Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4 /5

About xTuple

ERP / MRP / Inventory Management Solutions for growing manufacturers and distributors.

Learn more about xTuple

Showing 116 reviews

John G.
Licensed Realtor
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01

"Excellent capabilities, complex to learn, more toward manufacturing and inventory but adaptable"

Comments: I originally started using Postbooks because I was looking for an accounting system that ran on Fedora Linux that was based on PostgreSQL database since I am a database DBA for Oracle, PostgreSQL, and MySQL (MariaDB). I use Postbooks to run my real estate business even though it is not an exact fit because of familiarity. Once learned, it becomes second nature. I do not use most of the capabilities that xTuple/Postbooks provides. But that is one of the fortes of the software; use what you need and leave the rest alone.

Pros: Free version - I use the Postbooks version since cost is a big factor for me and I don't need most of the features.
Adaptable - I used it in a previous business where I had inventory and did some creation of videos on DVDs. It tracked inventory from items used to create the finished DVDs and package, publish, and ship them. I now use it in my real estate business just for accounting.
Has many capabilities many of which I do not personally use, but they are there if you need them.

Cons: Complex - because it has so many capabilities, it is complex and can be hard to learn. Documentation can be a bit sparse.
Constrained - Forces a work flow which is great for larger business but can make a task tedious for a sole proprietor.
CRM - is designed for sales of products which is what this software is designed around. I am now a REALTOR® and the CRM does not fit the model a REALTOR® uses.
Too platform specific - It used to run on Fedora and other Linus flavors. Now it is limited to Ubuntu and tends to lag, as Ubuntu does, behind the security updates. It runs on Windows. I now run my database on Linux and have to use a Windows client since there is not a client that runs on Fedora. I suggested to the developers that xTuple/Postbooks should be developed on Linux as a Flatpak project but never heard anything back.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-07

John - Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product. This system was definitely built for manufacturing (and inventory-centric) companies, although plenty of professionals such as yourself have adapted the Accounting and CRM & Sales functionality to suit their needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01
Verified Reviewer
Operations Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-29

"Generally good, but requires a skilled team to use"

Comments: When fully set up, it does a good job of running our multi-site,multi-currency manufacturing operation.

Pros: - Decent import system to load up your data
- Flexible system that allows a wide range of manufacturing and options
- Easy access to SQL tables which allow you to write your own tools if xTuple is missing something you need
- Under active development, and with a good user forum

Cons: - Despite the licensing being the single most expensive SW cost for our company, support is virtually non existent. It is an additional cost and the options are expensive, confusing and often rely on 'partners' who don't always know much about the system. Documentation does exist but is often hard to find on the xTuple website. A skilled technical team will be needed to implement and set up the complex options and work flows. - xTuple is putting lots of effort on eCommerce additions, but less on the fundamentals of the package. Silly issues make for large problems:
-- User permissions can only be added one at a time (no multi select)
-- Payments are still based on the idea of paper cheques with no shortcuts for cash/card payments. No simple export options for upload for wire processing)
-- The multi currency system is basic and has issues (silly rounding errors, Bank reconciliation and GL accounts don't match and can't be corrected, 'extra' currency transactions generated by some operations break AR balance)

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thank you for taking the time to review. What version of xTuple are you using? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? Sounds like you might be missing some valuable help and ROI for your company. Feel free to contact us (we're here to help!): https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-29
Verified Reviewer
Purchasing Manager
Cosmetics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28

"Xtuple Review"

Pros: MRP is easy to use and inventory and purchasing functions help me get my job done efficiently.

Cons: Some times i need to export data to Excel to make it easier to work with.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thank you for reviewing. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about MRP, to help other similar businesses. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28
Janine D.
CFO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-10

"Overall the xTuple software has been wonderful. Easy to use and presents very professionally."

Comments: Functionality for our very unique type of business, and website integration are the top two benefits.

Pros: You can begin with a free version and if that version fulfills all of your needs you can continue with that, however for added functionality there are licencing fees for that functionality. It is easy to use (once the beginning numbers are in) and it makes a small company look larger due to the look and design of their forms (you can design your own as well). The functionality is incredible. The type of business we are in requires things that most software does not provide for which has made running our business quite a bit easier. We are a modification center and xTuple allows us to use different parts to make the same end product by using substitutions, this has been a tremendous help to us. It was nice to be able to start with the free version and see just what this amazing piece of software could do. They also have an "online university" where users can communicate with each other and xTuple themselves, that has proven to be extremely valuable. Many times the issue or question we have has already been dealt with through another customer and the answer sits right there accessible to us. Overall xTuple has been great for us. They also are now hosting our website and although there have been some rough patches, I don't think we would go anywhere else as they allow it to integrate with our software, a big help.

Cons: Their customer service is probably their weakest link. Although they make an appreciable effort to respond to the issues we bring up, from our end sometimes it doesn't seem to be taken care of as quickly as we would like, and we have to follow-up for resolve. The website integration has some bugs, but eventually the bugs get worked out. We have two very capable IT employees who sometimes can figure out the bugs before they do, which is a big plus for us, as we can correct the issues then pass on the fix to xTuple. We all agree that the issues with customer service are worth the extreme value that the software has brought to our company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-10
Tom D.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28

"Very powerful software, but comes with a learning curve."

Comments: I think that xTuple is a great piece of software, but it is much more attuned to larger, more regimented businesses. For the small and flexible business, QuickBooks is much more suitable to the style of operation that I have experienced with smaller businesses.

Pros: I can quickly and accurately keep track of all aspects of business operations.

Cons: The fact that once you post something, you cannot change it. In a lot of smaller businesses, a managerial style of accounting is used. A lot of little mistakes happen or a customer requires an invoice to be worded a certain way, etc... With xTuple, I have to void the transaction and start over. Not always feasible. Also, the limited ability to customize line items without creating an item is extremely limiting for smaller businesses.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thanks for your review, Tom. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to see what might be missing! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Today¿s ERP solutions clearly miss the mark for the vast majority of smaller ¿ (but AWESOME!) manufacturing businesses who metaphorically don¿t need a bus to drive to the train station! The elephant in the room is that ERP is the wrong solution for small business, especially those who've outgrown QuickBooks. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28
Frederick S.
Owner/R&D Chairperson
Aviation & Aerospace, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28

"xTuple & PostBooks - CRM for small businesses to multi national corporations."

Comments: xTuple fits with the database back end that I use for many other functions. It has been a blessing in that it runs on multiple platforms and can be built from source code for the platforms that aren't supported in binary format from xTuple.

Pros: xTuple is very personable and easy to "get to know" It also allows one to tailor it to their specific business for the most part. There is plenty of support too. Both from purchased and community.

Cons: I really can't think of any right now.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thank you for your glowing review, Frederick. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar aviation businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28
Eric A.
IT Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28

"Good experience, Strong Customization Options"

Comments: All the benefits of an ERP and excellent customization.

Pros: I like the ability to customize and develop new screens, new reports and add functionality to current screens. We have used this to track material purchases for sales orders and project bookings for months ahead.

Cons: That it can sometimes be to obscure. No resources are readily available regarding some of the classes that are available. Especially in the toolbox and in the xtreewidget. Often times I have to search through existing scripts to see how some functions operate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28
Andrea K.
Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-21

"xTuple is a software that is very easy to use for the end user with minimal training. Intuitive"

Pros: 1. Ease of navigation through applications
2. Ease of upload of spreadsheets through csv utility
3. Developer tools for reports, metasql, screens and scripts are user friendly
4. Screen filters and export to excel
5. Intuitive for the end user and developer

Cons: As a developer, not all screens and scripts are available to make customized modifications to meet the needs of our clients and myself.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-12

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-21
Jacqueline B.
Director of Technology
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-12

"xTuple Honest Review"

Comments: System of record all in 1 software. In-house programmers plus xTuple independent consultants assist with customization. Their staff not really knowledgeable on customization assistance. More for the billable hours than quality product.

Pros: Open Source makes customizing easy for our programmers. Excellent price structure

Cons: The CORE functionality difficult to customize

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-15

Thank you, Jacqueline, for your honest review and your investment in xTuple for Distribution. ERP is the heart and lungs of your organization. As you pointed out, xTuple's open platform helps make the system flexible for you. It's a powerful tool with many options for controlling your business.

Your success with xTuple relies on expert ERP consultants to help with your customization needs. (You've engaged a great consultant, too!)

Let us know how we can help with any frustrations or difficulties you may experience. Our mission is for customers to be happy, thriving businesses.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-12
Kenneth B.
Managing Partner
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-12

"We have been trying to make xTuple work for us for 6 years we have finally decided to replace it."

Comments: It has been a problem from the beginning. We have used it for 7 years mainly due to the cost of replacement.

Pros: The orginal reason we purchase xTupel was the price and the list of feature and functionallity. It is loaded features. However quite a few of them really do not work the way you expect.

Cons: Support is the worst. The final answer is always "its a know bug" and good luck getting it fixed.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2018-08-02

Ken, thanks for your time the other day. As I mentioned, there are some setup/configurations that need to be reviewed to ensure the features are utilized as intended. I'm glad to hear you¿re working with an xTuple solutions provider. As your account manager, I'm always available to assist with issues that may arise. Please keep me posted on your progress. xTuple really is a great product, and hopefully, after you upgrade from the older version, you will agree. -- Carolyn

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-12
James O.
CIO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-09

"xTuple"

Pros: Overall ease of use and the rich feature set.

Cons: Initial setup was a hassle but you’re good once you figure it out.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-07

Thanks for your very nice review. Are you using the most recent release of PostBooks®? Let's ensure you have an updated license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-09
Brody B.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28

"Your software has come a long way from the original OpenMFG days."

Comments: A better look at inventory management than previous software

Pros: It is very flexible and adapts to small and large companies. Also, in an age where small business ERP software comes and goes all the time, you guys stuck with it and kept on building your product.

Cons: It took a lot of years to get to a place where it was bug free and truly usable. But I was a user when the code was still being written in the office next to me, so I saw the ugly broken beginnings.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. Thanks for hanging in with us as a vital part of the xTuple Community as we built the software to meet the needs of our customers, small and large.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28
Javier C.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-07

"All you need from an ERP system at an affordable price"

Comments: xTuple has most of the nice features of an expensive ERP at a very affordable price. All our departments work in tune and have full vision of what is going on on the day to day activities. Being able to use the client with different OS's (Linux/Windows/Mac) was very important for us, and now with the web enabled server it is even better. We run batch jobs like cost updates and MRP and have automated email sending for different events and reports that save us a lot of time. Bugs are constantly monitored and fixed so there are not many weak points to highlight. I would recommend having some knowledge of javascript and SQL in order to customize your client and reports the way your company needs. It's actually not really needed, but given the flexibility that xTuple offers to customized things it's totally worth it. Overall, we are very happy with the decision we took 5 years ago.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-12

Thank you so much for your review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-07
Claarence M.
Owner
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28

"XTuple & My Business"

Comments: One of the biggest business problems that I had was switching to multiple software, CRM to accounting to inventory. XTuple solve that by offering everything in on package.

Pros: It's cloud based open source software that let me tackle all of my business needs from customer relation management to accounting.

Cons: It's an excellent software with superb features so if you do not need one feature there are many more that will fit your needs.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-06

Thank you for your glowing review, Clarence. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28
Anthony F.
Controller
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01

"Good value, but still buggy"

Pros: Pain-free implementation
Low price point
Ease of customization

Cons: Reporting
Business intelligence
Local-area support

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-07

Thanks, Anthony, for reviewing your xTuple Manufacturing software. This system was built for companies just like yours. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. You've used the system for quite a long time; if you're on an older version, there's a lot of functionality and features you're probably missing. Please reach back to us; our goal is your success!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01
Kristina B.
HR/Payroll/AP/AR
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-13

"Excellent, timely responses"

Comments: Whenever I submit any issues/bugs/incidents I know that I will get a response within the hour. Sometimes this response is through comments within my incident, and most times this response is with a phone call. In all my experiences the response has been very thorough, with the Xtuple contact asking many questions and offering many possible solutions. If they are not able to immediately correct my issue over the phone, I know upon hanging up that they will be checking into it and getting back to me asap.
Thank you for listening, being patient, and helping with even the "smallest" of issues!
Thank you!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-13
Verified Reviewer
Independent Business Owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-09

"Pretty good"

Pros: I like that this software is pretty user-friendly ... Not as user-friendly as some I've tried but still pretty good.

Cons: The price of the software could be a little cheaper ... Thats the one major con I have.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-07

Thanks for your review. What edition and version are you using? In the cloud? Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-09
Michael M.
CEO
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-27

"Great support and a very sound technical foundation"

Pros: The best feature in my opinion is the team behind the software. They go out of their way to work with their users to give you the best experience possible. Everthing is kept in the open. The other, best feature is the technological base, the system uses PostgreSQL extensively. If you know your database you're right at home with xTuple.

Cons: Unfortunately xtuple software lacks some of the adjustements needed for the geographical area we are in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-27
Verified Reviewer
Director - Material Support Center
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-05

"Feedback"

Comments: By and large the system provides decent tools to process our work. Some information, data, and reports require significant specialized enhancements.

Pros: Generally speaking, all functionality is available with xTuple. Operations, Sales, Finance, and Production activities can be performed.

Cons: Some reporting is slow and redundant. there have been many specialized reports created for ease and efficiency.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-08

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your confidence in us. Are you planning to upgrade to the next major version 5.0?? Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-05
Janet B.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-19

"Wanted something better than Sage that didn't require "frankensteining" the software & costing $$$$$"

Comments: more available options without having to pay for it - included in the package which is the way it should be. Every time I have to purchase another piece to make the main package work better for me, it's more money for software; consulting hours, training.....

Pros: Open Source; great support team - in it to get the problem solved efficiently an effectively; great instructor - he really knows the software inside and out and a great problem solver; in fact, all of the partners involved with xTuple will help with problems if you reach out to them in the forum; and for the "cherry on top" - constantly evolving and improving - they don't rest on their laurels - they constantly challenge themselves to make it better, more expansive - "How can we benefit our customers the most" mentality and they just keep going and going.

Cons: Call it housekeeping - there used to be a few bad apples and they have been slowly and surely weeded out and discarded - both employees who "loved to hear themselves talk" but was much ado about nothing and then some partners - if you are in it, then you are in it - don't bad mouth it - the company, the customers - all of it - get out or help make it better for all - as you know, employee and partner housekeeping take time but it is better and the air about things is better; more responsive, more positive, more open discussion and not territorial - it's a true think tank like it should be. One other thing - I am not personally a programmer so admittedly some of that stuff is way over my head and there are smarter people than me there that I will happily pay from the consulting dollars to get the most efficient and effective bang for my client's buck - I wish I understood some of the report writing better - it's not my strength so it's more my con than the software I believe.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-12

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-19
Rebecca S.
IT Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01

"Extendable ERP"

Comments: I have implemented xTuple a number times. In all cases the businesses were small and unique. I worked with the xTuple team to get their ERP to work for businesses in manufacturing, education, and health care. In all cases the extensibility of the product was key to our success.

Pros: ERP systems are complex and can be difficult to extend to accommodate unique business needs. The open source nature and configurable design of xTuple overcomes the effort and cost barriers of other ERPs. An IT person can customize xTuple for their business or they can work with the xTuple team. The technical support and professional services they provide help get projects up and running.

Cons: The technologies used in xTuple are not for the faint of heart. A considerable amount of technical accum is required to customize the system. Even simple changes to screens and reports require an understanding of SQL and JavaScript.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-07

Thanks, Rebecca, for your very concise review. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. That's why we're working on a whole new way for businesses to get that ERP functionality they so desperately need, but can't tackle due to cost, or lack of resources, or plain old FUD (fear, uncertainty, doubt).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01
Kerry H.
Chief Marketing and Communications Officer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-02

"xTuple has been a great software for our manufacturing company. Very satisfied!"

Pros: Simpler to use than other ERP solutions. Integrated well with other critical software that our business depends on.

Cons: The report writer functionality is difficult to use and takes a good bit of time to learn. Most users will need to use an xTuple consultant to build custom reports. This includes even your basic invoices, packing lists and things like that.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thank you for your great review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. Glad you find xTuple ERP simpler to use than other applications. RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Let us know when you¿re ready to upgrade to the latest version (that will help a lot!): https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-02
Verified Reviewer
Co-Owner & President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28

"The best CRM/MRP/ERP System on the market today!"

Comments: Implementing a new system is one of the hardest things a small and fast growing company can do. xTuple made our integration seamless and the process went very smoothly. We love the tool and we use it for all of our company processes.

Pros: I liked the fact that you can do everything in one tool. All business processes are included in one package from Customer lead all the way through to the collection of money. I also very much like the fact that the software is Linux based open source and offers full customization for your business.

Cons: I cannot think of anything I do not like about the software!

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-09

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Could you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-28
Christopher C.
accounting/erp contractor
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01

"A lot of potential if you put in the effort"

Pros: Because it is open-source, there is nearly indefinite scalablity if you take the time to plan ahead of launch.

Cons: The flip-side of the customizable nature of the system was that much of what we did felt like we were building the system rather than just migrating to it. This was in 2009, I'm sure many features that we and others 'sponsored' are now baked-in for new licensees.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-07

Thanks, Chris, for reviewing your xTuple Manufacturing software. This system was built for companies just like yours. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. You've used the system for quite a long time; if you're on an older version, there's a lot of functionality and features you're missing. Please reach back to us; our goal is your success!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-01
Lee Z.
Secretary
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-02

"Great software that has a multipurpose approach."

Pros: I like the ease of use it provides and the ability to customise. There is excellent support and forums with help available.

Cons: Setting up can be tricky if your not comfortable with installing SQL and other support it requires but there are comprehensive guides and lots of support available.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 2019-02-12

Thank you, Lee, for your review and your long-term use of xTuple. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-02