iMIS Reviews

by Advanced Solutions International

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.1 /5

About iMIS

iMIS EMS is the worlds #1 association and non-profit software solution, and the only Engagement Management System (EMS).

Learn more about iMIS

Showing 81 reviews

Valerie S.
Director of Conferences
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11

"iMIS Software for Associations"

Comments: We have used the software for almost 20 years and have recently upgraded to the cloud version. The move from an older version to the current was very easy. Customer Support has been very responsive to our needs.

Pros: The basic functions are included in the general package, but you can upgrade if needed. With the cloud version, as new changes are made they are included at no extra fee. You can access your data and the product where ever you have access to the internet. Works well with most computers as is not actually on your system.

Cons: In using the cloud version if your band wide is not fast or if you have problems with your internet connection you don't have access to your data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11
Alyssa M.
Support Services Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-18

"Everything you need in one place!"

Comments: I don't think I could ever see us switching from iMIS, the fact that there are so many functional options under one roof make it a powerhouse product. It also provides a seemless experience for our members!

Pros: I love that there are so many different functionalities of this software. We use it for our membership, for fundraising, for events, for data collection and there is still so much more that we could get out of this software. It's customizable features are really a bonus and I love that I can share customized data with our board directly in their dashboard!

Cons: I find it a steep learning curve, now that I have worked with the software for a while it's easy but it takes some time. Thankfully there is a supportive community and ample training opportunities!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-18
Lauren R.
Sr Director, Athlete Safety and Education
Sports, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-03

"Great Customization Options"

Pros: We had a unique set of needs for a CRM and iMIS delivered! We have been able to customize the back end and hook other programs up using API. It has made our processes so much easier.

Cons: There was a bit of a learning curve when getting the system set up, but once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-03
Marie D.
Database Administrator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-14

"So far it's okay. the User Credentials tab is not working and it is a lot of work around."

Pros: The front end user have option either on the desktop or the web. I enjoy working with the extra tables and looking forward to start reporting in MS SSRS service.

Cons: New User Credentials tab for the login security, we are having to many issues with it and the can no one help use. The logon does not change if the email is updated in the profile. It is very messy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-14
Debbie K.
Past President
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29

"Membership updates"

Comments: Being able to allow members to buy membership online along with events. They can also update their profile.

Pros: Seems to be easy to enter information into the database.

Cons: Have issues with password reset and system admin errors. I think some of it is not cleansing the database but these are easy functions and should work regardless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29
Amanda R.
Communications Coordinator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-11

"Great product"

Pros: Everything in one place - events, member profiles, website; all linked into one. Managing our website is very easy when using the tools given.

Cons: It's easy to make a mistake, but with proper training, runs smoothly. Imis Rise is lacking features that would be very beneficial (document manager icon, for example).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-11
Cheryl G.
Asst VP/Highway Division
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-31

"Great functionality. As fairly new user, some modules are very easy to learn; others take time."

Comments: Ease of event setup and communication w/ event registrants, Association member management and communication; ease of updating website.

Pros: Being able to update website fairly easily. Having capability to communicate directly w/ event registrants. Being able to export reports more easily.

Cons: Depending on modules you are subscribed too, some functionality seems to be limited. Understanding queries and how to set those up; understanding event setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-31
Verified Reviewer
Manager of Membership Services and Engagement
Fishery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29

"Powerful Association Management System"

Comments: working with iMIS allowed my association to obtain a 360 degrees view of our constituents,

Pros: Full integration with CMS RiSE, ease of extracting data through reporting system

Cons: Some components (or modules) tend to be expensive, use limitations to "licensed users" only

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-29
Vickie T.
Managing Director, Customer Fulfillment
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11

"iMIS Review"

Comments: I have been working with iMIS for 14 years. The best thing about iMIS is being able to make it your own. The flexibility makes iMIS a good product because you are not stuck working in a product that is driven by someone else's vision.

Pros: Flexibility

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-11
Leonard T.
President
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-23

"AGCMO"

Comments: Started great, going downhill

Pros: Originally very comprehensive but features being lost

Cons: Moving to new platform continues to erode features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-23
Jessica C.
Trade Show & Event Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-18

"Not the greatest for us"

Comments: I feel that IMIS might be a good product but it is well worth your time and energy to manage this as a project. Ensure you understand what data you want to get out of it or your efforts are wasted

Pros: To be very honest we inherited this product from a previous staff. I believe that the implementation of this product on our end was poorly organized and thus, has lead to it not meeting our needs.

Cons: Over all we've had issues with the program set up not being fully comprehensive and thus, huge chunks of data are getting missed with our members

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-18
Oliver S.
CTO
Higher Education Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-09-20

"IMIS CRM for not for profits"

Pros: Imis is flexible and adaptable since they are a small company. They take care of enhancement requests in a relatively timely manner as compared to large companies.

Cons: Lack of support because the company is suppor. Low amount of partners, limited selection.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-09-20
Tony D.
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-02-25

"iMIS Review"

Pros: The ease of use and ability to speak with a real person for support.

Cons: Cost is significant to our organization. Also, the length of time for updates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-02-25
Lori S.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-02-27

"My survey today"

Pros: The cost and the effectiveness of the program are superb.

Cons: The technical and customer support are simply not the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-02-27
Ellen T.
Database Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-22

"Great CRM"

Pros: The flexibility you have for customizing. You can create your own business objects, reports, queries, etc, but still fall back on the standard ones that come "out of the box." Very helpful for new users or people just getting started...or if you need ideas on how to do something. Can integrate with other products.

Cons: If you hire someone new, it can be hard to get them trained on all the features...especially if they have no previous database experience. It is also expensive; and different features have to be added on for extra cost. May not be the best option cost-wise for smaller organizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-22
Gary M.
Finance & IT Officer
Sports, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-19

"iMIS Has Moved Us Out Of The Dark Ages"

Comments: Our CEO described the project as the best IT implementation he had ever seen and I have to agree.

Pros: iMIS is easy to use and is logical. If you don't know where to find something it's easy to work out. The process automation has been the real game changer for us, saving precious time for both our staff and end users.

Cons: Gift Aid not yet functional but we have found a work around for this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-19
Brenda F.
Director of Membership
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-05-16

"First Powerful Database I had used."

Comments: It was a powerful tool but I have found comparable solutions for a lot less expense than iMIS. With a small staff, it is hard to expend the kind of money you'd need for iMIS.

Pros: Easy to use. Powerful. Did most everything we needed it to do. I was the power user in the office for 10 years. If you know SQL queries, you'll be able to run a lot of custom reports to fit your business needs. After moving to another non-profit, I found that there were less expensive solutions which were comparable or better. No need to spend a lot of money to get what you need for your businesses database and website solutions.

Cons: Needed lots of customization for our use. At the time, was not a database/web platform. I believe it is now with the RISE platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-05-16
Kara B.
Director of Membership
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-13

"The system is user friendly and customizable allowing us to access and report member data."

Pros: It is centralize data collection, storage, and reporting system. We manage multiple state specialty societies and are able to have one record for individuals that are have dual memberships. This also allows individuals to pay dues for multiple organizations, and give voluntary contributions all in one place.

Cons: The reporting feature, IQA, can be very intimidating. Since one may pull reports from a single or multiple sections and data fields within the system, understanding how to obtain the desired data can be time consuming at first, however, with experience it is very easy to retrieve data quickly and easily.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-13
Bridget D.
Director of Administration
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-16

"Overall iMIS has been an improvement in our member management software."

Pros: We appreciate that is more robust than our previous system allowing to capture and track additional important data points, as well as keep relationships that we could not keep prior to switching. Although we are not a typical association, we've been able to adapt the system easily for our needs.

Cons: We find that the documentation available can be slight and it feels sometimes like the user end was not considered when doing upgrades. The transition to the staff site has also been difficult as all labels and naming have changed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-16
Beth K.
COO
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-11

"Overall I think it is a great product, mostly can be customized to what you need it to do."

Comments: Flexibility and easy to use, seamless integration with website, customizable, time saving reporting

Pros: The system is pretty intuitive and easy to use, to customize and to report out from. Flexibility to customize data collection and reporting, seems to have much more capacity than how we are using it, and each update release captures information and data points pertinent with the changing landscape of today's associations.

Cons: Some missing reporting - it is a membership system yet unlike modules for meetings, orders, etc. it is not able to produce a membership receipt for dues payments through the system.
Also, some compatibility problems with exporting data to other vendor platforms. Can work around the issues, just takes a little bit more time and effort to make it work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-11
Susan Y.
Senior Director, Membership and Database
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-05

"Robust system, still behind on web-based front facing UX."

Pros: Has robust and well thought out processes. Incredibly supportive user community. Is committed to moving to web-based. Product development path has become more transparent.

Cons: The web-based front facing UX still complicated but is getting better. This is not cheap and needs a lot of third-party support to get full functionality expected of systems in today's market.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-05
Lori M.
Member Services Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-18

"I've been working with iMIS for almost 2 years. Overall it's been a great experience."

Comments: It definitely increased my knowledge for creating and revised Crystal Reports.

Pros: I like the flexibility of the system to be able to add customized reports for other users to access.

Cons: Desktop version is not so user friendly for the not so frequent user. I'm excited about the web based version and hoping that more staff will get on board and use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-18
Sarah L.
Sr. Administrator, Member Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-11

"I've been using iMIS for almost 18 years, it is easy for me to use."

Pros: the ability to make it conform to how my organization needs to use it. it is flexible enough to handle almost anything we need.

Cons: learning the new features or potential for areas of improvement seems hard. to make updates to how data is stored, you really need to have an AiSP unless you are very skilled or confident in SQL.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-11
Jaco V.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-17

"This is the best and most flexible solution for any member based organization."

Pros: The flexibility means that any business requirement can be met. The ease of development and deployment means that projects can be done relatively quickly.

Cons: Technical support can be improved. Sometimes it takes very long for tickets to be addressed. And the time differences adds to this frustration.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-17
Vickie T.
Managing Director, Customer Fulfillment
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-22

"Flexibility Is A Big Plus"

Pros: I like the fact that what I can dream up I can pretty much figure out a way to build it.

Cons: The thing I like the least is the ability to have one person be connected to multiple companies without using relationships.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-22