15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Footprints

Hospice EMR with customizable forms, patient photo identification, visit scheduling, bereavement assessments, and supplies tracking.

Learn more about Footprints

Pros:

I like that is web based and caters to the needs of hospice care.

Cons:

One issue would be corrected then another would arise. The billing component was inexpensive and whoever did billing coded everything WRONG for over a YEAR.

Footprints ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Service
4.3
Features
3.6
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.1/10

Footprints has an overall rating of 3.8 out 5 stars based on 14 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (14)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Countries

Countries

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Footprints before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14)

brenda
brenda
Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It was rough in the beginning but as time went on and we tweeked some things, its much better

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is compliant with the changing regulations, the staff doesn't complain as much, and as it progresses we will be totally paperless soon.

Pros:

The changeability or customization you can get. We added reports and changed wording and added forms - customized the dashboard.

Cons:

The flow could be improved it doesn't flow as smoothly as other programs and the careplans are bulky with too many options, it could be just straight forward. It contains a lot of stuff hospice doesn't do.

Valerie
Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hospice EMR that keeps us compliant

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Would be helpful to have an offline EMR as we provide care to a large rural area in Colorado. Many of the locations we travel to do not have internet service.

Pros:

I like that is web based and caters to the needs of hospice care.

Cons:

I use a MAC and need to log in remotely. This is more of a PC friendly EMR.

Black Bean Software Response

2 years ago

Thank you Valerie for your review of the software. We are releasing a new version in August that will allow you to use the app on any device and it will have the ability to use all clinical workflows offline.

Melissa
DON/ ALT ADMINISTRATOR in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very poor EMR

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Staff not helpful, over promised on program capability. Visit documentation was inconsistent. Sometimes items would appear and other times it would not.

Pros:

It was very inexpensive comparted to the other services I sampled

Cons:

What is documented does not appear in a printed document. Care plans do not appear in notes. The unreliability of the service was very much an issue. One issue would be corrected then another would arise. The billing component was inexpensive and whoever did billing coded everything WRONG for over a YEAR!!!!

Brandy
Brandy
Owner, Director and Adminstrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easiest EMR to learn and use!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Compliance at an ease. Helped me to follow up and know corrections that were needed or occurred in minimal time. Training was informative and didn't require weeks to learn. Creates a full patient story at a glance. Increased productivity while maintaining compliance. Cost effective.

Pros:

Specification to Your individual needs. Ability to customize.Customer service available. Quick response. Ease of training and use.

Cons:

Tech issues at times, but nothing that is uncommon in industry. Would like more information on dash board and about updates, but they are working on that already, so it's coming

Beverly
RN in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The system is very easy to use, Support help is always call away.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The system is easy to read through step by step. It cover all of the systems. You can pull up all your notes by typing your name under Resources. You are able to easily save your information and delete information when you make an error. you are able to call the computer person at anytime for help. This system let you know when you miss a question.

Cons:

You are unable to pull up information on current note from my last note. When you want to see what was on the previous note, you have to pull the up the note individually. The notes are very long and with something repeating it self.

Jamie
Owner in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Footprints EMR

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This is the first EMR system I have used - it is better than paper documentation - they have systems set in place to assist with compliance.

Cons:

Extremely repetitive. When we first started using this EMR we were told there would be offline functionality - it's been three years and just now the aides are able to used this feature - same with spell check - it is still not in the system. There are SO many glitches in the system - and the SAME glitches. Very frustrating - a lot of time is wasted re-doing documentation.

Erica
RNCM in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I use footprints EMR on an almost daily basis. I feel that it accurately documents my assessments.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy to document

Pros:

It accurately documents my assessments & when there are missing options, I email support & they are corrected quickly

Cons:

Not all medical options are available with drop down options. The "issues" notification is often not accurate. The issues that are listed are often already fixed in the EMR.

Desiree
Director of Patient Services in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Challenging in the beginning and for awhile after

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Quick and easy nursing assessment . Like the ability to pull up ICD10 codes. Hits all the marks for compliance.

Cons:

Still issues with certain saving components, and plan of care. Still waiting on spell check. Starts to run very slow after being logged in for a little while.

Paul
Social Worker in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Does everything you want it to but not the most intuitive.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Seems very customizable. Support is good. Does not seem to be very much busy work worked into the software.

Cons:

Not intuitive. Sometimes things don't appear as I think they should. This appears to be a glitch and so some of this stuff needs to be worked out.

sara
DCS in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good for the most part

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Pretty easy to use and understand. Easy to navigate for the most part. Easy to get resolutions through Dacon

Cons:

IDT, team review, and not sure how to effectively use most of the reports. I haven't used very long though

Mary
NP in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am able to use the software more efficiently, but it is difficulty to just do a simple chart revie

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It captures the necessary government data required to correctly bill. It tracks certification dates, so I can sign in and see when a face to face is due.

Cons:

Silverlight. No spell check. It is difficulty to do a chart review because you must go into each visit and then open the teaching summary. That is a lot of clicks. The clinical overview is nice but if you want to see the nursing summaries you must go into each visit.

Allie
US
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

User Friendly, common sense approach to charting, design

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

I like the way that the EMR is designed to be specific to your needs and the way you as the user want it. Very easy to use and designed around the clinical approach for ease of documentation. Customer specific and friendly employees. Designed with the clinician in mind, regardless of discipline

Cons:

Cant think of anything but if i had to like something least, it would be that the use of ease on mobile device to be more of an option.

Jonathan
Project Manager in US
Public Safety
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Product! Overall successful product.

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Great Product! It performs well for our team and reporting is a plus. We are satisfied with the decision to move to FootPrints

Cons:

The ability to integrate external solutions and dash boards are limited.

Valerie
Administrator in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

We haven't had the software long enough to make a true review

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We like that the developers work with all of us to make changes that we feel work best for our practice

Cons:

There are a lot of bugs so far. They have all been fixed, but they are popping up pretty frequently right now