15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

DATABASICS Expense Reviews

About DATABASICS Expense

Our expense reporting tool is an excellent software solution backed by excellent support configured to your exact specifications.

Learn more about DATABASICS Expense

Pros:

It nicely integrates and uploads into our accounting software, MS Business Central.

Cons:

Reporting is difficult to build, some users have issue with uploading large files.

DATABASICS Expense ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

DATABASICS Expense has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 47 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DATABASICS Expense before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (47)

Nancy
Databasics Administrator in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Aerovironment Expense reporting review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've been the admin for our Databasics account for close to 13 years, and have had great experience using it

Pros:

I like that the software is integrated with our other systems, where files load in daily to keep the companies changes current, such as employee files, and departments

Cons:

I don't have an point of reference to compare this to

Alternatives Considered: OracleMZBA Premium URL Shortener

Reasons for Switching to DATABASICS Expense: I believe the company chose Databasics because the cost was so much less than the competetor

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense! We are pleased to hear that you appreciate our software's integration capabilities, which help keep your company's changes - including employee files and departments - up to date. At DATABASICS, we understand the significance of synchronizing data in real-time. Our solutions are designed to seamlessly integrate with various systems, ensuring accuracy and efficiency. Although you mentioned not having a point of reference for comparison, your positive review validates our commitment to customer satisfaction. Your words speak to the quality and user-friendly nature of DATABASICS. We're gratified to learn that your reason for choosing DATABASICS Expense was its competitive cost. We focus on providing high-quality, cost-effective solutions to meet the needs of a wide array of businesses, from regional nonprofits to multinational corporations. Your long-standing relationship with DATABASICS—nearly 13 years—reflects our dedication to fostering long-term partnerships with our clientele. More importantly, your positive experience as an admin for this lengthy period encourages us to continue delivering top-rate customer service. As always, we are here to address any issues and provide assistance to ensure you continue to have a great experience with DATABASICS. Your satisfaction is our top priority, now and in the years to come.

Lisa
Accountant in US
Pharmaceuticals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great expense reporting tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I was part of the team that selected DataBasics as our expense reporting option. We reviewed a few programs and needed an option that included the ability to capture Sunshine Act Data in a simple and accurate manner. We also needed to be able to pull Sunshine data for reporting. DataBasics provided the tool that was easy for our team to use and captures the Sunshine Act data in a manner that is easy to report. Any and all issues are resolved quickly and accurately by the support team. They will work with ANY staff member, individually if needed, and have the patience of saints!

Pros:

Pros: Ease of use for both user and administrator. The support team is incredibly responsive, very pleasant to work with and resolve issues quickly.

Cons:

Cons: Some of the HELP tools attached to the program are out of date and not terribly helpful. The reporting tools are great if you already have a report developed, but you cannot create your own reports easily. Then again, the support team tends to create ad hoc reports quickly.

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing DATABASICS Expense: Cost and the need to be able to capture and retrieve Sunshine Act data without a lot of extra programming and costs.

Switched From: SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to DATABASICS Expense: Ease of use, cost and responsiveness of the DataBasics sales team.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense! We're glad to learn that you appreciate the ease of use and simplicity that our software provides for both users and administrators. Our commitment to making expense reporting a straightforward experience is a testament to our dedication towards customer satisfaction and solving problems effectively. It's heartening to know that our support team has been incredibly responsive and a pleasure to work with. Our primary goal is to resolve issues efficiently and ensure timely assistance. We appreciate your input as it guides us toward necessary improvements. While our support team is readily available to create ad hoc reports, we understand the importance of enabling clients to construct custom reports with ease. Rest assured, your comments on will be considered in our ongoing efforts to improve the software. We're pleased to learn that you chose DATABASICS Expense over alternatives such as SAP Concur due to our affordability, ease of use, and the responsiveness of our sales team. It's gratifying to know that our product serves your needs, including capturing and retrieving Sunshine Act data seamlessly, without any added complications or costs. Your candid feedback on the benefits and efficiency of DATABASICS Expense is highly valued. We remain committed to your satisfaction, and we're here to help if you need any assistance or have any further suggestions. We strive to maintain long-lasting relationships with our clients, ensuring that we continue to cater to their diverse needs with utmost dedication.

Jason
Instructor in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

UI Seems Straight Out of the 1990's

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Worst expense reporting software I have used to date.

Pros:

The software is good at tracking any errors that may have happened during the expense reporting process

Cons:

The user interface, the ease of use, the multiple confusing fields, "Select a City" doesn't even list cities, only states?? Too many things to name.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense. We are pleased to know that our software effectively tracks errors during the expense reporting process. A key objective of DATABASICS is to ensure accuracy and efficiency in managing expenses. We are sorry to learn that you've had a difficult experience with our user interface. Our commitment at DATABASICS is to providing a seamless and straightforward expense reporting solution, and we certainly hear you that there are some areas that have fallen short. Issues such as those you mentioned are not reflective of the experience we aim to deliver. Rest assured, your feedback is critically important to us and will be addressed. Our commitment to customer satisfaction is reflected in our constant thirst for improvement. As part of our ongoing initiative to streamline the user experience and deliver the most satisfactory product on the market, we will utilize this opportunity to review the user interface, focusing on making it more intuitive and easier to navigate. DATABASICS has the flexibility and adaptability to cater to the distinct needs of a wide range of businesses. Be assured that our dedicated team will continue to work tirelessly to resolve any issues you have raised to enhance your overall experience with DATABASICS. We truly regret that we weren't able to meet your expectations in this instance, but please know that we're fully committed to continuously improving our software and services to enhance customer satisfaction. If there are any specific changes you suggest, we encourage you to reach out to us, as we consider customer input invaluable. Thank you again for your insightful feedback, and we hope to serve you better in the future.

Traci
AP Manager in US
Pharmaceuticals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

2019 DataBasics Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My accounts payable group had to manually process approx. 60 expense reports each week. This software not only saves them a considerable amount of processing time but it makes the entire approval routing and payment process more efficient.

Pros:

The software is very user friendly. The general ledger extract, automated notifications and the availability to customize reports is extremely helpful. The security behind the rules and validation process, is ideal in helping my staff approve and make payment process efficient. The amazing DB staff from the our implementation team to our current support staff is the absolute BEST part of the entire process.

Cons:

It would be great if the supervisors or managers that approve the expense reports, could do that simply by replying to the email notification

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to DATABASICS Expense: The cost! We implemented DB approx. 4 year ago with another one of our entities and could not wait to start using it on this entity.

DATABASICS Response

5 years ago

Thanks, Traci, for your thoughtful review of DATABASICS! We love to hear that you're saving time and making your processes more efficient. We're also thrilled to hear that the DATABASICS team has been so helpful throughout the whole process. We're also super thrilled to have you as a customer. Thank you for the time you took to tell others about us. -The DB Team

Jim
CPA in US
Insurance Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great experience with Expense

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our experience with Expense has been very positive. Users have benefited from the software because it is easy to use and less time consuming than our previous process. The process of expense reports has been greatly improved and has become much more efficient.

Pros:

I have been using Expense for almost 20 years. The implementation process went well all those years ago, and the product has continually evolved and been a very valuable tool for our company. Users really like the automated input of Visa charges. As the admin, I like being able to capture company specific information that was customized for us during implementation.

Cons:

I have had very little issues with the software over the years. There is nothing I think of to point out as something I don't like about the product.

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to DATABASICS Expense: Databasics Expense provided all the functionality we needed and was almost painless for employees to adapt to using. The cost was substantially lower than the other product consider.

DATABASICS Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, Jane. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and we work hard to make the pricing fair and affordable! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to continuing our 20-year partnership!

Dawn
Accounts Payable Coordinator in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Databasics works for our team's expenses

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been happy with DB expenses for years.

Pros:

It's great that this sofware is web based. Our employees across the US are easily able to enter their expenses, apply imported credit card charges, upload/attach receipts and submit from home or remote offices. It nicely integrates and uploads into our accounting software, MS Business Central.

Cons:

We have many projects and many tasks for each project. The expense entry can be a little confusing for new users with so many choices, it would be nice if we could narrow down choices/options per employee.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for sharing your review of DATABASICS Expense! We're delighted to know that our web-based platform has been beneficial for your team, making it easy for employees across the US to manage their expenses and seamlessly integrate with your accounting software, MS Business Central. We appreciate your feedback regarding the numerous project and task choices, which can be confusing for new users. Your suggestion of tailoring options per employee is valuable, and we will take it into consideration as we continue to enhance and improve DATABASICS Expense. It's wonderful to hear that you chose DATABASICS Expense for its ability to handle your many projects, tasks, and corporate American Express card transactions. Your satisfaction and continued partnership are of great importance to us. We are glad that your team has been happy with DATABASICS Expense over the years. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need assistance or have any further suggestions in the future. We're here to help and dedicated to ensuring your experience with DATABASICS remains positive.

Mark
Programming Analyst / Project Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An easy to use expense tracking system that provides approval levels needed to manage your expenses

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Moving from a paper tracking system to an electronic system has saved us money, allowed for better expense approval processes and increased the reimbursement turn around for our users. Using the mobile app and website allows approvals to happen from anywhere as long as an internet connection is available.

Pros:

The software is easy to manage and setup. It is easy for the users to use. Mostly the Customer Support team is excellent in assisting when you have a problem. Individuals goes out of his way to get you a quick response to any problem or question you may have. It is great to have that kind of support behind you.

Cons:

There are only a couple of cons I find about the program. When you want to delete a user you have to go to many different areas and delete the person before you actually delete the user profile. It would be nice from the employee record to click delete and the system asks if you want to delete all correlating records. The system is more designed to just make the user inactive versus actually deleting the individual completely. The other area is AD Hoc reporting. I feel the Jaspersoft report creation is not as easy as the rest of the program. You really need separate in-depth training on how to get the full benefits from the AD Hoc reporting portion.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with DATABASICS Expense. We appreciate your positive feedback on the ease of setup, user-friendly features, and the supportive customer service provided by our team. Our main priority is delivering quick and helpful solutions to meet your business needs. Regarding your concerns about user deletion and AD Hoc reporting, we acknowledge the room for improvement to streamline the process. Your valuable input helps us identify areas that can be enhanced to provide an even more efficient experience for our clients. Rest assured, we remain committed to refining our platform, and suggestions like yours play a vital role in its development. It's gratifying to note that transitioning to our electronic system has saved money, improved expense approval processes, and expedited reimbursements for your users. We are proud to offer versatile solutions, including the mobile app and website that enable approvals from virtually anywhere, to accommodate the dynamic needs of various organizations. Thank you for your insightful review, and please do not hesitate to contact us with any further suggestions or assistance you may require.

Renee
SR Business Analyst in Canada
Insurance Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software, easy to administer and support staff are amazing, always willing to help.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Staff are responsible for inputting their own reports and the automation of the approval process.

Pros:

The product is easy to use and administer and the functionality has come a long way since we started using DATABASICS. They are constantly improving their software and their procedure documentation. They are always willing to help us deal with situations or new configuration requests, coming up with solutions or adding them as a future enhancements. I love working with their employees, they are always willing to listing and meet with me to discuss items. DATABASICS started to provide webinars so that you can learn new things about the software as well as using them as a refresher.

Cons:

My least favorite thing about the software is the reporting, within DATABASICS admin and Jasper. Jasper reporting is something that I don't use all the time so I have to familiarize myself with it when I do go in and use it. However they have had some webinars on Jasper reporting which has been helpful as well as documenting what's included in the domains. Within the admin console there are some admin audit data that is hard to understand but they are working on improving these.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your positive review of DATABASICS Expense. We take pride in the user-friendly nature and ease of administration that our software delivers, as well as our commitment to constant improvement and responsive support. Your satisfaction with the enhancements we have implemented over time and our dedication to providing valuable resources, such as webinars and procedural documentation, reaffirms our commitment to addressing the needs of our diverse clientele. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the reporting aspect, particularly with DATABASICS admin and Jasper. Your remarks help us identify areas for further development as we continue to upgrade our products and services. We are glad to know that our webinars and resources have been beneficial, and we will continue to improve these offerings to provide better guidance. The automation of the approval process and empowering staff to manage their own reports is a testament to the benefits our platform brings to businesses. We are grateful for your review and look forward to continuing to support your requirements with adaptable solutions.

Thomas
Controller in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

d.e.Foxx & Associates expense system review

4.0 last year

Comments: Employees no longer have to mail expense reports in to the proper approver when it can all be done online. The reports do not get lost and the employee gets reimbursed on a timely basis.

Pros:

The ease of use of preparing an expense report to show what was spent by employees. They can choose the proper category of spend easily and report the amount spent. The mileage calculation makes it easy for the employee to report the proper distance traveled on a trip.Also the administration of the product is simple to use and follow for making changes, additions and deletions.

Cons:

Some of the Administration categories are a little misleading as to what you are doing by selecting them. They could be better titled and explained in the program.

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your thoughtful review of DATABASICS Expense system. We're thrilled to hear that the ease of use, mileage calculation, and administration features have helped streamline your expense reporting process. Your feedback regarding the clarity of certain Administration categories is valid and important to us. We're committed to continuous improvement, and we will take your suggestions into account as we work on enhancing our product. Our goal is to provide the best possible experience for all our users, and your insight plays a crucial role in achieving that. It's great to hear that our system has made a positive impact on your employees' reimbursement process by eliminating the need to mail reports and ensuring timely payments. We appreciate your support, and we're confident that DATABASICS Expense will continue to deliver valuable benefits for your organization. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you need any assistance or have further suggestions. We're here to help, and we greatly value your partnership.

Claudia
Office Manager in US
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Databasics user/Admin

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I've used DB for over 15 years and works great. Its easy to navigate and very user friendly.

Pros:

I really like that it is user friendly. It flags charges if there are duplicates, it calculates the miles and rate. It also does the rate exchange when there is overseas travel etc.

Cons:

There is nothing that I don't like about DB. It is efficient and works well for what we are looking for.

DATABASICS Response

6 months ago

Dear Claudia, Thank you for your recent review and for sharing your valuable feedback on DATABASICS Expense. We truly appreciate your loyalty, and we're delighted to know that our solution has consistently met your needs for over 15 years. Your positive comments regarding the user-friendly interface, duplicate charge flags, automatic mileage calculations, and exchange rate functionality affirm our commitment to providing a robust, reliable, and adaptable solution for businesses like yours. We strive to continuously improve our offerings for our diverse clientele, and your satisfaction is our top priority. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to continuing our partnership with your organization. If you ever require assistance or have any suggestions for further improvements, please feel free to reach out to our customer support team, who are always ready to help. Warm regards, The DATABASICS Team

Missy
Accounts Receivable/Expense Reporting in US
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I have had only good since we moved to solely Databasics- the service is wonderful!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The ability to pull our payment to our drivers at any time. This will and has helped in rare instances that we missed a holiday deadline or someone was unable to submit expenses on time. We have enjoyed a better support system with troubleshooting.

Pros:

The ease of use and training for our users. Most all of our drivers transitioned easily to the new system and have had very minimal issues since. Any time we have had any trouble Support is always ready and willing to help out at a moments notice.

Cons:

the fact that I haven't been able to learn every aspect of its capabilities yet. Not due to any fault of Databasics but of my own - just taking the time to learn/attend a webinar.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your valuable review of DATABASICS Expense! It's heartening to hear about your successful transition and the ease of use and training provided for your users. We understand that a change in systems can be a significant adjustment, especially for a diverse user base like drivers. At DATABASICS, we designed our solutions to be intuitive and easy to grasp, so your drivers face minimal issues and can focus more on their core work. Your experience with our responsive Support Team reflects our commitment to delivering excellent service and ensuring that help is readily available whenever any hurdles or questions arise. We strive to be a reliable partner, ready and willing to assist at a moment's notice. We appreciate your candidness about the learning curve involved in mastering all DATABASICS' capabilities. We offer webinars and various resources to help our clients enhance their knowledge about our software. Your engagement in these opportunities demonstrates a valuable eagerness for learning and maximizing the benefits of our solution. The benefit of our software that allows you to pull payments to your drivers at any time, accommodating scenarios like missing holiday deadlines or late expense submissions, underscores DATABASICS' adaptability to your unique business needs. Furthermore, we're glad to hear that our support system has made troubleshooting easier for you. Your feedback and satisfaction are integral to our work at DATABASICS. We remain committed to offering a comprehensive, easy-to-use solution that serves a variety of businesses effectively and efficiently. Thank you for choosing DATABASICS, and we look forward to a continued partnership in the future. If you need assistance, have suggestions or further feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. We're here to help and ensure your continued satisfaction with DATABASICS.

Tom
Associate Director - Travel Accounting in US
Music, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Databasics is the most user friendly T&E application we have used in the past 15 years!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

User friendly! The admin functionality is very easy to navigate. The application flags policy exceptions for offshore audit team as well as approvers in the 4 level approval flow. Split screen capabilities allows audit team and approvers to view receipt attachments at the line item level. The application handles ALL interfaces/feeds from Amex, HR, PRS system and SAP. The Jasper reporting tool used for budgeting, T&E Spend and exception reporting. Helpdesk is actually VERY HELPFUL!!

Cons:

Nothing really bad to say about the application it self, the help portal at times is a bit cumbersome.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense! We are delighted to learn that our software has become the most user-friendly Travel & Expense application you've used in the past 15 years. DATABASICS is dedicated to addressing the diverse needs of our clients by offering easy-to-navigate solutions, and it's heartwarming to see that we've made a tangible difference in streamlining your T&E process. It's highly rewarding for us to hear positive feedback about our admin functionality, flagging of policy exceptions, split-screen capabilities, receipt handling, and integration with other systems. Our commitment to customer satisfaction drives us to create software that accommodates various interfaces like Amex, HR, PRS, and SAP, while also incorporating helpful tools like the Jasper reporting system. We appreciate your acknowledgment of our Helpdesk as being highly helpful—responding promptly to our clients and addressing their concerns is a top priority for us. We thank you for your honest feedback. We aim to keep refining our platform based on user input. DATABASICS continuously strives to improve its services and tools, and your remarks about the Help portal offer a valuable perspective for future enhancements. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with DATABASICS Expense. We will continue to deliver flexible, efficient, and customer-focused solutions for businesses of all sizes. If you need assistance or have any further suggestions, don't hesitate to contact us.

Dave
Financial Analyst in US
Building Materials, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DataBasics Mgmt and Staff have been wonderful to work with. They really are very customer focused.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Value, Reliability, Good support and customer service. Management that works hard to develop what you need.

Pros:

Reliable, Intuitive, and well supported. This product is always up and running. The service team is in front of all issues and communicates well with the user base. The product is intuitive after the first introductory training. May online help tools.

Cons:

Back End Reporting. There is an Ad-Hoc tool for creating back end reporting but it is not the best reporting tool. Have had issues getting what I needed and having it run without help from their DB team. They usual come up with a solution and do the work for you or help you get something to fit the need.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with DATABASICS Expense. We are delighted to hear that you find our product reliable and intuitive, and that our team's customer-focused approach is providing the experience we strive to deliver. At DATABASICS, we aim to consistently offer a product that is continually functioning optimally and is complemented by a service team that is proactive in addressing issues and communicating effectively with our user base. Your comments about the easy-to-navigate nature of our product, particularly after the initial training, affirm our commitment to crafting intuitive solutions. We are also pleased that you appreciate our suite of online help tools, reflecting our ambition to ensure users have access to resourceful guides when needed. However, we regret to hear about your experiences with our back-end reporting tool. We understand the importance of a comprehensive and user-friendly reporting system, and we assure you that we take your feedback seriously. Our dedicated team is always prepared to assist in creating reports that fit your needs, and your experiences have provided valuable insights that will inform our ongoing efforts to improve our reporting features. We sincerely appreciate your recognition of the value, reliability, and customer service we provide. DATABASICS is committed to continuously working to meet and exceed our customers' needs, ensuring you have a solution that optimally supports your operations. Thank you once again for your feedback! If there's anything else we can assist you with, or if you have any additional suggestions, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Angelo
VP, Indirect Procurement in US
Wholesale, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DB Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

Easy to use. Great control and visibility.

Cons:

N/A. No Cons. Easy to use. When there is an issue, it gets fixed immediately.

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to DATABASICS Expense: Price

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for sharing your positive review of DATABASICS Expense! We're delighted to hear that you find our platform easy to use and appreciate the control and visibility it provides. Creating an intuitive and efficient user experience is one of our top priorities, so we're glad to know that our product meets your expectations. It's also fantastic to learn that our support team has been prompt in addressing any issues you may have encountered. Providing excellent customer support is an essential part of our mission, and we're thrilled to have succeeded in that regard. We understand that price can be a significant factor in software decisions, and we strive to offer competitive pricing without sacrificing quality. Thank you for choosing DATABASICS Expense over our competitors. Your satisfaction and continued partnership are of the utmost importance to us. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need assistance or have any suggestions in the future. We're here to help and always eager to learn how we can further enhance our product and service.

Sharon
Accounting / Bookkeeper in US
Public Safety, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Complete information

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Databasics has been a project that was implemented slowly and cautiously as most of our contractors are not up to date with technology. Unfortunately it cause a huge problem when trying to get the correct information from them. Databasics has solved most of this issue. The support I have recieved (even witn stupid errors) is extremely fast. The phone app is the greatest! Our employees using the phone app are up to date with their information and as a company we can now see where our strengths and weaknesses are in regards to the cost of goods sold as well as expenses.

Pros:

Prior to this software our company expense informaiton was all over the place and difficult at best to pull together when invoicing a customer for a completed project. now that all of our employees submit their time and expenses through Data basics I can acces all the expenses for a job within a few minutes by running simple report. The Databasics team was very helpful in

Cons:

1. Cant hit the back button 2. I would like to be able to match a cc charge to an existing entry.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your feedback on DATABASICS Expense. We are thrilled to hear how our platform has streamlined your expense management, making it easier to invoice completed projects. Your satisfaction with our rapid support response, and the effectiveness of our mobile app in keeping employees up-to-date, reinforces our commitment to providing valuable solutions. Regarding your feedback on the inability to use the back button and the desire to match a credit card charge with an existing entry, your comments are highly appreciated. We view these as opportunities to refine our product to better cater to our diverse clientele. Rest assured, your suggestions will be considered as we continue to enhance our platform. DATABASICS is pleased to have contributed to clearer insight into your company's strengths, weaknesses, and cost management. We look forward to continuing to serve your business needs with our versatile software and dedicated service teams. Please feel free to contact us with any further suggestions or if you need any additional assistance.

Aiza
AP Manager in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and very efficient.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software is the most friendly user from all we've test from, that there is sometimes no need to train new employees/users. It can also be setup according to what your company needs. From setting up max limit for expenses to setting up max approval amount for supervisor.

Cons:

Can't think of any. For automation to be as efficient you will need both human and electronic intervention. This software gives you those options.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense! We're thrilled to hear that you find our software user-friendly and efficient, requiring little to no training for new employees. We take pride in offering a customizable solution that is tailored to the needs of your organization, including setting maximum limits for expenses and approvals. Your positive feedback regarding the balance of automation and human intervention is much appreciated, as we strive to provide a software solution that seamlessly blends these elements for maximum effectiveness. It's great to know that you found our pricing and mobile app availability to be significant advantages, especially for personnel who are often on the road. We're committed to ensuring that DATABASICS Expense continues to meet and exceed your expectations. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need assistance or have any suggestions in the future. We're here to help and appreciate your continued partnership.

Sean
Accounts Payable Manager in US
Insurance Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I work with this product everyday and incorporate new employees into its use.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are now able to keep up with reports and receipts per manager in one secure location.

Pros:

The software is user friendly. We are able to train managers within an hour on how to use DB. Being able to adjust a report before reimbursing is a breeze and the validation makes it much easier to keep up with per diem for our managers.

Cons:

The reporting. I would like easier was to extract information from the system as well as receipts. If there were ways to mark them so I could pull all of them up when I generate a report to provide support for the charge.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with DATABASICS Expense. We are pleased that you find our software user-friendly, allowing for efficient training of new managers. It is our goal to provide solutions that simplify report adjustments and validation, enabling managers to easily manage per diem allowances. We acknowledge your concerns regarding the reporting feature and appreciate your desire for a more seamless method to extract information and receipts. Your suggestions offer valuable insights, and we're committed to continuous improvement to better address the needs of our diverse client base. Rest assured, incorporating ways to more efficiently retrieve data and receipts in reporting is an aspect we will consider as we further enhance our product. It is gratifying to know that DATABASICS has provided a secure platform to consolidate reports and receipts for each manager. We are dedicated to delivering reliable and adaptable solutions geared towards diverse business requirements. Thank you for your feedback, and please feel free to contact us if you have any additional suggestions or require assistance.

Calvin
Controller in US
Defense & Space, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great system - requires a savvy administrator

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Really like the system. Just can be a little cumbersome at times.

Pros:

The sheer flexibility and customization of the system is beautiful. You can tailor it to most any preferences or nuances your company has. This allowed me to set up a system that met a plethora of user needs on day one.

Cons:

The downside of the flexibility is that the system requires a savvy setup and admin team. A lot of the maintenance can be tricky. Once you understand it, it is wonderful and powerful, but is overwhelming to some people.

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to DATABASICS Expense: Flexibility and FAR compliance

DATABASICS Response

4 years ago

Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you loved DATABASICS' flexibility and customization; our team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We also appreciate the feedback on maintenance. So, thanks for your sharing your thoughts and we look forward to continuing to provide above-and-beyond customer service for your organization. With all our best, The DB Team

Anne-France
T&E Accountant in Switzerland
Medical Devices, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quite good overall. This software could be more intuitive to use

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Harmonized way to do expense reports

Pros:

What I like most is the fact that it is possible to use it anywhere, on multiple devices. I also like the receipt express.

Cons:

As an admin, I don't like the fact that the different tables are not linked together (example: it is not possible to have WBS in the same file as the employees, when exporting Employee file in Data Piping). And VAT treatment is still very poor.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense. We appreciate your recognition of DATABASICS' cross-device compatibility and the receipt express feature. Our commitment is to provide a robust and flexible solution to accommodate the dynamic needs of our clients. We acknowledge your concerns regarding the intuitiveness of the software and the integration of various tables. Your feedback is integral to our ongoing efforts to enhance the platform, and we're dedicated to addressing these concerns. The point about VAT treatment is duly noted, and we will work diligently to improve this functionality for our customers. Lastly, we're pleased to know that DATABASICS provides a harmonized way to manage expense reports, reflecting our commitment to streamlining the expense management process. We value your input and appreciate your candid feedback as we strive to consistently deliver customer-focused solutions. If you need assistance or have any additional suggestions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Hardeep
Purchase Card Team Lead in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

System that was provided is Travel Expense system. We were looking for Purchase Card Program.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: we were able to implement this software as Purchase Card reconciliation system for CACI. This system will allow users to reconcile transaction and attach back up documents, those will be stored in the system up to 7 years. The need to be able to store documents online for 7 years is what lead to the implementation of this system.

Pros:

It's an advance system and accommodated what were looking for even though it was not Purchase Card system.Customer rep helped us made this system function as we expected it to work. From the start, he took the time to sit down with the team to understand our project needs. We understand this is common for implementations but what stood out what his willingness to understand the intricacies of our program and mutually work to develop solutions that work for us (and not just implement solutions that other companies have used).

Cons:

System can be improved with minor tweaks those will have huge impact for users. Most of our users are used to simple and non-complex system. this system has many features those confuse users. specially the non-tech users.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback on DATABASICS Expense. We are delighted to hear about the flexibility and advanced features of our system that made it possible for your team to use it as a Purchase Card Program. Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we're thrilled to know that our representative helped to make the system function as you expected. Your feedback about the complexity of the system is important to us. We understand the need for simplicity, especially for non-tech users. We continually work on refining and streamlining our platform to ensure it meets the needs of all users, regardless of their technical proficiency. DATABASICS is proud to support CACI by offering a solution that not only reconciles transactions but also stores backup documents for up to 7 years, aligning with your specific storage needs. We value your feedback as it helps us to further enhance our system. Thank you once again for your review.

Sherri
Senior Accountant/Special Projects in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall good product

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: DataBasics works well for us, our employees do both out of pocket and company PCard expenses. We recently upgraded our ERP system and DataBasics' support team was excellent at helping us work out the bugs.

Pros:

The versatility for us was key, we have very specific requirements and DataBasics was able to accommodate most of them. The support team is great to work with, very responsive and helpful. DataBasics is very open to and supportive of new requests for features and has implemented several of them for us.

Cons:

Creating new reports can be cumbersome, they're not very intuitive. However the support team is great and has helped me navigate and created what I couldn't. We have a final review process where the number of expense to review can get pretty high, when the numbers are high the system is slow to load them.

DATABASICS Response

5 years ago

Hi Sherry, Thanks so much for your review. We're happy to hear that the support team has been such an asset to you. They're very proud of their commitment to our customers and we're happy that you're also experiencing the result of that commitment. We've noted your concern with the load time and we'll continue to strive to make it faster to load. All our best, The DATABASICS Team

Dawn
Travel Services Analyst/System Administrator in US
Food & Beverages, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Vendor Customer Service

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I both enjoy and appreciate the business relationship we have with Databasics.

Pros:

The vendor Databasics is very quick to respond with answers to questions and or system issues.

Cons:

I only have complaints with Google Maps and how they operate for our needs within this system. This is really an issue with Google Maps, not with Databasics.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review emphasizing our commitment to customer service. We're pleased to know that you've experienced quick and helpful responses to your questions and concerns. Providing exceptional customer service is a cornerstone of our business, and we're glad to have met your expectations in this area. Although the issues you mentioned are related to Google Maps, we appreciate your feedback, and we'll continue to explore ways to improve the integration or find alternative solutions that better suit your needs. It's heartening to hear that you enjoy and appreciate the business relationship we have with your organization. We truly value your partnership and are committed to delivering a consistently high level of service. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need any assistance or have any recommendations in the future. We're always here to help and support your organization's needs.

Sue
Travel Program Administrator in US
Defense & Space, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

From the time we chose DATABASICS , I have always had excellent customer support from the team.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The ease in the creation, approval(s) of the TA (Travel Authorization) including the travel advance option. Along with ease in the creation, approval, and payment of Expense Reports. It is extremely helpful that American Express provides a daily data feed with the employee's AMEX charges along with the currency exchanges for the International expenses.

Cons:

I miss being able to have go between two functions in the application. For example, the ease in going from the Expense Screen and the Admin screen. Perhaps this has changed since my last upgrade.

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your review of DATABASICS Expense! We are pleased to learn that you've consistently received excellent customer support from our team. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we're committed to providing the best possible experience. We appreciate your endorsement of the ease in managing Travel Authorizations, including the travel advance option, along with the creation, approval, and payment of Expense Reports. It's great to know that the integration with American Express and the automated currency exchange features have been valuable for your international expenses. Regarding the ease of switching between different functions in the application, we apologize if this has caused any inconvenience. We always appreciate feedback from our clients, as it helps us strive for continuous improvement. Rest assured, we are dedicated to the ongoing enhancement of our platform, and your input on this matter has been duly noted. Thank you again for your thoughtful review. If you have any further suggestions or need assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team.

Lisa
Sr. Manager - Accounting Projects in US
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DataBasics for Travel & Entertainment Expense Management

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Flexible software (customizable). Great customer service.

Pros:

This software suits our needs. We have some reimbursement programs for our Sales employees that are non-standard in the industry and DataBasics works with us to customize the software to our needs.

Cons:

In Admin, sometimes an Expense Policy/Rule gets deactivated unintentionally because we touched another Admin area related to the Policy/Rule. Would be great to get a notification of what Policy/Rule gets deactivated when we make a change elsewhere, so we can take appropriate steps to ensure the Policy/Rule is reactivated if necessary. I also find Reporting to be a bit hard to use and not too user friendly. However, DataBasics is always quick to respond with any assistance we need.

DATABASICS Response

2 years ago

Hey Lisa, we appreciate the fantastic review and are glad we could be of service. If you have any further needs or questions, please reach out!

Roxanne
Finance Coordinator in US
Accounting Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Service

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use Very intuitive Easy for the Administrator to us and update/make changes quickly New User Training is short or not even required in some cases.

Cons:

Reporting through Jasper some reports are available through DataBasics Creating reports through Jasper is more difficult

DATABASICS Response

11 months ago

Thank you for your valuable feedback on DATABASICS Expense. We are delighted that you have found our platform easy to use, intuitive, and efficient for administrative functions, with minimal training required. Ensuring a seamless experience for new and existing users is one of our key objectives, so it's great to hear that this aspect of our service is appreciated. Regarding your concern about Jasper report creation, please know that DATABASICS is committed to simplifying all aspects of our platform. We understand that ease of reporting is important for our users, and your point about report generation will be considered as we continuously enhance our features. We appreciate your review, serving as a testament to our commitment to excellent customer service and delivering a product that meets the diverse needs of our clients. For further assistance regarding Jasper reporting or any other matter, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team.