15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Power School

Multi modular enterprise wide educational institution management software.

Learn more about Power School

Pros:

Ease to track child and teacher progress throughout the year.

Cons:

Nothing really well the teacher evaluation is sometimes difficult to navigate.

Power School ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Power School has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 20 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Power School before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power School does everything you would want in school management; it's just not easy to do so.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Entering and calculating grades is very easy, as is making information available to families. It comes paired with applications that work on mobile devices. The apps have less features but their availability is essential.

Cons:

The back end--run by school administration--is needlessly complicated. Setting it up takes far more steps than it should. Although you pay for customer support the quality and consistency of the support is varied at best.

David
teacher in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power school reviewed by a high school teacher

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a very decent program. I have used Skyward in the past and I prefer Power School. I am speaking from my experience as a high school teacher so I do not know how elementary teachers feel about this.

Pros:

It allows me to take attendance daily, input grades, check a student's grades, schedule, and parent/guardian contact info, and it has a very simple user interface.

Cons:

It is not always user friendly, and some tasks are not straight-forward to complete. For instance, attendance is done in Power school, but grades are done in Power school Pro, and you must keep flipping between the two. In previous versions a teacher could do grade "previews" where they could show a student how an assignment grade would impact their overall grade without actually putting it in the grade book. Now, teachers do not have that ability. Also, many students have power school on their phones so they get notifications to grade updates. This can be frustrating for a teacher since there is no way to save your current grades without publishing them. So, once you start entering grades in for an assignment you need to do all of them or students will be asking a ton of questions about why theirs wasn't graded.

Jeremy
Student in US
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accomplishes Its Goal

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Power School gets the job done, plain and simple.

Pros:

Power School does the thing that it states it can do, it stores grades for your students and allows them to see them as you put them in the grade book. In that sense, it does what it sets out to do. Throwing grades in the book and viewing them is fairly easy.

Cons:

Certain things are more complicated to do then most. Sometimes grades will not save and will not allow the students to view them. It is a recurring theme that gets old fairly quickly.

Thao
Optometrist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerschool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Helpful and very effective. Teachers are very responsive by emails. Easy to find missing assignments and/or fix bad grades

Pros:

Convenient and informative. I used it everyday to keep track of my son’s grades and attendance and also to communicate with teachers regarding missing homework.

Cons:

Difficult to login. Lots of error messages even when using the same login information. I have the same problem when using the app on my mobile phone or the desktop computers.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cost-effective SIS for k-12 schools

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Uses an Oracle back-end that allows us to use sequel scripts Very customizable page and data management (supports Ajax, JavaScript, sql) Cheapest SIS solution among its peers (infinite campus, Eschool) in the northeast

Cons:

Parent portal functionality is very rudimentary out of the box when compared to the functionality of its competitors’ portals Support is very inconsistent and can vary wildly in quality depending on who answers the phone

danielle
school nurse in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PowerSchools

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Has some great features and very organized, but would be better if you could change parameters for certain reports more easily.

Pros:

The main page is very well organized to view a lot of data at once, not too many clicks to get where you need to go. I am a school nurse so I like the templates that are available for creating individual health plans for the students with medical issues.

Cons:

Not easy to customize a report unless you are a program administrator.

Regina
Family Engagement Specialist in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very efficient

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Power school helps tramendously with tracking student data. I would say that for me Powerschool has made tracking student attendance a breeze.

Pros:

Student data is easily accessible in on place. You can customize reports to make student list easily. It is internet based, making work from home easier.

Cons:

There is a lot of things that this software can do to student data. I don"t think i will ever learn it all,

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power School

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I like this product for attendance, reports and grades!! It’s a got a lot of great features for seating charts, parent information and more. I highly recommend!!

Pros:

Assignments are easy to create and change. You can weight grades and change values easily.

Cons:

Commenting on the grade card is hard to find. This part isn’t very user friendly.

Amanda
Teacher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

easy to use

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It makes it very easy to input grades, take attendance, and make seating charts. You can view student demographics and photos with a click of a button.

Cons:

There needs to be a way to change the preferred name of a student in the gradebook.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keep up with children's school work.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

You can see if your kids are doing school work, what their grades are and if they skip any classes. You can contact teachers.

Cons:

I don't have any cons for this software.

Julia
Instructional Coach in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Britt Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Six years in educational software.

Pros:

It's ease to keep ongoing records so that we can track parent and student communication.

Cons:

Nothing really well the teacher evaluation is sometimes difficult to navigate.

Brian
Teacher in Canada
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power School-Importance & Benifits

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Questions that you would have had to take time and effort for are now easily answered and visible by using Power School.

Pros:

There are many ease of mind features that just have general beneficial impact. The calendar, schedule and dashboard are formatted very well and help increase your overall efficiency. The effectiveness of these features also reduces the stress of management.

Cons:

Information about advisors and contact information on Power School are two aspects that I would like to see be integrated. The bulletin and assignment sections also seem to be unnecessary.

Cheryl
Captain in US
Law Enforcement Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power School from a mom

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to keep up with my child's grades, attendance, etc.

Cons:

No being able to view entire assignment rather than just a description of it.

Brian
Practice Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great service for parents

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: updated status of child grades

Pros:

Ease to track child and teacher progress throughout the year. This portal based grades allows the parents to stay on top of those big reports that the kids shrink away from till the night before its due.

Cons:

System is teacher dependent, and only as good as the data entered. Some teachers enter the data daily others its a bit longer if ever. Would be nice if the data could be automated.

Sally
Executive chef in El Salvador
Food Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for parents

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using it from a parent perspective and it has helped maintain a good teacher-parent communication and it's a channel to always be aware of your child's performance at school.

Pros:

You can keep up with your children's grades, works, assignments and any commentary from their teachers

Cons:

Sometimes it can be a little tricky to use, there are a lot of features and can be hard to figure it out.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent App!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love the updates received when information changes. I also love the layout and ease of use!

Cons:

I have no complaints at all. This is an excellent way to report and view student progress!

Catherine
HR Specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power School is great in assisting a parent with where their children are with grades

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Power School has allowed me to know the progress of my students. The software is easy to use and clear in where the information can be found.

Pros:

This software allows parents to access the students schedules and progress in order to assist in guidance if help is needed if one is struggling and also if they are doing well. It also provides information on students if they are up to date on records etc.

Cons:

The least is not necessarily the software but how often it is updated by the users. Seems to work well otherwise.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Not easy on the eyes but does the job

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Next I’m in an IT admin role, I’d consider this as a prime contender.

Pros:

Major improvements since I used this platform at a school just 5 years ago. Easy to use , crashes less.

Cons:

Other SMS platforms look prettier or flatter. This one is strictly Utilitarian.

Nicole
DRU-Phone rep in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Parent of student

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I really like that it's easy to use and it sends me weekly details of my childrens progress to my cell phone.

Cons:

I don't have any complaints about this software.

Heather
Teacher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Could be great.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Power School to house the students personal information and data.

Pros:

Power school is good at organizing student information and has the capacity to withstand a lot of information.

Cons:

I think PowerSchool could be more user friendly and increase the functionality. Especially for grade book features.