ELMO Software Reviews

4.5 (179) Write a Review!

About ELMO Software

ELMO Software is a cloud-based solution that helps organisations to effectively manage their people, process and pay.

Learn more about ELMO Software

Pros:

This software is so simple to implement and once implemented it has saved myself and other managers so much time.

Cons:

One issue was with external training as this was very limited for what we need it for.

ELMO Software ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

ELMO Software has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 179 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ELMO Software before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (179)

Katie
Capability & Engagement Manager in Australia
Wine & Spirits, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very happy with the software and the service offered by ELMO

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

The implementation was seamless and the staff at ELMO go over and above to ensure you get the most out of the system. We have gained the most benefits out of the Onboarding, Learning & Performance modules.

Cons:

Some limitations in the rostering software but ELMO are very proactive in continuously developing and improving the software

ELMO Software Response

8 months ago

Thanks for a great review, Katie! We love to hear that you have found ELMO's Implementation team and cloud-based solutions helpful to your oranisation. We look forward to continuing to support your business. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Frank
Learning & Development Manager in New Zealand
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great overall quality of platform for money spent with good customer service and support throughout.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Centralised HR Platform where we can design, manage and report on the three critical people stages for us in our business, which are Recruitment, On-boarding and Learning.

Pros:

I think the ease of use and implementation of each of the three modules we currently have; recruitment, on-boarding and learning (including course library) is the main benefit for our business wanting to design and deploy learning modules quickly to our employees, but also makes it easier to implement best practice processes for these which improve workplace efficiencies in how we manage our most important resource, our 'people' component. The features and functionality of the learning management system I think are really seamless and useful in getting learning modules quickly and effectively produced for our network, so then we can data-mine on this for reporting purposes and auditing. Having nearly everything automated and available in the end-to-end process of HR, makes it extrememly beneficial for a business to manage the processes and have one portal with all the critical information gathered into. In addition, since the system is a cloud-based software and being client-centric, when we have enhancements to voice, the ELMO Team consider these for future changes and iterations of the platform, making it better and evolving it out for the clients it's designed for.

Cons:

The ELMO Survey tool and functionality requires some further enhancements to be made to ensure that it provides more granular data for clients (e.g. like Survey Monkey's design), as this will assist us in drilling down further with certain users/learners of the portal to see for example, how long and how many attempts they take for completing compliance modules etc.

Helen
National HR Manager in Australia
Facilities Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Change your life with ELMO

5.0 last year

Comments: Time to Onboard has been dramatically reduced and is now no longer a labour intensive process.
I am looking forward to providing meaningful reports to the business.

Pros:

This software is so simple to implement and once implemented it has saved myself and other managers so much time. In particular having project based work our Onboarding process has become so streamlined now we can onboard high numbers of employees at the same time. As a Performance Appraisal system we found ELMO easy to develop and roll out. Our company had not been keen on Performance Appraisals in the past but ELMO was so well embraced we had 100% update on the first appraisal round. We also find the more you use the system the more proficient you become. The support provided by ELMO during the project implementation phase has been extremely supportive. We are now using the Help Desk and our issues are usually resolved within 24 to 48 hours.

Cons:

If an employee has not completed all their documentation we would like an automatic alert. At this stage we need to manually check on this.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Helen. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such a great review, and thank you for your continued support. Our customers are at the heart of our business, and feedback like yours is invaluable. We have passed your feedback on to our Product Development team. We hope your organisation enjoys the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO Software.

Clinton
Digital Health Advisor in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elmo has a modern, clean interface, and can be highly customised

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We use Elmo for our Leave applications, personal leave, Annual leave etc., as well as keep us updated on what documents/certificates/checks are needed for our employment.
Also Elmo enables us to provide some onboarding modules for our new staff, so it's great to have that in one place, and means the new staff become familiar with it's operation from the start.

Pros:

Ease of use is high. Clean layout within the software is helpful. Customisation means we are not forced to use pre-defined templates as with some other apps, so we can tailor the forms to suit our business processes.

Cons:

The other side of the customisation coin, is that the forms seem to need creating from scratch. At least that's the feedback I have had, as a user, from the staff who are creating the forms, but this might be a gap in their knowledge so might be good to look at Elmo/talk with a rep to see what pre-defined templates they may have available.

ELMO Software Response

last month

Hi Clinton. Thanks so much for your detailed review. It's great to hear your feedback about ELMO's Leave Management and Onboarding. Please do not hesitate to reach out regarding pre-defined templates, your system administrator or your Account Manager here at ELMO can help. Thanks again, we really hope you and your organisation continue to benefit from using ELMO Software to streamline your HR processes! Best wishes, ELMO Team

Catalina
Director in Australia
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best for my needs

4.0 last year

Pros:

It's straightforward and the support available makes up for any uncertainty or challenges I have experienced.

Cons:

The contracts module, if not purchasing the recruitment module, is quite clunky and unclear. There is very limited access to training material on it; luckily my implementation consultant is brilliant.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks for a great review, Catalina. We love to hear that you are finding ELMO's support and implementation teams and resources helpful. We have also passed on your feedback to our Product Development team. ELMO Team

Andrea
Andrea
Senior Lecturer in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Improved a lot

4.0 last year

Comments: Very satisfied with the latest version and appreciate the transparency provided for all users across the workforce from planner to user to performance review teams. The interactive aspects within the modules do help to improve engagement with the content (I used to just click past a lot).

Pros:

Elmo has come a long way in the past few years from both the user and staff manager views. It was a dread in the past and now it provides a valuable and easy to use tool. This latest version has given me the inspiration to consider how this may be better used to facilitate the training of graduate students.

Cons:

It would be interesting to have a "you might like" or optional courses section so that employees etc who might be looking for other areas to grow in can elect to do optional training for example in a university context a person from one of the Arts disciplines might like to learn more about animal care and ethics and thus want to do that module.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Andrea. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such a great review. Feedback like yours is crucial to the evolution of our solution. I have passed your feedback on to our Product Development team. We hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO

Kim
L&D Business partner in Australia
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ELMO learning is great

5.0 last year

Pros:

User friendly and great after sales support

Cons:

it would be good to be able to assign 'course managers' so that other people in the business (other than admins) can manage attendance of specific training in their business units etc.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Kim. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Debbie
General Manager, People & Development in New Zealand
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We have the ELMO Learning module - so far, so good! Easy way to get learning out to the business.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

PROS: ELMO was relatively easy to install, and the single sign on function is great as it means we don't have to log on separately to use the system. The system has been branded to look the same as our other platforms, and is quite intuitive in terms of navigating around. The ability to deploy learning opportunities from the Library works well, and we're also able to generate our own content using the course builder. The support team have been great - particularly with more presence in NZ! The data and tracking we get from the system has worked well for us and allows us to provide real time analytics to our management team.

Cons:

CONS: We have come up against some limitations, particularly around linking learning items together - e.g. if we want to run a webinar using Skype across the organisation, we can't embed the Skype link into an invitation direct from ELMO. We also wanted to be slightly "out of the box" and use ELMO for collation and recording of Driving Licence details for example, or apply for an unlisted external programme using the system. This proved to be more challenging than we thought, but it is probably more to do with an unintended use of the system rather than a particular system issue......

Maile
Regional Administrator in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ELMO Software Is Great

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Excellent experience. Deployments have been made easy

Pros:

Easy to Navigate and Access. Summary of all data is clear and easy To understand

Cons:

Limited only to Australian platforms when it comes to Finance and Banking.

ELMO Software Response

last week

Hi Maile, Thank you for sharing your experience with ELMO! It's great to hear you find ELMO's cloud-based solutions so easy to use. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Varun
Service Delivery Lead - ICT & Cloud in Fiji
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

360 Employee Management

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: ELMO provides you a platform to manage your daily HR operations through a system driven governed process. From on-boarding, recruitment, leave management, performance tracking and internal workflow management to handling employee exit.

Cons:

Some fields require manual addition to sections. Option for duplicates not present.

ELMO Software AU Response

last month

Hi Varun, Thanks for your review and for your feedback. We've passed this on to our Product Development team. We hope you continue to enjoy ELMO's Performance Management. Best wishes, ELMO

Verified Reviewer
Board Advance Partner in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User review

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: ELMO has been used by our HR team for over five years. It has gotten progressively better and easier to use. Now, I know exactly where to go in ESS, how to request information or support and have more clarity around my performance management, than ever before.

Pros:

I use ESS ELMO software nearly every day in my role; for requesting leave, undertaking mandatory training, keeping an eye on performance KPI's and measurement.

Cons:

Finding a payslip from my company is difficult.

ELMO Software AU Response

2 months ago

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate the time you've taken to share your positive experience when using ELMO's Employee Self-Service module. Kind regards, ELMO Team

Toby
Senior Human Resources Coordinator in Australia
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent, timesaving and user friendly system!

5.0 last year

Comments: Nothing has seemed to be 'too much' for ELMO; our consultants have taken on all of our feedback and have provided these to the development team for consideration.

Pros:

ELMO has significantly reduced the administrative time of many processes. This includes areas such as setting up and maintaining employee databases, recruitment processes, and training and development assignments. The system is very user-friendly, with many of our management personnel commending the system on how easy it is to use compared to previous systems and processes.

Cons:

There are a few small items that I would like to see rolled out to assist in the management of our employee database. The main item would be a function to place an employee on Parental Leave. Ideally this would remove them from the reporting lines in the org charts and have them in a 'floating position' so that they are still counted in our head count and FTE metrics, but don't affect the reporting lines whilst on leave.

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Toby. We really appreciate the time you've taken to provide such great feedback. Our customers are at the heart of our business and feedback like yours is crucial to the evolution of our solution. We hope your organisation continues to reap the benefits of ELMO's cloud-based solutions. Best wishes, ELMO

Verified Reviewer
Administration Assistant in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good system - more suited to Offices than Hospitals

3.0 last year

Comments: Easy to use, just have to put in more effort on our part to make it work for us.

Pros:

Visually ELMO is easy to navigate and logical to use. Suits us for performance reviews and new starters.

Cons:

Reporting. We would like to be able to get learning hours in a report that is "good looking" not having to download a csv file only to then have to filter, sort and "make pretty" for use. This is important to us because learning hour are required for Nurses to keep their qualifications and certifications. Also, most of the help received by ELMO System Experts could do with some improvement. They don't seem to understand the needs of the client/customer when working with them to come up with solutions.

ELMO Software Response

last year

We really appreciate the time you've taken to write a review. ELMO's Dashboards feature, under Analytics, can help you create user-friendly charts that can be easily exported. Your system administrator can reach out to your Account Manager to work out solutions specific to this feature. Kind regards, ELMO team

Daria
L&D Manager in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning module

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use initially, generally the administration of courses etc is easy, the coursebuilder is good too and is getting easier to use with recent updates.

Cons:

More functionality and features for L&D would be great. Better options for pointing users directly to a specific course for sign up. More options for content management and curation within the Learning module.

Tariq
Data Engineer in Australia
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Learning, Good collaboration

5.0 last year

Comments: Very positive

Pros:

Learnings are organized and distributed in a way that it makes it easier for me to navigate and complete my assigned learning.

Cons:

Searching for a specific training or looking for new / available trainings

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for your review, Tariq. If you ever need any more help on ELMO Learning Management, your system administrator can reach out to your Account Manager to work out solutions specific to your needs. Kind regards, ELMO

Pratik
RIsk and Audit Manager in Australia
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Learning Management Sysytem

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: ELMO software has streamlined the learning and tracking completion of learning modules. Easy to do performance assessments as well.

Pros:

It is easy to navigate the learning modules, assign and track completion

Cons:

Bit difficult to search the learning modules. There should be a way to add the learning modules into categories and this would make it easy to search and allocate the modules.

ELMO Software AU Response

2 months ago

Hi Pratik, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're glad to hear you are enjoying ELMO's Learning Management System. Your feedback regarding categories has been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

jurgens
Supervisor in Australia
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

safe and secure

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Great-used ELMO training for my SERT 4 TAC a few years ago

Pros:

Good integration with daily workflow, and compiled in a very respectful towards the learner

Cons:

Not difficult at all, very understanding and easy to learn

ELMO Software AU Response

2 months ago

Hi Jurgens, Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you find ELMO's Learning Management System so helpful with your training. Best wishes, ELMO Team

Vicki
People and Culture Manager in Australia
Human Resources, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy of People Management

4.0 last year

Comments: All staff that I have had the experience of working with have been extremely professional and helpful along the journey of implementation. Could not speak higher of them as a team.

Pros:

Ease of use and ability to implement product is very high

Cons:

You currently don't have the ability to have two managers

ELMO Software Response

11 months ago

Thanks for the wonderful review, Vicki. It is great to hear about how the ELMO team has supported your organisation through the implementation process. Your feedback has also been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Cidy
Participant Support Officer in Australia
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning - Ease of Use

4.0 last year

Comments: For the learning side of the system I think it is great. You can track all the modules you have done in the past and find new ones that you are interested in. I think the performance plan maybe a good think if the employee got to embrace it and make it their own. However; when you are instructed what to do it is a waste of time.

Pros:

The learning modules are clear and simple to understand. They are not too lengthy that I lose interest in them. I am able to go back if I missed something too.

Cons:

The performance plan. It is not helpful to an employee at all. Perhaps if I got to write my own goals I would care about it more. It is just another thing I have to do to tick boxes, so I think it is a waste of time.

Kseniya
People and Culture Director in Australia
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ELMO HRIS: Review Snap-shot

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, our feedback is very positive and staff across all levels are happy with the introduced HRIS

Pros:

Great customer support team: very responsive and efficient

Cons:

Some visibility features are yet to be improved (e.g. display of data, attaching additional data, etc.)

ELMO Software Response

last year

Hi Kseniya. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Product Development team. Kind regards, ELMO

Adam
Adam
Learning and Development Officer in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

All in one HR?

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It does it's job, but the user interface and functionality leave a lot to be desired. The only way to get answers to questions is through logging a ticket, and this can sometimes take a while to get a response. This can be frustrating when the issue is timely.

Pros:

We use ELMO to track compliance courses, as well as track performance appraisals. It does both of these jobs well enough.

Cons:

The course building application is woefully restricting and dated. We don't use it anymore, and create eLearning modules in a different program to upload into ELMO.

Lincoln
Security Officer in Australia
Security & Investigations, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ELMO work training

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: I have used it for a number of years to keep my learning up to date.

Pros:

its easy and fun to use. I enjoy the interactive aspects. the hover over sections are always interesting to look into. the questions at the end are some times tricky but always informative.

Cons:

it's a difficult question, because its very streamlined and easy to use. i get reminders and updates. i couldn't say i like anything least or more.

ELMO Software AU Response

last month

Hi Lincoln. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you have had a great experience using ELMO's Learning Management System for your training. Best wishes, ELMO Software.

Carol
Senior Manager Learning and Development in New Zealand
Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We use the standard modules available from ELMO and edit them in the Editor software provided.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easy to use and maintain. Good coverage of learning topics within the 400 topics available.

Pros:

Good range of topics, covers the basics for compliance and has a mix of information and quiz items all of which can be modified/edited to our company needs. Simple to use and easy to maintain.

Cons:

While the modules have sound instructional design and get the job done, they are not highly sophisticated or overly glossy. Having said that, we paid for a good solid offering to cover the needs of people on the go, who need to get the information quickly and efficiently.

David
Security Manager in Australia
Security & Investigations, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great LMS software

5.0 last year

Pros:

very practical and great layout, keep up the great work

Cons:

nothing to note

ELMO Software Response

last year

Thanks so much for your review, David. It is great to hear your positive feedback! Kind Regards, ELMO Team

Deborah
Learning Advisor in New Zealand
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to implement learning management system

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Improved functionality from previous LMS, automated email reminders and easy to access cloud based system and course builder tool from anywhere.

Pros:

Cloud based meant the system was easy to implement with little support required from internal IT resources. Very intuitive for end users with a clean interface, and most don't need much help to navigate around the system. Great support from implementation team even though it was phone based. Already experienced updates that have improved the functionality which is reassuring with product road map. Reporting really visual and easy to understand especially for managers. Very good value for money.

Cons:

Data migration of learning records very manual but only a one-off pain point. Face to face event management is buried in system so not as intuitive for administrators and little visibility for facilitators that aren't administrators.