RMM Reviews

by N-ABLE (formerly SolarWinds MSP)

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.2 /5

About RMM

The N-able RMM platform is built for both managed service providers and in-house IT professionals who manage complex IT environments-w

Learn more about RMM

Showing 68 reviews

Javier G.
Service Tech
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-11

"You don't need to spend more money elsewhere"

Pros: The main pro for us has been that it is pay what you use. Many other RMM tools will lock you into 3 year contracts and make you buy hundreds of seats and you will pay for them regardless if you use them or not. We loved that the remote control tool was based on Teamviewer

Cons: The initial interface was kind of clunky. And we really didn't like when they changed the remote control client. We've gotten used to it now though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-11
Matthew C.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-13

"Does what it says no exaggeration."

Pros: The software does exactly what the sales team say.

Cons: None really. Issues are with post sales team have them set up your accounting correctly the first time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-13
Jacob R.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-26

"Great for small to medium sized MSPs"

Pros: The ease of use, and how everything just works.

Cons: I wish there was more integration with their ticketing software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-26
John Z.
Ceo
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-11

"funtionality"

Comments: Back Up & recovery
Remote Support
Path mgmnt
Security

Pros: Teh functinallity , reports and easy to set up and use , multiplatform is one of the best features

Cons: Does not have a help desk & ticketing support dashboard integrated

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 2019-11-15

Thanks for your feedback! A reminder that SolarWinds RMM and MSP Manager integrate seamlessly to create a one-stop shop for remote monitoring and maintenance to ticketing, reporting, and billing. This makes it simple to create and manage tickets from the dashboard, remote directly into a device from a ticket, create workflow rules and more. It's a big time-saver for busy techs. Feel free to reach out if you would like more information!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-11
Robert B.
Support Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-15

"Highly Recommended"

Comments: Monitoring made easy.

Pros: I have used Solarwinds RMM for 3 1/2 years, the program has changed hands many times. I like the integration with teamviewer, makes monitoring workstations and servers extremely easily. I don't think I could manage customers without RMM.

Cons: Support isn't the best, not timely and often you do not get the solution you are looking for, they need to clean up and update their online guides.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-15
Lee T.
District Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-12

"Great product to manage clients from a single dashboard"

Comments: Single dashboard to manage all our clients.

Pros: Love the ability to push out updates/patches with a single click or a custom script. Tons of extra features if you are willing to purchase them.

Cons: The reporting feature of this software is sub par at best especially with network vulnerability feature. This could definitely be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-12
John dykstra D.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-11

"Former user"

Comments: I think SolarWinds is a good company and probably a great fit for many companies.

Pros: Several years ago, before Solar Winds acquired this product from the vendor I was using, the features and pricing model worked well for me. The ability to connect and manage client PC's was reliable and functional. Also, adding anti-virus, backup and web protection was a good feature.

Cons: After losing one of my larger users, the flat rate platform fee made the overall cost a bit much for the remaining users. Also, the pricing model for the backup was no longer competitive in my environment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-11
Nate F.
Level II Support Agent, IT
Warehousing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-09

"SolarWinds RMM is Fantastic"

Pros: -Easy to Use
-Easy to Manage
-Great Customer Support
-Provides lots of tools that make supporting a large environment with remote users easy

Cons: -Backup Tools are expensive
-Some of the security reports that estimate the value of your data are a little exaggerated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-09
Gary G.
Service Team Lead & Dispatcher
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-20

"Jack-Of-All-Trades Monitoring Software"

Comments: Although the interface can be a bit crowded, the absolutely feature-rich software that is SolarWinds has won me over as a lifelong customer.

Pros: A simple right-click on any workstation or sever will let you explore a wealth of options and configurations for every single device that carries the SolarWinds (also known as GFI) software. Backups, updates, controlling services, remote desktop control, you name it, SolarWinds has got it!

Cons: Modules can be slow to uninstall and re-deploy, and remote connections can be spotty occasionally if the SolarWinds remote services begins having issues after updates (which can usually be fixed by restarting or re-installing that module); besides that, I have very few complaints!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-20
Verified Reviewer
Consultant senior en technologie de l'information
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-04

"Complete set of tool to monitor all your data center and cloud provider"

Pros: Solarwind offer a complete set of tool for managing your datacenter operations. It is including a mapping of your application in the last version, so now you can follow your dataflow and isolate all anomalies like security breach, network congestion, server unavailable ... and get all reported inside the same dashboard. I like that is also avalaible on premise, hosted or cloud

Cons: Pricing is only avalaible by request to a sale person, and licensing model are not available on their web site actually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-04
Tyler R.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-10

"Great for MSPs"

Pros: SolarWinds RMM is great for automating your IT Services. I use it for automating patch management, virus scans, and scheduled tasks.

Cons: It often takes a while for an action to take place. For example, if I initiate a reboot on a computer from the RMM platform, it could take as long as 15 minutes before it actually reboots the computer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-10
Grzegorz S.
IT Support Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-25

"Good software"

Pros: Allows me quickly connecting to users machines without user interaction. Patch management feature allows to easy control all updates on all machines.

Cons: Its a bit slow sometimes and the web interface it's not as fast as it could be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-25
Nigel Z.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-30

"Great features and value"

Comments: I am able to keep the clients I have engaged and continue to service them with other IT needs. It works great for improving the client's performance and increasing my bottom line.

Pros: I like that this software is cost effective for a startup and can expand with many features to use. I can be sure that the clients have their machines up and running all the time.

Cons: I would like the software to have an option for the client to cancel a reboot of their machine.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-30
Darell B.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-09

"Solar Winds is a Great addition to any technician doing remote monitoring and management"

Comments: My overall experience has been positive as the software is a setup and forget automation for updates and detection of harmful software or sites on your client computers

Pros: I like the dash board setup and being able to select features for all my clients or individually. The antivirus software detection's are very accurate without false positive infections. The reporting feature can be scheduled and sent to clients emails concerning alerts or problems.

Cons: The software is a little frustrating to get setup and monitoring sometimes errors occur but when you work through the issues the software does an outstanding job of watching your clients

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-09
Jim M.
System Engineer
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-30

"SolarWinds Monitoring Tool"

Comments: I would recommend to start with one or two features and add others to reduce the overall impact of its initial rollout and use

Pros: This software will monitor just about anything on your network (except for the coffee pot). Server status is its best known function. You can set parameters for the monitoring both local and devices over the network.
Other features available are anti-virus, help desk, notifications, etc

Cons: With all of the options available for this software, the screen can become busy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-30
Aaron B.
IT Support
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-11

"It does the job"

Comments: We primarily use SloarWinds RMM to manage the computers of our clients so they don't have to worry about those things.

Pros: SolarWinds RMM does a decent enough job connecting to remote computers and allowing us to see what is going on with every computer.

Cons: What I like least about SolarWinds RMM is that there is a consistent request to update the remote software on my computer. It seems that at least once a day this is happening, often breaking my workflow in the process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-11
John H.
Network Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-25

"SolarWinds RMM Works for the MSP"

Pros: This Software does all of the heavy lifting and will save you time and money from managing your network the manual way

Cons: This software does everything that I ask of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-25
James K.
IT
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-31

"Works as a remote desktop for remoting into computers or servers"

Comments: Overall it has been good. It has allowed me to remote into computers and servers and correct issues with no problems. Only if the agent eats up a lot of CPU and memory will you have an issue with slowness.

Pros: Easy to get setup. Install the windows agent on a computer or Server and then add a discovery job to find that device. Can also be used for cell phones, printers and any network device you need to monitor. Allows multiple options form Take Control to Remote Desktop, Java web control.

Cons: Can sometimes be flaky. The biggest problem is that the agent can really take over CPU and memory. Sometimes to the point of making the device you are remoted into really slow. Tried everything suggested on SolarWinds website to mitigate this to no avail. Location tracking for cell phones is also buggy. Soem phones report location correctly, others will not report at all, so if soemone loses a phone, good luck trying to find it. Good thing for Google tracking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-31
Verified Reviewer
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-11

"Easy to use - not easy to leave"

Pros: We used an old version six years ago. The issue was value for money.
They courted us to come back with better pricing and all the improvements.
Nice web based interface. You can get lost or distracted with all the extra functions.
I think this would work best for a new MSP that does not have all the infra structure and services in place.
Then it is a one stop shop.

Cons: BRUTAL dealing with AR. We tried it a second time on a few devices.
The reporting was what was expected. We had most of the feature in place already.
I got a call that we would get extra charges and the value of the product dropped.
I paid and asked to cancel. - Now what a disaster! - They refused my cancellation and have continued to bill.
From their NetSuite: The cancellation has been submitted. But it was rejected 5/3 and 6/3.
What a terrible company to deal with!

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 2019-10-21

We are sorry to hear you had challenges with your billing process. We'd love the opportunity to help. Please contact us at [email protected] and one of our Customer Success Representatives will be in touch asap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-11
Tim L.
Sr. Consultant
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-02

"SloarWinds RMM is very good software"

Pros: SloarWinds RMM is very good software. It is easy to use and has tons of features to adapt to different business.

Cons: SlocarWinds RMM can improve their Graphic User Interface to make it more friendly and collaborate more features in one place.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-02
Chris B.
Technology Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-09

"A decent mix with different tools"

Comments: Their platform has absolutely put us in a better position for supporting our users working across multiple locations and offices.

Pros: Solarwinds is building a very broad set of tools helping MSPs and admins manage corporate IT users, networks, and assets. I really like that a big part of their strategy consists of recurring available trainings of not only their own software, but best practices. I have already learned a great deal working with their platform.

Cons: They are still growing and adding on. It sometimes gets a little frustrating that all the toolsets are not directly integrated into their RMM platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-09
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-05

"Pretty awesome stuff"

Comments: Great software, we implement it for all our contracted customers and use it on a daily basis. :)

Pros: What i like most about SolarWinds RMM is the the integration of multiple software solutions in one location. Also the SSO to other RMM software like Backup is great.
The option to use Take Control is something we use everyday to support our contracted customers.

Cons: Little things like not beeing able to backup an SQL server on a normal pc, you'd need a server installation for that. and then also pay the price of the server.
Also, the RMM console is a bit slow at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-05
Carl K.
Senior IT Consultant
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-11

"Long Time User"

Comments: Scheduled automated reboots, seeing issues before they become major problems.

Pros: It's easy to use and deploy and is packed with functionality.

Cons: Nothing that comes to mind at the moment - I'm satisfied with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-11
Brian H.
Service Manager/Project Coordinator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-06-05

"Easy to use with all the functionality needed"

Comments: This software helped us reduce the time needed to manage and confirm our customers backups and be more proactive for our clients.

Pros: We really enjoy the ease of use of this product, we're able to securely monitor all our customers workstation and be more proactive. The patch management system and take control features are a must for any small MSP companies starting out. Their capped server and workstation fee's are great so you know exactly how much you will be billed.

Cons: We do have some issues with the Vulnerability scanners not always scanning or sending us the data. We would like more custom reports settings available and more functionality with the managed anti virus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-06-05
Adam W.
IT Operations Engineer
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-07

"Makes my live easier"

Comments: We have an expanding business with ever changing IT needs, solawinds has molded itself to work with our fast paced environment. To have an overview of out IT infrastructure and critical IT system at the touch of button. Pretty much anywhere allows for some easy IT management that without Solarwinds would take double to the time

Pros: The ease of use
Speed of information
Great patch management
Amazing product interrogation

Cons: Some menus can be clunky
Searching and changing large amount of items can be hard to find
interface could be more modern

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-07