Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Canny

Canny is a user feedback tool built to cover everything you need to navigate the entire feedback cycle.

Learn more about Canny

Filter reviews (31)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Canny before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (31)

John M.
Sr. Product Manager in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great tool for Product Teams

5 3 years ago

Comments: Love Canny. I'm really excited to see how the product grows and will be a part of our team. We currently have the tool heavily integrated into our Product, Marketing and Development teams. Outside of the great toolset; the team has been great to work with - every question gets answered, and they want to understand how we use the tool.

Pros:

Very easy to connect to our customer database and provide them an in app experience for feature requests. The voting features, and ability to move requests through statuses to release makes it easier for customers to stay instep with us.

Cons:

It's a new company so they have some catching up, but so far seem to have great priorities that align with client needs.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the kind words John! We're working hard to improve the product with your feedback :)

Verified Reviewer
Customer Success Specialist in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A Quick and Easy Solution to Collecting Feedback

4 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I really like using Canny and how easy it is for teams to adopt. However ultimately I would probably trade it in for something more robust down the road.

Pros:

So easy to get teams to adopt who don't have experience logging feedback, a great place to start - easy to learn and use.

Cons:

Features and analyzation/reporting is weak on Canny. Would like to be able to analyze tags, and look at trends for requests overall.

Canny Response

2 years ago

We're so glad to hear Canny is helping with your feedback needs. We definitely want to improve our reporting features so stay tuned for that!

Tyler E.
Support Specialist in U.S.
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good for keeping track of feature requests

4 2 years ago

Comments: I am using it to track frequency on feature requests. It would be better if a new user didnt have to be created each time I want to upvote something

Pros:

The ability to apply frequency to requests

Cons:

having to create a new user to upvote something

Canny Response

2 years ago

Hi Tyler, thanks for your review! I will say it's very unlikely we'll remove having to create a new user to vote for them. We strongly believe feedback isn't useful if you don't know who it's coming from. The only way we know is if the user votes themself or you tell us. Creating a new user is very easy and you only have to do it the first time!

Jahanzeb S.
Founder/CEO in U.S.
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Canny is really the best by far (beats email and chat support)

5 2 years ago

Comments: Gives us a scalable way of having direct relationships with our customers.

Pros:

With email or chat support, you’ll likely have the same conversation many times (in some cases, hundreds of times), which doesn’t help your users (your finite resources could be spent on work that actually benefits them). What Canny does is subtle but profound. With a public forum allows people to create & upvote posts, and updates users on progress on each post, we can now have just one conversation with everyone affected by an issue, instead of 100+ conversations on the same topic. Customers can also potentially help each other out (great for a small team). And it gives transparency on how we work and how quickly we solve issues for the community.

Cons:

There are a few features it would be nice to add, which are already on Canny’s feature request list (Canny uses Canny, which is great). So I’m confident that over time, it’ll become even better than it already is (and it’s already quite great!).

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk and UserVoice

Reasons for Switching to Canny: Canny is more modern, easier to use, and just a better overall experience, built for exactly what we want it for.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much Jahanzeb for these kind words. We are so happy to hear Canny is helping you build relationships with your customers. Don't hesitate to give us feedback, we're all ears!

Dom Y.
Dom Y.
Founder & Managing Director in U.K.
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Canny is the best product - we reviewed them all and are delighted that we selected Canny.

5 last year

Comments: [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the rest of the team at Canny are highly responsive and always come back with a suggestion or an answer so quickly.

Pros:

The embeddable widget allowed us to put our features request straight into the heart of our website where users can add feature requests in one click.

Cons:

We were early adopters so were forgiving in the early months as the product grew, but there is nothing really that we don’t like about this software.

Canny Response

last year

Hi Dom, thanks so much for this glowing review! We're so happy to have you. As always, don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Irena L.
Irena L.
Product Manager in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HUGE fan of Canny

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Love how easy it is to use, it's intuitive right off the bat. Public vs private comments, voting, integrations with slack/jira, all the things I definitely need to integrate it into our holistic systems are there.

Cons:

Would love to see more customizations/controls and an extension of the existing platform into a project mgmt tool. I love how lightweight and intuitive the platform is, we need that for project mgmt focused on software development. that's the gap I see between Jira and Airtable for example.

Canny Response

last year

Hi Irena! Thanks so much for the kind words. We're happy to hear Canny is working well for you. Our team is definitely looking into some of the stuff you mentioned you'd like to see so stay tuned :) If you have specific customizations/controls in mind, send them our way!

Stefan T.
SWS Team Lead in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Feedback Tracker.

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Overall Canny boosted our customer's engagement, we now have a better number of feedbacks to track and manipulate, giving us great insight into where do we need to improve and meet customer's expectations.

Cons:

Canny is a powerful tool, the only lack that I can think of would e user roles, we just need more of them to be able to setup the environment to our needs.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your kind words Stefan! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. We're actually discussing admin roles now so keep an eye out for that. If you have more specific thoughts on how you'd like that to work, please reach out!

Felix H.
Felix H.
Customer Success Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Game-changer for managing feedback and feature requests

5 last year

Comments: Canny has given us a better overall picture of what our customers are saying. That directly ties into our roadmap and product improvements and allows us to be more customer driven.

Pros:

Canny has made it much easier for us to track and action feedback from our customers. We love the integrations with Salesforce, Slack and Intercom. Customer service is awesome as well, very fast!

Cons:

Not much, overall it's a very robust platform. It would be great if you could link to multiple boards inside the Intercom modal.

Canny Response

last year

Hey Felix, thanks for the kind words. We're so glad to hear Canny is working well for your team. As always, do reach out if we can be helpful!

Verified Reviewer
CMO in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Canny is really great for capturing user feedback

5 last year

Pros:

Very well thought out. End users like using it and have already given us tons of feedback that would be difficult to manually capture.

Cons:

It's worth the money but it is expensive for B2C companies with lots of users.

Canny Response

11 months ago

Hey there! Thanks for this very kind review! Definitely reach out to our Customer Success team if you haven't already. We do offer discounts for B2C businesses!

Meredith G.
Meredith G.
Product Manager in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A lifesaver for a startup

5 7 months ago

Comments: We are using Canny to collect and prioritize user-based feedback on our proprietary marketing software. Before it was all coming through me (the Product Manager) and it was hard to be as transparent as I would like with our users about where their requests rank in the roadmap, what changes we've made in response to their feedback, etc. Canny makes it all happen for us.

Pros:

Canny is intuitive on the administrator end, but more importantly, it's intuitive for the users/feedback givers. It's made an extremely complicated process of receiving feedback, logging it, and then following up with users when necessary into one streamlined software that is incredibly easy to use and scale.

Cons:

Our biggest struggle right now is using one Canny instance for different products and services we have. Basically once our internal product starting using it, our web product wanted one, as did our knowledge base software. And we can't afford to give each of them their own instance at this time so things have gotten a little cluttered. It's definitely not a dealbreaker by any means, though.

Michael V.
Michael V.
CEO in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Amazing tool for collecting product user feedback

5 2 years ago

Comments: Canny rocks! It's a tool that has an incredible ROI by collecting and managing feedback and feature requests and more. Instead of having to manually review and organize feedback Canny does it for you. Users are able to collaborate with others on new feature ideas and vote on these requests helping to really understand use cases and interest. This kind of solution builds loyalty with customers by not only improving your product but showing customers you are listening and their feedback is important.

Pros:

I love the clean design and intuitive UX. Canny is great at collecting and managing feedback and I love all the integrations especially with Intercom. One very useful feature is the ability to collect, enter and attribute feedback to a user instead of the user having to enter it. It's great being able to show a user that their feedback was collected and matters since we no longer say "We'll pass your feedback along..." Now the user and others can see their suggestion and engage others interested in the same feature. Great support as well although it's so easy you'll hardly ever need it.

Cons:

Nothing so far. The software doesn't do everything and that's actually what makes it great. Simplicity for the most common uses.

Verified Reviewer
Product Designer in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Just what we really needed

5 7 months ago

Comments: Canny solves a big problem for us in giving us a consolidated place to gather and track feedback, keep track of what user's want/need most. And it acts as a screen between our support team and development team, a place where the product team can step in and only push the highest priority feedback to the engineering team to build.

Pros:

Canny gives us a consolidated place to add and track feedback from our internal team and our users. Also, it allows users to track their vote on requests, giving us a way to keep the most important requests at the surface and preventing them from being buried.

Cons:

Canny has a few usability issues that our team has encountered. This has primarily made certain parts of the software less intuitive and harder to learn for new members of our team (possibly our users too, though I have not heard that from them personally). Also, it lacks a really solid feedback prioritization feature, which is a big part of product & feedback management.

Devin W.
Founder and CEO in U.S.
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent system for bug reporting, feedback evaluation, and changelogs

5 2 years ago

Comments: Soliciting and gauging customer feedback and having a native-feeling integration into our existing application.

Pros:

I enjoy the minimal branding and easy integration with our application. We didn't have to build the entire system ourselves and the Intercom integration is great as well.

Cons:

Moving from the admin view to the customer view is a little clumsy. That's a very minimal issue though.

Alternatives Considered: UserVoice

Reasons for Switching to Canny: Features, pricing, and support

Canny Response

2 years ago

Hi Devin, thanks for the kind words! We're glad to hear you're enjoying Canny so far. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Johann K.
Johann K.
Customer Support Specialist in Estonia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

The Review

4 2 years ago

Comments: It's probably the best product for sharing internal feedback, but it's not worthing using an extra tool if you are already using Jira for example

Pros:

Tickets are really easily searchable and creating new ones is intuitive for even new users. Also much cheaper than competitors.

Cons:

Needs configuration to get data to our own servers. Difficult to display the roadmap for everyone. Would expect more users (customizable) user roles as well.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Johann! We have since made several improvements to Canny we hope you'd enjoy :)

Alex B.
Product Manager in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Don't try managing feedback yourself, save you a headache and use Canny

5 last year

Comments: Onboarding was extremely fast even though I barely had time to implement it. It was so straightforward that I could setup the thing in-between meetings (Ok ok, sometimes even within a meeting but don't tell anyone).

Pros:

It's ease of use, simple yet effective way to collect feedback. Excellent customer service, fast and efficient just like we want it!

Cons:

No real cons so far, we'll see about limitations and features as we grow our Canny userbase.

Canny Response

last year

Thanks so much Alex! Do let us know if you run into anything as you grow in Canny :)

Julien P.
Lead Ux Designer in France
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review

5 2 years ago

Comments: Very good

Pros:

Canny is a clean, simple to use product that helps collecting user feedback

Cons:

Some improvement must be made like any young product, so it's understandable.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Hi Devin, we're glad to hear you're liking Canny so far. I see you've voted on a few things so you'll get updates as we prioritize!

Lisa M.
Head of Growth and CX in New Zealand
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple to use and great support

4 11 months ago

Pros:

Its simple and built for one purpose which it does well - collecting customer feedback. It also integrates with Intercom which is great. The support team is brilliant really responsive and they know their stuff so implementation was easy.

Cons:

That only the pricing top tier can provided restricted access setups for their team. Otherwise love it!

Katherine L.
Katherine L.
Co-founder in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, it's our guiding compass.

5 2 years ago

Comments: Before using Canny, we manually collected and organized customer feedback in a spreadsheet which was time-consuming and laborious. Canny completely changed the game for us. It has automated the process of feedback collection which saved us a great deal of time and effort. Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, but it's our company's guiding compass. As a small team, prioritizing what features to build is very important to us. And Canny shows us the direction that we should be sailing towards.

Pros:

We love Canny's clean and intuitive interface which makes it easy for our users to navigate and submit feedback. Canny's changelog feature is very useful in showing our product's progress clearly. With Canny, product building is no longer just a one-sided internal practice. It's become a collective effort that involves both the product maker as well as the users. By making our product map public, it allows us to engage and interact with our users transparently. It shows that we care about what our users want. And that helps build customer loyalty. I also love the team behind Canny. They are always very responsive. Canny's founders are incredibly dedicated in building a product that makes tangible, positive impact for businesses.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of for now. I look forward to seeing more great features shipped by the Canny team!

Canny Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much Kat! We're so happy to hear that Canny is helping your team is many ways :)

Amit K.
CEO in U.S.
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Beware - they refuse to listen to top-voted feedback

1 2 years ago

Comments: I would look elsewhere immediately - Canny seems like a club that pretends to take "open feedback" but they delete feedback they don't agree with, and refuse to listen to their own open, voting system.

Pros:

UI seems nice, shame about the rest (see the cons section)

Cons:

The company bills itself as feedback software, and to dog-food their software, they take on feedback on a public forum which is on their website. One of the top-voted features on their public roadmap is to remove their intrusive "Powered by" branding. In our comms with their people - they flat out refused to remove their branding - despite the number of votes for people wanting that, and despite the fact that we said we would pay much more.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Hi Amit, we're sorry you didn't have a fabulous experience with Canny. This definitely isn't the norm. We obviously take user feedback super seriously - we're a user feedback company after all. But it isn't the only input to our product prioritization process. Just because something gets a lot of votes doesn't mean it's a good fit for our product/customers/business. We believe that every software company should operate with this philosophy. Doing otherwise would be an injustice to customers and could be detrimental to building a successful company. I was trying to be transparent with you about why we don't remove branding, but it seems I didn't do a great job at communicating this, and I offended you. I'm sorry for offending you, and we're bummed to see this has caused you to leave a negative review. Best of luck with Tallyfy!

Chelsea D.
Customer Success Lead in U.S.
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Don't let customer feedback fall on deaf ears!

5 last year

Comments: Easy to learn and quick to setup. This has made a positive such an impact to our business and with our customers!

Pros:

Canny gives our customers a place to feel heard, listened to, and gain visibility into our feature and product roadmap which was not possible before Canny. We set the platform up in just a single day and onboarding was a breeze. Within the first week we had over 60+ posts from our customers! With Canny, we can now provide visibility in upcoming features. It gives our customers a place to leave valuable feedback, upvote on others posts, and comment on existing requests. With Canny, our customers feel as though they have a voice and can influence our product decisions.

Cons:

We imported feature requests we've been collecting from an excel sheet which was AWESOME, however I wish my face/name wasn't on those requests. Aside from that, I LOVE everything about Canny.

Canny Response

last year

Thanks for the rave review Chelsea! We love companies that care about giving their customers a voice :) thanks for using Canny to do it!

Kamal S.
Kamal S.
Product Manager in U.K.
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Feedback tool

5 12 months ago

Pros:

Simplicity of the app to collect and manage the feedback. Quick sign up for my client .

Cons:

Pricing tier does not work for small and medium business. In my example I need features in top tier but I don’t have that much end users to justify the extra money .

Canny Response

11 months ago

Hey, Kamal! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We do offer discounts for some businesses, so definitely reach out to Customer Success team if you haven't already!

Chris M.
Owner in U.S.
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome simple product

5 last year

Comments: I have used the software for a month or two now and it works great! My customers are engaged to help me grow my product.

Pros:

It is simple to integrate and simple site that is fast!

Cons:

I don't have any problems with the software

Canny Response

last year

Hi Chris, thanks so much for the kind words. We're so happy to hear Canny is helping you connect with your customers. Don't hesitate to reach out if our team can be helpful.

Owen D.
Lead Technical Support Specialist in U.K.
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellence

5 last year

Pros:

Integrating with our existing process was very simple. Canny provide no-end of integrations into the platform. This has allowed us to make sense of thousands of GitHub 'Issues' in such a simplistic way.

Cons:

The pricing i would say is fair given the impact it can have on your Business although for early stage startups it's difficult to justify. Saying that it's extreamly easy to integrate down the line so when you do make the switch you can be up and running in no-time!

Alternatives Considered: monday.com

Switched From: GitHub

Reasons for Switching to Canny: Company culture i believe Canny has nailed this and i like to use products that not only prove useful but give inspiration. Canny does just that.

Canny Response

last year

Thanks so much for the kind words, Owen! We're so glad to hear you're enjoying Canny. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful.

René-pier D.
Main Developer & Creator in Canada
Online Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Managing feature requests and releases for Fari is a breeze

5 6 months ago

Pros:

Not only was Canny easy to integrate directly within https://fari.app, it was also easy to understand for users and admins alike. Their support team have been helping me from the get go even though I didn't even need them because of how simple their product is easy to use. Within the first couple of days, I received dozens of feature requests and Fari's user were excited to have a say in what the dev team should work next on the app. Couldn't recommend enough.

Cons:

Canny offers a widget which can be integrated directly within your apps, but that widget doesn't offer a dark theme. This can make it clash a bit with the rest of the user interface of your app if your app offers a dark mode. Minor inconvenience, but I thought I would mention it anyway. The cool thing is, they are using their own product, so that is a feature request that people can vote on, which I did! https://feedback.canny.io/feature-requests/p/widget-dark-theme

Alternatives Considered: UserVoice

Switched From: UserVoice

Kyle L.
Kyle L.
Customer Support Specialist in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

More organized and more involved

5 2 years ago

Comments: I have been very pleased with our ability to track feature requests from our customers, while also providing these customers with updates on their requests. This sort of involvement and transparency goes a long way in cultivating trust and loyalty with our customers.

Pros:

The ability to have the users of our app to vote on feature requests not only gave our users a renewed sense of investment with our product but allowed to truly make decisions with our customers in mind. Before, collecting customer feedback felt unorganized and ineffective.

Cons:

The search functionality can use some work.

Canny Response

2 years ago

Hi Kyle, thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. Please reach out if there are specific search cases that aren't working well for you. We're always looking to improve!