15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Avochato

SMS texting and live chat for business has never been easier than with Avochato's solutions for teams, marketers and contact centers.

Learn more about Avochato

Pros:

The mobile app is very user-friendly and easy to use as well.

Cons:

When using through smartphone app it doesn't let you see your contact's tags and it can be annoying. It doesn't integrate with CRMs.

Avochato ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Avochato has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 132 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Avochato before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (132)

Andrea Fabiola
Andrea Fabiola
CEO in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great overall experience.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's been awesome, the customer support is A1 quality, they are responsive and solve your issues super fast. The pricing for the service is great. Pverall all of our team members love avochato.

Pros:

We can text, call and receive calls from our customers and providers. The tagging system lets you know which type of contact and several other customizable tags you may want to add. You can create broadcast and even schedule text messaging for whatever purpose you may need it.

Cons:

when using through smartphone app it doesn't let you see your contact's tags and it can be annoying. It doesn't integrate with CRMs

Tara
Owner in US
Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome all-in-one tool for one-to-one SMS/MMS communications and blast marketing!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Avochato has upped our CS game by 1000%. Customers tell us every day how nice it is to be able to text with us. It's awesome that we can use just one service for both CS communications and marketing blasts. Customers being able to text our regular business phone number is a game changer. We used to have one number to call us, another for one-to-one texting, and another one for blast marketing campaigns. It was super confusing and annoying for my staff and my customers. We also use the website widget, keywords, and automated surveys to promptly interact with our customers. The best part about Avochato is their AMAZING customer service! Quick, friendly, and always very helpful. In the past, I've had people at tech companies talk down to me because I am female and also because I run a retail/service business in an interesting industry. I've never once been talked down to by the staff at Avochato. Their few and far between bugs are addressed promptly. Rollouts of new features seem to very well tested because there is rarely a hiccup. Overall.... Love it!! It's just what my business needed.

Pros:

Love the ease of use!! It feels super light weight, even though it has a ton more features than similar services I've used. Customer service is 100% top notch!! (Shout out to our rep!!)

Cons:

So far, there hasn't been much! I do wish that emojis/emoticons were a little less expensive to send (they count as 2 or 3 SMS messages, I can't remember exactly at this moment) because we are all so accustomed to adding those to texts without thinking much about them, but I've pared them down a bit from automated messages and it's helped a bit.

Bradley
Executive Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Disappointed By Avochato: Do Not Recommend This Product

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Poor

Pros:

The product is fairly easy to use, although a sloppy mobile interface and glitchy.

Cons:

To start, the pricing...then the sales team who was aggressively trying to renew the product when I had only used half of my credits during the year. There was no consideration or offer on the table. When I originally had conversations they did not have a nonprofit policy and when they added it they did not inform me or prorate. It is clear Avachato cares more e about making money then they do about customer satisfaction. This is an overpriced product for the delivery and level of customer care. And to top it off, after my service was cancelled, they required me to go into the system for a multi-step process to cancel it manually or else they would recharge my card. I went in to cancel and not only did it say that it was already cancelled, but it blocked me out. Boo Avochato. Better to find a better company who cares more about their cusomers and has lower prices. There's many options out there and this one is not the way to go.

Anna
EL Teacher in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am a teacher with student who don’t have access to internet and the best way to get a hold of them is by personal text and phone calls. Avochato cut the work I had to do in half and freed me up to teach and not just inform families about announcements at the school. They have great customer service. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was so friendly, patient, and walked me through setting up the app. When I had questions I texted her and she responded immediately so I didn’t need to waste time setting up and learning the software.

Pros:

This software is user-friendly and I love that I can send messages to pre-created groups. I also love that it comes with its own phone number with the area code I live in so people don’t think it’s junk mail.

Cons:

None - it is so through it has all the features I wanted.

Andrew
Senior Program Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome tool, ripe for automation

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Avochato has been a great asset to our customer-focused team and I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Super easy to procure, implement, and start using. It also integrates really, really nicely with Zapier which makes it a pleasure to use in automated workflows. Their support has also been good when I've needed to contact them.

Cons:

There's really nothing I don't like about it, it contained exactly the features we were looking for and the cost is reasonable.

Nordelene
Nordelene
data profiler in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

creative and usable

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is very fantastic. worth it to recommend to everyone.

Pros:

i like the features of the app. it is easy to use and attractive. It help us to communicate to the possible prospect of your business.

Cons:

More improvement interms of exchanging conversation because it takes a little time to recievea and sent messages.

Sam
Sam
Digital Services Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Effective transactional SMS platform. Less than perfect VoIP platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are able to step up our ability to handle SMS communications and website questions by placing such requests in an interface our staff already uses. Existing needs such as website support were also consolidated into a single service.

Pros:

Conveniently integrates into Slack, a 3rd party team communication software we use for real time messaging. This allows CSR's to respond immediately to SMS messages. It also shows whether a message has been responded to, and by who. Our primary VoIP service has an anemic SMS solution that required workarounds to get it functioning as a group message-response platform and we had a separate platform that we used to provide website support responses. This fit neatly into that niche, and the only workaround needed is forwarding messages from our primary VoIP platform into this service, and then responding to the original party from Avochato. We're able to completely do away with the old website support platform and all the attendant complexities of maintaining multiple platforms. Since Avochato integrated into our existing team communication platform, that's essentially the only account they need to log into on a daily basis.

Cons:

It doesn't offer SIP provisioning for VoIP devices. Also, extension management isn't yet a thing. It wouldn't work as a primary VoIP service, but it works well as an auxiliary service.

Lateef
Lateef
Founder and CEO in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Avochato Use

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We love the product, simple to use and implement across the team. We use it for both day to day business as well as broadcast marketing. The ROI is great, the ease of use simple and feature requests are handled promptly.

Cons:

At first we faced some challenges on the marketing end, when we got on the phone with our rep, he and his team implemented changes to customize the software for us and everything has been well since. Just ask them I would say.

Chris
Chris
Producing Area Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Avochato the best texting solution after a long time researching!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Again, powerful, cost effective, and the Avochato support is amazing! This is the new way of connecting with my past clients. Snail mail and email is dead!

Pros:

It's powerful, cost effective, and the Avochato support is amazing! I was concerned that I may not be a large enough customer to warrant much one on one attention, but that is not the case at all. Every time I reach out I have a quick response! Several times they connected through a live video meeting to walk me through my scenario and questions on my computer.

Cons:

More customization when it comes to exporting and sorting contacts, but they took my suggestions and have actively made adjustments and programmed new custom features.

Dominic
Dominic
Digital Marketing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Budget Version of Recruiting SMS

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We needed a tool for SMS chat with job applicants and looked at things like Text Recruit, but honestly any SMS platform works for that. Avochato is easy to use, can broadcast messages, and can has good collab abilities.

Cons:

The web widget isn't very noticeable and would be much better if it led to an actual chat and not an SMS number to text to.

Christopher
Belong Groups Assistant Director in US
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product, but even better support.

5.0 last year

Comments: The actual reason I'm on here to review Avochato this moment is that the customer service team has rocked and blown me away. We have been impressed multiple times, but this time stood out and I had to recognize and honor them. Here's what happened!During the week, I pressed a button that said "cleanup your contact list" thinking it might remove a couple super old contacts. NOPE - that sucker removed 2,698 of our contacts because of their inactivity in responding (this was my mistake - not Avochato's). In a panic at the realization of what happened, I saw that the removed contacts were still visible, but I couldn't figure out how to "mass-restore" all 2,698 contacts.We have notification messages being sent out today/tomorrow that are significant to our operation, and even though it's Saturday I reached out via text to the customer support number for Avochato. As expected, I received a message saying they are out of the office and would return my message as soon as possible when they get back in. I decided to simply respond to that note and said "Sorry to ask this on a Saturday, but is anyone available now? I have an urgent question regarding our account."To my surprise, someone wrote back and said, "Hi, how can I help you?" And the rest was history.They've now mass-restored all the contacts that were mistakenly removed, and our planned communications will be on time this weekend. Hats off to the support team at Avochato! You consistently hit set high standard!!

Pros:

Having the ability to mass text our people to get information out, including links/rsvp's/surveys has been fantastic.

Cons:

We utilize a project/volunteer management system called "monday.com" - we would love to see integration with the automations on there. The greatest improvement we could hope for would be to enable an automation that imports contacts on Avochato as they are created in Monday.com, and a way to mass update/sync our contact list quickly. We would also love to trigger sms message automations in monday.com through status changes!

Stephen
Owner in Canada
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

After trying every texting software, we went with Avochato

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The customer service is top-notch. The rep is amazing to deal with and very quick to get back to us regarding any questions we have. Their customer service alone puts them in another league compared to the other companies and I have tried and used all of the mainstream platforms.

Pros:

It is very user-friendly and has tons of features. This is one of the only platforms in which you can have a private inbox so users cannot see other people's messages. In most other platforms, users can still see messages that don't belong to them. Avochato also has a calling feature built-in that allows you to make calls from the same number which is great. It is also very easy to switch between inboxes (phone numbers) if you have multiple inboxes. The mobile app is very user-friendly and easy to use as well.

Cons:

It doesn't have the ability to bring Facebook messages in (I understand they are implementing this soon) which isn't a deal-breaker for me.

Blake
CIO in US
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Super easy SMS platform that will drastically helped our customer experience

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our market has proven that people are more likely to communicate over SMS now. Avochato gives us that capability that proved to be quick to deploy and use. We have increased our outreach capability with little effort and our customers love it.

Pros:

Pros: Everything! The platform is very easy and intuitive to use, and new users are able to be onboarded in seconds with little training needed. Broadcasts are very easy to set up and save for use later. My biggest praise for Avochato is their support team and management team. They actually listen to feedback, help very quickly, and build features in their roadmap very quickly. I cannot say enough about Avochato. The simplicity of Avochato has drastically increased our customer experience, communication and agility across our entire company. "We're not just drinking the Kool-Aid, we're eating the Guac!"

Cons:

I'd like to see improvements to reporting and analytics. Instead of just showing how many segments have been send/received, more insightful performance statistics would help a lot for measurement purposes.

Jill
Operations manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is tops!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very good!

Pros:

The ease of use if use and versatility is key in our industry.

Cons:

That so many people can use this and not just the text but call quality are good.

Kaitlyn
Customer support in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Avochato

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have enjoyed it so far and our customers are grateful for this form of contact and the service we offer.

Pros:

I was able to provide convenient and easy customer service to our customers.

Cons:

Sometimes it would glitch and I wasn’t able to use it for a couple of hours til the situation was resolved.

Kent
Director, University Unions in US
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Gives us more flexibility and faster response time to needs of our clients inside of our conference center.

Pros:

Ease of use and quick set-up. Support is great and the company is very responsive to needs of clients. This software has given us much more flexibility in communication and that has been a huge benefit to our office.

Cons:

The voicemail feature is a little annoying and I think shouldn't be an option.

Aimi
Recruitment in US
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Avachato with recruitment efforts

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Everything. I love the connection with potential patients via text.

Cons:

I wish the phone number was the same as our business.

Tracy
Director of Operations in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OUTSTANDING customer service and the software has helped us tremendously.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The fact that we can "text" our technicians through this program versus from our phones have saved us so much time.

Cons:

Once you text a technician, another corporate employee can "take over" the transmission which takes away from yours. This is something their team is working on and they have work arounds.

Frieda
Home Services Admin in US
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Should have gotten sooner

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Instead of calling and leaving a voicemail or e-mailing you easily can type and send knowing they will see the message. Making a more prompt response time

Cons:

There should be a reply all button like like there is for e-mails and a close all button.

Claudia
Patient relations in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Confirming appointments, giving directions to the office, sending registration to the patients and much more.

Pros:

Very Easy to use and extremely convenient, for the practice

Cons:

This is by far an excellent help for the practice and the staff

Calvin
COO in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great team with cool product that still has some kinks to work out

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love how easy it is to reach large audiences and communicate with them via text - a far more personal medium than email. The team has also been incredibly helpful and great to work with!

Cons:

We mostly use Avochato for broadcasts (text message blasts) alerting our customers of upcoming and shipped orders. We use CSVs to upload customer lists, and for reasons unclear to me there are always some contacts that get their names uploaded incorrectly, forcing us to manually go over the whole list every time despite uploading a name

Eddy
Owner in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Highest Quality, Speed, and Ease of Use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Converting cold leads to warm leads is a breeze and far better than other platforms I’ve used. The masking of a dedicated number instead of a short code is a game changer. Then adding a lead in message tracking mini crm conversation is vital.

Pros:

The server side code is incredibly fast and reliable. No bugs or delays between desktop and mobile app.

Cons:

The UI design icons and themes could be better but not at the expense of slowing down the service.

jeremy
Owner in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Avochato Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was another way to contact clients. The downside again was having to do it one an individual basis.

Pros:

I like being able to contact my clients at whatever hours needed. I can also always have support with the text to call feature.

Cons:

It was not reliable would not always notfiy clients. Also, not being able to send out mass messages was a big problem

Adam
Adam
General Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great experience from sales to implementation and beyond

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Improved our sales process and customer service processes

Pros:

Responsiveness, willing to work to meet needs of their customers. Company goes out of their way to make both sales and implementation easy

Cons:

I really don't have anything bad to say here. Cost originally was a concern, but at the end of the day the value for me far outweighs the cost

Kim
Co-founder in US
Cosmetics, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Integration to Shopify

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The Avochato support team is awesome! Super helpful and extremely responsive.

Pros:

Avochato’s integration with Shopify gives us the ability to contact our customer through the most relevant means — text messages. This feature is a bonus on top of Avochato’s use of use.

Cons:

I really don’t have a negative on this software.