15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Productboard

Productboard is the customer-driven product management system that empowers teams to get the right products to market, faster.

Learn more about Productboard

Pros:

Easy integration and linking of external tools.

Cons:

Searchong for already submitted requests can be difficult. Constant moderator required.

Productboard ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Productboard has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 150 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Productboard before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (150)

Joshua
Joshua
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Alas! We found our product management solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Over the past two years, we've tried about every product management solution under the sun. While many have been good, we hadn't found the best solution for *us* (a small team, 3 product people, 5 engineers). This is the first solution that's been adopted by the entire team, a big part due to the easy shared inbox for customer insights.

Pros:

In order of benefit, here's what I like most so far about Productboard: (1) Aggregating product insights / customer requirements across all of our inboxes + Slack into one place (2) Ability to build a quarterly roadmap w/ existing tickets in Jira + w/ ability to write new features back to Jira as tickets (3) Ability to outline all of the components of our platform w/ features under each component - something we've never had before.

Cons:

Some small nit-picks around interactions (eg. bulk selecting rows), but so far customer support has responded instantly to guide me in right direction.

Jo
Product Manager in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

So close to being a great product

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: I was the person that championed the implementation of productboard and I still really like it. But the lack of concerns for less "important" integrations and automation is making my life more miserable. I would love to continue using productboard but I am not sure if we can

Pros:

1. Feedback management: we have found productboard's integration with intercom to be wonderful. They really nailed it with 95% of the features in Notes, especially for individual feedback. 2. love the diasctintion between maker and (free) viewers. This allowed us to roll out the tool to the entire company without incurring excessive costs. 3. We really like the portal feature but we are not using it yet.

Cons:

1. Feature hierarchy is a difficult concept to grasp for new comers and gets messy. What I hate about the feature hiearachy is that there's not flexibility once you have listed something as a "product". You can't change it to a feature of a subfeature. This rendered us with a ginormous "product" with all features listed under one thing. integrations: 2. integration with any development platform that's not jira is completely useless. We use shortcut and we understand it's a small player and it's also fault on their part but the integration is utterly meaningless with the current state. We 3. Integration with zapier is also close to being useless given that the only trigger is "new note" or "new feature", and anything that's imported from an integration to be a new note is not editable. Why??? We would love to automate our workflow and centralize all research findings in productboard but these pain points are impossible to overcome. We are thinking about switching to something else just because of this. Honestly, if they just give us the option of another trigger event on zapier like change of status, we would already be so happy. 4. The research insights are only very qualitative focus and possibility for automation is low. It's funny that productboard owns satismeter but the satismeter integration is also not great. We ended up setting up our own satismeter integration through zapier. But, there's also no way for us to easily sort through low/high ratings or filter.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Terrible Search, Terrible UI, Unstructured Data

2.0 11 months ago

Comments: Migrated from Canny to Productboard. Canny is far and above an easier to use, more pleasant, effective solution for feedback management

Pros:

- Logging in with SSO integration was easy.- You can use it to capture product feedback, even though there are much better tools out there.- Integrates with Zendesk

Cons:

Where to begin???- 3 different search boxes, no unified search.There's one search for views, one search for notes, and another for topics that notes are about.This makes it slow, and difficult to know what search to use at what time.- Data is unstructuredAs far as I can tell, notes don't seem to have ability to have custom fields. Leads to ton of unstructured and poorly searchable data.- The user interfaceThere's no hierarchy to data. The UI/views are overwhelming, and feel disorganized. It's like the worst email inbox or notes app imaginable for complex feedback + data.- Votes on product feedback populate as distinct notes Makes the already bad search even harder to use

Thomas
Thomas
Product lead in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Product roadmap visualized

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very positive and a great way to share with key stakeholders our brainstorming and product roadmap.

Pros:

Integration with other tools has been a great benefit. However, the collaboration, prioritisation and visualization of the product roadmap is the best and most used features.

Cons:

For smaller teams / startups it could be seen as relatively expensive.

Eric
Eric
Chief Product Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simplest way for sophisticated insight consolidation, prioritization, and roadmap management

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We had an alignment and communication problem that we had to solve. Plain and simply, productboard gives us a clear way to communicate and collaborate on our product roadmap. And gives our team insight into how we think about and prioritize initiatives.

Pros:

Consolidating insights from myself, our customers, and our team. I also really like the different views I can create and ways I can prioritize things by release and various scores. The public feedback forum is also really, really nice. Then the beautiful roadmap view is just icing on the cake.

Cons:

Doesn't integrate to Clubhouse, which we are moving to from JIRA. We also didn't use the JIRA integration because we were on New JIRA. Which is why we are now on Clubhouse, which I'll save for another review. Also, I feel there are a couple of elements missing when looking at reporting and ongoing maintenance of tickets... but that's hard, and is probably something they're thinking about.

Kaan
Product Manager in Türkiye
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A simple yet powerful tool for managing and communicating the product roadmap

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Productboard did enable us to create a manageable, customer value driven product roadmap that is in alignment with our corporate objectives and product vision. The communication of our product roadmap to different stakeholders is much easier now thanks to the customizable and stunning views.

Pros:

Productboard has a very easy to use user interface, but still manages to provide you the functionality of customizable views with its powerful aggregations, filters, tags and view options. With the insights feature of productboard, it is very easy to parse the ideas and requirements of customers to product features and keep track of the customer demand for each feature in detail. The beautiful roadmap views which you can export for presentations are also a real timesaver.

Cons:

An internal file viewer for common file formats (e.g. pdf, doc, xls) is needed for attachments. It would be preferred if the internal insights could be seperated from customer insights when calculating the user impact score which we utilize to measure the customer demand of features.

Jeff
Product Strategist in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fills a major hole in most product development toolbelts

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Most product and project management tools focus on 3 views: roadmap of what's ahead, kanban view of what's currently in motion, and backlog of all the things you could possibly do. What's majorly lacking in almost all of these tools is the toolset to effectively prioritize the items that go into each of those views. What you're left with is a giant list of things to do and a lot of supplemental tools (xls files, gannt tools, etc.) to try and do prioritization work. The whole point of product development is to figure out what the highest value things could be getting worked on and when/why, and thus, by focusing on "here's what is being worked on" over "here's what we should be working on and why", many other tools largely miss the mark. ProductBoard's tools are custom built to solve the prioritization problem - you can choose company objectives, track customer segments & customers, score features by value/effort, and then slice & dice these things all sorts of different ways in order to best determine the right work to focus on when. At its core, it feels like software that was designed by and for product managers, which is refreshing when compared to other tools in the space that feel like they were designed for the abstract goal of "getting things done".

Pros:

* At it's core, it's just a well designed & enjoyable piece of software to use every day. * Its prioritization toolset allows you to effectively sort/filter/schedule features along all sorts of different dimensions in a way that no other tool I've seen allows for. * Its "insights" inbox allows you to way more effectively manage the influx of requests/feedback than other tools.

Cons:

* Though the tool is easy to use, getting started can be tricky because of needing to figure out how best to map your product to the very flexible data model that ProductBoard allows for. * I wish it had more integrations and/or a public api for syncing engineering tasks - it connects to the big ones (Jira/Pivotal/Trello) really nicely, but many folks use other tools.

Marc
Product Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It's simply a joy to use every single day!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: ProductBoard helps our multiple teams stay aligned. We have visibility of what each team is working on and can quickly see where there are overlaps. It helps us keep feedback all in one place and not lost across endless Google Docs/Sheets

Pros:

The design and UX of the app makes using ProductBoard on a daily basis super easy and enjoyable. Creating custom views that you can call up when you need to is great. But the most powerful part of ProductBoard is being able to highlight specific parts of a users feedback and easily attaching it to the relevant feature idea, while still being able to jump to the full feedback if you need more context. On top of that the Portal view for customers is beautiful and we've found that this really encourages users to provide more detailed feedback, instead of some other solutions out there that just relies on voting

Cons:

Not much! There's only a small number of features that would help improve things. Critically the ability to hook up to something like Segment to push more live customer data across. Also being able to have conversations directly to customers would help smooth out those times when you need that extra bit of detail on their insight to truly understand their pain.

Seth
Product Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Helps tell our product story

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is helping us prioritize our features. A little help on our bandwidth and if we have the pipeline full. This helps us have a clean deliverable to stake holders. Very easy portal feature to better engage company and clients. Helping us manage our large client feedback pool from multiple sources.

Pros:

Very visual. It can handle the large influx of customer feedback and help funnel that to the right part of our product. Helps other departments feel involved in the product evolution and road map. Great way to keep people in the loop to what we have cookin. Love the portal aspect. Very powerful feature set there. Can't wait to engage our client based with a full portal of where we are going, where we are, and where we've been. Easy self on boarding. Great sales process. Great overall.

Cons:

Not too many cons yet. I don't anticipate too many. Not sure how fast they crank out new features yet.

Ewan
Ewan
Product Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Saved us from accumulating insights and doing nothing with them

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has helped us move on from the disparate storage of customer insights which we were accumulating but not putting to use. It's now the primarily a tool we use to inform our roadm map and has very strong features to help you align with overall strategy.

Pros:

We can channel Slack messages, support tickets and input from across all our teams to one central location.

Cons:

The reporting is very customisable and you can reach in and grab data quite easily, the only limitation we found is between customer insights and their assigned customer segment, for example, an option to present the priority of feature requests over an entire customer segment isn't readily available.

Nicolay
Product Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We evaluated a number of products before choosing producboard. One of the best decisions we've made!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I wanted to save this for last, but I'd hate myself if people didn't read it because of my lengthy post. productboard is beautiful, simple and extremely powerful! As our products matured, and our customer base grew, there was never a shortage of customer feedback and ideas on how to improve (or introduce new) features. Our backlog (in Jira) was growing, and processing feedback (categorising, evaluating, prioritising) was becoming a cumbersome (if not impossible) task. It was hard to collate feedback on the same feature and/or trace it back to the customers who requested it. As we were seeking to embrace a Dual-Track Agile approach to how we do product development, we needed a tool that powers our Discovery stage. We found it in productboard. It allows us to easily assign new ideas/feedback to the respective feature. productboard generates a user score based on frequency and importance. You can also map the features to different customer segments, strategic drivers and any other custom fields you need. Map your features to releases and voila, productboard generates a stylish, digestible roadmap. Even better - two clicks on the roadmap view, and you can drill down to the original feedback. No more 'Oh, where did this come from?' Brilliant! Very importantly, productboard works well with your ecosystem. We kept our existing feedback forms (Google Form) and use Zapier to sync them with productboard. We also use the Jira and Slack integrations. They work awesome!

Cons:

At some stage we'd like to drop our Google Form, and start collecting feedback in-app. And while product board already makes it convenient to collect feedback from Intercom conversations, it might make it easier for some customers if they had a simple, embeddable form. Another challenge product board needs to think about is related to closing the feedback loop, i.e. feeding information back to the original requestors. Whether it's via a portal, or an integration with a customer engagement product (like Intercom), that would be a powerful addition. That said, these are currently nice-to-haves for our business.

Timoté
Head of Product & Marketing in Belgium
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Clear and structured way to track product related activities

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Clear and structured way to track product related activities

Pros:

- Very simple to implement - Help to build transparency across the organisation and customers - Very efficient to track product activities

Cons:

- Miss an integration with Gitlab - Pretty weak on the customer feedback management

Guy
Directir of Product in Israel
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of my favorite tools

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Reallt great

Pros:

helps with roadmapping and input management. Help me organize, explain my priorities, and share internally. They are also an example of how product mgmt should be - from new features, communication of value, ux and more

Cons:

Slightly hard to get started. Might create duplications with Jira and other tool. Great for PMs but not always for the rest of the team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very powerful tool

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love that with Productboard you can collect all the customer feedback easily and customize it according to your needs. Thanks to this, it's easy to see what should be implemented first and which requests can wait

Cons:

It can be a bit overwhelming at the beginning as it has a lot of different functionalities. However, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was amazing on the calls and explained to us how everything works.

Kate
Product Manager in US
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A better tool for product discovery and roadmaps

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

A product management service should be designed, right? Not always but product board does a good job of making it easy for the entire org to capture and share insights. The 'inbox' is where the majority of these get funneled. Insights can have labels associated with them so you can implement all types of filtering and prioritization. The product roadmaps are well-designed and are dynamic to adjust for the necessary audience.

Cons:

Interestingly, I received feedback that the onboarding for non-PMs was a bit challenging. Team members weren't quite sure how to use the tool to provide feedback. The inbox can get quite cluttered and it's best to educate team members on how to submit ideas.

Benjamin
VP Product in US
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best product management platform

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is the best system of record for PM related information and to build a process in. A great way to ensure all stakeholder feedback is captured & organized. Then primary source information can be linked to as many ideas (features, stories etc.) as desired and they can be prioritized very powerfully. Enables stakeholder communication at scale effectively. Let's me do almost everything I want, in the way I want to.

Cons:

It perhaps has too many features and options! The responsibility is on the user to not over-complicate the implementation. It's best for folks who are comfortable with a good degree of information.

Aaron
Product Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Productboard helps manage a large repository of user feedback from many sources

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The ability to consume many sources of user feedback and the portal is really just icing on the cake. We did not hire this tool for that job but did have a need for one so that was nice.

Cons:

Prioritization features are a bit much for our needs.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must-have Product Manager teams

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Productboard is a very intuitive tool for our Product Management that allows us to track the features from the insights we gather to the delivery. The shareable roadmap is essential for the communication to other services (R&D, sales, support…) and the UI makes it easy to use and to understand.

Cons:

The integration list has to grow to be able to synchronize the items with external project management softwares like Notion. Also, a better version of the Portal to be able to follow the insights would be appreciated.

Thomas
Head of Agile PMO in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Nice tool with questionable subscription policies

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The product itself is quite intuitive and clear.
For roadmapping and objectivation it is useful, while missing many useful features in the so called "pro" license. The following process of negotiation did not work out for us.

Pros:

First of all productboard does have a clear and intuitive UI. Things are arranged clearly and are easily found once the overall concept is clear. Productboard does give different filterable views on a given set of data on timelines and as a list. It does help with priorization by objectivizing mere words into numbers, also collecting ideas and insights.

Cons:

On the downside of the product is the subscription model. The so called "pro" licence does not include basic things like visible dependencies on the roadmap or using the strongly advertised "objectives" on features. Only two of the four plans are available directly, the rest needs to be negotiated. That negotiation revealed that the "scale model" would multiply the price and the contact itself was so unpleasant that the whole product became stale for our team.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software to follow-up on product advancement

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good experience - it's truly a gem of a software. It helps the product team, team up with other teams in the company.

Pros:

Productboard is an amazing tool. It permits our team to stay in touch with the product team and give feedback. It also also allows us to track down where they are at in terms of development of the product itself. Another thing is that, you can link it to external software like Slack to give direct feedback and "push" things to product board. Product team also have a roadmap of important and not so important things they work on, we can based on that give our point of viw and help them set priorities.

Cons:

This tool isn't essential for all the tools IF the product team doesn't teach others how to use it. Once everyone understand how valuable of a tool it is, it's hard to use something else.

Sefi
PM in Israel
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great tool to stay on top of feedback channels

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Productboard takes the vague notion of “users are asking for it” and translates it to something much more actionable - who exactly asked for it and in what context.

Cons:

Productboard has a zapper integration but I still wish they had some more built-in integrations.

Matt
Chief Product Officer in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Designed for product leaders

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: UX is great. Functionality feels like it was designed just for me. Love it.

Pros:

With ProductBoard I am able to organize the team from the product vision down, in a way that is specific to the focus of product leaders. It's not a bottoms-up task organization tool - it's built to help build products.

Cons:

I would like a little more hierarchy and better 2-way integration with tools like Jira.

Peter
Product Manager in Denmark
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A no-brainer for PMs in start ups and mid-sized companies

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

A structured place for user insights, that linked to features keeps reminding me off ALL of our insights, and not just the last 10-15 discovered. A flexible, powerful way to organise features, which can be viewed and filtered in many ways that fits the context needed.

Cons:

It has a bit of a learning curve, but once passed you will never go back.

Elizabeth
Product Intern in Canada
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Use it everyday and I love it

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are using it to sort and manage all of our customer feedback into categories which has been great since we get dozens of feedback a week in all types of categories.

Pros:

It is really easy to use and navigate around. When I was first introduced to this, it took me no time to pick it up and get used to everything on the platform. It's so great at organizing. Would not know what to do without this!

Cons:

I have been using this for 7 months now and I don't have a single thing that I can think of that I don't like about it.

Andrew
Product Manager in Canada
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing Flexibility and Customer Service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I was trying to produce a centralized product backlog and tool for managing the development of requirements through to hand-off to the Dev team.
Additionally, I was looking for a way to communicate the product roadmap to clients. ProductBoard rocked this requirement!

Pros:

I love the flexibility of the product. Whenever I have had a need that I think did not quite fit - the team has been able to show me how I can configure the product to meet my request. The customer service is fantastic! Response time has always been incredible. They also seem to take suggestions for new features and improvements seriously. Sharing their product roadmap with their customers (using their tool to do it) really shows the power of using their tools.

Cons:

The only thing I would say is a 'con' so far is that their exports could be improved. This is on their product roadmap though.