iMIS Reviews

by Advanced Solutions International

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About iMIS

iMIS EMS is the worlds #1 association and non-profit software solution, and the only Engagement Management System (EMS).

Learn more about iMIS

Showing 83 reviews

Heather R.
Membership Specialist
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-08

"Robust AMS that takes time to learn"

Comments: Overall this is a great AMS. I was never involved in the pricing but I understand that it is expensive but it can handle complicated membership models. I work for a smaller association now that would really benefit from the abilities of the system but its out of our affordability range.

Pros: There were seemingly endless capabilities. I used iMIS as my primary AMS for a couple years with a previous employer and used it as a vendor accessing clients systems for many years prior. I have seen many versions of iMIS and they always improve.

Cons: The reporting was always a bit challanging.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-07-08
Verified Reviewer
Director of Operations & Technology
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-05

"iMIS Review"

Comments: The best aspects of this product are the fact that you can generate quick queries on the fly using the built in query system (IQAs). Also with the built-in CMS system, developing an integrated website that is dynamic and fully integrated with the database is much easier. It's also good to have a wide network of developers and third party companies who can also provide support for the product.

Pros: Allows for high level of customization
Integrated CMS system for web page development
Integrated query reporting system
Large number of third party options for expanding and customizing the product
SQL access to the database

Cons: Upgrade process is time consuming and expensive
Slow development to make this a fully web-based product
Documentation is not as extensive as it could be and not geared to novice users

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-05
Michelle Y.
Michelle Y.
Credentialing Operations Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-30

"Been Using this CRM for 9+ Years"

Comments: Love iMIS for the most part! Does everything I need it to do and there are user organizations out there that offer great free resources for this product.

Pros: This is the highest-rated association management software out there, which is the reason why my organization went with them. They've also been around for quite sometime, which is also a plus. The software does what you need and can be customized in almost every way possible.

Cons: It is definitely on the pricier side of the spectrum, but is worth it for the most part. Also, customization became much cheaper in the newest version but if you're on an older version, it can be expensive to customize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-30
Liz G.
Office Administrator
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29

"Lots of functionality for a small non-profit organization"

Pros: iMIS is a one-stop shop for a membership-based organization. Lots of bells and whistles and good educational support to learn all those bells and whistles.

Cons: iMIS has been around for a long time, and as the company aims to make all functions browser-based, many of its old interface (desktop) remain necessary as they have yet to be adapted in a reliable way to browsers. We're not ready to let go of the desktop and won't be for a while.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29
Allyson W.
Accounting Coordinator
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-11

"iMIS"

Comments: I have been using iMIS for about 2 1/2 years. It was really easy to learn, it's easy to set up profiles, register for events, enter orders, etc.

Pros: I really like using iMIS. It's very user friendly. The search functions are incredible. Most of the reports are very good and entering payments is very easy!

Cons: I wish there was an easier, more transparent way to refund membership dues, as it is with orders. It's not as clear.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-11
Verified Reviewer
Credentialing Operations Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-08

"Our company has been using iMIS for at least a decade. Very easy to use and functional!"

Pros: It is easy to use, and takes care of everything we want in a CRM. There's out-of-the-box functionality as well as custom; it just depends on what you want!

Cons: A bit pricey, but sometimes that's necessary. Sometimes wish there were more out-of-the-box features! It can sometimes be annoying having to upgrade all the time to fix small things, but it's a necessary thing we go through for these types of projects.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-08
Beth A.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-27

"iMIS is a good tool for managing association data. It is easy for staff and engages membership."

Comments: The dashboards are very handy giving a quick visual of what is happening and what needs attention.

Pros: I like setting up events and assisting members with credentials. I seldom get phone calls or emails for assistance because the website is very user friendly and members can register for events from any devise they have.

Cons: I'm a report person and would run lots of them. Using dashboards to get my reporting was my least favorite but it is getting easier and actually saves paper. There are also IQA's to get more specific reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-27
Whitney D.
Managing Director, Operations and Insurance
Insurance Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-22

"Great Software!"

Comments: we used to use a lot of different excel spreadsheets. Now we just have the software and we can create spreadsheets using the data in iMIS.

Pros: The ease of updating the website using Rise. Very user friendly!

Cons: I can't think of anything that I don't like.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-22
Albert P.
CFO
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-18

"IMIS helps us every day"

Pros: Everything we need to know about our members in all in one place.

Cons: Ability to integrate information about State Legislature and Ethic Reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-18
Catheryn M.
Accounting and Admin Specialist
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-19

"iMIS Membership Management"

Pros: Easy to find a member and their contact information

Cons: Sometimes it's confusing to look for a report.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-19
Winnie T.
Member Services Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-08

"Okay, But Could Be Better!"

Comments: I have been using iMIS at work for many years, and I find it is a decent software that has most of the features and functionalities that are required for a Not-for-profit Association. However, I am always hoping to see new improvements on the features and functionalities.

Pros: It has a desktop (offline) version as well as a browser (online) version so that I can access wherever I go.

Cons: It is not smart enough to perform the duties that I wish it would do. A lot of the features and functionalities need to be paid for in order to receive the additional upgrades.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-08
Aisling R.
Coordinator of Communications & Fundraising
Libraries, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-03-24

"Too big, too convoluted for small non-Profits"

Comments: Not good, glad we left. Cost too much money especially for what we were utilizing and what we were getting.

Pros: This was the first ever Donor Management System I ever used, so I think the fact that it made life complicated at the time, made switching so much easier in the end.

Cons: Pretty much everything...there were too many components for a small non profit like ours. The version we were using was outdated, reports were really hard to run, and customer service was not immediate. You had to wait for a response, and then often we got charged if there had to be components added or reports created specifically for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-03-24
Stacy S.
Civic & Social Organization
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-02-26

"iMIS review"

Pros: The ease of use and the capabilities are things I like best about iMIS.

Cons: The reporting is a little difficult for the average user. Crystal Reporting knowledge is a must.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-02-26
Sherry W.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11

"Sherry's review of iMis"

Comments: I like the ease of use, using our staff portal. And the lists we can pull are most helpful. I also find useful the ability to search using a number of different types of information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11
Valerie S.
Director of Conferences
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11

"iMIS Software for Associations"

Comments: We have used the software for almost 20 years and have recently upgraded to the cloud version. The move from an older version to the current was very easy. Customer Support has been very responsive to our needs.

Pros: The basic functions are included in the general package, but you can upgrade if needed. With the cloud version, as new changes are made they are included at no extra fee. You can access your data and the product where ever you have access to the internet. Works well with most computers as is not actually on your system.

Cons: In using the cloud version if your band wide is not fast or if you have problems with your internet connection you don't have access to your data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11
Alyssa M.
Support Services Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-18

"Everything you need in one place!"

Comments: I don't think I could ever see us switching from iMIS, the fact that there are so many functional options under one roof make it a powerhouse product. It also provides a seemless experience for our members!

Pros: I love that there are so many different functionalities of this software. We use it for our membership, for fundraising, for events, for data collection and there is still so much more that we could get out of this software. It's customizable features are really a bonus and I love that I can share customized data with our board directly in their dashboard!

Cons: I find it a steep learning curve, now that I have worked with the software for a while it's easy but it takes some time. Thankfully there is a supportive community and ample training opportunities!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-18
Lauren R.
Sr Director, Athlete Safety and Education
Sports, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-03

"Great Customization Options"

Pros: We had a unique set of needs for a CRM and iMIS delivered! We have been able to customize the back end and hook other programs up using API. It has made our processes so much easier.

Cons: There was a bit of a learning curve when getting the system set up, but once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-03
Marie D.
Database Administrator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-14

"So far it's okay. the User Credentials tab is not working and it is a lot of work around."

Pros: The front end user have option either on the desktop or the web. I enjoy working with the extra tables and looking forward to start reporting in MS SSRS service.

Cons: New User Credentials tab for the login security, we are having to many issues with it and the can no one help use. The logon does not change if the email is updated in the profile. It is very messy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-14
Debbie K.
Debbie K.
Past President
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29

"Membership updates"

Comments: Being able to allow members to buy membership online along with events. They can also update their profile.

Pros: Seems to be easy to enter information into the database.

Cons: Have issues with password reset and system admin errors. I think some of it is not cleansing the database but these are easy functions and should work regardless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29
Amanda R.
Communications Coordinator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-11

"Great product"

Pros: Everything in one place - events, member profiles, website; all linked into one. Managing our website is very easy when using the tools given.

Cons: It's easy to make a mistake, but with proper training, runs smoothly. Imis Rise is lacking features that would be very beneficial (document manager icon, for example).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-11
Cheryl G.
Asst VP/Highway Division
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-31

"Great functionality. As fairly new user, some modules are very easy to learn; others take time."

Comments: Ease of event setup and communication w/ event registrants, Association member management and communication; ease of updating website.

Pros: Being able to update website fairly easily. Having capability to communicate directly w/ event registrants. Being able to export reports more easily.

Cons: Depending on modules you are subscribed too, some functionality seems to be limited. Understanding queries and how to set those up; understanding event setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-31
Verified Reviewer
Manager of Membership Services and Engagement
Fishery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29

"Powerful Association Management System"

Comments: working with iMIS allowed my association to obtain a 360 degrees view of our constituents,

Pros: Full integration with CMS RiSE, ease of extracting data through reporting system

Cons: Some components (or modules) tend to be expensive, use limitations to "licensed users" only

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29
Vickie T.
Managing Director, Customer Fulfillment
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11

"iMIS Review"

Comments: I have been working with iMIS for 14 years. The best thing about iMIS is being able to make it your own. The flexibility makes iMIS a good product because you are not stuck working in a product that is driven by someone else's vision.

Pros: Flexibility

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11
Leonard T.
President
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-23

"AGCMO"

Comments: Started great, going downhill

Pros: Originally very comprehensive but features being lost

Cons: Moving to new platform continues to erode features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-23
Jessica C.
Trade Show & Event Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-18

"Not the greatest for us"

Comments: I feel that IMIS might be a good product but it is well worth your time and energy to manage this as a project. Ensure you understand what data you want to get out of it or your efforts are wasted

Pros: To be very honest we inherited this product from a previous staff. I believe that the implementation of this product on our end was poorly organized and thus, has lead to it not meeting our needs.

Cons: Over all we've had issues with the program set up not being fully comprehensive and thus, huge chunks of data are getting missed with our members

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-18