15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Mailbird

Mailbird is a beautifully simple email client that connects to all your email accounts, social and business productivity apps in one.

Learn more about Mailbird

Pros:

The design of the email client is intuitive and uncluttered, yet allows access to all tools I would want.

Cons:

Their extremely poor customer service, or lack there of.

Mailbird ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Mailbird has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 389 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Mailbird before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (389)

Nicholas
Nicholas
Teacher in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great email client

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very positive. I've received good customer service and the price is very reasonable given that it's a one-off payment.

Pros:

Set out nicely with a clear design. Love having whatsapp dropbox and google calendar all in one place integrated into the email client.

Cons:

There is nothing that I can think of I don't like about the product. I am very happy with it.

Martyn
Tech Support in UK
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Lifetime Licenses to good to be true.

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Good until they released 3.0 and destroyed all trust with current long-term loyal customers.

Pros:

The simplicity of using this was a dream, the previously offered lifetime product was a nice touch but they have stopped honoring this now.

Cons:

It is no longer honouring the lifetime licenses.

Clément
Business owner in Portugal
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A software that keeps its promises until it doesn't.

2.0 last year

Pros:

Mailbird is very easy to use and actually better than Outlook on some aspects. I especially like the mailboxes management that lets us monitor our different mailboxes in one glance.

Cons:

Unfortunately, the software can be overly simple and you sometimes find yourself looking for a feature that simply does not exist. The text processing is also quite catastrophic with erratic behaviour when it comes to formatting the text. But after all, why not? A simple product at an affordable price offering a good overall experience. Yes... But no. First of all, after 3 years of daily use I'm not sure I've seen any changes. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for not changing something that is not broken, but here’s the catch. Some things are actually obviously broken, such as the text formatting, and the team won't do anything about it. The worst for the end: as your mailbox starts to get a lot of messages, it will take longer and longer to send them. Sometimes you even have to restart the software and the message then get sent instantly. I have tried with Outlook and have not had this problem. I contacted them about it, but the guy was completely lost and his best idea was eventually to uninstall and reinstall the software or... Delete my messages! As I write this comment, I can see how my grief is getting the better of this review. It could be a great mailing software, but has set itself up to be average with bugs that make it mediocre. Mailbird, if you are reading this, please fix your software. I love you, but it's getting complicated.

Mailbird Response

last year

Hello Clément, We're naturally sorry to hear of your negative experience with Mailbird. Oftentimes, issues affecting Mailbird are not directly related to Mailbird - whenever emails take an abnormally long time to be sent/received, we would need to understand whether external factors are at play, such as an antivirus or security software throttling Mailbird's ability to connect to an email server. Certain email servers which our customers use are known to be problematic across a range of email clients (e.g. Dovecot). Other elements can also play a role in Mailbird's functionality, such as not having the latest Windows components or updates installed on one's device (or worse still, these could be corrupted or in conflict due to some other software). I tried to find your Support Ticket but I lack sufficient information to do so - if you don't mind reaching out to us again (marking it for my attention), I would like to look into your problems further. Apologies once again. Oliver

Sarah
occupational therapist in Switzerland
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Unfortunately does not always send mail

4.0 last year

Comments: In general when it works it is a good product, but it does not work consistently and is not reliable.

Pros:

I like that all accounts are unified in one place. I can set up icons that help me identify an account at a single glance. The delayed sending feature is helpful and intuitive.

Cons:

I have one account that consistently has problems sending mail with mailbird. There is no announcement that it does not send, instead it quietly slides that mail into drafts, and it is a nasty surprise to discover it did not go out. I have contacted customer service several times, they can find no error! On my last attempt they said my log file was too dangerous to open and I should try creating a new log file to send them, as the problem is not consistent it is hard to capture!!

Mailbird Response

last year

Hi Sarah, we're naturally sorry to learn of the problems you have been experiencing with Mailbird. My colleague Shub (who you have been communicating with) still has your ticket 'On Hold' since February, as he is waiting to receive the server log from you which will help us diagnose the problem and offer up a solution. We look forward to receiving it at your earliest convenience so that we can begin diagnosing the problem more accurately. The Mailbird Team

Victor
Developer in Sweden
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It just works!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have many different inboxes that I have to keep track of. Having to switch accounts to check everything at least a few times a day was very time-consuming. Since switching to MailBird I get all my accounts synced to a unified inbox and notified whenever I receive an email. That makes it much easier to stay on top of my work and keep track of everything with minimal effort which could easily save a lot of time.

Pros:

The best thing about MailBird is that everything works. I have been using it for many years and it has been very reliable with no problems at all. Everything you should expect from your mail client is there with a few extra features as well but most importantly I have not encountered a single issue since I started using MailBird.

Cons:

It might look a little bit basic and does not compare with all the fancy web-like interfaces that most newer software has. But don't let it fool you, there are a lot of great features that make MailBird a powerful tool, and most importantly what it does, it does well.

Dan
CTO in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Clean and fast email client

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Been using daily for several years with 10+ accounts on all kinds of servers from local self-hosted to exchange and Gmail. Works excellent and support is pretty good too for the rare occasion it doesn't.

Pros:

Multiple accounts incl combined mailbox.

Cons:

I wish they focused more on core E-mail features such as auto-classification or maybe spam filtering and less on integrating every tool out there.

Cory
COO in US
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product until v3.0

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Love it until v3.0. I was excited to test new versions and use 3.0. My license doesn't support it.

Pros:

Mailbird was my preferred email management tool. I always preferred it above Google, Outlook, etc.

Cons:

I have a professional license. That lifetime professional licence does not include the features in the new v3.0. Mailbird has not lost all of its usefulness.

Gjergji
Web designer in Albania
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fast, attractive email client

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is fast, it loads fast. Very attractive interface. Very easy to use, all in one Inbox. I love the integration with Whatsapp, Wunderlist, gCalendar, gKeep and many more.

Cons:

I miss some right-click menu options and tabs. I have accounts with lots of folder and I have to scroll to check them. If I could use tabs, they will show if any emails is in folder. I would like for external links such as in Twitter, Whatsapp to be opened in my default browser rather than in the built-in. You can play Twitter video inside Mailbird.

Greg
Greg
National Sales Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent email program!

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Easy to setup and handles more than one email account. Customer support is really good and they keep adding new features.

Cons:

I really don't have any cons to list for this product.

Tiara
Mailbox Powerhouse in US
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Mailbox Powerhouse

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

I love the fact that I can manage 14 separate accounts from one hubs. I have various accounts across different providers and all of them so far have been compatible with Mailbird.

Cons:

Because of the many features, the UI can become a bit convoluted.

Danny
CEO in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mailbird is by far the best email client I have ever used and it helped me get to Inbox Zero

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Mailbird helped me reach and maintain Inbox Zero for 1.5 years and counting. I am now far more organized in my life by being able to handle my email as it comes in daily instead of letting it fall behind.

Pros:

Mailbird is single-handedly the best software that I have implemented in the last few years. I tried every desktop email client I could find and was extremely impressed with Mailbird right from the start. My goal in transitioning from Gmail in a browser to a desktop client was to be able to answer all of my emails while traveling and being disconnected from the internet. Now Gmail has an offline mode, but Mailbird still beats using Gmail in the browser because of all of its other features. I love having a shortcut [ctrl-alt-space] to start an email from anywhere on my computer. Their shortcut keys allow for very fast email composing, reading, and managing. There are many software integrations so you can sync to all of your email accounts, calendars, chats, project management software, etc. My New Year's Resolution in 2016 was to get to Inbox Zero and stay there. Mailbird helped me do this by organizing all of my email, making it easy to sort, and quickly reply. I am still at Inbox Zero 1.5 years later. It does a great job organizing your contacts, handling attachments, and managing your folders. It even has a way to search only your attachments to find that document from months ago that you can't remember who sent.

Cons:

I really don't have any cons in using Mailbird other than they don't have a mobile app. This isn't a huge problem as there are other apps for mobile, but it would be very helpful to have the same look and feel on a phone.

Adrian
IT Consultant in UK
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's great to have options

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I'm a long term Microsoft proprietary software user, like most other people, and it is scary to see, year after year, how little they care about what they put out there.
Nothing I ever purchased from Microsoft worked as expected out of the box (Windows, Office, SQL, Surface Pro, SurfaceBook) - I spend almost as much time googling unhelpful error messages and trying to fix their unfinished products as I do using their products.
After a streak of problems with Outlook and many hours wasted trying to make it work as intended, I found Mailbird, which had a free plan at the time. I installed it on both my Surface Pro and Windows PC as a back-up email client for when Outlook crashed. As you would expect, I've had many opportunities to use Mailbird. It felt like Mailbird was designed by people who actually use email - which was definitely a breath of fresh air.
A week later, I bought a license (although Exchange wasn't supported at the time) to support them on this journey.
I still depended on Outlook for the Calendar integration, but having something that 'just works' as an alternative for everything else did make my suffering bearable.
Support is spot-on: they don't insult your intelligence by telling you to run 'sfc /scannow' each time you have a problem. Unlike most others *cough* they are knowledgeable about their product and very helpful on each occasion. I have nothing but love for the underdog.

Pros:

+ Not made by Microsoft + Beautiful interface + Intuitive + Customisable

Cons:

- Can only choose font sizes from a static list (Font size 11 is not available) - Cannot scroll through the body of an email with mouse middle click

Taylor
Integration Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mailbird is a great non-MS alternative to Outlook.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Extremely happy. I use it everyday, I've sent the 'try me out' link to my coworkers because I love the program so much, which I almost never do. Try it out, see if it's for you. Email clients are often deeply personal things, and it's hard to quantify why one 'works' for you but not another. In this case it worked very well and I highly recommend giving it a try.

Pros:

I love the clean design, the robust interoperability between POP and other email formats. It's extremely customizable with a good-sized ecosystem of add-on extensions and tools such as a Calendar app, a Toggl app for tracking time, and even one for Todoist to manage tasks. There are 'folders' for organizing (as opposed to 'tabs' like Gmail has, which has always sort of conceptually lost me.) It docks to the desktop well and unobtrusively, in addition to many little things that just make it a great user experience. The cost was absolutely phenomenal; I forget exactly what I paid but I got an amazing deal on a lifetime license last year, and I've never regretted the purchase.

Cons:

This is more a gripe about email clients in general; it does not have the ability to define 'rules', which is the one thing that kept me in Outlook far longer than I ever should have. This is something that is pretty rare to find in email clients as a whole, so it's not a huge knock on Mailbird. It would be really nice though someday!

Joel
- in Portugal
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Lifetime pay once not honored

3.0 6 months ago

Comments: I purchased the Mailbird lifetime pay once software in 2019, since then I have always had access to all updates as was the company's commitment to pay once. Now in version 3 the company wants new payment, including an annual fee. This breaks the conditions established by them and is an unfair attitude on the part of the company.

Pros:

Software with good features and that works quite well

Cons:

Terrible customer service with standard responses and no resolution of issues. Unhonest company attitude in unilaterally changing the conditions under which they made the sale.

Josemaria
Josemaria
Vice Director for External Affairs in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Finally, a great email app with best form and function for Windows

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Beauty will save the world. My philosophy is that if it's not beautiful and functional, I/people will not use it. Mailbird is great in terms of aesthetics and email app functionality. It just looks great, easy to use, and works! Some advanced features (filtering, search) may be a bit wanting. But for my daily use, it feels just like Gmail as it should be (on a beautiful platform).

Pros:

It is a thing of beauty. Form meets function. It is much better than other Windows email apps, and I've tried a ton already (Thunderbird, Outlook, MS Mail...). It kind of reminds me of Spark mail which I use with my Mac. Keyboard shortcuts is the same with Gmail (by default) which made it easy for me to transition from browser based gmail to Mailbird. The Snooze function is also one of my favorites. It helps me achieve Zero-Inbox without worrying about the emails "I don't need to attend to right now but need to be reminded of some other time." Support team is very quick to respond and are indeed helpful. Even before I got my Mailbird Pro, they have been very responsive.

Cons:

For more advanced email enthusiasts, it might disappoint that it currently does not have the ability to set up filters, or messaging rules. (Maybe you can set this up with gmail beforehand?) The search can also be made more powerful. Right now it can't search and/or sort by date.

Stan
Principal in US
Program Development, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great..., when it works.

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: The benefits are running mltiple accounts on one platform. THe inability to get the level of attention to resolve such a critical issue is not acceptable. I am shopping for a replacement and would NOT RECOMMEND them if you rely on your email as much as I do.

Pros:

The ability to manage multiple accounts in a single Inbox.

Cons:

Their support is horrible. Beginning the third week of plsatitudes and apologies, but NO FIX to a basic, fundamental requirement to sync my calendar. THis is all I get: "I have thoroughly investigated the log.log files that you have provided and it seems for some reason Mailbird cannot establish synchronisation with your calendar and we have SQL errors registered there. I have forwarded your support request to our development team who will investigate this further and work on a fix. I understand how frustrating this is not to be able to use your calendar within Mailbird, and I would like to apologise for all the trouble and inconvenience caused. We are working on fixing this as soon as possible, hopefully, this will not take long."

Bill
Digital Marketer in Canada
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A solid email client

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall, mailbird is a great product that I am proud to use daily.

Pros:

I like a unified email account that consolidates all my Gmail accounts in one place. I like the integration with Evernote and Facebook helps my productivity. I love the search function which is fast and accurate.

Cons:

For filters, it would be advantageous to be able to screen for partial strings in a domain name to be able to delete it from the inbox. Currently, I have spam coming to me from different variations of @xxxxxxxxxxxxxxfacebookmailcom. I would like to be able to set up filter ANY emails coming from the facebookmail.com domain

Eli
Founder in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Mailbird is demanding payment from Lifetime Business License purchasers

1.0 7 months ago

Comments: Mailbird is eliminating support for 2.x for Lifetime Business Licenses and demanding payment if you want to use beyond 2024

Pros:

Mailbird is now charging to update despite selling lifetime business licenses. Fraudulent practices

Cons:

Charging for updates after selling Lifetime Business Licenses.

Oleg
CEO in Kazakhstan
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Outlook alternative

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: When we started our way to go away from Microsoft, the first step was to find alternatives to MS Office, it was easy to find replacement for Word and Excel, but for Outlook it was really hard to find an alternative. Mailbird became almost a perfect replacement, and even beaten Outlook in Gmail integration and Unified inbox.
Waiting a Linux version to continue our moving to Microsoft-free office.

Pros:

- Unified inbox - Support for Gmail/GApps labels - Quick seach even in really big mailboxes (search in six mailboxes with total size 50+GB takes not more then 5 seconds) - Affordable price

Cons:

- No Linux version (one of apps, that still holds me on Windows) - Search sometimes inaccurate, no complex search syntax - Unable to create multiple signatures on the same mailbox (e.g. for me it's useful to have Russian and English signature on my bussiness mailbox at the same time)

Stewart
ceo in Eswatini
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

If it all worked it would be fantastic

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: A waste of many man hours, I am exhausted trying to debug, write mail bird tickets , running outlook so I have access to contacts and trying to keep up with my daily workflow. I will certainly be moving on to another vendor when I have the spare time.

Pros:

All the features are exactly what I wanted as a busy support business. We have Facebook and Whats app integration and a unified inbox so all inbound mails can be monitored in realtime

Cons:

The bugs with office 365 really killed it for us. We work on a fast but expensive Vsat and having been asked 3 times to reload a 20Gig plus mail file is annoying. The system upgraded to Auth2.0 and now I get my emails in bursts every few hours as there are authentication issues. Since then my hundreds of contacts are not there, every day there is an increment about 5 or 10 contacts from the server and I am now up to 80 contacts. As I use contacts for everything this is very disappointing as I have to leave Outlook open ! I was less than complimentary about this on my support ticket and I have only got automated replies for the last 2 weeks. NOT impressed with the support or the office 365 reliability. The rest is very good. Unfortunately we are a 365 business so its a non starter for us and getting cut of from support for being uncomplimentary when we are a paying customer is unprofessional to say the least. Be warned, Mailbird needs hugs.

Anthony
Anthony
IT Technical Project Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Is it the best e-mail client ever? It comes pretty close.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software is very lightweight on system resources, is quick and easy to setup and offer a simple interface that is clean and easy to navigate. Supporting multiple e-mail accounts and types of account out of the box is excellent and it really allows you to have a single pane view of all your mailboxes in one place.

Cons:

I least liked the fact that the Microsoft Exchange connection is only available in the Business/Pro edition, whilst it used to be that mailboxes running on Exchange were normally only ever a business option there are more and more hosting companies offering Office 365/Exchange mailboxes as part of their email solution.

Mike
Mike
CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Needs Unified Calendar and .ics support

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great for mail, kind of crappy calendar experience.

Pros:

It is great for email offering smart unified inbox and easy to navigate. It is also a quick and responsive app.

Cons:

Won't open .ics files so need to use another program for a calendar. Also does not have a native calendar so needs to plug in to Google Calendar but it's per account and not unified.

Bryan
PhD Researcher in Ireland
Research, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Helpful for managing Work and Personal

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very positive experience, especially as I need to juggle work and personal. Find it a nice desktop alternative and has handy tools. Money well spent!

Pros:

Very handy customisation features. Intuitive interface, simple and tidy layout for a smaller laptop. Lovely integration with select key applications (WhatsApp, Google Calendar) keep me on task and away from my phone during work.

Cons:

The calendar integration could be better. It would be nice to have additional integration beyond a web portal. A mobile app would be nice - other apps are especially dominant there. Downloads from email attachments could be a bit better too. Like choosing folder etc.

Brandon
Therapist in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MailBird is a serious contender for best email app

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I'm able to use Mailbird for all my email accounts and combine everything into one email app which is great. No more switching back and forth to multiple different apps.

Pros:

Mailbird is a great full featured email app that works smoothly on my Windows 10 computer. It's replaced all other mail apps (including Microsoft Outlook). It has a wide variety of settings for customization. I can add emails from all accounts very easily and it works flawlessly.

Cons:

I do have a difficult time adding POP3 and IMAP accounts at times. It's unclear why at this point so I'd like to see an easier way to add those types of email accounts.

James
Senior Project Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best in market email platforms

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Very impressed with the software - great value for money with lots of useful and brilliant features. A good email client with features similar to Microsoft Outlook and that can support multiple email accounts.

Pros:

If you like Microsoft Outlook but you use another email client like GMail then you'll love this. It provides you with the features that make Microsoft Outlook great and adds additional functionality on top of that. Highly customisable as well - one of the best email platforms I have used! If you buy the Pro version as well it's really good value for money and you can buy a lifetime licence for a one off fee.

Cons:

It offers a free version but the free version has advertisements and less functionality than the pro version. Although to be fair, the functionality you get in the pro version isn't a big improvement and some might not find it worth the money. The main benefit in my opinion is getting rid of the advertisments.