and human error. The flexibility of this software for building reports has helped us automate much of the manual reporting we were doing.

Cons:

For more complex reports, the load time can be slow, especially if you have a lot of people in the system.

Eric
Senior Accountant in US
Airlines/Aviation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

FlightAware

3.0 last year

Comments: Unfortunately our business needs changed during implementation due to acquisition but we were able to adjust during implementation to suit our new FP&A needs from our parent company.

Pros:

The data import from our ERP and timely and accurate, and the reports generated for financial statements and internal reporting are critical to our monthly financial review.

Cons:

Report building is a little complicated, but the trade-off is the support staff is very responsive in helping you trouble shoot your report building problems.

Jason
Director of Financial Planning and Analysis in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A big upgrade

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: As our single largest expense item, workforce planning is critical. Limelight has helped us gain more accurate projection capabilities into our workforce, utilizing employee-specific data, linked with actual payroll data (from ADP) and the ability to see historical paid hours and project specific hours by employee into the future. Often our prior projections involved carrying forward current month actuals, maybe including new hires we knew about, but often inaccurate. Now we have projection employee counts, accurate paid time (even during holidays and breaks) for nearly 2,000 employees

Pros:

The workforce planning tool has been the biggest improvement to our processes, providing insights and projection accuracy that we didn't have previously. We're able to get both employee counts and paid time historically as well as projected values through our projection period.

Cons:

While the workforce planning module has been the most useful tool to us, it's also been the most challenging to set up and run. This was a new process for us, and we have 35+ end-users in limelight. Most of our challenges have been creating an environment with intentionally limited input options so users don't "break" the calcs. Limelight's support team has been very responsive, even after go-live implementation, in helping solve our data input and template challenges. One other item that has been a blessing and a challenge is the report books function. While this has been improving even in the first 6 months since implementation, the process for setting up a report book, identifying errors when the book fails, and outputs to excel are still a little challenging, and not as user friendly as much as the rest of the system. This is an area where I can see opportunities for big future improvements.

Alex
Accounting Manager in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Limelight 3 Year Review

5.0 last year

Comments: We had a great sales team, great technicians, and great sales customer service. Our only issue has been the technicians over engineering important pieces of our environment that has made it hard for me, the internal administrator, to navigate without help; but the limelight customer success team has been great and straightening this out for me.

Pros:

Our most impactful feature is our forecasting process, and it has become the basis of all major decisions

Cons:

Our biggest issue has been over engineering. During the set up phase we had great technicians but they didnt quite seem to grasp the whole picture. Anytime i am trying to change my global variables or scenarios i have run into issues because of over engineering. We are working to get it fixed, and the customer service is great.

James
Cash Manager/Financial Analyst in US
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Limelight review

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: It's still relatively early, but so far so good.

Pros:

Once set up API connectivity brings in balance data monthly with a lot of ease.Customer support has been great.There is a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it there is a good deal of flexibility with report building to represent many different kinds of calculations

Cons:

Excel upload is not standard. Each upload type would have to be built by them (at extra cost) rather than being able to just use a relatively standard template.Not their fault, but the API call for transactional data has no flexibility. All transactions have to be loaded which is a drag on API call time and size.In order to see the transactional line items you have to be at the lowest level of dimension. It would be nice if you could have a roll-up but still be able to see the transactional detail rather than needing to expand down however many levels.Building reports has an Excel feel, but not the flexibility. You have to actually type a cell reference rather than being able to use mouse or cursor to select a cell

Jeremy
FP&A Lead in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great customer and technical support

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been positive. The team at Limelight responds to our inquires timely and are very helpful.

Pros:

What stands outs are the custom solutions offered by the technical staff and the ability to re-engineer processes to achieve better results.

Cons:

The parts of the software that are excel like should continue to add more excel features. This will help users who are transitioning from excel learn the software faster.

Arlene
Corporate Controller in US
Biotechnology, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Limelight Budget & Forecast Platform Tool

5.0 last year

Pros:

Working with the Limelight Consultant made it virtually seamless to build and use the Limelight Budget & Forecast Platform for our company. The attention and knowledge from the Limelight Customer Service Team was second to none. The ability of the team to make changes on the fly to the build of the platform moved the project to completion in a short amount of time. The mimic of the platform to excel made the transition very easy. I liked that the design of the module included ALL formats. Very User Friendly. I also liked that it seamlessly integrated with our NetSuite ERP making it easy to report both "Actuals" and Budgets in all templates and reports

Cons:

There were no cons. I loved everything about this product!

Megan
Corporate FP&A Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Still at the starting line but excited for where this platform will take my team

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: If every sales team and integration team were like Limelight, the business world would be a better place. All too often in my career, the sales teams justified the reputation of the "Sales" guy, constantly over promising while the platform underdelivered. The disconnect between the sales team and the implementation team was, more often than not, a gap that could rarely be filled. From my first conversation with the reps to the continued working relationship I carry with the customer reps, I have every ounce of confidence that Limelight as a platform, and as a partner, was the right choice for our team!

Pros:

Right from the start, the platform was visually familiar and seemingly uncomplicated. Its ability to communicate with our accounting software, virtually seamlessly, promised to increase our ROI on the time committed to completing variance reports and conducting variance analysis. Throughout the demos I couldn't help but think "this is too good to be true, nothing is this easy". I was convinced of its benefits from the end user perspective but was concerned about the potential complication of the back end or maintenance of the software. Much to my surprise, Limelight was true to their word, the back end and maintenance has been just as smooth as promised.

Cons:

Given that I am still in the construction stage, I am not in the position to comment on this aspect as of yet. So far, I am extremely pleased with the entire process, as well as the amazing team that introduced us to Limelight along with their colleagues who have worked with us to build the platform to suit.

Alicia
Senior Accountant in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great budgeting software

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

It is so customizable and the implementation team has done a great job in translating our numerous Excel files to a workable and easy method of budgeting templates and input pages. Our employees love that it still looks like Excel, so the transition was smooth.

Cons:

It takes a lot of dedication and time to test and fully implement, although I think that would be true for any budgeting software since each company is unique. There are some sorting features that I'd like Limelight to have the capability of doing with the click of a button versus manually (sorting by employee name, account number etc), but they told me they've let their development team know so hopefully it will be a feature in the near future.

Julie
Assistant director of finance in Canada
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Limelight review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have to say that I was expecting the set up to be a little bit easier. I understand that every company has different needs so the design is done from scratch but I thought a budget is a budget same for all companies. Not being a computer geek, I have learned that all the relations between downloaded data, the input templates and the reports have a complex inter-relations that any little thing can set off wrong. Limelight staff were very quick to understand our environment and with every testing phase corrected any issues that came along. The development stage was very hands on and the limelight staff was always there to make any changes required when expected results were not coming through. They never give up until they figure out how to get what we want and have all the necessary knowledge within their organization be it accounting or programming and technical interface with various plateforms. They never hesitated in bringing help from other members of their team even if they were not specifically assigned to our project.

Pros:

Being in the service industry, our most important expense is wages and it happens to be the most complex expense in our organization combining multiple collective agreements, progression rates, multiple benefits, and also incudes multiple funds , regions and departments. Limelight designed a combined integration of input from our accounting data base and manual overrides with recalculations that gives us the most accurate budget all the way down to the individual employee. What would normally take dozens of excel spreadsheets in all done through a few templates and flow trough to our financial statements under budget column

Cons:

Limelight was able to provide us with all the necessary features so there is really nothing that I do not like in the software. It does take a bit of getting used to to navigate the steps but Limelight provided training and went so far as provide us with our own personal how to instructions .

Brian
Plant Accountant in US
Accounting Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptional product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's allowed us to supply the Business unit leaders with the proper financial reporting and give them insight to each and every account down to the penny. It's opened up a number of possibilities in regards to budgeting better and forecasting on the fly. Limelight has allowed us to hold better control of our expenditures. Love this product!

Pros:

I love the ease of use and the availability of reports it's capable of producing. It's helped with our closes and FP&A reporting tremendously!

Cons:

There isn't much if anything that I haven't liked with this software. It's super easy to use and allows instant reporting for financial presentations.

Kendra
Nurse in US
Medical Practice, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Exceptional

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It’s reliable, accurate, and fast. If there are any issues, it’s easily fixed.

Cons:

I like it all. It all works exactly like it should.

Benny
Benny
Sr. Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We gained faster reporting and analysis

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Limelight is adding tremendous value to our organization. Users find it easier to adopt the system and we now have a centralized place for budgets, expenses, and reports. Information is so much more readily available to our senior management.

Pros:

It has a better user interface than the native TM1 software.

Cons:

We were hoping to have Single Sign On right out of the gate but owing to our specific environment in our company, it did not go smoothly during implementation and we needed to push it to the next phase.

Frank
Plant Accounting Supervisor in US
Music, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Limelight Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software has enabled our company to have instant P&L reporting , whereas in the past we had to make manual reports every time to needed to run financial data.

Cons:

The only thing i don't like is that I cannot drill down to GL activity.

Kevin
FP&A Manager in US
Music, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Slice data any way you want to!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Limelight's ease of use to slice and dice financial information is second to none. Whenever there is a financial question, limelight is there to solve it. The continuous support of their staff has also been key to our analytical growth as an organization.

Cons:

The only real con would be to standardize more of the expressions rather than having to know code (ie: previous or next member).

Madhu
Manager, Financial Planning & Analysis in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Lots of value add

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Since the time we implemented Limelight, it has been so easy to close the month and easily figure out any miscoding, it's been an amazing experience so far. The budgeting and forecasting has never been so easy.
The support from the implementation team and the project managers has always been excellent.

Pros:

The ease of slicing and dicing the data to get the answers you need, easy filtering.

Cons:

Needs a sort and search field on payroll resource planning template.

Alyssa
Executive Analyst in US
Events Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple Solution

4.0 last year

Comments: Limelight has automated much of our budgeting process and makes it easy to create management and board reports off this information.

Pros:

The software is simple to use and resembles Excel in many ways which made it an easy switch for our users.

Cons:

The end user does not have much control/ability to customize reports (i.e. they cannot sort based on any column; that is hard coded in the back of the report).

Bruce
VP Finance/Controller in US
Commercial Real Estate Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Currently in implementation....

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Experience to-date has been very good from the start of the engagement, through the sales process and contact signing. The Lime light sales team was very easy to work with and were not your typically "sign-a-deal today" type of crew which was refreshing. We have not yet pushed Limelight into a production environment, but are confident that the cloud-based planning and reporting solution will greatly improve efficiencies and controls with our annual planning and quarterly forecasting process.

Pros:

The implementation process has been proceeding on schedule and our implementation consultant truly understands the FP&A function which has added great value to the process. While we're not yet complete with the implementation, the process has been very flexible allowing complete customization to our company specific requirements, including reporting We are looking forward to our user acceptance testing and go-live.

Cons:

At this point in our process, I have not identified any cons and the application is on a path to function as advertised and provide the value and efficiencies we were seeking as we move away from an Excel based planning tool.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great solution and team

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to implement with support of Limelight project management team. Flexible product. All cloud so easy to deploy within the organization.

Cons:

Nothing negative yet on Limelight implementation and use.

Jonathan
Jonathan
Founder in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome CDN service!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've been using Limelight for quite a while now as our main CDN system. The experience has been great so far !

Pros:

Customer service is really good. The CDN functionality is awesome and helped speed up our website considerably.

Cons:

I don't think there is anything we disliked about Limelight, even the pricing is reasonable, so nothing to complain about !

Luke
Luke
Corporate Controller in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Limelight Financial Software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our company struggled to pull financial information and our monthly reporting package was over 120 tabs in Excel just to make it work. Limelight solved all of those problems and we no longer have to prepare Excel financials, saving us time and money. It also has enabled us to perform analysis immediately and drill-down into the details. We couldn't be happier with the results of Limelight.

Pros:

The best part of Limelight is the ease of use. It's very user friendly and easy to pick up. It does not require hundreds of hours of training like other software does. It does exactly what our company needs and the entire Finance department was able grasp the functionality within minutes.

Cons:

We have no cons, it works exactly like we had hoped.

Noel
Dir Financial Planning & Analysis in US
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Limelight 3 mths in

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The support I am getting from the limelight team is the best I have ever experienced with a software company. I reach out to them, and they are immediately trying to help me out. Great group of people.

Pros:

The software offers a lot of flexibility. I can present data in report format which is much more useful than the typical dashboard presentation views in other tools. The ability to use limelight for both data collection applications as well as distribution is great. The natural connectivity to Essbase means I don't have to invest much time in changing my existing reporting platforms to leverage limelight. I have had the tool now for 3 months and have successfully written over 30 reports that will serve 100+ users easily. My management team is excited about what we will be able to do with limelight to minimize data management overhead within the finance organization.

Cons:

Graphing needs to be enhanced. Some small tweaks to report development would go along way. Looking forward to seeing version 3.

Ron
Sr Strategy Analyst in
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pretty good product for what we use it for.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Limelight is good for basic applications. As the company matures, the software is becoming more versatile.

Pros:

Simple software. It works well for simple applications.

Cons:

Lacking some functions since it's a relatively new product, but the engineers are constantly working to improve.

Kris
Manager, Profitability Management in US
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Limelight review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Experience working with Limelight team and customer service is great. Quick to respond to issues or other questions.

Pros:

The software is very easy to use and manage.

Cons:

Inability to change column or row members once a template or report is created.