Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    5 /5

About Prey

Prey is a mobile security, management and data protection platform for both enterprises and personal use, developed by Prey Inc.

Learn more about Prey

Showing 13 reviews

Verified Reviewer
PhD Student
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-05

"Discreet tracking software"

Pros: This location tracking software can be used on top of existing OS support (e.g. Find My Mac / iPhone), for a secondary way of locating stolen devices. Since it is less well known and more discreet than the built-in solution, the hope is that it is more likely to go unnoticed.

Cons: At some point, the software update system was broken and one of my devices' tracking stopped working. I was only notified after a few days by e-mail that my device had not checked in with Prey's servers for a while, which prompted me to look into it. During that interval, the device was not protected.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-05
Vincent po B.
Managing Director & Global Chief Marketing & Technology Officer
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-12

"A great tool to track devices"

Comments: Overall pretty happy with the app, it's easy to use and manage and provides added security for my devices.

Pros: I've been on the free plan, but it works great in tracking my devices and locking them down if necessary. It's easy to use and monitor your devices in their web app. Their pricing plans are pretty reasonable if you need to upgrade to tracking/managing more than 3 devices.

Cons: Can't think of anything really. Their free plan only includes 3 devices but that's fair enough. If you use it for personal use, that's usually enough.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-12
Verified Reviewer
Web Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-10

"Find what's lost, never again lose any device"

Comments: Prey is a great tool I install as soon as I get a new device, it helps you to recover your lost device and make the thieves think twice the next time they want to put their hands over your stuff.

Pros: Prey hides on your computer or phone so nobody that has stolen it knows that you know where are they, even myself I had to try reinstalling it because I couldn't remember if it was installed or not. Prey won't remove any other tracking software on your device but will sit on top of it, it's great as a second layer of protection for your device. Prey will notify me if a device hasn't been online recently so I can check if my device is safe or not. I tried send messages and ringing the alarm and if I was a thief I would be truly ashamed after that shows off in a public place, you can't reduce the volume once the alarm is ringing!

Cons: I had issues using Prey on an old Android 5.0 phone, apparently, the app couldn't connect to Prey servers. Maybe it was a temporary issue, I can't be sure since I don't use that phone anymore. Overall Prey is a great software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-10
Yadah K.
Business Owner, Trainer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-30

"My pc has never felt so safe."

Comments: Safety for my pc - I always know where it is and whether or not it's safe. Prompt emails and rapid response.

Pros: They let me know as soon as my pc has been offline for a certain amount if time - ensuring that I know whether or not my pc is safe. They notify me the second I'm online again, the whereabouts of my pc, etc - so I know I'd have full control of finding it again. I'm very impressed with the prompt response of the Prey team.

Cons: The sleek and modern branding may be too intimidating for some. I think marketing may be limited to pc-techs because no one else I know has heard of it...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-30
Kathryn N.
Technology and Training Manager
Veterinary Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-19

"Prey helps us keep our laptops safe"

Comments: We started using it to track our tablets and laptops after one was stolen. We love that it is stealthy, and it really gives us peace of mind since we can keep tabs on our expensive computers at all times.

Pros: Prey is stealthy (users don't even know it is installed) and it is super easy to install and setup. You can set your own boundary zone so it only alerts you if a device leaves the zone you set.

Cons: Prey only tracks the devices when they are connected to wifi, but this is really a minor issue since that is basically how any tracking software works. We really don't have any complaints!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-19
Nathaniel F.
IT Technician
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-21

"Peace of Mind For My Laptop"

Pros: I really enjoy that its not visible to the naked eye when using the laptop. I had a previous laptop stolen and everything was removed. This would have been nice to have before hand. Being able to jump online to see the status of my PCs location is a very nice simple feature to have.

Cons: I wish more features were available. It is works great with the features it has

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-21
Verified Reviewer
Psychotherapist
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-17

"Peace of mind"

Pros: Prey is a superb, intuitive, reliable tool for dealing with that most terrifying of modern moments: when your phone has been lost or stolen.

Cons: I wish that the web interface were a bit more intuitive, especially as time is of the essence when you need to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-17
Francisco javier R.
Subgerente de Soporte Mecánico
Industrial Automation, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-12

"a must on your equipment"

Pros: I have it installed on every equipment I own. my mobile, my laptop and so on everything that's subject to be stolen. In our country (Chile) even our police recomends you to have it.

Cons: Honestly there's nothing I don't like about it. Maybe it should replace the tons of bloatware that comes in our mobile phones

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-12
Max P.
Manager, Professional Services & IT
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-17

"Excellent, Great Value Way to Geo-Track Assets"

Comments: The company that I work at needed a way to track assets and wipe or take action if the asset was ever stolen. This tool came in handy twice where the laptop stolen was seen later and another time when its geo locating was given to police in police report. The user interface on the admin panel is super easy to use and easy to install on client machines. Great product for what it aims to do at a good price.

Pros: Prey is a great value. Very low pricing. Provides excellent asset tracking and basic admin tools like wiping remote computer when it comes online.

Cons: Almost half of the users with Prey on their asset made a comment about not trusting a program on their machine named Prey. They thought it was malware or the company stealing their information or other random comments.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-17
Sean M.
IT Security Manager
Utilities, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-23

"Prey Project a simple solution to a complex sensitive problem"

Comments: We were looking for a way to prevent any "Lost" device events from growing into bigger concerns. The installs are pretty easy and rarely have trouble connecting the software to the cloud. Once installed we can track where our laptops/tablets were last seen and get IP address/hardware information from them. If someone leave your company during this time of Covid Related Lockdowns it can be an issue forcing the device recovery process, but with Prey you can remotely wipe the device, turn on annoying unstoppable alarms, and lock out the device entirely. Essentially ensuring you get your piece of equipment back. In the event that it is stolen you can have the system set to do all this automatically if the device ever comes back online. You can also activate the camera so you can figure out more information as to where the device is and who has it. For instance you can figure out what coffee shop your salesperson left his laptop at.

Pros: The software is very set and forget, it automatically updates, has a standard whitelisting for your antivirus, and has never caused a False Flag incident for Symantec/Cylance. Once installed you link up to the server type in the username and password and your device is protected. To be honest we really have never had to use it but we have successfully tested it multiple times. There is an amusing alarm function where you can make the device in question loudly alert people around you and it lets you keep track of where your devices are/ what is on them/ get back some data/ and setup a "If it ever comes back online it automatically deletes the device". This was exactly what we wanted incase a laptop is ever lost or is not returned in a timely manner.

Cons: During the initial setup you have to be connected to the internet when you log in and allow the software to connect to the cloud. This sometimes fails but will eventually work once you reinstall. Also you have to install .net 3.5 before hand which can sometimes turn a 5 minute install into a wait while .net installs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-23
Francisco javier R.
Subgerente de Soporte Mecánico
Industrial Automation, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-07

"The best protection for non "fruit" users"

Comments: Just make sure that the app is activated, and leave the rest to the prey

Pros: You can manage and check all your devices with this software, it's also integrated with chilean police so it's your best chance to recover any stolen device (laptop, mobile, etc)

Cons: Make sure that the app is activated and has the required permissions, if you forgot something it's like not having prey

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-07
Paola P.
Guest Relations
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-01

"Was able to track down a misplaced iPad within the hour"

Pros: This is a must-have for anyone who owns a couple of devices (and wants it to stay that way). I left my iPad behind in an all-inclusive resort, and I thought I would never see it again. Luckily, I had synced it to my iPhone so it only took a couple of taps to know exactly where it was (and who found it). I would NEVER leave a device unprotected by Pray. You can also delete important information fro your device remotely, and have it take a picture of whoever tries to unlock it (which is how I found the guy who had mine). Great, kind of scary tool that protects us from ill-intentioned people!

Cons: I don't really have a con for this. I would have lost my iPad if I hadn't protected it by Pray, so it's all positive in my book.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-01
James O.
Senior Planning Officer
Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-31

"This is an incredible piece of software which I install on every phone and laptop I own"

Pros: This software is free up to a certain amount of devices, and is absolutely brilliant. Cannot recommend this enough!

Cons: I honestly cannot complain. The software is free up to a certain amount of devices, and you cannot blame Prey for charging a fee if you want more. The amount of devices they allow you to use it on for free is perfect for most individuals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-31